Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ecohostel Andromeda

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
Ecohostel Andromeda Located at Bargiekaai 35, , Gent.
Ecohostel Andromeda
Belgium
Gent Oost-vlaanderen 9000 Bargiekaai 35
93% 907
51.0603053 3.7055683
Ecohostel Andromeda
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

We had an excellent stay. The inside of the boat is beautiful, a lot of hard work has obviously gone into it and the result is practically a hotel at hostel prices! Spotless, secure, electornic locks on doors. spaciuos and clean room and good facilities. The owner was very nice and there is an honest fridge which stocked vegan and organic products. We had two in the group with food allergies, so this was perfect. The walk into the centre is 10 mins or so and a nice one down the canal. 5 star!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Oh Jesus Christ :) When I went there I was looking for a regular building but I just saw the boat...It was definately best experience in my life to stay there..Very helpful staff and close to everywhere by walking :) I definately recommend here..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Loved it. Lovely people. As a massive environmental and vegan dude, I can say that it is absolutely calming being around like minded people in the most eco-friendly accommodation in all the land. But don't let me scare you off! Try it out if not just for the novelty of being on a boat! They also let me slam a lot of V friendly brews and get a hefty buzz on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Jul 2016
10.0

The best hostel I stay ever. You are one a ship with all the facilities you need. People working and staying at the hostel, are also great. Atmospheare here is perfect, quaiet, and all based in honesty. Bathrooms are very clean, as rooms and kitchen. You don't have to cook, but there are a lot of places near and cheap. I definitely recommend ecohostel andromeda!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing, unique experience! Everything about this place was wonderful. Would absolutely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Sleeping on a barge is definitely an experience you should carry out here! The hostel is lovely and clean, ecological, the owner really nice, and the small and cozy common space easily invites to exchanges with other travellers. It's close to the city centre but quite distant from the station by foot though... Greatly recommanded!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
7.1

Very intersting place to stay as the rooms are into a boat parked in the river. There is a slight smell of oil due to the engine at the back (the engine is visible through a big glass, that remebers that you are inside a true boat, and that's nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

When they say you are going to be on a barge in the canal, they mean it. We had a fantastic time here. The "Ghent Vibe" is all over this place. Very chill staff. Friendly people everywhere and everything is just kind of like "hey, you're alright." The location is farther away from the tourist part of old Ghent so it's a bit quieter, but also you will want to take a tram there. It's not difficult, but it is something to think about if you've got heavy packs on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

One of my favorite hostels! Great staff, good breakfast, and just an overall amazing experience. I would highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
9.4

The location for the hostel is very good, in a quiet area but just 10 min to city center. The toilets and showers are very spacious and clean. Beds comfortable and rooms also spacious and clean. The staff is very nicwe and friendly and the communication with them very easy and fluent. The breakfast was abundant and yummy!!! Easy parking place close to the boat! Totally recommendable and value for money!! If I´m back in Gent, I'll try to host there again! Amazing experience!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.