Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Genoves Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel in the best part of Cartagena to be as a tourist. Easy area to walk around. The staff is friendly and eager to help, and the bathrooms and dorms are large and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
9.4

This hostel is sooo nice. There's a little pool to cool off in the Cartagena sun (you'll need it). The AC runs from 10pm to 10am so it's good to get out of the hostel. The breakfast is phenomenal. They whip you up eggs with toast and it tastes so good. There's a bit of an opportunity to socialize with people at the breakfast table but it's not a party hostel at all. Great for chilling, sleeping, and swimming. Definitely recommend if you're not looking to socialize much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Jun 2017
6.3

Tiny kitchen, not enough room in the fridge for things. Breakfast extremely basic and unfilling. Had a flight early in the morning after our check out so we were looking for a place to put our things and shower before driving to the airport, the hostel has no storage and our things just stayed for the whole day behind the bar at the dining area and they charged us 10,000 COP (3$) for a shower... Atmosphere nonexsistent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
8.6

I recently stayed here in a private room. The room was clean and had a very large/comfortable bed. Air conditioning worked great and the room had two cute little balconies overlooking the pool area. The pool was small but clean and perfect for dipping in after a hot day walking the streets. Breakfast is OK and free. Rules are you have to settle down and be quiet in the pool area by 11:00pm, so not a party hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
8.3

This place was very nice (especially the pool) but wasn't social enough for me. Most guests when I was there spoke Spanish so I felt a bit isolated, but that's no fault of the hostel. Overall a very nice quiet place in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
8.0

The location is very easy to get to and the street is relatively quiet at night. I wouldn't stay here again though because of the atmosphere. I definitely didn't want a party hostel, which is hard to find in Cartagena, but this place was so far the other side that people weren't really socializing at all. I try to get hostels with free breakfast to meet other travelers, but here people really didn't chat over breakfast or at other times of the day for that matter. Staff member Maria was great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
6.9

Unfriendly staff, slow wifi, very very quiet and no good space to sit together to meet people. Was clean though. I think they could make so much more out of it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
10.0

I had a great time at Genoves. It is in a safe neighborhood, within the walled-city so it's close to a ton of bars and restaurants. It's so easy to explore Cartagena when you're staying at this hostel, and it is a very laid-back place to chill when you want to rest. Also, the staff are all great people. I highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
8.6

nice and friendly staff, ac in rooms which is great, good location if you want to stay in walled city. not much going on here. definitely a chill vibe to it as no people were really hanging out

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Apr 2017
7.7

Wifi wasn't working in our rooms and our baggage couldn't be stored. Breakfast isn't that special. Otherwise pretty good. The Showers are awesome und the beds are huuuuuuuuuuge.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.