Hostelworld.com

El Faro Beach Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.0
El Faro Beach Hostel Located at Carretera hacia el Parque, , Manuel Antonio.
El Faro Beach Hostel
Costa Rica
Manuel Antonio Carretera hacia el Parque
62% 169
9.3916321 -84.1457676
El Faro Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • soledadrm
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
11th Feb 2016
4.9

Big fail in atmosphere, there was a big Costa Rican family (like 30 or more) staying in the hostel (incl kids and old drunk people). They were everywhere, cooking big meals with huge pots, sitting in all the dinner tables and using every inch of the swimming pool -with clothes and not taking a shower before entering-. And speaking loud till 4am. They took complete control. Don't take rooms without a/c, walls are bad and won't isolate the heat. Beds very uncomfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Feb 2016
9.1

This hostel is in a great location just outside the entrance to the Manuel Antonio National Park. It is also only a few minutes away from a free local beach and some nice restaurants. The hostel was good value for money and the staff very helpful. The wifi connection was poor so I kept losing connectivity but that was the only real negative. Overall it was a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2016
3.7

I really thought the hostel would be more clean and organized but in general, this is a mess. The kitchen is not clean at all, my friends and I needed to ask to clean because it was dirty.. The bathrooms too, i think it would be cleaned more than just once and the atmosphere could be different for the clients..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2016
5.7

Brick used to hold fridge door shut, never any TP in the bathrooms. Great location. Friendly staff. Not the flashiest place but a great place to meet lots of new people. Great spot for quiet nights. You have to go up the hill ( don't walk it) if you want to find a party at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2016
4.0

Faro uses its location as an excuse to not worry about any other aspect. I've never felt more like livestock in a barn than at faro. They offer you nothing but mess and a dirty pool. Stay elsewhere and walk a little further to the park.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2016
4.3

The location was the only good thing about this hostel. The shared bedrooms had no fans and it felt like an oven inside, we had a hard time trying to sleep there. Also when we arrived my bed didn't even have a mattress. I had to arrange my bed by taking another bed's mattress. The kitchen was beyond messy, the fridge was so disgusting it smelled like something died in there. The pool wasn't working so it was only a swamp of disgusting and smelly water.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • bella786931
  • Norway, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Dec 2015
2.9

Barely made it through 2 nights, even though I had booked for 11 nights. Mattress so thin I couldn't sleep, the kitchen almost made me puke, closet full of ants, very dirty pool and there was never toilet papaw in the toilets. I actually told the receptionist(who could barely speak English) to check out the reviews. A lot of ppl left after only one night, so they should get the hint, but I wouldn't hold my breath for that... Wished I only stayed one night, and no refunds for 9 days...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2015
6.9

The location can't be beat in manuel Antonio. Te place is kinda grimy, especially the kitchen and the mattresses are paper thin. Helpful staff and te pool is cool. Wifi is frustrating, temper your expectations. Good for a night or two, wouldn't get comfortable here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Dec 2015
8.0

I stayed here for new years and it was pretty packed when I stayed but had a cool atmosphere. Each room had a key and the lockers are massive; it's about 5 minutes to the beach and right around the corner from the national park. The beds are basically just two long thick cushions just to forewarn you, not great to sit on for long periods, but I didn't have any bad nights sleep over it. If you want to book a tour I'd suggest heading into town and doing it there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2015
4.3

I am unhappy that El Faro does not make clear separation and distinction between their hotel and hostel. The signs are in places that are not clear and not by the driveway. Because of this poor landscapping, I missed a shuttle van that was supposed to pick me up as the driver confused the hostel with the hotel. The owner of El Faro has 3 buildings, he needs to mark them better and clearly so that such confusion does not happen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.