X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Eighty8 Phnom Penh Reviews

#98 Street 88 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
881 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I would definitely recommend and use again.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

94%

Great place! Swimming pool a plus!


69%

The place is OK. Could definitely be cozier; it feels more like a business than the average hostel, as in you really notice how everything is designed to get more money from you. Also, watch out for bed bugs. The rest of the people staying in my dorm didn't have any issues but I sure did.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. It is an increasingly common occurrence that some travelers arrive with unauthorized guests, particularly coming up from the island & beaches, carrying them on their person, clothes & bags, which would appear to be the case here as they stayed localized to yourself. We have strict cleaning standards & all our beds, pillows, etc... all having specific protectors. We have had no reports, so you may continue to carry them & we strongly suggest you clean & steam your kit

100%

First time back packing staying in Hostels with my son..... Loved it there so much we ended up going back on three seperate passions - many thanks for every thing.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So happy you & your son enjoyed your time at Eighty8, family backpacking is so cool. Safe travels.

69%

The main lounge area was really relaxing and the food was good but the room was underwhelming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. Safe travels

91%

Overall the hostel was good. The common area/bar has a great atmosphere. They play good music and there are always people around since there's only wifi in the common areas. The pool is definitely a plus in the heat. The rooms are very basic but clean. The lights are very florescent - could use a bedside lamp or something for at night. No wifi or TV in room. Would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate your feedback and will be addressing the lighting issue very soon, as we are committed to improve our facilities and standards. Safe travels

100%

Amazing backpackers. Food people and entertainment is top notch. Beautiful pool people vibes n atmosphere. Beds are comfy to

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for such a great review, your enjoyment makes all our hard work worthwhile. Safe travels.

100%

Best Hostel in Cambodia so far. The food is absolutely delicious!!!!

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You rock, hope to see you again soon.

89%

Really nice common area. Food and drink were quite good value. We had great breakfasts there. The staff were also very helpful in organising our visas for vietnam and our bus to ho chi min. The location was only ok. We would have liked more bars etc in the surrounding area. We were covered in bites after our time there. Probably mosquitoes...hopefully not bed bugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good review. We are located in a very Cambodian area, with many local bars and restaurants and happily away from the seedier parts of the city. We believe our location gives you a real insight into Cambodian city life, but yes we do get mosquitoes, its SE Asia. Unlike many other places we do have a strict spraying routine to control numbers, but those little buggers do like European flesh :):):)

100%

This place is great! Sooooo good! Everything was perfect, clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff, great common area with pool, bar and restaurant and very relaxed atmosphere! They even have Jamaican cigar on the menu ;) The best place to stay in Phnom Penh!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback and we are delighted your sooo enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels

89%

Very nice hostel, was traveling with my girlfriend and stayed in a private room. Both really enjoyed and the hostel is in a great location for both tourists and young people looking to live in Phnom Penh. We both really enjoyed the bar and pool area as well, and they have super cheap drinks and food.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the cool review safe onward travels.

100%

Really nice hostel and staff. Couldn't ask for more really. Good for money, clean rooms and bathrooms, though was a little dated. Short tuk tuk to the market and palace, wouldn't recommend walking alone in the area though! Pool area was nice too!! NB - the staff could be a little quieter before 8am. I was woken up at 7am by staff dragging chairs across the floor in the bar area and laughing loudly. I still gave 100% though as it may have been a one-off.


86%

Although the hostel is some distance from restaurants to eat in at night, the food served at the hostel beside the pool was very good and reasonably priced. The swimming pool was very nice, but I think the chlorine was too strong as it may my eyes sting, even though I wore goggles to swim. Overall an excellent value for money hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay ay the hostel. There are restaurants nearby but as we are located in a bustling Khmer part of Phnom Penh, they can be easily missed. If you speak to a team member they will gladly give you some suggestions of local restaurants. I am glad however that you enjoyed the food in the hostel. Regarding the pool, I can only imagine it had just been cleaned. We do put a warning sign out to advise guests of this. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Team 88

71%

We had to unexpectedly move rooms to another dorm because they had to do a 'deep clean' they told us. This wouldn't have been a big deal, but they didn't warn us and when we got back from a day trip all our stuff we left on/near our beds was moved by them and they were not accommodating when we had to move our locked bags from the original room. It was pretty odd.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is a bit of a disadvantage as it's a bit north of most of the action, meaning tuk tuk's are inevitable. But what the hostel does provide though is a haven from what is a pretty hectic city


83%

Staff were amazing! Good food too but a bit out of the way.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel was out of the way of the main city centre, however you can't really walk around alone at night, so must take a tuk tuk from the hotel drivers hanging at the exit day and night who pressure you into taking a ride. You are forced to spend time in the bar/pool area as there is no WiFi in the rooms, which is an absolute pain, especially with the horrible dance music blaring all the time. The food was overpriced for what it was, and the hotel overall was definitely not worth the high cost

Owner Comment (Hide)
Phnom Penh is a large city and there is really no centre. We are located a short walk from Wat Phnom and central market, in a bustling, largely Khmer area of Phnom Penh. Which gives you a real authentic view of Phnom Penh. Im sorry if the music was not to your taste. With music, it is impossible to please everybody. We have dorm rooms from $5.90 and you can get 2x Eggs on Toast for $1.50. The rest of the food is priced accordingly as we only use the best ingredients in all of our meals.

51%

For the price I'm very surprised that you not get television or Internet access in the rooms. Almost all other hostels are cheaper, look similar, but better locations and offer free WiFi television. Overall I never return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Im sorry that you missed out on the great social atmosphere that we have here at 88. We have a spacious and comfortable social bar and restaurant area where we do have a TV which shows live sports events. We also have a relaxing swimming pool to enjoy. No other hostels offer what you get here for the price. TV and WIFI is not advertised anywhere it is available in rooms so I have no idea why you would be surprised that it isnt. You have clearly missed the vibe here at 88. Safe travels

94%

Kudos to the staff! They are all accommodating and very helpful. Only thing that we didn't like is the lack of door in the toilet even though there's a curtain an a fan.


80%

It's situated a bit far from the riverside and bar strips [About 15-20 mins walk], but nothing a short tuk tuk ride can't fix. It has a swimming pool! First time I've seen a hostel have that, and it's a welcome relief from the heat and humidity. The bar is fully stocked and has a well-organized plethora of extras like tours and transfers. It's location also means it's in a quiet neighbourhood - which is a plus for us. The tuk tuk drivers attached to the hostel are trustworthy and friendly.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Phnom Penh Hostels

Please give us your feedback