Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5975 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5975 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.4

Everything was great, the only thing is if you are traveling on your own and you want make friends there's no much interaction in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
8.9

Good location from bus station. Quite a few steps to deal with in the parts of the property we saw, not sure what else on offer. Facilities twin private en suite No 7 TV, tea and coffee supplied in breakfast bar area outside room, kitchen in main part of hostel. Quiet room but woken about 6am by cooing birds, but this was ok with me, (daughter slept thru it) Security good, key codes/locks on door entry. Bed linen/towel clean and in good order.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • LauraAlexandra
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Apr 2017
10.0

We stayed for 3 nights in a double ensuite room and it was really nice. The room was very clean and they even provided towels. It's also extremely quiet, so you get a good night sleep. At first we were afraid that it would be cold, but they turn on the heating during the night. Location wise it's perfect - within walking distance to all touristic attractions and restaurants/ shops. They also offer a breakfast (any buy) discount to a lovely coffee place that's just next to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Enjoy your travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

The location could not be better, as it is right in the middle of the Royal Mile(the heart of the city). Walking distance to key attractions: the castle in 5-10minutes walk, same with princes street garden, and waverly station just a staircase away. I stayed at the 14 person dorm which is slightly squeezy but it has lockers for everyone and 3 different bathrooms/toilets right outside. Only suggestion will be to change the sensor lights to manual switch, its quite scary when the lights go off

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed staying at Edinburgh Backpackers! The hostel was clean, very well situated and the staff was extremely helpful. However, if you're a light sleeper you might struggle a bit as the street gets a lot of movement during the night hours. Will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! See you next time :)

  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.1

The location of the hostel is perfect. The stuffs are very polite, young guys except one chubby Canadian girl, who is there like 'guest-stuff'. She helps there for staying free. I took a protective foil for food from the 'department of stuff' in the kitchen (before I have asked other stuff) and btw, it's stayed from other, previews guests. So, she didn't buy it. She came in to the kitchen and asked me if it is my foil. I said no, she was pretty rude and arrogant and took it from my hand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay though sorry to hear that our staff might have caused you upset. No doubt the staff member in question was acting in what she believed to be the best interest of our guests by making sure nobody was using food or goods that they hadn't supplied themselves.

13th Apr 2017
8.0

Very well located hostel, just off the Royal Mile. The room was clean and comfy, Toilets were clean as well. Not many common areas to share with rest of travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Our common room and games room are both located on the first floor where you are welcome to hang out, watch some TV, play some darts guitar or pool and chat with friends and new travel buddies. Safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.4

The hostel is overall ok, the position is perfect and the room was pretty much fine. I was staying in a twin room with my gf and they moved us to a different building where only private rooms were located. We've had a couple of issues: first of all the room was super cold in April and we asked for a heater which more or less fixed the issue, secondly there were 3 bathrooms with showers and 1 of them was super dirty plus the light turned off when you had a shower. Apart from this the place is ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. All rooms are fitted with radiators which can be adjusted by guests though you are always welcome to visit reception where you can receive additional heaters or bedding as required.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.7

Great location, very central and easy to reach the main attractions. Not too much disturbance at night either The drawbacks for us were lack of space in the kitchen for cooking and lounge for eating/playing games. It was very busy and so this was awkward. We ended up playing games in our room on the floor. Also, I was driving and there was only 1 car park I could use which cost nearly £20 a day. This bumped up the cost of the holiday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. The common rooms are one of our guest’s favourite places to hang out and socialize with friends, as a result they can get a little busy during peak periods though everyone is normally happy to make space and accommodate new friends! Unfortunately Edinburgh’s city centre is a little difficult for parking though we are located within a 2 minute walk of the train station allowing you to either use their paid parking facilities or alternatively park for free one stop out of town catch the train in to the city centre. Safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.7

Beds very close together and not very private unlike other hostels. No individual bed light or shelf next to bed. Cheap showers which don't ever really get warm (on the first night I couldn't work out how to use them so had a cold shower) Price hike of over 200% for Easter. Very flimsy lock on locker (could have been ripped open easily) and no option for your own padlock. Paper thin walls. No space on floor to open suitcase for top bunks. Quite soulless.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your response. Our dorm rooms and facilities are clearly photographed on our booking page so as to not misrepresent the hostel to potential guests. We regularly adjust and update our prices to be competitive with other hostels in the area, price "hikes" during busy periods allow us to provide additional staffing for reception and cleaning in order to improve the quality of your stay. Lockers are provided for a £5 deposit which is refundable at any time by returning the key to our 24hr reception, likewise guests are welcome to leave any valuable items in our reception safe. Safe travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.