Hostelworld.com

Edinburgh Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 5,146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 5,146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
Edinburgh Backpackers Located at 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh.
Edinburgh Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1BU 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU
83% 5146
55.9506175 -3.1889104
Edinburgh Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
7.4

The location was very nice, it's right besides royal mile so with just a few steps you're in the city centre. But there are 4 floors, not in each floor showers and toilets for male and female, also not very clean. The rooms are ok, beds comfortable but old, there are lockers for each person. There is one gameroom and one lounge with TV, but they are not very comfortable either. The receptionists are very nice, really want to support you and are also very patient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
7.7

Stayed there for three nights with a friend. All is well, except for the cleanliness. Staff is super nice and helpful, but most of maintenance is done for people who work in the hotel for their lodging and aren't too careful when it comes to hygiene. We asked for extra blankets, so they brought duvets and started putting coverlets on them, in the process sweeping the clean coverlet on the floor. Hostel has lots of potential, pity is lost this way.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.0

Pros: Awesome location in the centre of old town. Good wifi. They'll wash and dry your clothes for you for 4pounds. Free street parking outside the front door from 6:30pm-8:30am. Friendly staff. Cons: could use a little maintenance. We were located 2 floors away from the men's bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
7.4

A hostel that is quite comfortable and with a very convenient location. However, the kitchen is quite dirty. And it annoys me and my friends a lot when we have to pay 3 pounds each to store our luggage for the day we check out, which most hostels will do this for free.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.9

- Located right in the heart of Royal Mile which makes it really convenient. Linen is provided. - 5 pounds deposit required for the key and locker. Locker is really huge and it can fit my 40litre backpack together with a small bag. - It can get pretty loud at night and so it might affect you if you're a light sleeper. - Electrical sockets are not beside your bed, but are in a corner of the room. Everyone will have one socket though. - 3 pounds charge for depositing your backpack 1 day

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.0

If you're in the main building you might have an okay stay. We were in another building that seemed like a dungeon. The 14-bed room was sectioned off into weird bits instead of being 1 large room where you can see everyone. Couldn't open the windows/blinds. Didn't have keycard access to the main building with the common room + kitchen (had to be buzzed in). Shower in our building was terrible and alternated from scalding hot water to cold water. (Shower in main building was fine.)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
7.1

Edinburgh backpackers was a nice hostel to stay in! The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and accomidating! My only complaint would be that the kitchen and the lounge area were really dirty and unkept! As well, there was a 3 £ charge to keep luggage where every other hostel I have stayed at has been free! Amazing location tho! Right near everything!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.3

Customer in our room eat in bedroom, so smell is not well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
8.9

Pretty good hostel. Pretty standard for the price. Great location. Next to a really cute cafe that offers a discount to hostel stayers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2016
7.7

Staying here suited my needs. My main objective was having somewhere to sleep and shower. Shower was good. Room was actually quite good, however it was noisy from pedestrian traffic in adjacent lane. Also I felt a bit isolated staying in the other building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.