Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 5899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 5899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.0

Excellently located, staff OK. The smallest room - so small that there's not space both sides of the bed. Equally the ensuite is less than 1 metre by 2m. That means an odd sliding door c and little space for a normal one Smallest sink I've ever seen and it was tucked away so there was no way to stand in front it ( blocked by the shower cubicle). On the plus side there were kettles in the annex building along with tea and coffee also there were a few usable guitars in the common room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Our rooms are priced competitively with comparison to the Edinburgh hostel market. If guests have issues with the size, access or functionality of their room then our reception staff are happy to change your room in order to accommodate any specific requirements where possible. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
9.7

A fantastic place to stay that I will visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the positive feedback! Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Superb location - easy connection to the airport and popular sites just walking distance away. The hostel has an unique charm - the building, the interior, the music coming from the check-in desk. However, if you are a light sleeper you might face problems - it's an old building and the window isolation is poor, so you might get a lot of noise from outside - from street musicians guitars to late night drunk chats. The reception is open 24/7 and staff was super nice and helpful. Had a great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! As mentioned our central location does provide an excellent vantage point from which to visit all the inner city attractions. Free ear plugs are available at reception for any light sleepers who might have difficulties with the inner city ambient noise. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Mar 2017
8.9

I highly recommend this hostel. It's right in the center of the city with everything within walking distance. I was upgraded to a double bed which was very clean and equipt with tv, chairs, and a small closet. I found the bathrooms to be quite clean as well for hostel standards. you really can't beat the price. I can't say much to the shared rooms, because I had a private. Staff was very friendly as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
8.9

Great stay in Backpacker,super location in the heart of city, kind staff,spacious and clean bedrooms. Be ready if you are based on the top floor, there's a lot of stairs to get,plus the windows are thick as paper so we could hear everything from outside. But overall it was very good,definitely recommand it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we're always glad to hear guests enjoyed their stay! Free ear plugs are available at reception for any light sleepers who might have difficulties with the inner city ambient noise. Safe travels

18th Feb 2017
5.7

Only good thing with this hostel is a fantastic location- very central just 1 min walk from the train station. Cleanliness of the room was very poor/dark room with broken equipment. Staff was friendly!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately you did have some problems with your shower unit during your time of stay, these issues were reported to us upon check-out not giving reception the opportunity to rectify the problem or move you to a fully operable room. A plumber was called immediately upon report and the issue fixed before the days end. Safe travels!

18th Feb 2017
10.0

Great location, wonderful and helpful staff, good beds, and so much more. My fiance and I loved it so much we extended our stay here. The room and facilities were nice and clean. Would highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Enjoy your time abroad!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
5.1

The female bathroom smelt and the water in the shower was cold. The room was nice but the bed was slightly uncomfortable but the hostel was in a fantastic location to the centre of town and the train station.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Though our bathrooms are checked and cleaned regularly we do encourage guests to let us know if they require attendance, particularly during our busy periods. Unfortunately we were experiencing some electrical issues with our showers at the time of your stay, these problems have now been rectified. Happy travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Enjoy your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Really friendly staff and an awesome location for anyone wanting to see all attractions in Edinburgh. We stayed in a private double room and were extremely impressed with the facilities. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone wanting an affordable stay in the central part of Edinburgh :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.