Hostelworld.com

Edinburgh Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5856 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5856 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
10.0

Great location, wonderful and helpful staff, good beds, and so much more. My fiance and I loved it so much we extended our stay here. The room and facilities were nice and clean. Would highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Enjoy your time abroad!

  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Enjoy your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

We were in a private twin en suite room in a separate building with tea and coffee making facilities just outside our door. Very pleased with the set up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
7.1

Although the hostel overall was good, my room (twin ensuite) was extremely noisy because of the main door slamming just a few inches from the room door, at all hours of the night, plus noise from the street. It needs some decent triple glazing and a quietly-closing main door and a good soundproof door on the room itself. I did not get a good night's sleep, despite paying quite a lot more for a twin room. I might as well have paid a lot less and gone in a shared dormitory.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. The room in question is due to begin renovations this Monday, we hope to rectify these issues to prevent any further problems in the future. In addition we offer free ear plugs at reception for any light sleeping guests having trouble with disturbances during the night. Enjoy your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.7

Right in the centre of Edinburgh, really clean bathrooms, lovely rooms, nice staff and just a great stay!! I would highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Enjoy your travels!

3rd Feb 2017
8.6

Fantastic location just off the royal mile and close to the main transport links. Booked the double private room and turned out to be bigger than my entire apartment in Paris! Didn't try the kitchen or any of the common rooms so can't comment on those, but the showers/toilets were above average in facilities and cleanliness for a hostel. Would def come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we're most pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!

30th Jan 2017
10.0

The hostel couldn't be in a better location. It's 5 minutes away from all the sights. The staff is really nice and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and homey. I'll definitely stay there again when in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

  • sunburstali
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.9

Great place if you are looking for a base for night out. Otherwise, not great. The walls were thin, the bathrooms were not very clean.. You can tell it is live-in hostelers who are doing the cleaning....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are situated in historically listed stone building with heavy fire doors which does help to reduce noise. This said, unfortunately at times other guests can be a little inconsiderate of their surrounding travel buddies, for this reason we do supply free ear plugs at reception so that everyone can get good night’s sleep. Though our bathrooms are checked and cleaned regularly we do encourage guests to let us know if they require attendance, particularly during our busy periods. Happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
7.7

Everything was great besides the bathrooms. The showers inside were not clean & at one moment there was chunks of toilet paper on the floor. Just make sure to bring sandals inside the shower. Regarding the bedrooms, it was all good! I felt safe & I didn't have to worry about my stuff because it was in a locked room with people I knew.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Though our bathrooms are checked and cleaned regularly we do encourage guests to let us know if they require attendance, particularly during our busy periods. We try our best to be everywhere at once but it's not always so easy. Safe travels!

  • clarajessop4230
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.7

Great location right in the centre of the old town - perfect as a base for sightseeing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.