Hostelworld.com

El Galope Horse Farm

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
El Galope Horse Farm Located at Cno. Concordia, Colonia Suiza, Colonia del Sacramento.
El Galope Horse Farm
Uruguay
Colonia del Sacramento Colonia 70000 Cno. Concordia, Colonia Suiza
94% 171
-34.3245653 -57.1850448
El Galope Horse Farm
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

We stayed here for one night and it was great, really peaceful place to relax and enjoy the countryside. The hosts were really friendly and helpful, they gave great tips for our onward travel. We had dinner and lunch here and the food was lovely, very accommodating for food intolerances. We did a horse riding lesson which was good fun and enjoyed playing with all the dogs!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
9.4

Beautiful place for a night or two's stay. Lovely staff and total relaxation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2016
10.0

If you want something quiet and peaceful then come here to relax and enjoy a horseback ride. Miguel and Monica were wonderful host. Meals were excellent. Nice sauna and dip in the pool. Very nice stay. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Feb 2016
10.0

Superb. Couldn't endorse enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2016
10.0

El Galope was exactly what I was looking for. It was peaceful, with choruses of wild things...and there were other guests from a range of countries to meet and speak with. The food was excellent and healthy and there were multiple options for spending time including good horses, (with spirits intact) a sauna and canoeing. Monica and Miguel were available and very helpful as well as interested in their visitors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jan 2016
9.4

Had a great time at El Galope! Very relaxing atmosphere at the estancia which is located right in the Uruguayan countryside, but still easy to get to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2016
9.4

This is an excellent place to get away from it all. Beautiful countryside. The room and bathroom was lovely, very clean and nicely decorated. We spent our time relaxing, reading, we walked through the hiking trails and rode the horses. The horses are beautiful and it was a great experience. Breakfast is good, pretty simple. We mainly cooked for ourselves as we were saving money but all the food we saw being served looked delicious. A nice way to see more of a 'gaucho' type of lifestyle.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2015
6.0

I don't understand the reviews.You pay 20$ return for a taxi ride and then 25$/d to stay in the middle of nowhere.We asked for bikes,but there are none,so I'm supposed to walk 6km to the nearest town?No ride was offered as stated here.The two boxers running around were disturbing me all the time so I just stayed inside and read a book.The dinner we payed for was not enough and expensive.I understand there are insects on the coutryside,but many cockroaches in our rooms?Don't recommend this,sorry.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If you read reviews of guests who shared the stay with you they are very positive and seem to have stayed in another place. But there seldom a few people like you that see things different. We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay and that you did not let us know about it while you were her to make your stay better. Concerning prices, we send each guests a price list so that you knew them in advance. Besides this El Galope prices are just average. People come here to live a different experience in the countryside in the middle of nowhere. We go to town almost every day and we do offer a ride each time we go there. If we had known the dogs were disturbing you, we could have put them in their canil. Although most of our guests enjoy the company of our friendly pets. Nobody ever complained about meals. On the contrary, reviews are very positive. Check comments of guests that shared the table with you. This time of the year there are a lot of insects of all kinds everywhere whether you like them or not. That's why we have mosquito nets in all the windows and we ask guests to keep the doors closed not to have them inside. Our goal is to improve constantly and to make the best of each guests' stay. For this we need to know if there is any problem we can solve while you are still staying with us

  • Anonymous
  • Malta, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2015
10.0

Lovely farm in a beautiful setting. Fantastic food, horse riding was unforgettable. Great for a few relaxed days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.