Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Genoves Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Feb 2017
7.7

Cute, quiet, and for the most part clean. The lockers were TINY and half of them were broken in my room. The staff wasn't incredibly helpful but they were nice. Location is perfect and easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • renanafox4227
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.4

The hostel itself was wonderful. First off, it's in a great location near plenty of restaurants, two blocks from a bike tour, and close to lots of markets and the water. The hostel is beautiful and very clean with a great little pool and roof top. The staff was very nice and helpful and breakfast was delicious. There are lockers to store your stuff but you need your own lock. when I was there it was VERY quiet but I'm sure it depends on who stays there when you arrive. So happy I stayed there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
7.7

Not bad, but not good. Rooms were average, pool in the center but other than that no real place to hang out and meet people. Nobody goes in the pool though it's just a little puddle. One dude at the front desk was cool and helpful, the other one was a dweeb. If he went to my middle school or high school I probably would have bullied him a little bit (and I'm not even the bullying type). Rent a towel for 2 dollars. Other than that it was fine, but nothing special.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
7.1

Good location in the old city, walkable. Clean and pretty. Not very easy to meet other travelers though so if this is important to you, I recommend another hostel. Did not like that we had to put our sheets on our own bed, especially since we arrived late and woke up other travelers. Simple place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
9.1

Amazing bathroom on the second floor for a 6-person room. Great small dipping pool in the courtyard and very nice rooftop. It is a quiet hostel but a great place to enjoy a few days in Cartagena away from the noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
7.4

Pros: - Outlets by the beds - Provided breakfast - Cool rooftop to hang out on - GREAT location - Take credit cards Cons: - Zero atmosphere when I was there (over New Years, so would expect a lot but was mostly local Colombians) - Cash "mysteriously" disappeared from my wallet when I forgot it in the bathroom for

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
6.3

Great location but that's about it. Hot rooms and cold showers. The staff was not welcoming or helpful. If you want a social hostel this is not the place for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Dec 2016
10.0

I loved my stay at El Genovés. It is truly a gem in the historic center of Cartagena. The area is very safe day and night. The hostel employees are the sweetest and are knowledgeable on things about the city and are absolutely helpful. Juliet, Rosario and Adiela felt like family. There is no space here for my full review. There is more at https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g297476-d4786936-Reviews-El_Genoves_Hostal-Cartagena_Cartagena_District_Bolivar_Department.html?m=19904

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
7.1

Air conditioner didn't work. Staff didn't even look into getting it repaired or offer any help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.