Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Genoves Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
El Genoves Hostal Located at Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27, , Cartagena.
El Genoves Hostal
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 130001 Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27
89% 363
10.4270402 -75.5480191
El Genoves Hostal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.6

Good location and quiet hostel. Pool is very small but helpful after hot day. Staff and facility is okay. No bar or food options. Breakfast is okay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.1

Clean, Quiet (not a party hostel) and located on a beautiful street inside the walled city. Nice kitchen and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Nice hostel with pool and rooftop terrace. However, a bit more service in terms of having the beds ready made instead of having to do it ourselves would have been nice, especially since it is not super cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.7

Lovely hostal, everything was great particulary the location and helpful staff. Right in the safe walled city, loads of restaurants close by. Good English spoken and always willing to help with tours or suggestions regarding meals and travel. Air-conditioning comes on from 10pm to 10am in dorms but I believe this is normal for Cartagena, there are fans and a swimming pool. There is a tiny 2 bed dorm at the top that has independent air-conditioning but wifi is weak up there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.3

Great quite hostel in the old city. Lovely and quaint building with interesting architecture and a nice pool. Older relaxed crowd rather than a party scene which was exactly the atmosphere we wanted. Amenities were standard for a hostel, nicer than those at the Green House around the corner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.1

Very good location right in the center of the old city, close to nice plazas to go out at night. The pool and air conditioning at night are REALLY ENJOYABLE (AND NECESSARY) due to cartagena's absurd hot temperatures. the terrace upstairs is really nice as well to chill at the end of the day and dry clothes. Not a place to meet people or party, more the one to chill and relax during your trip and that's perfectly what we were looking for. Big up for the included breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.7

Good option for staying in the historic centre. Beautiful streets, beautiful hostel. It's small, so easy to get to know other travellers. The staff are awesome, really friendly and helpful. I stayed in 6 bed dorm with private bathroom, which has a little balcony overlooking the pool. The pool is great to cool down in, cartagena is always hot! The hostel is fairly quiet, which I liked and was hoping for as I wake early and sleep early. If people wanted a night out, they would go out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
9.7

I had a wonderful time and the staff was wonderful, especially Andres. There was a hiccup with the air conditioning and they made every effort to fix it. The location is right by famous restaurants and easy to get to attractions in the Old City. I highly recommend it. If you want more space book the 8 bed dorm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Very clean, nicest (women's) bathrooms I've seen in a hostel. Simple but freshly made breakfast. Really nice and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
8.9

Good stay, not the most fun place for sure but thought Cartagena was overrated as was.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.