Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
Edinburgh Backpackers Located at 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh.
Edinburgh Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1BU 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU
82% 5523
55.9506175 -3.1889104
Edinburgh Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
8.0

Our stay was for the most part excellent. The location is superb and the cleanliness of our double room was fantastic. The only grievances we had were that two of the female reception staff were quite rude and condescending when we were checking in. A sentiment echoed by the other couple we had traveled with. Not a great first impression. Also the constant bombardment of advertisements when using the hostel wifi was very irritating and we could not open any links to other webpages when using it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
6.6

The room was clean. The reception staff were very helpful. It was very noisey, not just from the busy city street but also other guests trailing up and down the stairs all night talking and shouting. The door to the room banged very loudly each time anyone entered or left the room, I would suggest some door closers are fitted to minimise this on those huge heavy doors. The most disappointing aspect was the cold shower despite getting up at 7am.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
9.1

The shower was better than mine at home. Excellent location in the heart of the fringe festival. I will mostly likely stay here again when I come back to Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
4.6

incredibly deceiving. The staff was rude, the rooms were fitted randomly in unreformed buildings with an stinky carpet, unfitting windows, broken shuts, vomit smell all night, dirty and few toilets... The location is good, but definitely not worth it. I would strongly recommend to pay a little more to get some higiene.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for your feedback. You booked 4 beds the day before you arrived in Edinburgh while the biggest festival in the world is on. If you were honest about your stay you were not happy that you all couldn't be in the same room. We are sorry about that but guest that book months in advance will always be together and late comers will always get whats left. I'm disappointed that you write bad comments about us because you were not organized like our other guest.

  • laurenashley23
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2016
5.7

Great location, but that's about it. I was in the separate building in the large dorm and the building was extremely run down and filthy and smelled. The 12 bed dorm had one small window and no ventilation. Showers were moldy. Paint chipping off the walls. There were no amenities...not even coffee in the morning. The blonde girl working the front counter was quite abrasive and rude. Didn't feel very welcoming or helpful at all. Next time I'm in Edinburgh I will be staying elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • peterjamesparsons3849
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
10.0

This spot is right where all the touristy action is located. The front staff is real positive, and didn't mind answering questions I'm sure they have answered countless times. I left my key in my room when I went to shower, and they were more than happy to let me back in my room along with a few laughs. Front desk was just real friendly and helpful, so if you don't know what to do, they have plenty to keep you busy,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.7

nice Place, friendly staff, and convenient location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
6.0

Stayed during Fringe Festival so finding accommodation was hard. Edinburgh Backpackers had this second seperate building nearby which I stayed in. Security was good but had to go down dark alley to access so felt really scechy. In 14 bed dorm with curtains splitting up sections which was nice. No airflow, stuffy and smelled not that great. Only stayed 1 night which considering the lack of beds in the city during Fringe was okay. Hope main building is better. Basically a bed to sleep in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.6

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The location is great. The hostel itself is a bit dated and could do with redecorating etc. Not enough showers and toilets for the whole hostel. Rooms could be a bit bigger but not a huge issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.0

The staff was really nice, and the inside of the building was really cool with the big spiral staircase. The hostel is located just off the Royal Mile, and with the windows open it got loud in our room at night. There is a pub just below the windows, on the stairway between the buildings, and we heard glass breaking and drunken yelling every night. The floor of our room was made of little bits of wood that weren't held down by anything. It felt like walking on a floor covered in dominos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.