Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ecomama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,852 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
Ecomama Located at Valkenburgerstraat 124, , Amsterdam.
Ecomama
Netherlands
Amsterdam NH 1011 NA Valkenburgerstraat 124
91% 1852
52.3697367 4.9068680
Ecomama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stuart_wright776343
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
27th Nov 2016
7.1

The common areas are excellent, sadly it was a ghost town when I was there. The dorm was really basic, there's no free breakfast and there was no atmosphere at all. It's OK, but nothing special

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
9.7

My second time staying here! Staff are always very friendly and helpful. Location is ideal, most things within walking distance. Bikes available to rent from the hostel. A great environment for meeting new people. I'll be coming back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
8.9

Really lovely hostel. Very clean and charming. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. I'd recommend this place to anyone that doesn't want to be stuck in the middle of the crazy side of Amsterdam but still wants to visit it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
9.7

Ecomama Amsterdam is one of the best hostels I've ever seen. Superb staff like Alice always willing to talk and help with shining smiles. The communal area is definitely the highlight of all, in which young people hanging out, chatting and communicating, making friends also. Although I didn't really hang out and engage 100 percent myself due to my limited stay there, I still love it and will highly recommend it to all young travelers and backpackers. Staying there for minimum of 3 nights!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
8.9

The most aesthetically pleasing hostel i've ever stayed in at a awesome location. However, as a young solo traveller there wasn't too much going on in terms of meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
6.9

Overall, we had a good stay at Ecomama. The location was a huge plus, being just one stop away from the main action. The hosts were totally sweet/informative. However, facilities were a little lacking. The rooms were a bit chilly/drafty, with little control over the heat. Beds were creaky & didn't have normal mattresses (some sort of feather mattress?) so perhaps not to everyone's liking. The bedrooms were also too dark, and the doors would slam at night. All of this could be fixed easily!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Nov 2016
10.0

We only stayed for one night and I can definitely say that is not enough. Everything was wonderful, from the staff to the artwork and even to the pillows (feels like you're sleeping on a cloud). We had a lovely time and will definitely be returning in the future!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels ive ever been to. Mostly young people. Has hip design ...there is a tipi in the hallway! Very clean. You could walk barefoot as one of the girls working there (wink wink Alice!) and staff is fun. Has organic caffe in it therefore say goodbye to inercontinental breakfast. Highly recomended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
7.7

Very nice, but something felt a little off in the atmosphere of the place. The staff were a little preoccupied most times. But overall it was okay, but just not for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.9

Very friendly and helpful staff, relaxed & laid back atmosphere. I imagine would be ideal for couples and people travel in groups. If you need a quiet and chill stay, definitely book here. Very close to city center too. However if you are looking to socialize, meet lots of new people and go partying this place may not be for you. That being said I enjoyed my stay and there were no problems.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.