X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Eighty8 Phnom Penh Reviews

#98 Street 88 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
844 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

For the price I'm very surprised that you not get television or Internet access in the rooms. Almost all other hostels are cheaper, look similar, but better locations and offer free WiFi television. Overall I never return.


86%

Great hostel. The bar area is huge and the pool is a great place to meet people.


89%

Great hostel with a lively bar and restaurant (though food is a little expensive compared to other places we stayed in Cambodia). Good pool and pool table. Great place to meet people and the staff are friendly and always willing to help. The eighty8 pool party was an awesome night.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Here at Eighty8 we love feedback as its real time views from our customers who have called us home for a few days. Our aim is to continue to not only meet but exceed your expectations. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Eighty8. The pool party rocked! Im not sure where else you have stayed in Cambodia but our prices are comparable. Please note, we only use the finest branded ingredients in all of our food and drinks. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Team Eighty8

46%

25$/night and the room was blank and dirty (settled dust). except a bed. no soap to wash your hands, no place to put your stuff onto (bathroom), no bathroomdoor, no tv, no fridge, NO WIFI IN THE ROOM! windows were black, no daylight, cold neonlight insight. the room had no charme. the tuktuk drivers (which belong to the hotel) were annoying, you cant step out without hearing 10 times "TUKTUK". beware of john, one of the drivers, hes only nice when he can get your money. and he rips off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
At 88 we love constructive feedback as its the only was we can improve our business to continue to meet and exceed our customers expectations. I am however bemused by your statements. Saying we "rip people off" is ridiculous and highly offensive. All the tuktuks operate independently. We register their details just in case. Our rooms are not advertised with a TV, fridge or WIFI? If your stay was as described, you wouldn't have stayed for 2 nights. I suggest you consider staying in hotels.

89%

We had a good stay here, having a pool and a bar is great and unusual for the price of rooms. Our room was on the top floor so nice and quiet and the chill out area is really nice. The only gripe we had was the bar staff were a bit moody, after coming from a hostel where the staff were extremely friendly and helpful we noticed this difference. It is also a bit of a walk from things. But overall a good hostel and good value for money.


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in Asia. Awesome staff, bar, pool, rooms, beds, security, atmosphere.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. Our sole aim is to give you an enjoyable stay; so I am glad that you experienced this and had a great time here. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Team Eighty8!

69%

A nice hostel and a great pool and common area. Single female travelers should know that there is no girls' dorm and I got verbally harassed by two drunk Australian guys in the mixed dorm. The staff wouldn't do anything and I also couldn't move rooms. The dorm is also really loud because it's right above the pool and bar area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall. There is a female only dorm! I can only imagine that it was fully booked at your time of booking. I apologize if you had an altercation with 2 drunk people in your dorm room. Unfortunately, it happens and is all part and parcel of staying in a dorm room. We do not approve of this behavior and we do have a quite word with guests who do this. If you stay in the cheaper bar dorm, it is a little louder until 12am.

74%

Good hostel. Good common area. Has a pool which is nice. Good western food but a little over priced. Nice Private rooms it felt like a hotel. Can't speak for the Dorms.


94%

Both the best sleep we've had in Phnom Penh and the most sociable hostel we've stayed in - has a pool! We've stayed here on 3 different occasions already whilst volunteering in Phnom Penh and will be here for most of the remainder of our trip.


83%

Good place to meet people!


86%

Dorms located above the bar were clean, but the repetitive house music was annoying until about 12pm. Staff are very friendly, and the facility was pretty nice overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Here at Eighty8 it is our sole aim is to give our customers an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. It is a constant challenge with the music. Everyone has different tastes. We do play a wide array of different music and are constantly updating and changing our playlists at Eighty8. Keeping it real, Team Eighty8

97%

This is by far the best hostel I've stayed in since travelling SEAsia. Was so surprised when I arrived as it's more like a hotel with the big communal area/bar/restaurant which is a great place to just chill out. Really spacious and a cool vibe to this place. Definitely stay here, incredibly good value for money too. Can't fault this hostel.


94%

Very good drinks. The hang out area is fun and relaxing and I love that the staff turn down the music and wind things down at midnight. It shows that they're not interested in just being a party hostel. Loved it.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We only just branded products in all of our cocktails. This and fresh fruit. This is why they taste soooo good :) Enjoy the rest of your travels, Team Eighty8

77%

Everything isgood or above average. Location just isnt great like what everyone else said. Tuk tuk from where your bus drops you off should cost about $1.50 to get to the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We actually offer FREE pickups from bus stations in Phnom Penh. We can also arrange air port pick ups for $7. We dont want our customers first impressons of Phnom Penh getting ripped off by a tuk tuk driver as soon as they step off the bus! To arrange this simply email bookings@88backpackers.com. There is no "center" in Phnom Penh, everything is spead out. The most efficient way for tourists to see the "sights" is by moto, tuk tuks or if you can cope with the heat, by foot. Happy travels!

100%

Excellent Hostel!!


94%

Brilliant hostel, will definitely stay there again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time! Team Eighty8

83%

Good social hostel, easy to meet ppl. Convenient they have bar and food but pricier. Also they sell bus tix. Only downfall like other ppl have said is the location. Maybe 20-30 min walk. Tuk tuks at hostel are pricier than off the street ones for tours. Also water and food is cheaper across and down the street. Tuk tuk from city to hostel should be only $1-$1.50

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at 88. The tuktuks that operate outside Eighty8 are registered with us but operate independently. The pricing in the hostel for the tours are advertised as a guide price only. A price that we feel is fair to both yourself & the tuktuk drivers. 88's location is in a bustling area of the city and yes there are lots of authentic street food and drink nearby that is cheaper. We dont discourage anyone from trying this!

91%

The cheap dorm room is right above the bar (which plays very loud music) so it feels like sleeping inside a nightclub. But the more expensive dorm is quiet and very good. Great staff, always wiling to help. The food is expensive for the small amount you get, but is pretty good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write both sides to this review. Yes, the dorm above the bar is a little nosier but this is reflected in the price and is advertised as above the bar. The music does turn off at 12am. The $7.50 dorms are a better option if you are planning an earlier night and they come with A/C and hot showers! Food poisoning is unfortunately common in SE Asia. We use the best quality ingredients in all of our products. This is why they taste so good!

94%

The staff was really helpful and friendly. Great bar, music, and pool area and a fun place to meet fellow travelers.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you had a great social time during your stay with us! Our staff do go out of our way to help and advise you on your travels throughout Cambodia with personal experience. I am glad you got to see and experience this. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

97%

Really nice place. You have double size beds even in the bunkbed, the rooms are not fancy but clean and neat. Whats really great is the pool and bar area because you meet people sooo easily, but we almost forgot visiting phnom penh because chilling by the pool is so noce :D A little farer away from the centre than most other hostels but mist of the time you take a tuktuk anyways


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Phnom Penh Hostels

Please give us your feedback