Hostelworld.com

El Curichal Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jan 2017
6.0

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm with ensuite and overall the room and bathroom were pretty clean compared to previous reviews, however we did find a cockroach in our room. Less mosquitos than expected following a trip to the pampas. We were given just one key to the room which was annoying and there was also slightly irritating music being played in the pool area outside our room throughout the day. Staff were also less than friendly. However overall it was an ok hostel and I would book it again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
20th Jan 2017
6.0

Wifi does not work, bathroom door kept locking from the inside, fan inside room didn't work (and no air con), no breakfast, and couldn't use kitchen facilities. Staff very unhelpful and just sit at main desk ignoring you. Room was right at reception next to the front door with no lock on door which didn't feel safe. Good location. Would not stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
6.3

The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hostel is good located. The breakfast is with fresh fruits and because of that a little bit better than in some other hostels in SA. The rooms are very simple. In our room was no light and the kitchen wasn't working (but we got a discount for that!). During the night there was loud music. Only recommended for people who search for party hostels. There are some better and cheaper options in Rurrenabaque.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2017
6.3

Having a pool is fantastic and the price is good. However, the wifi is very slow, the fan was broken in the room, there was no soap both times we were there, the light in the bathroom didn't work, and the breakfast was okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
17th Jan 2017
6.9

Great location, nice pool, good security with lockers at reception for valuables. Staff very unwelcoming and unhelpful, guy at reception sat there on his computer with headphones in and just ignored us, then we were told they didn't have record of our booking despite the fact we showed them evidence. No working kitchen for personal use and no breakfast. Wifi never works at all so may as well not have it. Pretty average overall but limited options in Rurrenabaque.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
18th Dec 2016
10.0

Much cleaner than I expected given the other reviews. Best atmosphere in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Dec 2016
7.7

Stayed over a week at the hostel. The pool is great and definitely needed in the heat. Rooms get very hot, they have fans but doesn't provide much relief. Beds are comfy. Wifi intermittent but expected in the jungle. Showers are temperamental, either scalding hot or cold but in the heat I preferred a cold shower. There is a kitchen but it's not available to travellers. Fridges are hotter than outside so storing water/drinks isn't possible. Breakfast is provided. Hammocks are good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.0

Had a great time here. Facilities were good, but quite outdated and cleanliness was so-so, we had a number of cockroaches in our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Nov 2016
6.3

Expensive for where you are. All rooms front onto the pool and are not locked. BBQ is overpriced don't go for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
9.7

Loved it. The pool is what you need in Rurre, it was perfect. Rooms were hot and sweaty at night even with the fan, but you expect that in the jungle. Wifi was good, shower was good in the double room. Staff were friendly and helpful and the beers were cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.