Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 5,395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 5,395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
Edinburgh Backpackers Located at 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh.
Edinburgh Backpackers
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1BU 65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU
82% 5395
55.9506175 -3.1889104
Edinburgh Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.1

Booked 3 bed private room with some friends, was great to find that there was a kitchen in our room which was really handy. Staff were great and really helpful. Location was the best, very close to all the attractions and literally 30 secs from the train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
8.6

The view from the top floor, (102 steps up) was wonderful. Good WiFi and a 15% discount to the cafe next door made this great. The female showers up stairs were iffy, but for the price, one can't complain. Note that cc transactions are 2% extra. Good hostel close to the train station, which is what we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.0

great location, bit annoying being in a separate building away from common area/kitchen but staff were really helpful and would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nyccyn7874
  • Israel, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.0

We ordered private rooms in hostel instead of other options because we want a hostel environment but the rooms were in another building from the main one so it's just felt like cheap hotel. The rooms were very small and uncomfortable. From the other hand the location was good especially if you are coming from the train.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
8.9

The staff was super friendly, the room was fairly big and the beds were very nice. The bathrooms were separated, though, and the shower stalls were ridiculously small and the showers didn't work very well. They either only had cold water or they didn't drain at all. The wifi was also pretty bad - it rarely worked, and when it did it was pretty slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.1

I've stayed in the dorms before and would really recommend them. This time I stayed in a private room. Things began badly when there was a misunderstanding over photographic ID; I had taken the passport and driving licence to be examples of photo ID to bring, the woman on the desk took them to be the specific ID needed -You really need to specify because medically I can't drive and passport renewal is pricey. Toilet seat was broken, windows manky and heater contumacious - otherwise, all fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Very good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Brilliant hostel, phenomenal location (two seconds from the castle and Waverley station) staff were very friendly and interested in your reasons for staying. Will happily stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.0

Staff very helpful anf friendly. Good kitchen/common areas and only a minute's walk from the Royal Mile and city centre. Great spot!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.9

Its located in a great place - you can just walk to most locations. The staff was very good & helpful. The room was a little smelly, but it definitely felt safe. Since this place is so centrally located, there is no overnight car parking near the hostel. We were advised to go park it at the train station ~0.5 miles away & had to pay extra for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.