Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Gallo con Tacos

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
El Gallo con Tacos Located at Almirante Riveros 025, , Santiago.
El Gallo con Tacos
Chile
Santiago 7501545 Almirante Riveros 025
85% 158
-33.4489351 -70.6312966
El Gallo con Tacos
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.9

Lovely staff, quiet and secure location but not far from the action. Great breakfast, pretty garden and clean and comfy rooms. Highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th May 2016
4.9

Pros: - bed was comfy and room was nice and spacious, ok for what we needed - location close to train stations - quite secure Cons: - the dog that have been reviewed as 'friendly' barked at our door quite aggressively. To the point were I was quite worried and went up stairs to tell the owner to help out. Dog poo an urine was in the shower and wasn't cleaned our entire stay -no atmosphere, owner barely there - sketchy location - not sure why its rated so highly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bici_boo8696
  • Wales, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.4

The best breakfasts- each morning a home made sweet dish (we had fruit pie, cake and banana pancakes) and home made savoury dish (soya, salad and cheese tortilla, omlette x 2) with fruit salad, amazing juice, and real coffee! Lovely owners. Lovely part of town- the italian quarter a couple of blocks away was one a favourite place to wander around. Felt safe. A quiet atmosphere when we were there. Friendly dogs. Hot showers. A lovely base in santiago.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
6.3

Found it quite difficult to actually get in the hostel, the bell didn't seem to work and there was a strange rope to pull that also seemed to do nothing. I was just lucky that after 20minutes someone staying there turned up and let me in. Generally the place was ok, although the shower room set up was a little bit odd and I wouldn't say I was 100% comfortable in there. The first night I stayed there were people up making a lot of noise until 4am outside my room in the patio area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • em_mandalaki3741
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

Perfect stay and lovely people. Strongly recommended for a home feeling vacation in Santiago:-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hayleycresp
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2016
4.3

This place is not a backpacker hostel, the whole time we were there we felt like we were intruding on someone's house. There isn't a single sign outside and it's in a residential area (the red light district!) so the airport shuttle dropped us in the wrong street as Google Maps has the wrong location also. We ended our stay early when the owners of the hostel had a party for locals which ended up in drunk people trying to enter our room in the middle of the night. My tip - stay somewhere else!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
9.7

We had a great stay at this amazing hostel. The place is super nice and cosy. The staff has been amazing, very warm people! Super clean and a beautifull small garden. Furthermore we had the chance to be able to take part of their monthly wine tasting with 5 course dinner prepared by the owners combining a chef and a somelier. AMAZING!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cjf12
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2016
6.0

I never booked or stayed at this hostel. What's going on hostel world?!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2016
10.0

Hot shower (that doesn't stay hot for too long, but can be restarted), very kind staff, and very convenient location for sightseeing or heading to the Metro in Santiago. Breakfast is included and it's always fresh, creative, and delicious! They took dietary concerns into account.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • simon_w_n
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2016
10.0

Super nice hostel with a relaxed vibe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.