Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Friendly atmosphere and very clean. Thanks xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel but oh my gosh it's 2017 fix your wifi!!!!!!!! Worst wifi we encountered in our whole 10 day trip of the UK....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
8.6

A little bit out of the way but a nice walk to old town. Friendly staff and clean facilities. One complaint is that the wifi is really slow. Forget about watching videos or face timing. Other than that, great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.3

Decent hostel, good security. Could have done with more powerpoints near the beds but my stay was comfortable enough. Shower in the room was a bit pokey but he good hot water and there was a separate toilet and a separate sink in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
8.6

Great hostel with comfy beds, very clean, and within walking distance to all the main attractions. There are lockers in the rooms (bring your own lock) and they will hold your bags before and after check-in in a secure room. Staff were helpful. I would recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
7.4

Pretty friendly staff, though I feel like this was my first truly "youth" hostel experience and to be honest I felt uncomfortable being around so many unsupervised children. I prefer the traveller/hostel experience of 20-30 somethings so there were just too many kids there in my opinion. The self-catering kitchen seems pretty good, except a few of those "kids" left 2 of the burners on. Rooms are basic and not cleaned incredibly well but the staff is nice. Location + Transport links are GREAT!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.3

Comfty beds. Staff, who is on cleaning duty ought to 'see' what's dirty. Like the mirror behind the wash basin for example. I could not see myself in it anymore due to water splashes all over the surface. Then the floor of the shower. Even the carpet needs attention from time to time by hovering. All in all I enjoyed my stay a lot. Staff is really friendly and accommodating. I will be back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent value for money place to stay. Situated in an easy walking distance from Edinburgh Waverley train station and also easy access to Shops, Bars and Restaurants. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend for a cheap stay in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
9.4

This establishment is officially endorsed by Trump!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.0

The staff was really helpful and kind i must say, they are ready for all your needs and very friendly. The breakfast is tasty, the rooms are spacious and in good condition.. The negative side is the locarion. Although it can still be considered as central, i saw a couple of hostels closer to princess st or royal mile, which is more closer to the things you would like to see

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.