X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4358 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Was a decent hostel with reasonable facilities, but didn't have a fantastic armosphere


77%

Kitchen and bathroom were always filthy dirty, could do with a proper clean. Common area great, dorm was great :) Window in room 12 did not close properly though so there was a cold draft and the heating went to waste.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing facilities and price right on the royal mile

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location was excellent, room was far better than we had expected and was great value for money! The only let down was the shower, which had no stamd and did not work incredibly well, but everything else was good.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great value for money and great location.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a great stay, clean hostel, clean rooms and excellent location.


77%

I chose to stay only for a night, because it was the closest and cheapest to the place where I had to catch the bus. The location is perfect, very close to the train station and to the Castle. I wish I had chosen to stay here all along instead of the place where I paid more and was not better than this.


97%

I wish there were more men's toilets available...

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely amazing hostel, have stayed frequently over the past few months and loved it. Location is utterly fantastic and the staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It's cheap and the location is excellent, you can walk to the main attractions in minutes.


91%

The staff was incredibly helpful and made sure that we knew all of the important sights to see (and places to eat...). They knew the area very well, and had all of the best insider tips. The room was small but very clean, and we didn't have any noise problems at all. The location was perfect for hitting up all of the main sites in old town, and was not too far from any place we walked. Definitely got our money's worth!

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Penthouse was great but at the top of building. Lots of stairs and no lift. Quite a hike with baggage


100%

I cant recommend this hostel enough, absolutely amazing, extremely lovely staff and very clean rooms. Location was the most central you could possibly get and the key cards and 24 hour reception meant it felt safe coming in late at night. Common room was big and friendly with a tv :D

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

If i come to Edinburgh again ,for sure i will stay here :) :)

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome location, friendly staff :)

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed in a single room and found it excellent value for money. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff and located just off the royal mile. I will stay again when next back in Edinburgh

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel was never quiet. However, that is the nature of Scotland and Edinburgh's lively atmosphere. It was quite a good stay, with comfortable beds, large bathrooms, and great wifi. The breakfast deal next door is so worth it-- it's delicious! Overall, a good stay.


66%

An average hostel. Woke up at 4am to someone being mugged outside out window. One person in our group came home with bed bug bites. Shower room was not very clean. Excellent location and very friendly staff, though.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We're a couple, we chose a Double Bed Private Ensuite and stayed for 2 nights. The best thing about this hostel is definitely the LOCATION. It's right in the middle of Old Town; you can walk everywhere. The room was definitely ok for us but we basically just wanted a place to stay out of the cold at night. If you're looking for super clean, super comfortable, super quiet, don't book here, as you'll be disappointed. If you're young and looking for a simple, decent, cheap place, this is the one.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fab hostel, and staff were so helpful! The offer on breakfast next door was disappointing though. We were told it was exactly the same as their regular breakfast but it was half the size and the staff weren't very nice in there. We also didn't get 10% off drinks as advertised. Couldn't fault the hostel though!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(116 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback