X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4540 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great friendly helpful staff at the front desk.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Very well located in Old town, close to main places to visit. Many pubs and restaurants close to the hostel. Rooms and beds are well enough to sleep well after a day spent at wondering around in Edinburg. Showers and toilettes are clean. Staff is nice and kind. There a safe parking at 5 minutes from the hostel to live your car or your motorbike. For breakfast there's a café nextdoor with 15% discount for hostel recidents. Just a bit noisy on Saturday night but acceptable.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

This hostel is in a fine location but was absolutely disgusting. The bathroom was covered in hair, dirt, and wet nastiness. It smelt revoliting like throw up the whole time.. I couldn't shower there because it was that gross. The common area and game room were also disgusting. Most of the other guest were very old. The bedrooms weren't as bad. The only upside is it was cheap so I guess you get what you pay for. The photos are deceiving. I would not recommend it.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your feedback, as you know we had a major leak while you were here caused by another traveller blocking the drain and leaving the taps on, it was fixed within a few hours but the water damp takes abit more time to dry out. I'm sorry about the inconvienance caused but it was out of our control. As for your comment about the others guest being old, we welcome all travellers of all ages. Try talking to them, they will have better stories and experiences than most. We all get older

66%

We where never told that our room was going to be located in another building.


100%

Left my kindle and they are sending it to where I'm staying in London! Great stay overall as well.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff!!!


66%

We booked a night in a private room, but were in a different building to the rest of the hostel/facilities (kitchen, laundry etc). The room itself I imagine was a converted storage room?? directly under the stairs and next to the front door. Very dark and dingy. The noise of people climbing up stairs at all hours to the dorm room above was absolutely ridiculous (even for a backpackers). Kitchen facilities were ok, otherwise average. Really just paying for location!


63%

Arrived too early to check-in but was allowed to stow our backpacks in luggage storage, no charge. Booked a double bed private and was in another building as the main building was all dorms. No lift, on the 3rd floor. Room was okay, spacious. Shared bathroom was also okay. Shower control was temperamental. No breakfast. TV didn't work. Overall, an ok stay. Location was very good, minutes from the Royal Mile and train station, just an uphill walk.


63%

Great location but grumpy staff! Didn't appreciate being ordered to hurry up by cleaners while brushing my teeth for two minutes at the sink! Everything was pretty clean apart from the tea mugs in the room which were very greasy. Would be a big improvement to have even a tiny dry private space to change after a shower other than behind the wet shower curtain or barefoot in a toilet cubicle. The building is amazing but sadly the staff were mostly very grumpy and not very welcoming.


57%

Leaking water, dirty showers, smelly toilets, really dirty smelly kitchen. Smelly bedrooms. But a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, as you probably know that on the night you stayed somebody blocked the shower drain and left the water on. As a result of this our shower room and the kitchen which is located underneath got flooded out. The plumber got it all fixed and reopened within a few hours but with the amount of water that leaked it takes time to clean up. Sorry you were inconvienced for your 1 night stay with us but sometimes these things are out of our control. happy travels.

89%

Clean and comfortable, friendly helpful staff in an excellent location with a great cafe (southern cross ) next door. 100% satisfied will definitely book again.thank you.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff who are very helpful. Just be ready for the sounds from the pubs at night. There are a few around the hostel but, if you are heavy sleeper you will be fine.


100%

The stay was pleasant and comfortable.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Noisy Questionable clealiness of linen toilet smell in the stairway Door on the street left open Dirty and unsafe street

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Booked a private twin room, which was situated on the lower ground or ground floor, but room was just beside the main entrance, and underneath the staircase. As you can guess by now it was extremely noisy as people were coming in and out of the entrance, and stairs creaked incessantly with people climbing up and down. It would be better if the location of the room was communicated before booking. But I guess you get what you pay for.


37%

The hostel has a great location, apart from that its below average. The room was dusty and smelt very bad, the bed sheets were not properly cleaned and smelt old and moldy. Not very secure either and very noisy with people slamming doors. Additionally they have a charge of 3 pounds to store luggage, which I have never encountered in any other hostel. Not value for money at all, could get a decent clean hotel if you plan in advance at the same price. I would not recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, i'm sorry to to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. To answer your review, you score us 1 on security, to get to your room you have 3 security coded doors and cctv, i'm not sure what else you need to feel safe. We also have 24 hour reception so if you think the room is not clean enough for you, you should come and let us know. As for value, we have the cheapest rates for the best location in Edinburgh. Happy travels

74%

Our stay was great because of the localisation, we were downtown. Beds were comfy, and it was clean.But the room was very small and dark. Plus please change the curtains, they were dirty...


100%

Excellent stay, right in the heart of everything! Staff were great, really good local knowledge of the city. Nice big lockers, key cards & no curfew. Seems like everything is cleaned pretty regularly. Will be back :)


94%

Very happy! Had a private room with shared bathroom for 2 nights. Arrived before check in time as we had an early flight, was allowed to have the room early as it was available. We didn't have any need for the communal areas as we ate out, however we had access to a very clean kitchen, so was able to keep milk for making tea. Bathroom and room were very clean and location was great. Also able to borrow umbrellas for free from reception!! Very decently average and excellent value for money.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

THE BEST HOSTEL YOU CAN EVEN DREAM. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND TO STAY THERE!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(122 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback