Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 886 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 886 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
El Hostal Located at 1ra. Avenida Sur No. 8, , Antigua.
El Hostal
Guatemala
Antigua Sacatepequez 03001 1ra. Avenida Sur No. 8
93% 886
14.5556622 -90.7298266
El Hostal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.7

Mario is the best person on staff, amazing man with great service! He deserves a raise!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

El Hostal is amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I thought the location was great because it wasn't in the city center, but still just a short walk away. The showers were nice and hot. The beds are comfy and each has its own outlet which is great. And the free breakfast is delicious! I originally booked for 2 nights but extended for 3 more. I will def be staying here again when I'm back in Antigua. Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
9.4

Great breakfast included. The owners are very helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.6

El Hostal is a great place for weary travelers on any budget! The location is a few blocks for el parque central and there a few great bars and restaurants right next door. The only " complaint" I have is the proximity to Cafe No Sé where they have live music every night. If you plan to stay in the dormitories, and you're a light sleeper, be sure to bring a set of earplugs with you. A lot of their regular performers know how to wail. Be sure to bring your own lock as they don't rent them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.7

This was my first hostel in Central America and was absolutely perfect for a starting point. The atmosphere is great for chatting with fellow travelers, the staff are very helpful, and the included breakfast is delicious and makes this place a steal of a deal!! They also have an awesome daily happy hour I stayed in the 6 person coed dorm (dorm 1) and it is a tad loud with the busy street right outside but with a pair of earplugs I slept just fine. I recommend and would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

El Hostal was the first hostel I stayed at when I visited Guatemala, and I loved it! The staff were extremely friendly and English-speaking. They were also always cleaning and making sure the space was neat and tidy. Lots of locker space in the dorms. Breakfast was delicious and included (started at 7:30am which was good since I wake up pretty early!) Bathrooms were very clean and with hot water, and internet was good. I loved my stay here!!! Not a party hostel, but chill vibes for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Chilled hostel with awesome breakfasts. Very clean, excellent vibe, super helpful staff, would definitely recommend it. Not a party hostel and that's why we loved. First class breakfasts, such good value for money. Keep it up El Hostel don't change a thing!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.1

Excellent and beautiful hostel in a very quiet part of town (although still by some superb bars). No kitchen though. Very friendly and helpful English-speaking staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yogastrong
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.7

El Hostal was a very comfortable location and the staff were very helpful and pleasant during our 3 day stay. Our private room for 2 had 2 beds, and it was cozy -- it lacked ventilation so it became warmer than other rooms, and there were no hooks or lines for hanging clothes or towels, so the chair became the clothes hanger. The street has a laundry, several restaurants and bars, a bakery and a small mercado (shop). On the last morning, I saw some city workers power washing the sidewal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Muy tranquilo. Lo que mas me gusto fue el desayuno.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.