Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Diablo Tranquilo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
El Diablo Tranquilo Located at Avenida Central S/N, , Punta del Diablo.
El Diablo Tranquilo
Uruguay
Punta del Diablo Rocha Rocha Avenida Central S/N
86% 829
-34.0409427 -53.5417842
El Diablo Tranquilo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Met some awesome people here, we absolutely loved the hostel. The staff were all awesome, always loads of people around to ask advice & chat with. Breakfast was great too; first time we'd had fruit. Location is great, just a short walk to the beach & centre of town. We never cooked as local food was cheaper than elsewhere in Uruguay but the hostel offered dinner each day but we thought it was a little expensive for what was on offer but the beers and wine are well priced :) accept card as no ATM

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Just do it! Amazing bunch of people recruited from all over the world for their world-class welcoming and social skills. Had a really great stay and didn't want to leave. Bravo Tranquilos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Only spent a couple of days in punta del diablo but wish I could have stayed longer. The place itself is a really cool beach town with super chilled out vibes & an ideal escape from the SA city's. Diablo tranquilo has got to be one of my favourite hostels of the trip so far, the staff were super friendly & get involved with everyone and showing the best places to go out. The hostel set up itself is great with plenty of chillout areas and bikes/surfboards etc. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
4.6

This is a really basic hostel. But that is not necessarily a criticism of the owners, because Punta del Diablo is very undeveloped, and I suspect most of he hostels will be similar. What I object to is paying nearly US$40 (peak season) for what is essentially a shack, but market forces and all that. Just do your research before you travel to Punta del Diablo, as the place generally might not be what you are looking for. But the bad points: rooms are tiny, hot, and full of flies and mosquitoes.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
8.6

This Hostel has a cool atmosphere. The staff were kind and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
10.0

Coooolest hostel! The vibe here is unique, I was suppose to stay for one night and ended up staying for two weeks! The staff made the whole stay feel like home, a rest from the trip, the common areas are awesome, breakfast and dinners delicious and abundant, I specially loved the bread and the dulce de leche, great music and activities at the bar! Hope to see you again guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
10.0

Awesome is the best word to describe this hostel. The staff are incredibly friendly and the location is great- So many reviews knock it for being far from the bus terminal, but that's because it's close to the beach. I would rather be close to the beach than the bus terminal. Easy to meet other guests from around the world, and most of the staff speaks at least one other language besides Spanish. Clean, safe, fun, and affordable. Even the dogs are awesome! Great for solo travelers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

The hostel is in an amazing location in an amazing place. The staff are great, friendly and hang out with guests all the time. There is always something to do here. They make dinner every night of the week if you want and there is beer at the hostel. They even have an outdoor shower for after the beach. You can pay with credit cards at this hostel. I am not sure why there is so much confusion about that. Also with a bunch of different currencies. Stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.9

We stayed only for one night, but the place was great. Close to the ocean, with really nice staff, cool lounge and surprisingly good breakfast. Recommend for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
9.4

A friendly place; staff v. helpful and a good atmosphere. Furnishings basic but in good condition. Included breakfast of fresh bread, jam, fruit & coffee/tea. The fresh bread was particularly nice. There’s a cooked dinner with wine for an extra charge most evenings. There’s a small supermarket a few blocks away. No bank in town so come with enough cash to live on and get you away again! The hostel can advance you cash by prior arrangement. We enjoyed ourselves & would definitely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.