X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4838 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Pretty much everything I expected, and fine for the money. Location is very good. I had one of the private rooms which are up a long flight of stairs but otherwise quite and well-kept.


77%

Staff were excellent, friendly, and willing to chat with guests as individuals. Private rooms are in a separate building, which is a pain as kitchen and common rooms are in the main building - no nipping to the kitchen for a late night snack in your jammies.


91%

Pretty sure our room was haunted but had a great stay anyway.


43%

I stayed in a privet room it cost me 40 pounds a night the room was hot loud all the time and did not get a good night sleep. Will not be going back Dirty Not worth the money

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we have the best location in town but with that it can be quite noisy in the street, at the moment we are having the worlds biggest arts festival so there is so much going on in the streets. I looked at your booking and you were charged £22.00 for your single room not £40.00, which is a great price. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, maybe you need to stay further out of town were its quieter, enjoy your travels

100%

Good location for everything etc train station eating and drinking

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I first booked three nights here and I ended up with extending four nights more. The location is pretty good. Just a few minutes from Edinburgh castle, many pubs, and to new town it's just across the river. Also, it's really close from the bus stop and it's really helpful. The staff was so nice and friendly. Harvine took me to mountain,and Theo invited me to comedy show. I had so much fun hanging out with ppl from hostel. Big thanks to Harvine, Theo, Tom, Joe, Xabier, Cam, Panoma, and many more!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The window and walls were so thin in our tiny room that we didn't sleep for the first two nights due to the noise (just talking and walking sounds) from adjoining rooms and the alleyway below. The bed was held together with shoelaces and was really uncomfortable! The location was excellent and the staff friendly but we really had a poor stay, sadly. Disappointing as we paid 90 pounds per night for our room. If we hadn't paid in advance we would have moved to a hotel.


86%

The room felt a little stuffy and the bathrooms could have been cleaner but the beds were clean and the location was great so for the price I'll take it!

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

5/5 would come back again regards Finland

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Had everything you need. Friendly staff. Common area was kind of closed off though so it wan't the most social of places. great location though.

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It was fine. Not the nicest place. The room had a musky smell, and had to rent locks and the key card. Bring extra cash with you. Showers were not clean and were very small.


100%

Absolutely loved staying here! The location was perfect being so close to the Royal Mile. The beds, toilets, and showers were clean and the staff was incredibly helpful when we had questions about getting to the airport.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nothing posh about this hostel, but the staff are great and the social areas are very conducive to meeting people. Would stay here again.


46%

The room we were given had nothing to do with the pictures shown on the site. Really small room with no sunlight at all, just a tiny window towards a disgusting yard. Also it hadn´t been properly cleaned. The staff wasn´t very helpful, when we asked if we could borrow a power adapter for five minutes, they said they could only sell us one and we also had to pay for them to keep our luggage in the last day for a couple of hours. The only advantage of this place is its location.


77%

Nice hostel good location


71%

We stayed as family in dorm with children. Room adequate but no ladders on bunks, safety issue. Room basic but smelly. Female shower room out of order. Male staff at check in unpleasant. Smoke alarm in kitchen didn't work. Well located. Basic but adequate for an old building. Free wifi. Lot of stairs could be issue for less able people. Male shower room floor remained flooded overnight due to ineffective shower curtains. Beds comfortable. Not the best hostel but not the worst.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Nice location, backpackers factory atmoshere, no time for customer's problems, because next ones are waiting (or no such services provided e.g. look something up on internet) cost for printouts 50p, cost for luggage storage 3BP p.p., still okay due to low double room prices

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Great location, in the heart of the city. Unfortunately, a tiny and, what is worse, very dirty room with really tired walls in a tired environment (corridor, stairs). This place can be great but really needs a good refurbishment!!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel was just alright regarding its low price. But the building is really old, the facilities are terrible, the common room is small and smells really bad... The trash are actually stocked under the couch of the common room. Hostel not to recommand to anybody lookink for basic hygien and intimacy. Perfect if you're just looking for a low price close to the center, no matter the conditions.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This really is a hostel--the bathroom was a floor down and area was coed. Bathrooms were ok, just hard to negotiate major stairs in the middle of the night. The room was fine, but basic. Great location right off the Royal Mile. Had to climb several stories of steps--no elevator.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


(206 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback