X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3626 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It's quite nice hostel. Completely worth the price

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Friendly and good staff. George and his wife superb. Good breakfast. I will repeat and tecommend it.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

staff was great, very friend. the room very brill, and the location was perfect


94%

Немного прохладно в комнате. Но компенсирует все расположение в самом центре. (A bit cool in the room. But compensates all location in the heart.)


71%

Staff who work in backpackers are nice and so are the services. However, the twin room was samller than we thought, but regarding the price, it is fair enough.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The door to our moved quiet a lot even though it was looked so maybe that be fixed :) Otherwise we loved our stay and you were very helpful, thanks for all the help!

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a very warm welcome to our stay for the Hogmanay celebrations with a free whisky and a scarf - nice surprise! Staff were lovely and helpful. Hostel has everything you need and is in a great location. We weren't sure what it would be like to stay in a 14 bed dorm but it was fine, we even met some great people :)

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly staff and excellent location!


83%

great staff, we always feel welcome here, cu next time again


83%

The barmen at he Cafe, where we had free breakfast wher proffesionals and really nice to everyone. The bedrooms were cleaned and rhe bathrooms as well. It is located in the centre of Edinburgh which brings a los of facilities. The common rooms are also very useful and nice.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good, quite pleasant staying

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

We stayed at the building at the other side of the street, but the staff member at the reception made a mistake writing down the house number. Being confused we went back to reception and asked for help, but he didn't even bother it get up or at least point at the building. No actual locks at the doors, just a small old and dangerous looking heater that we didn't dare to leave turned on for long and the shared bathroom and kitchen were dirty. Our room itself was quite nice and clean though.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I stayed in a double private room, the bathroom was tiny and the sink was in an awkward place. Plus the shower kept getting flooded. The hostel is very close to the train station and to the main sites but it is very noisy at night. We stayed for 3 nights and each night I was woken up between 2-4am from drunk people arguing in the night.


69%

Location is great but at the building we stayed at (the hostel has two buildings, one for the shared rooms and another one for the private ones) we could barely sleep as the floors and walls are really old so you can hear everything, steps sound absolutely loud at night.


80%

Very nice location, proper city center in old town of Edinburgh. I had a private double room with shared bathroom, I was actually in an extra building with only 6 rooms and I was in the 3rd floor in a comfortable room, 2 bedrooms for 2 bathrooms so at the end was kind of private bathroom.Housework done daily. The staff wasn't perfect to be honest, but as in this kind of hostel the staff is usually some of the hostel users, it was temporary so it might change often. No wise advices from staff so.

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely Hostel, would definately return!


97%

Loved this hostel! Staff were so friendly and wonderful! They also offer a deal for the cafe next door, which is amazing! Located right near the royal mile, and easy walking to almost everywhere. Would definitely recommend.


40%

Cheap should not mean shoddy and certainly not nasty. There are better hostel experiences available in Edinburgh. Please norw twin room equated to single room with bunk beds. I don't think this hostel, prices charged and overall experience reflect well on Edinburgh as a welcoming, modern tourist destination.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed in private double bedroom, a 60m walk from hostel. Amazing location between train and Royal mile. Just adequate bedroom, tired and old furnishings, with clean sheets. Great for 1 night only.


77%

Great location. Our reservation for the second night was lost but was sorted out quickly. Private room came with towels and tea making facilities which was an unexpected bonus however the room was incredibly cold.


(93 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback