Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Faro Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.6
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2017
5.4

The hostel has a good location but that's all it had to boast about. The wifi didn't work. There were very few dishes for cooking. The dorms weren't clean and there were rats in the ceiling. The ceiling fan didn't work. The mattresses were super thin. I was excited about the pool, but the hours 9a-9p were inconvient if you like to spend your day out and about and come back to swim in the evening. If you only want to spend time in the park then it's not a bad place to stay but I won't be back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ashawanders
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.6

Staff are very nice and helpful. Very much so. Cleaning crew is vigorous; everyone's friendly. Nice curb appeal, but you sleep in a metal/galvanized barn, that chases you out when the sun rises. You hear everything from the dorms. Basic kitchen utensils. It's an adventure, you're close to the beach and close to the park, you'll survive for a couple nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.1

Very hard mattresses.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
4.9

Staff was rude and unefficient. When we got the room, the bed was undone. The bed broke, and it took half a day for them to solve it. Parking is a non secured area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
3.7

+ VERY close to the park and a public beach. + relatively cheap. - El Faro is a hostel managed in the image of a cheap motel. To label it a hostel is accurate only due to the availability of dorms and that is where the characteristics of a hostel end. The culture is lost here. No casual nature. No community feel. Little comfort offered. Underwhelming at best with no effort to exceed expectations of guests. *disclaimer.. I've spent spent nights in much worse and much better than El Faro.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
4.9

Rooms are filthy. There were no pillows or sheets on the bed and the mattresses looked like they haven't been changed in twenty years. Some bunks didn't even have mattresses on them, just wooden planks. Some mattresses have multiple old stains on both sides. It was so bad that we had to go to a hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
4.6

Fridge was really disgusting, the dorms were the dirtiest I have seen in my 5 months of travel in Central America, there was no wifi on the side where the dorms are, the water was out on the side where the private rooms are, showers and bathrooms were decent. They were at least cleaned every day. The pool was also nice, but I don't think it made up for the other things the hostel was lacking.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
6.0

Dirty showers and the staff didn't appear to be particularly friendly. To me at least. The location is good, next to the park and the beach is within minutes walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
5.7

I knew hostels were very basic places to stay, but the most disappointing thing about it was the bed...the mattress was concave, and extremely uncomfortable. My daughter reserved the room for me and she was not staying with us, but when she walked in the room, she actually apologized to me for the room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.