Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Located at 9 Haddington Place, , Edinburgh.
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH7 4AL 9 Haddington Place
84% 380
55.9598133 -3.1831812
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Jul 2016
8.0

Basic rooms, but missing some amenities. No place to charge a cell phone in the group rooms. The shower was covered in the same long hairs for all three days I was there. 15 minute walk to the train station and most of the sights. Obnoxious policy of changing wifi password every eight hours. Charges for everything - soap, towels, lockers, etc. But if you're looking for basic, it'll be fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

A lovely hostel that was modern, clean and rooms very spacious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Good facilities, easy to find and well laid out. The onsite cafe had a nice selection of food at good prices. An easy walk to the station, buses at the door, shops and cafes near by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • awright
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Many thanks for a wonderful stay. The staff are very coutious

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.3

Great, clean professional hostel! A little bit far away though and the wifi is shocking, it doesn't load anything and the password to it changes every 3 hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
7.4

I stayed three nights in six bed female ensuite dorm. Location of the hostel is pretty good, you are close to the Wawerly bridge where the bus from airport stops, and also to the Royal mile. Staff is very nice and helpful. The room was pretty hot, and it was looking to the street so it can become very noisy, especially in the Monday morning. The room was fine, toilet could have been cleaner, but for a big hostel, I guess it was fine. Breakfast at the hostel restaurant was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel. Clean with lifts and great (and very helpful) staff. I will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.9

This was a modern, clean, and nice place to stay. It's a bit of a walk from the main center and castle, but still doable. The beds were comfortable, and there are great kitchen facilities with a nice lounge. The hostel restaurant/bar was a nice feature. Staff were very friendly and helpful too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. I lovedon't my stately there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
8.6

I had to wait over 30 minutes twice to receive my meal. I was unable to eat the second time because I had to leave on my Highland tour. When I spoke to the staff at the front desk they said they would leave a comment. If you are hungry, don't eat at the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.