Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5,819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5,819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
Edinburgh Backpackers Located at 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh.
Edinburgh Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1BU 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU
82% 5819
55.9506175 -3.1889104
Edinburgh Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
10.0

If you want the best location and the nicest staff then this is the hostel for you. I came home lastnight and I wish I was back.As soon as you step out of the hostel you are amongst all iconic attractions (no need to take a bus or train) upon arrival we were greeted with genuine down to earth staff with all the help you need to ask for. I definitely would recommend this place to anyone. This hostel is a great place to set up camp basically and truly feel at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Very good location, right at the heart of Edinburgh, 10mins to the castle with the standard of the room (a private en-suite) same as in the hotels nearby, but for much less. The staff is extremely helpful and they know all good places in Edinburg (e.g. where the best haggis is served etc.). The room was clean and tidy. The benefit of the hostel is that it has an additional games room with a pool table and darts, and there is also a TV room where you can meet new friends, read a book or socialise

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Never ever in all my life of travelling have I come across a place to stay where on arrival people are so friendly and warm they welcome you immediately into the group which are open to all residents. From the kitchen to the games room to the reception you feel welcome over and over again. I have so much I can't believe it's real I have to keep on going to the bathroom to smack myself. Most people here are free spirited in a very cool respected manner. I dread the day I have to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.1

A great little place, really easy location to get to. The bathroom was a bit small, but it got the job done, and the flooring and walls sometimes creaked a bit much due to age, but I would definitely recommend them, I did like staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing place, amazing staff & amazing location!! I stayed in a double bed shared bathroom in the building across the road from the hostel & it was awesome... I was a little under the weather during my stay & the fantastic staff helped me through this tough time!! 11 thumbs up... I'd definitely stay here again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
8.9

Staff are fantastic, super friendly and helpful. In the best location! Seriously can't beat it. Rooms are clean and tidy and pretty spacious. Highly recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
8.0

Location was excellent and staff were friendly. Because of the central location you can here the noise from outside (pubs, tourists etc), but the hostel provides free ear plugs. The only thing I wasn't happy with is that there are no toilets on every floor: if you need the loo in the middle of the night you'll have to walk up the stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
6.3

Staff and cleanliness was great. Building is run down. Walls are paper thin so we could hear every conversation in other rooms. Plumbing was extremely loud and every time someone used a bathroom, it sounded like someone banging on the wall. Window never closed completely so we could hear the music and people from the bars

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
7.7

Great kitchen facilities, only let down was when one of the girls bathrooms had no hot water for a few days leaving only 2 showers to supply all the girls in the building. Otherwise great stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
7.7

Great Hostel overall, close to Princes Street for shopping and central to everything. Also close to Edinburgh castle. Hostel facilities are good with enough space for travelers to leave luggage around, and lockers available. The staff however was extremely unreasonable when I booked an extra night and tried to get a refund or credit for it. They also jacked up the prices double for that night because it was "close to New Years". They were condescending and ridiculed me at check out for my error.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! As stated upon our terms and conditions we do have a 48 hour cancellation policy and are unable to give refunds within this termination time allowance. During Edinburgh special event periods such as the Fringe festival and Hogmanay celebrations we do raise our prices slightly in order to provide additional staffing, this allows us to keep the hostel to the highest possible grade of cleanliness and condition. This additional charge is standardised practice of all hostels in the Edinburgh Old Town area.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.