X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4537 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Absolutely amazing hostel, have stayed frequently over the past few months and loved it. Location is utterly fantastic and the staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It's cheap and the location is excellent, you can walk to the main attractions in minutes.


91%

The staff was incredibly helpful and made sure that we knew all of the important sights to see (and places to eat...). They knew the area very well, and had all of the best insider tips. The room was small but very clean, and we didn't have any noise problems at all. The location was perfect for hitting up all of the main sites in old town, and was not too far from any place we walked. Definitely got our money's worth!

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Penthouse was great but at the top of building. Lots of stairs and no lift. Quite a hike with baggage


100%

I cant recommend this hostel enough, absolutely amazing, extremely lovely staff and very clean rooms. Location was the most central you could possibly get and the key cards and 24 hour reception meant it felt safe coming in late at night. Common room was big and friendly with a tv :D

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

If i come to Edinburgh again ,for sure i will stay here :) :)

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome location, friendly staff :)

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed in a single room and found it excellent value for money. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff and located just off the royal mile. I will stay again when next back in Edinburgh

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel was never quiet. However, that is the nature of Scotland and Edinburgh's lively atmosphere. It was quite a good stay, with comfortable beds, large bathrooms, and great wifi. The breakfast deal next door is so worth it-- it's delicious! Overall, a good stay.


66%

An average hostel. Woke up at 4am to someone being mugged outside out window. One person in our group came home with bed bug bites. Shower room was not very clean. Excellent location and very friendly staff, though.


74%

We're a couple, we chose a Double Bed Private Ensuite and stayed for 2 nights. The best thing about this hostel is definitely the LOCATION. It's right in the middle of Old Town; you can walk everywhere. The room was definitely ok for us but we basically just wanted a place to stay out of the cold at night. If you're looking for super clean, super comfortable, super quiet, don't book here, as you'll be disappointed. If you're young and looking for a simple, decent, cheap place, this is the one.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fab hostel, and staff were so helpful! The offer on breakfast next door was disappointing though. We were told it was exactly the same as their regular breakfast but it was half the size and the staff weren't very nice in there. We also didn't get 10% off drinks as advertised. Couldn't fault the hostel though!


74%

This may not be the most exciting and 'lively' hostel I've stayed at but it's very centrally located right next to the Royal Mile, however the room I had was just down some steps in a 'close', and the building is next to a kebab takeaway, so expect noise from late night revellers etc and there is a pub further down the steps. I had a couple of problems however the staff sorted this out and even gave me some things free as compensation. Staff were friendly,helpful especially the tall Polish guy.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

It was really cold in the building and my room was windy. It would be good to have curtains in window, would have made the room warmer. Otherwise nice place, loved the colours all around the place!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is an amazing hostel. Very friendly staff, perfect location and the room are excellent with everything you could need. I will definitely be back! Thanks.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Shame about the issue with the front door key which was a pain.


91%

The breakfast at the southern cross cafe was truly sensational and everyone in there was so friendly!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Absolutely wonderful hostel. Was regularly cleaned and the staff were amazing. Communal areas were fun. Absolutely the only downside was a severe lack of electrical outlets for charging. We were in a 14-bed dorm and had 2 outlets that the heaters were plugged in to - ie decide between staying warm or charging your camera/phone/laptop etc Apart from that it's a wonderful place to stay.


94%

Great location, very clean, fantastic staff


100%

Fantastic experience on Edinburgh Backpackers! Lovely staff, facilities were suberb, and location was excellent, close to the old city centre! Not a single complain to make, best hostel I've stayed in years!


(120 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback