X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4848 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

No towels provided. Generally dirty place, especially toilet/shower room.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback , backpackers usually travel with their own towels, we hire them if you don't have one. We don't provide one for everyone that comes through the door. Happy travels

60%

The location is very good, but the hostel is terrible, the toilet is dirty and the shower was cold. The bedroom was dirty as well but is a cheap place to stay.


31%

Staff was rude on check in, bunk bed had no ladder being as short as I am I requested to changed beds to be told I couldn't it was to hard even though no one had checked in yet. Ladder provided was only as tall as my hip and had nothing to secure it to the bunk! So had to climb over the back edge that wobbled in the dark at night to go to toilet to ! Showers covered in mould toilets filthy (blood on one) dispensers all broken, disgusting hostel!


94%

Good overall experience here, and great price for accommodation during fringe (though I booked 4 months ahead). Comfy beds, big kitchen, lots of showers and toilets (though all on one floor, which happened to be the floor I was on). Very helpful staff and fast laundry service. Located in the heart of everything, incredible location. Only complaints - duvet smelled a tad (just a tad) like mature cheese and the bathrooms had a slight smell of mildew.


80%

Very friendly staff and good atmosphere in excellent location. Men's restrooms were of poor quality and 8-bed room was confined.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Amazing location, friendly and helpful staff.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The location is fantastic! Everything is ok except the facilities. The height of bed is lower. So it is easy to hurt your head. Meanwhile, sometimes there are no hot water during your shower!


89%

extremely well situated in centre of Edinburgh. staff very helpful and friendly. nice little restaurant next door - 10% discount for hostel guests

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

We stayed for one night during the Fringe festival so prices were probably higher then usual. It was £40 each for a small room with bunks on an extremely noisy street. We were not in the main hostel but at a place around the corner. It was like stepping back in time to a 90's student house. The main hostel seemed very nice with good common areas but this extra bit of theirs wasn't really up to scratch.


77%

The blinds the roomroom didn't close properly and light outside shines straight in. The window was nearly impossible close and had wear ear plugs bed.


63%

The rooms are alright and clean. On the contrary, in the showers there is not even hooks to hang our stuffs, this is not really convenient. Too bad the service of bag keeping after the check-out time is not free...

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely friendly staff, main building rooms are much better than the other building rooms (18b) perfect location, cafe next door does lush blueberry pancakes


77%

The hostel was in a excellent location with friendly staff. The facilities were good and we feel we received good value for what we paid.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Double rooms are not on the main building. Very noisy place, very old as well. Water boilers from the corridor very noisy as bad as couldn't sleep properly. Hostel really good but double rooms on number 18, near bulding really poor quality.


40%

Requested early check in. Told to wait until 1:00pm. Staff was helpful but not friendly upon check in. Told where the rooms where, kitchen etc. But wasn't given any info on the festivals and local attractions. I've worked at hostels and know that it's often the travellers first impression of the country. It's important to make them feel welcome. Hostel was VERY noisey and the person working at front desk did nothing to prevent non-guests from making noise in the lobby at 4:00 in the morning.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall we had a great stay here. Staff where friendly and location was PERFECT.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Had single bed room in the attic, lovely space once I'd climbed the 6 floors (no lift ... No fun if I'd had a suitcase!) brilliant location, very quiet building even though it was full during the Fringe festival and just off the mile which was a lovely surprise. Would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, had all the facilities you need too. Movies in the common room were a good touch. And the pool tabel! Wifi doesn't work well past 2nd floor though (for us anyway)

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

% pepople room, really good location, good staff, clean hostel. Will repeat if I can stay in the main bulding


69%

I have stayed here before and would consider staying here again but it really would be based on location alone. Paying £3 to store a bag for the day was something I felt excessive but would pack a backpack over a case next time so I would not be tied to this unnecessary expense.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(212 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback