X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4199 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

A simple backpacker B&B, which has very good price and location but visitors have to adapt the environment. I have to say, they have much space for improving the equipments of bathrooms.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The room was terrible, substandard, literally a dungeon. Tiny, no sunlight, thin walls. Loud noises from drunks in the night. We asked for a better room and were told there was nothing els. We had paid for three nights but had to check out after one. We asked for a refund and were refused because of their standard terms and conditions. No doubt they were able to rent out the room to some other poor saps at £50 per night for a twin. Robbery! BUYER BEWARE. ASK TO SEE THE ROOM BEFORE YOU PAY.


94%

It was worth the money and more


83%

This was a great place to stay as it is central to everything including Waverly Station which is steps away. Lots of places to eat nearby too. The staff were kind and accommodating. As two older ladies with big bags we were daunted by the steep steps to our room but we were able to leave the big bags with the desk and there was always someone available to help if needed. I had an issue with a refund which took a while to clear up, and I was not so pleased with the resolution.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

the staff were amazing . thanks to jade and Maria who made our stay there really fun they were knowledgable about the city and good spots to eat thanks again

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Very grotty place. The single rooms are like small dank closets. The whole place has a damp nasty feel to it.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We loved the location! It's easy to get to from the train station and it's close to everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly, too. The only issues we had were that there was only one outlet in our room, the wifi signal was not good, and the showers/toilets were on a different floor. Overall, though, our stay was pleasant and we would stay there again.


89%

Excellent stay with clean room and safe locker . Loved the separated toilet for male and female,which is good for who prefer privacy. Appreciate if you could put flip-flop shoe to hire for toilet's purpose.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Luke warm-cold-hot water interchanging throughout the shower, not a great experience. Tiniest shower cubicles, ur nose is touching the curtain when showering. Ladies toilet is only on the 2nd floor, not the most convenient setting when ur room is on the 1st n u have to go to the loo in the middle of the night while u r up on the bunk. The headspace for lower bunk is pathetic. These r all very basic fixable issues I expect a hostel can do to make travellers feel more comfy.


71%

If it weren't for your location, amazing staff, your place would be an absolute ZERO. I was double booked, given the wrong bed TWICE in the same visit. The rooms were a HUGE distance from the bathroom. The DUNGEON of rooms on Fleshmarket Close are HORRID, absolutely terrible!!! A woman I encountered suffered from bedbugs. The staff washed her stuff for her, the least corrigible thing they could do. There was mold, nasty, too hot or too cold, dark & dank areas everywhere.


80%

This really is the best location you can get! Access system by card, even for the rooms so very safe! The lockers are 10£ deposit that you must have in CASH, so think of that. The staff was always very friendly and helpfull; one guy even helped me with my adaptor problems! Because it's in the centre, it can get really noisy on the streets so you will definitely need earplugs. Bathroom is okay, cleanliness depends on other guests :-)


94%

Great as always - staff are super helpful


74%

The location of the Hostel is great, in the middle of city centre, near the train and bus station, pub and caffes!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

This hostel has bedbugs! The showers have no place to leave clothes except in the public bathroom, which makes changing awkward. The staff were backpackers themselves, and a real mixed bag of friendly and professional or cranky and unpleasant. The associated Southern Cross Cafe does good breakfasts!


94%

We stayed in a triple private room and it was our favorite hostel of our trip. The location was unbeatable and the amenities were above average. We only had one set of keys but I believe you can each have your own with a key deposit held with reception.


97%

I got the private room and it's excellent!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A pretty good place with a warm and friendly staff. Very clean and maintained property. I am a student and have been staying here now for a week, I have stayed for 2 days in a twin sharing room private, twin sharing bunk bed private room and now in a dorm. Its all very nice. A very nice place nothing fancy but all you need to live. Location is also very nice, near the Royal Mile, with many restaurants, cafes nearby. Overall a very good package.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Pretty run of the mill big hostel right off royal mile. Nothing spectacular; nothing horrible.


89%

A good located hostel. I like the decoration of it. It was too noisy in room even is located in city center. If I came back again, it would be a good choice to stay again.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Fine apart from the guy coming in and out slamming doors and panicking from 5am onwards because he had lost his passport and money. No idea if this was a security issue at the hostel or he was robbed somewhere else; missed out on a lot of sleep though.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(230 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback