X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Hostal Reviews

1ra. Avenida Sur No. 8, Antigua, Guatemala

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
460 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Couldn't recommend El Hostel enough! Everything you could want in a hostel and more! The free breakfasts were delicious, dorms were spacious and everywhere was very clean. Dorms had large lockers, and the whole hostel was very secure and safe. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay at El Hostel and Antigua memorable. We wouldnt have made the most of our trip to Antigua had it not been for the staff making sure we had our week planned and activities booked! They recommended great places

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Antigua is a bit of a party town but I was looking for something a little more low key as I wanted to spend my time seeing the semana santa festivities/hiking volcanos (ie. Not hungover). El hostal was quiet after 10 (except I was in a front dorm facing the street so the jazz bar across the street was jammingon the weekends, I encourage bringing ear plugs) and clean. They encouraged group activities, which is fine, theyre great at booking tours for you for good prices. Good breakfast

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a beautiful little hostal, very near the center of town. The staff are very friendly and super helpful. They have information on everything and will help you to arrange trips for the best value. Free breakfast in the morning is awesome. Choco is the nicest guy you will ever meet. We loved this place and will be back!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The breakfast that is included is great, they even pack you a snack if your leaving early. The staff was super nice and helpful, especially while practicing spanish. A must stay for a quick stop over in Antigua. Check out some pics at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.646713882060495.1073741851.110680618997160&type=1

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Always disappointed when El Hostal is full...which means i have to stay somewhere else. This Hostal is amazing in every way. The staff is extremely helpful, fun, and ecologically minded. Its super clean and beautiful. I am a fairly cheap traveler and always stay in the co-ed dorms that are safe and i am always meeting young people to talk to about their adventures...by the way im a 64 year old woman who feels very welcomed here. Been here several times..the BEST

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and relaxed place. Highly recommend staying here! Great breakfast! Very helpful staff...


100%

Perfect location, delicious breakfast, fantastic staff. Music was not loud at all.


97%

Great place to meet new people!


71%

This hostel has a great reviews maybe that´s why I felt really confused. It is ok but nothing great. Everything was clean and staff was ok.There is tiny area where you can hang out but in the middle is huge fountain. When place is crowded it ´s hard to even walk there. The most irritation thing was a guy with guitar. Because the place was so small you couldn´t escape that guy with his guitar and singin. First thing at the morning and last thing at the day was this dude making noise.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

good location, staff, bed and facilities, bar in front is good as well !


100%

The hostel is located a few blocks from the main square. Its clean, and it has a great breakfast. Nice common areas.


94%

Great hostel, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, nice courtyard, spacious rooms, very clean.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hostel, clean, great atmosphere, amazing breakfast. Staff are friendly, also make great smoothies. This is a quieter hostel, for a party hostel would be better to go to La Terraza, however anyone is welcome to their bar so we just went over there for the night but enjoyed our stay at El Hostal. Would definitely reccommend, also if staying its worth going to Sky Cafe across the road.


100%

Good place, nice staff, good breakfast.

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

El hostel may be slightly more expensive than other hostels in Antigua but its worth it. Very clean, comfortable beds and hot showers. A good vibe, helpful, friendly staff and right across the road from Cafe ne se, couldn't ask for more.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great little hostel. Delicious breakfast, friendly atmosphere and easy enough getting around Antigua. Had a minor hiccup with a volcano tour booked through the hostel, not getting the tour we were sold, but the issue was rectified when we brought it to the hostel staff's attention. Would certainly recommend to anyone passing through


100%

Overall very good value, location, clean and the breakfast was definitely a plus. In terms of staff and security, I did not know that I had lost my wallet the previous evening and upon ordering breakfast the following morning; to my surprise my meal was delivered with my wallet untouched. :)


94%

Thanks El hiatal I had the best two week stay! The staff are so friendly and amazing, they will do everything to help you out. The atmosphere is fantastic. You can have a chilled night in at the hostel or a big one if you choose to go to the bar over the street. Would definatly go back to stay. Highly recommended.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If you go to Antigua, STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! Such a welcoming environment--staff and guests included--and clean rooms... plus hot showers, which is such a plus. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.


100%

El Hostal is without a doubt the BEST hostel I have ever stayed in - better by far than any in the US, UK, Europe, Costa Rica, Mexico and the rest of Guatemala. The staff were so lovely, especially Marina, the free breakfast is better than most you can get in Antigua's cafes and the bathrooms were always spotless. Great location and nice and secure, and the staff are fantastic at booking buses, tours, hostel reservations in other towns, and recommending places to eat and things to see.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Antigua Hostels

Please give us your feedback