Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Capitan Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.1
Rating 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 3.8
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.1
Rating 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 3.8
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.3
El Capitan Hotel Located at 2361 Mission Street, , San Francisco.
El Capitan Hotel
USA
San Francisco CA 94110 2361 Mission Street
51% 317
37.7592940 -122.4191430
El Capitan Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
6.0

The place is well located but not very clean, it's also smelly. The staff were sometimes not very friendly, but It has a good price acording to SF rates.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
5.4

You get what you pay for- but we definitely didn't pay for roaches. The hotel is in the middle of Mission which means loud cars 24/7, we slept with the lights on for 3 nights to ensure the roaches didn't come out while we slept so not much sleep happened and we also showered at a friends place since the showers there just weren't worth the risk. But like I said it's cheap and a place to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
2.0

This is not a hostel it is a seedy motel and thus overpriced. The bathrooms were dirty and didn't even have sinks to wash your hands and we avoided using them as much as possible. We were relived we had only booked the room for one night. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
7.7

This place is alright as a budget-friendly hotel in a very expensive city. The Mission neighbourhood is "eccentric". The staff is helpful and friendly. If you're looking for a fun hostel, this isn't it. The paid parking lot is a bonus for those who are road-tripping.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
5.1

It's a very old and shabby place. The shared bathrooms can be quite dirty. The rooms are incredibly hot. The internet is spotty. The bar fridge, when running, is so loud you'll want to unplug it before going to bed. The shared kitchen is decrepit and will have you eating out every night. But, if you're staying here a few nights, you get used to all of the above. My advice is to go in with the worst expectations (as we did), and you may be pleasantly surprised.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ferrylubis20004085
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2016
4.6

Toilet and shower facilities are dirty. The corridor and the room are smelly. But you get what you paid for.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2016
2.0

DON'T STAY HERE!!!! This is the worst place I have stayed in, and I've stayed in hostels for 4 months. The shared bathrooms are revolting they all smell and there's never enough toilet roll. The staff are very unhelpful and not very pleasant to talk to. The bedroom floor wasn't cleaned for 2 weeks and it was very dusty in the room. The bins in the room were hardly ever emptied. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything when your trying to sleep. It's in a very dod

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

Glad we chose this one for many reasons. Thank you for the hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.