X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4647 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Clean and comfortable, friendly helpful staff in an excellent location with a great cafe (southern cross ) next door. 100% satisfied will definitely book again.thank you.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff who are very helpful. Just be ready for the sounds from the pubs at night. There are a few around the hostel but, if you are heavy sleeper you will be fine.


100%

The stay was pleasant and comfortable.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Noisy Questionable clealiness of linen toilet smell in the stairway Door on the street left open Dirty and unsafe street

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Booked a private twin room, which was situated on the lower ground or ground floor, but room was just beside the main entrance, and underneath the staircase. As you can guess by now it was extremely noisy as people were coming in and out of the entrance, and stairs creaked incessantly with people climbing up and down. It would be better if the location of the room was communicated before booking. But I guess you get what you pay for.


37%

The hostel has a great location, apart from that its below average. The room was dusty and smelt very bad, the bed sheets were not properly cleaned and smelt old and moldy. Not very secure either and very noisy with people slamming doors. Additionally they have a charge of 3 pounds to store luggage, which I have never encountered in any other hostel. Not value for money at all, could get a decent clean hotel if you plan in advance at the same price. I would not recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, i'm sorry to to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. To answer your review, you score us 1 on security, to get to your room you have 3 security coded doors and cctv, i'm not sure what else you need to feel safe. We also have 24 hour reception so if you think the room is not clean enough for you, you should come and let us know. As for value, we have the cheapest rates for the best location in Edinburgh. Happy travels

74%

Our stay was great because of the localisation, we were downtown. Beds were comfy, and it was clean.But the room was very small and dark. Plus please change the curtains, they were dirty...


100%

Excellent stay, right in the heart of everything! Staff were great, really good local knowledge of the city. Nice big lockers, key cards & no curfew. Seems like everything is cleaned pretty regularly. Will be back :)


94%

Very happy! Had a private room with shared bathroom for 2 nights. Arrived before check in time as we had an early flight, was allowed to have the room early as it was available. We didn't have any need for the communal areas as we ate out, however we had access to a very clean kitchen, so was able to keep milk for making tea. Bathroom and room were very clean and location was great. Also able to borrow umbrellas for free from reception!! Very decently average and excellent value for money.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

THE BEST HOSTEL YOU CAN EVEN DREAM. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND TO STAY THERE!


91%

The location is great and also the atmosphere. The ficilities like the kitchen open for everyone are awesome and let you save much money. The only thing I didn't like was that many times there was no hot water on the showers.


74%

The curtains in our room did not block out enough light from the strong street lamps, which was a bit annoying. Black curtains would work better.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

I'm usually someone who don't complain. This hostel is not so bad, but our room was really cold and we had only a small eater for Make it warmer. The shower had only 5mn of hot water (for 2, it's really short...) and Bathroom very cold too. In addition, you have to pay 5 pounds more if you Check out after 10am. And 3 pounds for the luggage room... First Time I see that. Anyway, the staff was very kind, no problem with that and perfect location !

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The location just around the corner of the Royal Mile was simply excellent! Lots of restaurants and shops on this street. The downer was that the room could have been cleaner and that there was the street light attached to the building right next to my room window which caused basically almost broad daylight at night in my room and the curtains were really to light.


94%

I think this place is the perfect spot when you want to go and visit the city of Edinburgh . Its location is perfect , situated in the heart of the old city ; It enables you to access to every shop and attraction in the city . Moreover , the staff are very welcoming and ready to help whenever you need . They don't hesitate to share their experience of the city .

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Fantastic location, very close to Waverley station. Felt a bit old though.


97%

The hostel was very private & it was great that we could use the kitchen. Felt very comfortable there, would definitely come again.


54%

Hygiene needs improving

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

We were staying in the accommodation across from the hostel in a private room. The whole building was stale and had a strange smell every time we entered. The room itself was also stale and felt dirty, especially the bathroom. There was mould on the ceiling and the shower had obviously not been cleaned/maintained very well.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I thought the hostel was a great value for the money. My two friends and I were staying in a private room and we're could stay in a 4 person room as long as we paid for the fourth bed. It was very clean and kept well. Beds were very comfy, free tea and coffee and a fantastic location

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(148 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback