X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4254 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Booked a private double room. Got bunk beds instead of a single bed and the room was super small. However, receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and nothing was broken. Good location too. Annoyed that we were charged for luggage storage during the day.


77%

The place was really well located, but I guess because of that it was a little bit overpriced. The facilities were overall Ok.


74%

The staff here was wonderful, especially Jade. She was pleasant and knowledgeable of the area and its services.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Chill staff. I enjoyed how the bathrooms and showers were set up. It's right in the center of everything. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Go on their pub crawl.


83%

Noise was problem. The location of hostel was just wonderful.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Just the job!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was very comfortable and the staff was incredibly helpful!


86%

We booked a double room, and were so lucky as to get what almost seemed like our "own apartment", with a kitchen shared only between four rooms, only two rooms on our floor, a separat toilet on our floor etc. In addition the room was very cosy, and it even came with neatly folded towels on the bed.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We only stayed one night as a stop over before a tour. Was in a 4 bed private. Was in a great location and had everything you needed. Good vibe to it.


77%

Ridiculously and cheap and perfect location, right near Waverly station in the heart of old town. Facilities and everything are fine.


31%

staff are very unfriendly and the room many mosquitoes


69%

The cleanliness for the hostel was ok. But not the bed. There have bed bugs on the bed, I got more than 40 bed bugs bites on different parts of my body when I stay 3 days in that bed.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a lot of fun and everybody was relly nice...I hope to come back soon! Thanks :)

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff were helpful and discounts at local cafés were helpful.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

staff r nice n the atmosphere is good. hot water is reliable before 10pm. excellent location near to the all major sightseeing


74%

Amazing location, right off the Royal Mile. Really friendly reception staff, who were always happy to help and/or recommend things to do etc.


97%

Great place to stay. Staff are very helpful. Really close to everything you could want to see.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing! We were right in the center of all attractions. Castle, museums, galleries, restaurants, Princess Street! Really recommend! It is loud but you can always use earplugs :)

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

One of our beds was broken. I am not sure if the hostel really doesn't have any common rooms where you can just sit and relax - at least the staff didn't tell us about any. Its ok to stay there, but there are much better hostels around.


80%

Great place to stay and reasonably priced

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(219 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback