Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Feb 2017
8.0

The staff was really helpful and kind i must say, they are ready for all your needs and very friendly. The breakfast is tasty, the rooms are spacious and in good condition.. The negative side is the locarion. Although it can still be considered as central, i saw a couple of hostels closer to princess st or royal mile, which is more closer to the things you would like to see

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in so far :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
9.1

This is one of very few hostels in Edinburgh that will take under-18's. There's good public transport in the area & the airport tram stops about 5 mins away. It's 15 mins walk to Waverley railway station & there's a grocery across the road. The restaurant is good value & the hostel facilities are excellent, but they can't store luggage after you have checked out. To get the cheaper price for national youth hostel organisation members you must book directly with the hostel. Earplugs @ reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The location is great....near main attractions,transport systems,restaurants etc. A very friendly welcome and helpful service. As an older person,there on my own,I found it just perfect. Thankyou...a good start for 2017!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
7.1

It was okay, but would recommend another hostel for Edinburgh as there are better places to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
9.7

Easily the cleanest/most private hostel I've stayed at recently...not too far to walk to see the city, helpful staff. Really appreciated the bathroom situation after staying in a place with nearly unusable facilities. I ended up spending half my nights alone in a 4-person room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

Good location .. near to tesco supermarket. The staff so friendly and helpfull ..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
8.9

Very nice and helpful staff. Good location. Clean room. Kitchen and canteen is big and bright. Need to pay 5 pounds deposit to use hair dryer, and a 2 ponds fee to buy clean towel. The shared toilet and shower is inside the bedroom which is a bit awkward and noisy. Also I wish there's curtain around the bunk beds to give more privacy. Overall a good choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

The most fabulous hostel ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Aug 2016
8.3

Would recommend getting a room, very spacious and has its own shower, short walk to George Town, Arthur's Seat and Royal Mile. Would go again and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.