Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 6485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 6485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.7

My friend and I stayed one night after a Haggis Adventures tour. Lady on check in was rude. Lady on checkout was great! Showers are nice. Bed was okay. Great location and they let us store our bags on checkout for free. I'd stay here again if I return to Scotland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
9.7

Great location in old Edinburgh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Aug 2017
8.6

Friendly staff with good private rooms in a central location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.9

Good location, comfortable, good lockers, nice staff, organised events etc etc so all in all pretty good. Downfall would be the constantly smelly showers and toilets

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hea47017661
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Location Location Location!! From the airport it is so easy to catch a bus to City Center and the hostel is a 5 min walk from Waverly Station. All the mail attractions of Edinburgh are extremely close along with a grand selection of restaurants and cafes! The food in Edinburgh is amazing!! The showers here are great and the beds comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
9.4

My friend and I stayed in the private twin (shared bathroom) for one night. The location is very convenient if you are looking to be in the centre of Old Town or near the train station/airport bus. Our room was in a separate building across the street, which was nice and had its own kitchen and amenities. The room was clean and comfortable with its own television. We especially appreciated the 24 hour reception. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel and location. Excellent facilities - kitchen, games room and lounge room! Nice beds, lockers available and clean bathrooms. I'd come back here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Second time at this hostel and it never disappoints. Friendly staff, clean and awesome location. It is in the centre of the action so a pair of ear plugs can be helpful. The common areas are great for meeting other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2017
8.6

Location is excellent for exploring Edinburgh and is right off the Royal Mile. It is also close to lots of good restaurants and bars. The facilities are a bit dated and very damp. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
8.9

We stayed as a group of 5 in Edinburgh Backpackers for a weekend during Fringe. First off the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, the location of the hostel was perfect for anyone there for the festival, everything was very central, the royal mile was around the corner and the airport citylink bus stop was a 5 minute walk away. On the same street as the hostel is a Boots, Pizza Hut and a lovely cafe that does an all day Scottish breakfast. Our stay was great and v. convienent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.