X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Eighty8 Phnom Penh Reviews

#98 Street 88 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
954 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

I stayed here six nights (only beCause I was too lazy to move, which I should have done) and did not find the staff helpful or friendly. They never went out of their way to help me with travel or make me feel at home. Laundry and food were overpriced for the quality. And the location is not convenient. Not much within walking distance, plus the drivers they allow to hover in their entryway will barely let you out the door if you choose to walk. The internet is very poor. Pros: clean, big beds


80%

The highlight is the huge, Roman villa- like bar and pool area - a great place to chill and eat the good food they serve. Stayed in 2 dorm rooms, both nice, clean, huge single comfy beds, towels provided, bathrooms pretty clean. Slight downside is that you need a tuk tuk to get to most sights, but I think that's a common feature in Phnom Penh.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking your time to give us some feedback based on your stay here at Eighty8. We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable social area. We understand the importance of having somewhere to chill out, eat good food and drinks and relax when traveling. There are loads of things to do around the hostel but the streets of Phnom Penh can be confusing when you first arrive. We are in the process of creating our own map to give customers some hints and direction to whats around them at 88.

74%

Not a bad place to stay. Biggest lockers I've ever seen. Was able to fit everything inside it. Make sure you have a larger padlock though for them. Small ones don't fit. Not a great location. Too far away from everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you felt like you could store all of our valuables securely in our large spacious lockers. There is loads to do and see around the hostel. We are in the process of designing a map with everything clearly visible so that customers can make the most of their stay as some things are easily missed. Safe travels.

94%

I really enjoyed my stay at 88. The staff were very nice and helpful. The bed was clean and comfortable. It is in a busy area but kind of far away from spots if you want party. But not that far. You can always get a tuk tuk in Penom penh. As a solo traveller I met alot of cool people there. I would recommend this hostel to friends. And if you like pool they have a fun pool turnanwnt 2 times a week

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and participated in our fun pool competition. Hope to see you back soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

51%

Didn't like this place. Noisy drivers on the way out. Laundry mixed my clothes and smbdy else, t-shirt changed color. Food isn't tasty, better to go out, and cheaper also. Stuff doesn't know English language. Stuff at the bar are getting drunk in the evening. They don't clean bathroom at all. Hair everywhere. Bad wifi. DON'T TAKE MOTORBIKE in the hostel. Absolutely broken, dirty, uncomfortable time of return.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I apologize if you felt that this wasn't the right place for you. Unfortunately there was a mix up with the laundry during your stay. We did do everything we could to rectify this error. English isnt the "stuff's" first language but they do speak good English. We have never had any problems from our end with communication. The rooms are cleaned daily. The only issue you had with the rental bike was that you couldn't drop it off at 5am in the morning. Sorry but this wasn't an acceptable time.

83%

Nice common area with pool, swimming pool, bar... Very big beds in the dorms, although only one bathroom for 6 people. Very nice staff willing to help and advice on your visits to the city.


94%

Had a wonderful stay at Eighty8 Backpackers, would recommend to all travelers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear it! Thank you for your comments. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

100%

Had a wonderful stay at 88! Would recommend to all travellers!!


83%

The bunk beds were great in size, air conditioned worked extremely well and the staff were super helpful. Would stay there again. Only down fall was the breakfast in the bar, very average at best for the price, however you're in a good spot to walk around to find food close by.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The communal area really makes this hostel great. A great bar with good variety, huge range of seating, pool table and swimming pool. Good clean rooms, big beds which were made up everyday. The owner is lovely and helpful, there's clearly a lot of pride in the enterprise and that they are constantly striving to improve. We joked with the owner that our only complaint was their mayonnaise... so basically this was a fantastic stay, would highly recommend!


71%

Overated by tripadvisor, good but not excellent place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love feedback at Eighty8 as we are consistently striving to try to meet all of our customers expectations. While some hostels would be satisfied with "good but not excellent place to stay", we are not. If you have the time, could you please email me directly as to why you felt your stay was only good and not excellent? accounts@88backpackers.com. Any constructive feedback would be greatly appreciated and can help us turn your good into an excellent. Thanks and safe travels. Team Eighty8.

97%

This hostel is awesome. Had a very nice tuk tuk driver pick us up from the airport. Arrived after midnight and the night staff let me stay up drinking until 3 with the new friends I made in the bar. The rooms are clean, got your own lamp and plug socket. Spent very little time though. The bar and pool area is great and the food is pretty cracking too. The staff were super friendly and helpful and booked yours and buses for us and it's so cheap. Definitely the place to stay in Phnom Penh!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a great time staying with us! We do offer FREE pickups if you are traveling into Phnom Penh by bus. Any future guests wanting to take advantage of this please contact us before hand to organize this. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Team Eighty8

91%

Great hostel with lively bar and pool area! We had a very nice and clean double room. The facilities are very good.and the staff is very helpful. We would definitively stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the rest of our team. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

91%

Best hostel we have stayed in so far. Amazing decor, huge beds, huge lockers where you can fit your entire pack (bring you own lock), clean, and hot showers. Food was also served downstairs and was really good in a pinch. About a 10-15 minute walk from the river but there is a cute market next door where you can buy some fruit and always tuk tuk drivers outside to take you wherever. Great environment though....pool was a nice bonus!

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is good, they have free pick up service, pools, friendly staff, cozy environment but the music from the downstairs bar can be heard from dorm bunks (prepare earbuds). Overall is good!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have worked very hard to create a relaxing environment for our guests to enjoy during their travels. Occasionally when traveling, we know its nice to stop somewhere that is comfortable, where you can relax. As for the loud music, if you stay in the "above bar dorm room" then it is nosier then the other rooms until 12am. This is reflected in the price. Glad you enjoyed your stay here none the less. Enjoy your next destination. Safe travels.

77%

Good facilities and really nice and big propertyproperty. Not in the greatest area but tuk this are always waiting at the door. Staff were OK but not as welcoming as many other places we have stayed and fussy about payment on arrival and that all bills are no more than 10 years old. Overall decent value for money and good potential!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We do, like many other hostel require payment on arrival or you can leave your passport as a deposit. This unfortunately had to be implemented due to past customers leaving the hostel without paying. We also only accept bills that are legal tender here. I apologize if you thought we were being fussy but these are the processes we have in place to protect the hostel. Enjoy your next destination. Safe travels. Team Eighty8.

83%

Very cool hostel with pool and great bar. However, the music plays loud till midnight and it's hard to sleep there. Great place to meet people and have fun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed it here and met some cool people. The above bar dorm room is nosier then the rest up until the music is turned off at 12am. This is why it is our cheapest dorm. Glad you had fun here anyway. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

97%

Great place to stay! They have a great pool, bar, and good food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is exactly what we set out to achieve! Glad you enjoyed yourself here. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

97%

Not necessarily in the best location for walking to everything, but Phnom Penh isn't the most walkable city anyways and everything is a short tuk tuk ride away.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a good few nights here and has a great vibe around it, the pool, bar, food, TV, pool table, themed nights and the reception staff able to give you advice on everything you need. Best hostel private so far (although no window!) and the facilities and cleanliness great.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all Phnom Penh Hostels

Please give us your feedback