Hostelworld.com

El Curichal Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 157 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 157 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
El Curichal Hostel Located at Calle Comercio, 1490, , Rurrenabaque.
El Curichal Hostel
Bolivia
Rurrenabaque Beni 591 Calle Comercio, 1490
75% 157
-14.4375894 -67.5276374
El Curichal Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Apr 2016
7.1

An okay place - good value for money. Bit dirty though lacking toilets. Staff were good, but wifi was truly awful. Don't get exited about the pool - it's rank. ADVICE; bigger dorms are nicer/ have working fans and are cheaper. 4 bed dorm is more expensive and much worse!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th Apr 2016
5.4

Good spot for a stopover before/after/between tours but better options in town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.0

This place is great for pre and post Amazon. Wifi ok. Location fine. Lady at the reception a bit miserable but the other members of staff made up for it. Breakfast very basic. Social atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2016
7.1

It's a nice place to stay before or after your tours to pampas and jungle. There are some hammocks and a pool which is not very clean though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maddenburns
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
5.7

Very basic accommodation, wifi terrible (but I think it's the same throughout Rurrenabaque), pool was dirty, my bed sheets were dirty and the shower often did not have running water (was told its because the tank had to refill every time). No kitchen facility and there was not enough breakfast to feed all guests during our stay. Does have luggage storage and is adequate for a stay on either side of a jungle/pampas tour but don't expect much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
8.0

Nice hostel to speak a night or two pre or post jungle tour. Facilities were great - pool, bar, pool table, TV room, etc. There was a BBQ the night we stayed which was really enjoyable! Staff were very friendly and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're Glad you enjoyed your stay! Enjoy the rest of this amazing Country! ElCurichal

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Feb 2016
10.0

A great hostel in rurrenabaque. Good facilities, great owners and perfect location whether you are on your way out or back from the jungle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! ElCurichal

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
4.6

Booked a double room, was given a twin. Came back from Rurrenabaque to find no water (not the hostel's fault) but they'd lost all bookings, including our room. We were once again put back in a twin. The showers were filthy, no toilet paper in the bathroom, toilet seats broken, general lack of care from the staff. Owner was friendly but seemed more interested in going in the pool.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate the feedback! During the week of your stay massive storms occured in this area, one of the consequences was that the water pipes that feed the city got broken by a mudslide, the day before your arrival there was Water untill knee height in the town, beeing river water it brought mud with it, we did our best to clean the poperty, what we couldnt do was save the information contained in the computers, that suffered with water but also with power shortage, we now put a new sistem in place that will allow us to save all bookings and relevant info in a cloud sistem so what happened to you doesnt happen again, we failed to meet your expectations and for that we apologize! ElCurichal

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2016
7.4

Expensive drinks on site - beer more than in the restaurants and water almost double that of nearby shops. English speaking owner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! ElCurichal

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Jan 2016
8.9

Nice hostel. Wifi is ok (is usually problem in these small towns). Can swim in the pool or have a cold shower, perfect for the humid rainforest. However the showers/ taps/ toilets were very temperamental and the water often didn't work. Couldn't have a shower for a whole day but maybe they've fixed this now? Overall a nice place to rest before/ after a tour, or while waiting for your flight!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Water sistem is a hit and miss in Rurre, to solve that issue we recently installed a large size water tank so we are not as dependent in the Rurrenabaque water sistem! Shower all day with strong water pressure !!! ElCurichal

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.