Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel

  • 11/2 Robertsons Close, 11/2 Robertson's Close, Cowgate, Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
10.0

Great accommodation for the fringe. It was perfect for me because I was out meeting friends, it's not the best choice if you're looking to meet people to go around the festival with but that was never my aim. Nice and safe location and as it's right by loads of bars so you don't have to go too far to have a good night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Aug 2017
6.3

Great location in the middle of the city. Very noisy, only to be expected during the festival. My 'flatmates' were loud and messy. Kitchen and bathrooms were left dirty by them even though they were cleaned in the mornings. Rooms were basic, clean and comfortable. Only stay if you enjoyed being a student!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • emille1
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2017
8.3

A really good base for a trip to the Fringe, and despite its central location it was wonderfully quiet!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lesleyyoung441420
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.7

I stayed a couple of nights to go to the festival. The hostel is very close to main venues. It was clean, quiet at night and had everything I needed . The staff were polite and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2017
6.9

Right in the city center, off the Royal Mile. Great, great location! There are 5 rooms/flat (2 shared bathrooms and a kitchen). The rooms have basic, old furnishings. All in all, it's a good accommodation for a few nights stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
8.0

Perfect for what we wanted (4 girls on a weekend away). Incredibly central and really easy to get to from the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were what we expected from university halls! Would definitely recommend it if visiting during the Fringe and don't want to break the budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.4

Easy access to central Edinburgh, and good to find somewhere during the Fringe that is at an affordable price. Unfortunately had no electricity for the first two days of my visit, however the staff did eventually fix the issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
8.0

Basic accommodation but centrally located. Staff were friendly and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
7.7

Very noisy night with other people in the flat slamming doors and talking really loudly in corridors. Bathroom basic and quite shabby but the hot water worked. Probably better for people wanting a base for late night after party instead of quiet night before an early flight like we were.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
2.0

Gross rooms, hot and smelly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×