Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2017
9.7

This place was great. Hot hot water, free drinking water, filling breakfast with like 4 options of their menu, nice common area, close to the town center, great owner, shuttle services, etc! The only bad thing I can say is that the bed wasn't super comfortable, but each bed had its own curtain/light/plug/giant locker so it makes up for it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.9

If you are looking to stay somewhere to interact local with people in Antigua, this is not hostel for you. This is full of touristic and very hotel kind of environment. They also play English songs which I wouldn't want to listen if I am in Antigua :). Otherwise clean secure and close to centre.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
9.7

Wow This hostel is really lovely and the staffs are all friendly and helpful. Especially the France girl Nalwenn gave me a lot of information about Guatemala. the atmosphere and breakfast is so good. They make me feels like at home.Thats top1 choice to stay in Antigua. Highly remind.这家hostel绝对是安提瓜top1的选择,位置非常好,早餐跟氛围都非常棒。这里的员工会给到你很多帮助跟信息;非常干净每张床都有遮光布有很好的私密性.我在这里结识了很多来自世界各地可爱的朋友们.很想懒懒的多呆一周。希望我有机会再回来。感谢帮助我的员工们。LoveUthanku:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

We managed to snag a room at El Hostal during Holy Week. It was a great oasis from the hustle and bustle of the activities going on, but also close to the action that we only had to go out the front door to catch the processions. The staff was amazing, had a great excursion to Pacaya which felt like it was with the whole hostel. Great chill atmosphere and the included breakfast was amazing! Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.7

Great Hostel ! Great staff ! I would come back again !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
9.4

Great stay, breakfast was delicious! Would have been nice to have a fan in the room. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
8.6

Nice clean bathrooms. They had the best shower I had in Guatemala. They were had and had pressure. The staff is nice. Food is okay nothing to rave about but nothing that tasted so bad that it was hard for me to eat. There is a bar that has live music on some nights across the street and it is extremely loud that is my con.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
10.0

The staff at El Hostal went ABOVE AND BEYOND for me during my stay there. They were incredibly kind and welcoming, and they even helped me recover my cell phone, which I had left in the airport shuttle. It was a fabulous hostel with beautiful accommodations and a prime location. I highly recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, close to everything, friendly staff, awesome breakfast included with price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eoinoloughlin95323
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels in Central America. Location is perfect, just a few steps from the rooftop bar for sunsets, a high quality restaurant with backpacker friendly 2-for-1 (amazing) pizzas on Sundays and Café No Sé (one of, if not the, best bars in Central America). All options on the fully-included breakfast menu are fantastic, the staff are super helpful, friendly and inclusive (even dealing with their little booking mistake), and theAcatenango volcano hike booked thru them is good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.