Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Genoves Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
El Genoves Hostal Located at Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27, , Cartagena.
El Genoves Hostal
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 130001 Calle Cochera de Hobo 38-27
91% 324
10.4270402 -75.5480191
El Genoves Hostal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2016
6.0

This hostal is in a great location for exploring the old town. The building is lovely, but it is old so some of the stuff doesn't work very well. Our shower was just a trickle.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Andres greeted us when we arrived to Genovés and was the best part about our stay at this hostel. He helped us book a second night at the hostel and gave us helpful recommendations for our bus trip to Santa Marta. The pool and terrace were great for cooling off. Additionally breakfast was hearty and delicious. We recommend this hostel for your stay in Cartagena. The staff is wonderful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

Exceptionally nice and helpful staff. Unfortunately the electricity cut out while I stayed there so I had no air conditioning for the second night of my stay, which was very uncomfortable. However this is obviously beyond the control of the hostel. My bag did not arrive with my flight and the staff here made every effort to help me in getting it. I would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
9.7

Great staff. They were very helpful giving us info about where to go in the city and how to get transportation from Cartagena to Santa Marta. Wonderful atmosphere with people from all over the world . The location is superbe and the construction is a small colonial house right at the heart of the old city .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved it 10/10 Small note: would be great if they could add some variety to the free breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

Staff were awesome! Rooms were clean and air conditioned, showers had a lot of pressure and free breakfast!! Plus its central and easy to walk around the old city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
27th Jun 2016
7.7

A decent hostel. Really great location in a quieter part of old town. Not as clean as it could be. One of the bathrooms in particular was a bit gross. If you end up in the big dorm next to reception expect to sweat through the night as the air con isn't strong enough for the room and only on from 10 pm to 10 am. No atmosphere at all when we were there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
9.1

Stayed in Genoves for four nights and had a great stay. The hostel is definitely not a party hostel, if that's what you are after, but is run by some amazingly friendly staff - particular shout out to Andres. The location is perfect and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.1

Genoves had a really relaxed vibe with the little pool in the middle to cool down. It was a cool place to just hang out and enjoy the colonial house itself. Add the rooftop, small kitchen to use, good facilities and friendly, helpful stuff and end up with a great, absolutely recommendable place. We also thought the location is great being in a quiet but clean and pretty side road just a couple of metres from a main plaza and with all the rest the beautiful old town in walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Couldn't really have asked for more. Great atmosphere, spacious rooms (with AC!), good value for money and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.