Hostelworld.com

El Diablo Tranquilo

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Feb 2017
6.0

It could have been a nice hostel with affordable equipment rent if they followed own rules: stop any noise after 12am. All of a sudden the stuff started a movie in the living room at midnight. Don't know where all of the guests came from because everyone in my room was already sleeping. Although earplugs were available at reception, the noise woke me up and screwed the night. Beds are short for people above average height, lockers are broken, not enough cutlery for everyone in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Can't fault it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.6

Very chilled vibes - lots of guitar playing and singing. Staff very friendly. Easy walk from the beach and the supermarket. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Perfect location and has a great vibe. The staff are also treated really well, which in turn makes them a pleasure to work and hang out with. In Punta Del Diablo I also stayed at the Boyas hostel as well as Uru and preferred Diablo Tranquilo by far. Only gripes: the kitchen is always very crowded, with a shortage of cooking space. The common area also always has flies. But overall, a great value for the money and a good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.6

Great location! Nice friendly staff. Unfortunately the place is dirty, e.g mosquitoes are living/breeding in the shower, the kitchen is tiny and grubby, the ovens are missing knobs so you can only use some of the hobs. There is one small indoor common area so it fills up quick if it rains. There are flys everywhere but who cares as long as you cover food right? Well they dont cover anything so the flys enjoy breakfast with you. I wouldn't recommend staying here, there are better places around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
5.4

This hostel is OK but I wouldn't recommend it to friends. It's cheap but that doesn't mean it has to be dirty - our room wasn't even swept in the 4 days we were there meaning the build up of sand/general dirt was unacceptable. I've never seen so many flies before as in the main communal area, which felt unecessary as they could've done something to get rid of them. Staff played music in this communal area very late into the night keeping everyone else awake. Generally not very nice atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.6

It's a very nice hostel in a great relaxed beach town ! the staff were nice but a bit unorganised. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Kitchen is decent and you can use the BBQ in the big garden area. The only thing I would suggest is to put up some more lights outside and on the balcony as its really hard to see at night. Overall we had an awesome stay there met some really nice people and there is plenty to do in the small town and sourronding areas. We would definetly recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
8.3

The staff here seems to outnumber the visitors. However they are very friendly and welcoming. There is definitely a family vibe here. They do dinners at the hostel which are a great way to hang with the staff and other visitors. I would recommend for solo travelers. Good common space indoors and outdoors. Easy access to the East most beach but it seemed like the beach in the middle of town was more happening. Wifi was touchy - couldnt handle the volume sometimes. Comfortable beds, no AC

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.7

I had such a wonderful time at Diablo Tranquilo. The staff were awesome/friendly/cool as well as the guests I met there from all over the world (Paraguay, UK, Australia, Germany...) One night they had this caiprihina party and the resident DJ from Uruguay spun some sick music! Just great vibes (buena onda). I was there 5 nights and it felt like home. Punta del diablo in general is wonderful but the hostel made the trip incredible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

January is a very expensive time to travel Uruguay, so I wouldn't say great value for money. The staff at the hostel really made this trip, however it could have been a bit cleaner, the kitchen especially.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.