Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 6174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 6174 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2017
8.3

Comfy beds and great location. The bathrooms were really new and nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Fabulous hostel, excellent location. Top floor penthouse (3) was a fully functional kitchen, private bathroom, comfortable clean apartment and amazing view with windows opening to the street. Helpful staff and really great value. Would definately recommend and stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Great location, great room & lovely people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.3

Great location, right off the Royal Mile. Rooms could have been cleaner, and there were no replacement towels but facilities were good apart from that. Stayed in a private room, great size and shared bathrooms were big as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.1

Super-helpful stuff; great location - 2mins walk to airport bus, 5mins to Castle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
7.7

A nice enough place in an excellent location, in the heart of the Old Town. We stayed in a private room, which a separate building across the street. Everything was spotless, but it could use with a little maintenance (e.g. paint, new mattresses). The staff was great, they were really helpful even when the hostel was full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Only complaint was that the bathrooms would get crowded and one toilet was always out of order. The staff member that did my check in warned me of this though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We were waiting on some components to fix one of our cubicles though additional facilities are available on other levels, this issue has now been rectified. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
6.0

The person who checked me in was not nice and snapped at me to get out of the way before I could even ask a couple questions about my stay. Other than that, nice location and it did the trick.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
10.0

The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Many people complained about the rooms being so small, but honestly i think i was just fine. No problems at all with the rooms. The toilets and kitchen are also clean. The location of the hostel is the best, near to the train station and also attraction places. I love it so much and would stay there again for my next visit to edinburgh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your excellent feedback! Our dorm rooms are clearly displayed on our Hostelworld page to give potential guests a clear representation of our facilities. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.0

A nice location in the center of Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.