Hostelworld.com

Edinburgh Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 5,222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 5,222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
Edinburgh Backpackers Located at 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh.
Edinburgh Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1BU 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU
84% 5222
55.9506175 -3.1889104
Edinburgh Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
4.6

The staff had been very friendly - so no complaints on that. I got the privet room in the additional building - nothing like in the photos on the web- room had around 4 m2, there was not space for my backpack and a suitcase on the floor: very dirty floor; uncomfortable bed and door with a flimsy lock - not possible to lock the room properly - I could not sleep being afraid that somebody can enter the room. I arrived in the middle of the night and couldn't go and look for other place to stay...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
9.1

Good basic hostel. Great value for Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
10.0

Really good stay. 2nd time Main building nice loads of stories though lol. Clean bedding Nice reception staff Shower before 730 for hot water Tv room good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.9

This hostel has a wonderful, cute atmosphere and is perfect for young backpackers or college students. The location couldn't have been better, situated close to the train station and right off of Edinburgh's Main Street the Royal Mile. The staff are super helpful and kind. However during our second night the wifi stopped working and the showers ran cold with no hot water anywhere. Because of this hostel's prime location there is also a lot of noise coming from the street at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.1

The location is fantastic! Right in the centre of town. It offers great value for money. Do bring ear plugs though as its noisy at night (there's a kebab shop across the road attracting the party goers). There's a lovely cafe next door for breakfast and the staff are extremely friendly. My one complaint would be that the top bunks didn't have any railings so I felt a bit insecure. That's just me though, this wouldn't bother everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2016
5.4

We really did not enjoy our stay here. We were in a room out of the main building between the front enterance and security door it was very loud. The kitchen was very dirty and we only cooked on meal there becuase of it. That being said for the price we did not expect anything special.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
8.3

The location is an 11. Security is an issue, on checkin staff member "looks all around for locker key", can't find it. On checkout different staff member told different guest "that key was just lost last night". Seems to be a theme. Facilities are reasonable considering I'm sure the building is on some historic list or something but there was no hot water left in the morning. I also don't consider luggage storage to be something that should be charged for. The heat REALLY works though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
6.9

The staff was super helpful with everything! The accommodations however, were lacking. Had to be moved because of massive amounts of mold in the bathroom. 2nd room was right on the Close & the owner of Yum Yum was out all night screaming on his phone or with a bunch of drunk friends. Other residents also very noisy, slamming doors & running down halls at all hours. Not the hostel's fault per se but still not a restful place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.6

For the price and location, anything would suffice, however my friends and I had a really great stay. Showers were good, beds were pretty comfortable and there was a superb café next door (guests get 15% discount). Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.6

This hostel is in a prime location, very central. There was plenty of information provided about booking tourist attractions and other fun outings. Felt pretty safe leaving our bags in the lockers and the bathrooms/dorms were well cleaned. Overall good experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.