X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4404 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

My four friends and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly, the location of the hostel was very central. The room was great and the beds nice. The kitchen was well equipped

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I was in a 14 bed dorm, and it was not pleasant. The bed hurt my back, as the mattress was maybe an inch thick and lumpy. The linen looked like it had seen better days, and the lamp was falling apart. Hardly any outlets in the dorm. Had to go to the hallway to get wifi. My room also was in a different building than the hostel, which was weird. The bathroom was clean, but I didn't try the showers. The lockers were a great size, which was very helpful.


74%

I would get rid of the additional costs for very minor facilities, i.e. 3 pounds per item for storing your luggage after having checked out - this should instead be seen as a gesture of hospitality.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We had a nice and big private room with free coffee and tea! It was a bit noisy on the streets but you can geht free earplugs at the reception which is very nice. The employes are very friendly and helpfull. We Had a nice stay Had also The breakfast at the Restaurant nearby was very good.


91%

Great helpful staff and probably one of the best locations in Edinburgh!

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Some small issues, uncomfy bed, pretty bad soundproofing and the tv didn't work but for what it is, it's a great location, you get cafe discounts and the staff are friendly. Convenient and good for first time travellers to Edinburgh as it's right in the heart of old town and close to transport and food.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It would have been nice if the check out time was later

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Average hostel. Kitchen is good, rooms OK. Showers didn't have hot water by 10am and toilets and bathroom were full of water. Didn't like the £3 charge to keep your luggage either. Alright but have been to better hostels


74%

I needed a single room right in the middle of Edinburgh's old town and Edinburgh Backpackers have delivered that at a reasonable price. Yes, it was several floors up and the room was tiny, the facilities were somewhat limited and there wasn't any particular atmospehere or much common space but none of that was a problem for me during that stay. Having to walk up and down the stairs to use the toilet/bathroom and the cold shower just before leaving were not my favourite part though.


100%

wow, just walking distance from the bus to the airport, open 25h/night, internet, cool living room, clen kitchen, nice room, good bed, just great!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was really nice and helpful. Location was great!! Rooms were clean. Overall great experience!


74%

Sleeping quarters were worth the money. Shower room was below par, several taps were broken/leaking. Staff very friendly and helpful. Did not stay long enough to meet anyone new, mostly because of the purpose of our visit; a stag do, late arrival, sleep, leave early. Worth the money, considering the location. Would happily recommend it to a friend.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

everything is good. except that our salmon was stolen there.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The bathrooms were a little dirty and old, but other than that, it was a nice place for the night!


91%

Great location and lovely friendly staff


74%

Great location and friendly staff, but the double room (in a separate building) was filthy, noisy and the shower was horribly to adjust to warm.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a nice stay in this hostel. I greatly would recommend it. Thank a lots.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great experience, great location, great price.


83%

Was a decent hostel with reasonable facilities, but didn't have a fantastic armosphere


77%

Kitchen and bathroom were always filthy dirty, could do with a proper clean. Common area great, dorm was great :) Window in room 12 did not close properly though so there was a cold draft and the heating went to waste.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(105 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback