Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Mar 2017
7.4

Pretty friendly staff, though I feel like this was my first truly "youth" hostel experience and to be honest I felt uncomfortable being around so many unsupervised children. I prefer the traveller/hostel experience of 20-30 somethings so there were just too many kids there in my opinion. The self-catering kitchen seems pretty good, except a few of those "kids" left 2 of the burners on. Rooms are basic and not cleaned incredibly well but the staff is nice. Location + Transport links are GREAT!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.3

Comfty beds. Staff, who is on cleaning duty ought to 'see' what's dirty. Like the mirror behind the wash basin for example. I could not see myself in it anymore due to water splashes all over the surface. Then the floor of the shower. Even the carpet needs attention from time to time by hovering. All in all I enjoyed my stay a lot. Staff is really friendly and accommodating. I will be back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent value for money place to stay. Situated in an easy walking distance from Edinburgh Waverley train station and also easy access to Shops, Bars and Restaurants. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend for a cheap stay in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
9.4

This establishment is officially endorsed by Trump!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.0

The staff was really helpful and kind i must say, they are ready for all your needs and very friendly. The breakfast is tasty, the rooms are spacious and in good condition.. The negative side is the locarion. Although it can still be considered as central, i saw a couple of hostels closer to princess st or royal mile, which is more closer to the things you would like to see

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in so far :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
9.1

This is one of very few hostels in Edinburgh that will take under-18's. There's good public transport in the area & the airport tram stops about 5 mins away. It's 15 mins walk to Waverley railway station & there's a grocery across the road. The restaurant is good value & the hostel facilities are excellent, but they can't store luggage after you have checked out. To get the cheaper price for national youth hostel organisation members you must book directly with the hostel. Earplugs @ reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The location is great....near main attractions,transport systems,restaurants etc. A very friendly welcome and helpful service. As an older person,there on my own,I found it just perfect. Thankyou...a good start for 2017!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
7.1

It was okay, but would recommend another hostel for Edinburgh as there are better places to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
9.7

Easily the cleanest/most private hostel I've stayed at recently...not too far to walk to see the city, helpful staff. Really appreciated the bathroom situation after staying in a place with nearly unusable facilities. I ended up spending half my nights alone in a 4-person room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.