Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Genoves Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
El Genoves Hostal Located at Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27, , Cartagena.
El Genoves Hostal
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 130001 Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27
90% 339
10.4270402 -75.5480191
El Genoves Hostal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

I couldn't wait to write a review about this hostel. Simply great. It is a bit pricey, but totally worth it. Service is lovely, very helpful. Rooms are clean, very very well maintained. Nice architecture and design. Swimming pool, breakfast included, good wifi, best location you can think of. Best one I stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
9.7

The best hostel in Cartagena

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
10.0

I only stayed one night at El Genoves hostel, but I really enjoyed my stay. The location is excellent, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Both women at the desk did everything they could to help me – including booking a bus to Santa Marta and helping me find the owner of a lost item! I also really appreciated the evening A/C in the rooms, because Cartagena was very hot. RECOMMENDATION: Stay in the 8-bed dorm over the 4 bed. The 4-bed dorm is almost too small for 4 people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anthonyaangulo703
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

This was a great place to stay. I was looking for something chilled after travelling for a while and this was the perfect place. The staff is super nice, even helped me out when I suddently remembered that I had to take a bus to Santa Martha for my flight and the staff at the front desk did everything she could so that I could make it there. I just made it on time. The place itself is really nice, the pool was awesome and it's in a perfect location, close to everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
8.9

As a solo female traveller it was extremely nice that the workers took a keen interest in my safety and well being. They continuously checked in on me to make sure I felt at home and they went above and beyond to make me feel welcomed in Cartegena. It's a very chilled and quiet hostel, but I met some great people here and enjoyed it all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
8.6

This was a really nice hostel, very clean and great location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jul 2016
6.0

This hostal is in a great location for exploring the old town. The building is lovely, but it is old so some of the stuff doesn't work very well. Our shower was just a trickle.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Andres greeted us when we arrived to Genovés and was the best part about our stay at this hostel. He helped us book a second night at the hostel and gave us helpful recommendations for our bus trip to Santa Marta. The pool and terrace were great for cooling off. Additionally breakfast was hearty and delicious. We recommend this hostel for your stay in Cartagena. The staff is wonderful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

Exceptionally nice and helpful staff. Unfortunately the electricity cut out while I stayed there so I had no air conditioning for the second night of my stay, which was very uncomfortable. However this is obviously beyond the control of the hostel. My bag did not arrive with my flight and the staff here made every effort to help me in getting it. I would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
9.7

Great staff. They were very helpful giving us info about where to go in the city and how to get transportation from Cartagena to Santa Marta. Wonderful atmosphere with people from all over the world . The location is superbe and the construction is a small colonial house right at the heart of the old city .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.