X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4725 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

5/5 would come back again regards Finland

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Had everything you need. Friendly staff. Common area was kind of closed off though so it wan't the most social of places. great location though.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely loved staying here! The location was perfect being so close to the Royal Mile. The beds, toilets, and showers were clean and the staff was incredibly helpful when we had questions about getting to the airport.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The room we were given had nothing to do with the pictures shown on the site. Really small room with no sunlight at all, just a tiny window towards a disgusting yard. Also it hadn´t been properly cleaned. The staff wasn´t very helpful, when we asked if we could borrow a power adapter for five minutes, they said they could only sell us one and we also had to pay for them to keep our luggage in the last day for a couple of hours. The only advantage of this place is its location.


77%

Nice hostel good location


71%

We stayed as family in dorm with children. Room adequate but no ladders on bunks, safety issue. Room basic but smelly. Female shower room out of order. Male staff at check in unpleasant. Smoke alarm in kitchen didn't work. Well located. Basic but adequate for an old building. Free wifi. Lot of stairs could be issue for less able people. Male shower room floor remained flooded overnight due to ineffective shower curtains. Beds comfortable. Not the best hostel but not the worst.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Nice location, backpackers factory atmoshere, no time for customer's problems, because next ones are waiting (or no such services provided e.g. look something up on internet) cost for printouts 50p, cost for luggage storage 3BP p.p., still okay due to low double room prices

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Great location, in the heart of the city. Unfortunately, a tiny and, what is worse, very dirty room with really tired walls in a tired environment (corridor, stairs). This place can be great but really needs a good refurbishment!!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel was just alright regarding its low price. But the building is really old, the facilities are terrible, the common room is small and smells really bad... The trash are actually stocked under the couch of the common room. Hostel not to recommand to anybody lookink for basic hygien and intimacy. Perfect if you're just looking for a low price close to the center, no matter the conditions.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Paloma was awesome, really helpful and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms probably in need of a refurb, clean but everything felt old and well worn.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff didn't seem to care too much about our stay. They were nice but not very committed. The beds were nice and comfortable but the bathrooms were gross. They left the front door wide open all the time but we still had key cards to get into our rooms and lockers. Overall it was pretty average but not so clean.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Penthouse 6 was great. Quiet. Slept well Ben though the mattress is very hard. Very friendly woman at the front desk.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent value for money, staff were friendly and helpful. Would return in the future.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

We got a twin room from the other building. It was NOT what you see in the advertisement pics. There was no kitchen, just a small fridge and a water boiler (no water tap however). The toilets are not as nice as in the pics. The room was small, just a bunk bed and a tv. It woud've been ok, but the walls were paper-thin. Our neighbors weren't loud, but you could hear every bit of sound from the other rooms, the corridor & the street. So this is not a place for people in need of a good sleep.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The only thing was the shower pressure was very poor but could live with that as all the rest of it was excellent


91%

Great private room, good size and well presented. We liked how quiet it was in the top of the hostel.


71%

Large space, great location, busy hostel.


100%

Everything was fantastic! Can't think of a part I didn't like.


100%

Great stay! Staff were really friendly and cool. WIFI fast and worked in the dorms. Would definitely stay there again!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

The room is dissappointed with the money I paid. The room is small and have nothing else. I couldnot open the window and the view is blocked by trees and other trees.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(167 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback