Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 5,776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 5,776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
Edinburgh Backpackers Located at 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh.
Edinburgh Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1BU 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU
81% 5776
55.9506175 -3.1889104
Edinburgh Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • emsywemsy259563
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
3.1

the only good thing about this hostel is the location. It's dirty, bathrooms are full or mold and the security and kitchen facilities are a disgrace. our bedroom door did not lock from the inside. informed staff and the said I should have got maintained people. there no phone to contact then on and the hostel is spread over 2 different buildings so where exactly are u ment to go. There's no atmosphere u have to go to a different building to use the common room. disgusting and won't be back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Edinburgh Backpackers. All private room doors can be quite simply key locked from the inside, the reception is manned 24 hours a day and our staff would have been more than happy to show you how the lock operates if this was any problem. Our bathrooms and common areas are checked regularly and cleaned daily, if they are not up to a suitable condition then you are again welcome to contact reception and we will have them attended to immediately. In addition it is very clearly state on our Hostelworld page that we are spread across 4 separate buildings, if this is of any concern you are welcome to call and enquire whilst booking. Happy travels.

3rd Dec 2016
8.6

Very good location next to the train station and all the sights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
10.0

Amazing place, very well located! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed for just one night, but I really loved the place! I surely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Stayed in one of the private rooms, it was in a building across the street which was nice as it was very quite. Bathroom was very nice and clean, the room had a heater, blankets, and towels for us. Location was perfect, easy to get to both new town and old, street was not too crowded and there were plenty of cafes and pubs nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.9

Great location but WiFi won't be switched on till next week. Quiet, basic kitchen and bathroom facilities there. Heating system is a bit basic but functional.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Location was fantastic, staff were great, rooms were spacious and clean, shower was tiny with no where to put your clothes and there is no lift

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
4.6

Very unclear description of twin rooms. Be careful what you are looking for. Staff was over challenged. Shower is not really working. Never again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank-you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were uphappy that one of the rooms you booked had bunk beds in it, no-where on our hostelworld page do we state that all of our twin rooms have individual single beds in them. Enjoy the rest of your travels

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
6.9

Misleading information: No free wifi in the room! The free wifi of the hostel, announced on hostelworld.com, was only valid for the reception area. I had brought my heavy laptop to watch movies in our room for nothing. The manager was not prepared to reduce the price of the room due to this misleading information, nor was she willing to specify the information on the webpage, so it would be clear that the wifi is not available in every room. Very disappointing experience!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank-you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hostelworld page does not state that there is wifi in all of our rooms. There is free wifi available in all of the common rooms, which was explained to you and you used. Enjoy the rest of your travels

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.3

We stayed in a double private ensuite. It was basic but the brilliant location right off the Royal Mile makes up for for the simple room. There was a couple of issues with our ensuite, but the staff were fantastic and we were given a satisfactory solution. Would definitely recommend for a budget weekend in the Old Town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
7.4

We arrived late only as a place to sleep before an early flight. Staff were friendly, we were in another accommodation across from the hostel, we were shown there by staff. Check in and out was easy. There was tea and coffee making facilities available. We didn't use the shower etc but shared bathrooms were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.