X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Edinburgh Backpackers Reviews

65 Cockburn St, EH1 1BU, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
4718 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

A nice place to stay in Edinburgh.


74%

I needed a single room right in the middle of Edinburgh's old town and Edinburgh Backpackers have delivered that at a reasonable price. Yes, it was several floors up and the room was tiny, the facilities were somewhat limited and there wasn't any particular atmospehere or much common space but none of that was a problem for me during that stay. Having to walk up and down the stairs to use the toilet/bathroom and the cold shower just before leaving were not my favourite part though.


100%

wow, just walking distance from the bus to the airport, open 25h/night, internet, cool living room, clen kitchen, nice room, good bed, just great!

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was really nice and helpful. Location was great!! Rooms were clean. Overall great experience!


74%

Sleeping quarters were worth the money. Shower room was below par, several taps were broken/leaking. Staff very friendly and helpful. Did not stay long enough to meet anyone new, mostly because of the purpose of our visit; a stag do, late arrival, sleep, leave early. Worth the money, considering the location. Would happily recommend it to a friend.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

everything is good. except that our salmon was stolen there.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The bathrooms were a little dirty and old, but other than that, it was a nice place for the night!


91%

Great location and lovely friendly staff


74%

Great location and friendly staff, but the double room (in a separate building) was filthy, noisy and the shower was horribly to adjust to warm.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a nice stay in this hostel. I greatly would recommend it. Thank a lots.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great experience, great location, great price.


83%

Was a decent hostel with reasonable facilities, but didn't have a fantastic armosphere


77%

Kitchen and bathroom were always filthy dirty, could do with a proper clean. Common area great, dorm was great :) Window in room 12 did not close properly though so there was a cold draft and the heating went to waste.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing facilities and price right on the royal mile

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location was excellent, room was far better than we had expected and was great value for money! The only let down was the shower, which had no stamd and did not work incredibly well, but everything else was good.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great value for money and great location.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a great stay, clean hostel, clean rooms and excellent location.


77%

I chose to stay only for a night, because it was the closest and cheapest to the place where I had to catch the bus. The location is perfect, very close to the train station and to the Castle. I wish I had chosen to stay here all along instead of the place where I paid more and was not better than this.


97%

I wish there were more men's toilets available...

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely amazing hostel, have stayed frequently over the past few months and loved it. Location is utterly fantastic and the staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(164 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback