Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Genoves Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

We had an awesome stay! Front desk was very helpful! Clean, comfortable rooms, loved the cool funky decor!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.9

It was great! We had a private room and it was perfect. The location was awesome and the staff was helpful. Definitely go to the Cuban restaurant at the end of the block.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
8.9

This hostel was great! The staff was lovely and the location couldn't be better! The only things that weren't that great were the breakfast (it's scrambled eggs and two toasts with butter only) and the prices are a very little high for the place (I had to sleep on the upper bed and it was awful). But overall we had a good experience! I would recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
8.9

My stay was short, but sweet. The free breakfast in the morning was alright, and the beds were comfy enough for me. There's small lockers for valuables, just make sure you have a lock. Multiple bathrooms and showers to use, but the kitchen is very, very tiny. Hard to have more than 1 person cooking comfortably. The staff seemed to be filling in when I was there, so service was sub par, but talking to other guests it is normally better. The location is perfect for being surrounded by tourists.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.7

Cute, quiet, and for the most part clean. The lockers were TINY and half of them were broken in my room. The staff wasn't incredibly helpful but they were nice. Location is perfect and easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • renanafox4227
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.4

The hostel itself was wonderful. First off, it's in a great location near plenty of restaurants, two blocks from a bike tour, and close to lots of markets and the water. The hostel is beautiful and very clean with a great little pool and roof top. The staff was very nice and helpful and breakfast was delicious. There are lockers to store your stuff but you need your own lock. when I was there it was VERY quiet but I'm sure it depends on who stays there when you arrive. So happy I stayed there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
7.7

Not bad, but not good. Rooms were average, pool in the center but other than that no real place to hang out and meet people. Nobody goes in the pool though it's just a little puddle. One dude at the front desk was cool and helpful, the other one was a dweeb. If he went to my middle school or high school I probably would have bullied him a little bit (and I'm not even the bullying type). Rent a towel for 2 dollars. Other than that it was fine, but nothing special.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
7.1

Good location in the old city, walkable. Clean and pretty. Not very easy to meet other travelers though so if this is important to you, I recommend another hostel. Did not like that we had to put our sheets on our own bed, especially since we arrived late and woke up other travelers. Simple place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.1

Amazing bathroom on the second floor for a 6-person room. Great small dipping pool in the courtyard and very nice rooftop. It is a quiet hostel but a great place to enjoy a few days in Cartagena away from the noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
7.4

Pros: - Outlets by the beds - Provided breakfast - Cool rooftop to hang out on - GREAT location - Take credit cards Cons: - Zero atmosphere when I was there (over New Years, so would expect a lot but was mostly local Colombians) - Cash "mysteriously" disappeared from my wallet when I forgot it in the bathroom for

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.