Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Egmont Eco Leisure Park

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 91 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 91 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
6.3

Really basic, stayed in the dorm, beds are very average. Lots of bunks crammed in to a small room, you need to walk outside to get to any facilities. Its ok if you can't afford anywhere else. The place is absolutely freezing so bring warm things, and nothing to do after dark in the winter months. It's also a decent walk to town if you don't have a car.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.1

Grear hostel with lovely staff! Couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Mar 2017
9.7

Absolutely great place to stay. A very green area next to a stream. Bit out of the city centre, but with a car that shouldn't be the problem. Facilities were clean, staff was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
9.1

This is definitely a hostel not to judge by the photos! Best staff and service in NZ! Lynere really went out of her way to make us feel welcome and accomodate our needs! If your in the area definitely well worth a visit and the surf is awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
8.6

I only stayed one night so i cant really say much. But the staff were super friendly and the tenting option was pretty cool 20 bucks a night cant go wrong really. negative thing are that it is a bit of drive to get into town so a car is needed and there is no free wifi and wifi is expensive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.0

Nice and quiet location, but room and furniture outdated and there is a strange smell in the hostel. There are no fire alarms and we haven't had warm showers on one day. Not worth the money considering there are more modern rooms for less money around.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
10.0

This is a very quirky but lovely hostel. The rooms are basic, but everything is very clean. The leisure lodge is spacious, and the kitchen well equipped. The location feels like a magic little pocket of nature right in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Nov 2016
5.4

Definitely not my favourite hostel ever. My bus was late and so couldn't check in - hostel was rather unhelpful about this. The hostel is quite a walk from the centre, but good for my fitness so no complaining there. The place felt cold and damp.. not very cosy. I was in a dorm room right next to the kitchen which is very loud - make sure you have ear plugs !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.