Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2017
9.1

Relatively clean, safe, good location, nice staff, comfortable beds, clean, slightly small shower but not a big problem. I would come back! Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jun 2017
6.0

Far more old people and children than I could have imagined.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.9

The accomodations were good but wish Hostelworld would have specified if our rooms were for consecutive nights rather than having needed to switch rooms. Otherwise the staff was very nice and apologized for any inconvenience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
8.3

I wasn't aware I had to bring a towel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2017
8.6

Really nice place. Went for an event weekend in Edinburgh, so possibly more expensive than normal, but would stay here again. The rooms were big, clean lots of facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
6.3

If you NEED to use wifi internet, DO NOT STAY HERE! The internet is SLOW. The person at the front desk said the "whole area of Edinburgh" is slow. The next day, the next guy at the front desk said, "It's slow as s***". He said they got complaints but not enough to make management change upgrade the internet. SERIOUSLY it was SOO slow, I couldn't even open my email or browse FB. I went across the street to the Curry House restaurant to use the internet and it was fine.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Friendly atmosphere and very clean. Thanks xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Blue_Carolina88
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Brilliant central location, the hostel staff were very friendly, and the hostel itself was kept very clean and tidy. Perfect for a few days stay or more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel but oh my gosh it's 2017 fix your wifi!!!!!!!! Worst wifi we encountered in our whole 10 day trip of the UK....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
8.6

A little bit out of the way but a nice walk to old town. Friendly staff and clean facilities. One complaint is that the wifi is really slow. Forget about watching videos or face timing. Other than that, great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.