Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
El Hostal Located at 1ra. Avenida Sur No. 8, , Antigua.
El Hostal
Guatemala
Antigua Sacatepequez 03001 1ra. Avenida Sur No. 8
94% 877
14.5556622 -90.7298266
El Hostal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Chilled hostel with awesome breakfasts. Very clean, excellent vibe, super helpful staff, would definitely recommend it. Not a party hostel and that's why we loved. First class breakfasts, such good value for money. Keep it up El Hostel don't change a thing!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.1

Excellent and beautiful hostel in a very quiet part of town (although still by some superb bars). No kitchen though. Very friendly and helpful English-speaking staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yogastrong
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.7

El Hostal was a very comfortable location and the staff were very helpful and pleasant during our 3 day stay. Our private room for 2 had 2 beds, and it was cozy -- it lacked ventilation so it became warmer than other rooms, and there were no hooks or lines for hanging clothes or towels, so the chair became the clothes hanger. The street has a laundry, several restaurants and bars, a bakery and a small mercado (shop). On the last morning, I saw some city workers power washing the sidewal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Muy tranquilo. Lo que mas me gusto fue el desayuno.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.9

The bar across the street played loud music late into the night which could be heard from the dorm. Other than that, great location and nice people. The free breakfast was a plus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel with beautiful litte protected courtyard to chill, delicious breakfast, good wifi, beds with curtains and own seperate plug socket. The room i stayed in was noisy at night, as it was set on the road next to a bar with live music, but the rooms at the back were quieter Otherwise awesome hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.3

Nice hostel, amazing breakfast chosen from a proper menu but still included. Great showers. Good location opposite some really cool bars and not far from center of town. Quite a sociable vibe but would recommend the dorms to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel. Friendly staff, very chill, easy to meet people, awesome free breakfast. I'll definitely go back when I'm in Antigua again next week, My only complaint is that I booked a shuttle to Lake Atitlan which was supposed to depart at 2pm and arrive at 4pm, but we didn't get to the lake until after 7.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Penney93
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.9

Overall a great hostel. Stayed for a few nights and thought the accommodation was clean, with a relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast choice was also very good. Our only qualm was with the misleading information provided by one of the staff regarding volcano acatenango. They said if we booked the tour through the hostel then the guides would receive more money and we'd receive better food. People on our tour your had paid 135Q (Planeta Maya) vs our 200Q for the same service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Everybody was super friendly and the location it's perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.