X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4319 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

An average hostel. Woke up at 4am to someone being mugged outside out window. One person in our group came home with bed bug bites. Shower room was not very clean. Excellent location and very friendly staff, though.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fab hostel, and staff were so helpful! The offer on breakfast next door was disappointing though. We were told it was exactly the same as their regular breakfast but it was half the size and the staff weren't very nice in there. We also didn't get 10% off drinks as advertised. Couldn't fault the hostel though!


74%

This may not be the most exciting and 'lively' hostel I've stayed at but it's very centrally located right next to the Royal Mile, however the room I had was just down some steps in a 'close', and the building is next to a kebab takeaway, so expect noise from late night revellers etc and there is a pub further down the steps. I had a couple of problems however the staff sorted this out and even gave me some things free as compensation. Staff were friendly,helpful especially the tall Polish guy.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

It was really cold in the building and my room was windy. It would be good to have curtains in window, would have made the room warmer. Otherwise nice place, loved the colours all around the place!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is an amazing hostel. Very friendly staff, perfect location and the room are excellent with everything you could need. I will definitely be back! Thanks.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Shame about the issue with the front door key which was a pain.


91%

The breakfast at the southern cross cafe was truly sensational and everyone in there was so friendly!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, very clean, fantastic staff


100%

Fantastic experience on Edinburgh Backpackers! Lovely staff, facilities were suberb, and location was excellent, close to the old city centre! Not a single complain to make, best hostel I've stayed in years!


77%

Very good showers, only 2 power outlets in a 14 bed room.


63%

The hostel was quite expensive due to the New Years Eve, i shared a five bed room with three more persons. The bed was really good and comfy, the room was cold, noisy due to the street proximity and to the tile in stones, which were not properly designed, the tile were loose. The showers are in small cabins on the toilet, they looks a bit dirty, there is no place to put the clothes you are going to change or your shampoo/soap. And the 2nd floor toilet was really dirty and smelly all the time


71%

Male bathroom really need a plumber and electrician to come. Electricity not really serious in the room. Breakfast in the neighbour bar rather expensive if compared to other YH (max 6 pounds in Glasgow, drinks included (here 5 pounds and at least 2 pounds for a drink). Room price and lockers rather expensive.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay.Very nice and clean room in great location,Fantastic staff,very helpful and professional.Thanks to Marek for very friendly atmosphere.We will definetly come back and recomend to everyone.


91%

I enjoyed my stay. Good atmosphere & communal areas, excellent location. It was actually rather quiet, but I was there just before Christmas.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The building might be a bit old that's why the door and key hole need time to open and lock the door.


94%

Perfect location and atmosphere. The beds were comfortable. The room and the bathroom though were a bit smelly.


89%

Perfect location, extremely friendly staff, and quite clean. My only complaint was that the room was really cold at night, and had zero soundproofing, making it difficult to get to sleep on a Saturday.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good and nice staff~

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Excelent location. Bathrooms not so clean and rooms are very noisy.


66%

Very friendly and helpful staff and excellent location! Fine if you just need a place to sleep but the room was dusty and cramped, had a half-broken lock, slamming doors in the hallway woke me up several times and the shower room was damp damaged.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(169 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback