Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ecoboutique Hotel The Green Village

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 52 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 52 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
Ecoboutique Hotel The Green Village Located at 20th Street between 10th and 15th Avenue, , Playa del Carmen.
Ecoboutique Hotel The Green Village
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 20th Street between 10th and 15th Avenue
90% 52
20.6313986 -87.0706951
Ecoboutique Hotel The Green Village
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2016
8.9

Hostel is new and clean. It has AC, but you had to ask the receptionist to turn it on and it can't be set to less than 23°. They also turned it off a couple of times without telling us. There's a pool inside, but we didn't use it because the water was dirty. Staff was always simily, but we'd the feeling they didn't really know how to help. We asked for an indication of a restaurant, and were told to go to the main touristy street, even though there was a great place just across the stre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
7.7

The hotel staff are extremely kind and wonderful and its a darling little place, but there was a smell. When we got to our room there was a very toxic chemical smell and even when we changed rooms the smell was still there and we couldn't even breathe so we had to end up cancelling the rest of our stay there. The staff was very understanding and kind though and were very accommodating.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
10.0

The location is great! Very close to most attractions in Playa Del Carmen (Restaurants, shops, night clubs). The atmosphere here is what really stands out. Great vibes. Also the place is just beautiful. It is a well decorated place and I stayed in the 8 bed rooms and it was very clean and also very nice. The food served there is superb! I will return again for sure. Really awesome place and for the price, you cannot go wrong.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Awesome place to stay u would stay here again. So nice and the food is great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.7

Such a beautiful hostel. So great. Good wifi. Great staff. Clean!!!!!! Only thing I'd say is don't stay here solely for the pool. The pics are misleading! It's tiny and isn't clean :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.7

Travelled many countries so far and this has to be one of the best and well maintained hostels. It's really beautiful, rooms although small are well planned. Bean bags pools and the entire ambience adds upto all. Really loved the vibe. The managers seem to be doing an incredible job and they should keep it up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
6.6

The foundation is there for a great hostel but few things to change. The dorms don't have either lock on the door or a locker for valuables. They do offer a safety box in reception but it is really not convenient. Common area looks great and brand new but we wanted to relax there early night, we were the only ones there but the staff had the music so loud we had to leave. The toilet wasn't frequently clean. Breakfast optional but expensive. Identity crisis between hotel & hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and thanks for your comments- we really appreciate them. We are a new boutique hotel (open from December 2015), and before that we used to be a hostel for more than two years. We love having travellers and backpackers from all over the world (as is our staff) stay with us and become part of our family, and that is precisely why we are still offering guests the possibility to stay in dorm rooms. While the mix between hostel and hotel is not too common, we are trying to make it work; we offer a living room, common kitchen and fridges on our rooftop that all guests are free to use. We see daily how many new friendships are made in these common areas, and seeing this there is no way that we will cease offering dorms- some staff, in fact, want us to start offering more dorm rooms!:) As for security, we could not agree more with you with regard to the lockers. We have been waiting for over a month now for new lockers to be delivered; as we are a "eco boutique hotel" we take pride in that all of the furniture we have is recycled wood. The downside of this is that such furniture takes some time to build. For now, we offer guests the possibility to store valuables in our reception lockers. While the doors do not have locks, our 24/7 reception has full control over who exits and enters the building, and thanks to this and a fair amount of CCTV cameras in the hallways we have not had a single case of theft or intrusion in three years, ever since we opened our doors. Our restaurant plays music at relatively normal volume levels until 11PM, when we lower the volume to a minimal level. If this was not the case during your stay with us, we sincerely apologize for that. Our staff are always more than happy to turn down the music/ change it at the request of our guests, And while our restaurant certainly is not the cheapest in Playa, we believe it offers good value with breakfast packages starting at 79MXN (ca 4USD). Feel free to write to us at thegreenvillage7@gmail.com as well. Thanks again for your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
10.0

First Hostel/Hotel experience and I'm amaze the place it's easy to find , really clean and beautiful decor , the staff it's friendly and knowledgeable of the area , rooms are nice and spacious and bed and pillow really comfortable. All around amazing !!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
7th May 2016
8.9

Such a beautiful hostel! Very well designed. Not much of an atmosphere more of a relaxing place. Word stay again as if was so nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
10.0

I almost don't want to tell everyone how great this place is because I'm selfish and don't want it to get so popular that I can't book a bed! But Seriously this is the most comfortable good vibe hostel I've been to. It is so clean, there is AC, the rooftop kitchen is gorgeous, the staff and owners are dreamboats. I love it. It is salvation for people that need to actually sleep in a hostel. The atmosphere promotes tranquility.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.