X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites Reviews

Camino Costanera 4860, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
321 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

really great place to stay. Super cool vibe. Awesome staff - extremely helpful in planning next leg of trip. Clean, relaxed, fun environment. Attracts a cool crowd. Really enjoyed the people who were staying there. Ended up traveling with a few that I met. I would recommend El Diablo Tranquilo to any friend Nd will definitely stay there again. Thanks for an awesome experience and stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for spreading the word, it's very much appreciated. Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards from the complete staff.

86%

Amazing location right on the beach. We had a big ocean view from our room (6 bed superior). The staff was helpful and friendly. The only downside was we had to walk to the other Diablo hostel to use the kitchen which was quite small, but not a huge deal. Definitely one of the best hostel options in town that we could see.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments and good to ready you have enjoyed your time here. We wish you safe travels. Regards, El Diablo Tranquilo Staff.

63%

Hade the suite for 3 nights, simpel room, but it was nice that we could hang out just outside the room on the terraces.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, good to read you enjoyed your nights here. Safe travels, El Diablo Tranquilo Staff.

66%

Right on the beach which is what Punta del Diablo is all about so that´s good. Staff were awesome. The nights they organise were fun. All that said, the dorms were pretty horrible. The beds are tiny and I barely slept because of this. I think they would only fit someone maybe 5´8" max. The mattresses are really thin, old and they stank. But then maybe you can sleep on the beach.....but then why are you paying for this place, just go to the nights they organise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our objective is to have our guests enjoying everything so not just our parties and events but also their nights' rest. If there's a problem with anything please just come to us and we'll find a solution, that would be much better for the both of us. Thanks for sharing concerns here though. We wish you a good continuation of your trip, regards from the complete staff.

71%

Nice spot, nice staff, the only downside was that the kitchen was in another propert (their sister hostel) so you had to walk everytime you wanted to cook, and the kitchen was dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're sorry you had to find the kitchen dirty. We clean everything 6 times per day but during high season in two hours' time a lot can happen. We are happy to read you like the hostel and we hope you have enjoyed yourself here. We wish you safe travels, El Diablo Tranquilo Staff.

74%

Amazing staff, really nice location, but toooooo expensive for that kind of spartan standard.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for writing here. In January prices are higher than ever in Punta del Diablo or better, in the whole of Uruguay. It's the high season and the only few weeks that demand exceeds offer due to all the holidaymakers. As a backpacker you might want to try to avoid touristy places during high seasons as prices always go up. We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay here though and we wish you safe travels. Regards, El Diablo Tranquilo Staff

94%

The kitchen is in another building which is not helpful! Otherwise, thr place is awesome

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for sharing your opinion. All the best from us! El Diablo Tranquilo Staff

94%

Good vibe and awesome location right on the beach. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend to stay here if you plan a trip to Punta del Diablo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much and have a good trip. Regards, El Diablo Tranquilo Staff.

94%

Had a really nice stay! Staff was amazing! Location is perfect, right on the beach and with a great balcony on the first floor. Too bad that the bar/restaurant isn't run by the same owners, as it could be so much better for the overall experience/atmosphere. Wifi works but it keeps annoying you with the same questions over and over again so you can login.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments. This year we decided to rent out the bar which unfortunately didn't work out the way we all would have liked. Anyway, Since the end of June the bar has been under our own management again. About the internet, we've been setting up a new hotspot which still needs some work but will provide benefits to our guests once it's all working. We appreciate you sharing this with us and wish you safe travels. Regards, El Diablo Tranquilo Staff.

83%

The best location of all the hostels, right on the beach, friendly helpful staff, no kitchen though and the 9 bed dorm has no windows..the 6 bed dorms have big windows but the morning sun is intense.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comments and we wish you safe travels. Regards from all of us.

54%

We stayed two nights in a private room for the New Year´s eve. Though the view was amazing, in front of the beach, the room was just ok, we apreciated that there was an air conditioned The bathroom was small, and we found a frong in there I think the breakfast is so poor that they better not offer anything at all, instead of ofering that breakfast (a couple slices of bread, butter and dulce de leche) I thing the price they charge is way too much for what they offer, even if it´s high season

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for leaving your comments here. They will always be taken into account for improvement purposes. Our breakfast though consists of daily fresh baked bread, butter, different jams, dulce de leche, coffee, tea, milk and unlimited fruit. Just to clear the sky for anyone who might be reading this. We wish you a good continuation of your travels. Regards from the El Diablo Tranquilo staff.

57%

Helpful staff, great location BUT it is too expensive. We were in a 6 bed bedroom with NO WINDOW. It was insanely hot, it was pretty hard to sleep. The bathrooms are too small and you must wash the breakfast (bread/jelly, by the way) dishes IN THE MEN'S BATHROOM ONLY SINK. I mean, you wash it while the guys wash their hands after using the toilet. For New Year's dinner, we paid US$30 each for a barbecue - and it was only a plate with 1 random piece of meat and cold rice. Nice but not worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comments and we'd like you to know that we always analyze them seriously in order to improve. The 6 bed dorm does have big windows though with ocean view, maybe you're in another room? About the dishes, there were a few days that we did the dishes in the bathroom as the bar with its kitchen was under maintenance. We are sorry for any inconvenience that might have caused you and we hope you've had a save continuation of your travels. Regards from the complete staff.

94%

The secret nickname of this hostel is Hotel California. It is hard to leave.


100%

El Diablo Tranquilo was awesome, each of the buildings were unique and we spent time in each. The Playa Suites building is literally right on the beach and you can't beat that, the "onda" up at the other building was cool though and every time we stopped by there was a good group on the terrace or hanging out in the lobby. Definitely recommended.


100%

Just great, right on the beach. I'd never seen such well located dorm rooms with ocean view, a big terrace with hammocks and besides that the staff is really going out of their way for you. Will repeat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review, we are happy you had a good time here. We wish you all the best on your future adventures. Regards, El Diablo Tranquilo staff.

83%

The hostel has a great location just next to the beach and eating breakfast in the morning on the terrace looking out onto the ocean was great! The room wasn't so well ventilated and so it got a little bit stuffy but there was a fan to help with that. The staff at the hostel were great and really helpful with suggestions and tips on where to go and what to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for sharing your experience with us and your fellow travelers. We wish you a good trip. Regards, El Diablo Tranquilo staff.

89%

Helpfull staff. Because of works in the playa suites i stayed in the other hostel. Good bikes.


74%

We stayed there at the beginning of november. It was cold and rainy, the playa suites are just made for good wheather. Pretty sure that the play suites are a very nice place to stay Ehen wheather is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, The sun makes everything better, also our hostel. Thanks for leaving your review and hope to see you back here on a sunny day. Regards from all of us.



View all Punta del Diablo Hostels

Please give us your feedback