Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ecomama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.4

We were staying at basic twin room with shared bathroom. We loved the hostel. Pros: Security and own keycard so you can go out and in whenever you feel like it. Cleanliness. Staff (loved them). Luggage room, thanks for letting us leave the luggage for hours and let us eat inside while waiting the night flight. Cafe place. Location was awesome. Cons: room is small, no towels included, even though facilities told so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

The facilities were very nice I really liked what you did with the place. The atmosphere was good. The distance is still okay, so it can be easily walked to get to the center. The staff was very helpful, nice and approchable thank you all. JG

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.3

Ecomama has good facilities and the rooms and toilets etc are fine. The staff however don't seem to know what they are doing. We were given the wrong room the first night as they had given the wrong key cards to some other guests, and then did the exact same thing again the next night! Not what you want on a two night break.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic staff, facilities and location. In a quiet area but walking distance to everything in the city, beds are amazingly comfortable. There's a Kilo Shop around the corner for great second hand clothing. Would love to stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.1

I had to check in late and the staff was super friendly and accomodating. Bathrooms were clean. Loved that the all-female room I was in didn't have bunk beds. The electrical outlet situation wasn't ideal, but there was by no means a shortage in the room. Location is good because it's easy to get anywhere via public transport and isn't too far from things like the Van Gogh museum or the red light district. Even though it's not a party hostel per se, it had a good social atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.6

Ecomama is probably the coolest-looking hostel I've ever stayed in, with its swings hanging from the ceiling and massive tent in the heart of the common area, decorated with cosy cushions + fairy lights. The kitchen is great for preparing meals too, with all the utensils you need on hand as well as some free ingredients in the fridge. The rooms are small/bit low on privacy but the beds are comfy and clean and you'll be spending most of your time in the common area. A great spot to socialise in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.7

Really good atmosphere, very friendly and kind staff, clean as a hostel can be and for extra security bring a lockpad with you. I highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! The room was great, the facilities were very clean and the staff was excellent. Upon arrival they gave me the best map full of not only the tourist attractions but also where to eat, go out, etc.The atmosphere here is laid back, and not really your typical party hotel (which I enjoyed). You can walk to the metro in 10min. They also organize nightly events whether it was pub crawls or red light distric tours. They try to make sure you enjoy your trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Ecomama is a fab wee hostel in Amsterdam - it's slightly out of the city so it's away from the madness, but still easy walking distance to everywhere including the metro. The beds are comfy, I was in the 7 bed girls room and we had water pipes running across the roof of our room which could be noisy. My biggest complaint were the staff - the majority of them were incredibly rude and this didn't create the best atmosphere. I would return but for the location and tidy hostel, not for the staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It saddens me to hear that you didn't experience our staff to be the superstars they generally are, we generally only receive amazing feedback about our crew so this comes really as a surprise. Maybe they had an off day -- but that should indeed not be an excuse, but humans we are... In any case, thank you so much for your great feedback on the rest of your experience. Hope we'll have the pleasure to seeing you back & showing off our team. I'm sure if you'll give them a second chance, they won't disappoint. Take care.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.7

We stayed in the private double room. With our own bathroom and access to the shared kitchen and communal areas, it was better than staying in a hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.