Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Genoves Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
El Genoves Hostal Located at Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27, , Cartagena.
El Genoves Hostal
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 130001 Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27
87% 391
10.4270402 -75.5480191
El Genoves Hostal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.3

Pros: Great location in the inner walled city. The building is nice and the pool and rooftop terrace are a great bonus. Rooms were big enough and the bed/ pillow were comfortable. The rooms have fans and air-conditioning. Cons: The only downside is we didn't find the staff that helpful. The guy at the desk when we arrived didn't give us any orientation, we had to keep asking him basic questions. We booked a tour and the staff member couldn't tell us what was included in the itinerary or price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
8.3

This is a suitable hostel for a stay but it's not going to make your trip to Cartagena. I've spent some time now seeing hostels in other cities like Taganga, Minca, and Bogota and all of them have had a lot more character than El Genoves. I would say the one super super highlight of this hostel is the private rooms. If you do decide to splurge and go for a private room, you can be assured that you'll see one of the better privates in the hostel community.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jessliving
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
10.0

I am so over hostels and had planned to only stay here one night. Ended up staying 3 because this place is awesome. The staff was great and I met a ton of cool people. The location is perfect proximity to everything, the free salsa is basic, but fun. Only negatives are the beds are pretty uncomfortable, and the breakfast is only bread and cereal. Definitely more of a party hostel than chill, but great vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.7

I stayed there during the festival of 11th of November, Independence day. Wonderfully located, never felt unsafe. With little pool to cool off, which was more than welcome. Only downside was the huge cost. I don't remember exactly how much it was but it was way more than any other hostel I've been to in Colombia. I'm guessing it's partly due to the festival.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Nov 2016
8.9

Quiet and nice hostel. I was traveling alone and I met a lot of other people traveling alone in the hostel. The common areas are small. The roof terrace is nothing, only had broken chairs, so it was not very inviting.. The breakfast varied, from toast and scrambled eggs, to a tasty Spanish omelet, avocado and toast one of the days. Recommended if you want a quiet place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
8.3

El Genoves Hostal was beautiful, clean, and in a great location. The breakfast was light, but a good way to start the day and the plunge pool was a great way to cool off in the afternoons. Our double room had beautiful old doors that opened to two balconies overlooking the courtyard pool.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jessliving
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
7.7

Pros: -Location. Perfect proximity to everything in the walled city & getsemani. -Marbelis-AM receptionist M-F is awesome. She speaks English, French, & Spanish, & can tell you everything you need to know. Everyone else working played on the internet. -Breakfast included. -It's a clean place. I like that you make your own bed so you can check for bed bugs. Cons: -Nothing to do in the hostel itself -The 'pool' is more like a mosquito attracting puddle -You can't keep alcohol in the fridge

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Oct 2016
7.7

Hostel under rénovation. Nice and helpfull staff and Nervia cooks good scramble eggs for breakfast. A really quiet place to rest overnight. Bring your lock for the lockers otherwise it will be about 5k pesos for one. I will recommend this place and if I return it will be great to see the terrace finished. Walking distance to everything and about 15 to 20 min walk to the SAN Felipe fort. Good street local food at Getsimani square on Saturday. Moustique spray will be helpful. Have a nice stay.👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Oct 2016
6.6

Pros: good location, free breakfast, wifi, good staff Cons: not that clean, had to make my own bed when I arrived, not great atmosphere, poor breakfast

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.