Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
9.1

I really enjoy staying at El Hostel. The staff is very nice and friendly. We were without water on my second day so it was a little difficult however it was not the fault of the hostel but rather the city. A section of the city of Antigua was without water. I would recommend staying at El Hostel in Antigua.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
7.1

It can get a little loud if going to bed early as there is a live band bar across the street in the street facing dorms, but it's a good atmosphere for socializing. Don't trust them with your laundry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Staff is incredibly kind and helpful, especially the receptionist, Nolwenn. She went out of her way to make us feel at home in Antigua. The dorms were very clean, showers and bathrooms clean (hot water and strong water pressure too). Breakfast is included and delicious - all their food is made from scratch w ingredients from local farmers and it's reasonably priced. Highly recommend this place if you visit antigua

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bessieharrop4016
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
8.0

Stayed here twice recently. It has a nice vibe, good showers, private rooms are decent. The free breakfast was awesome the first time we stayed a couple of weeks ago but we were disappointed to find that it has changed now and is nowhere near as good as it was. However overall it is a good hostel, with helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • koumeono
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
9.7

Me encanto este hostal! Sobre todo la limpieza y el ambiente, todo el staff es súper amable y la ubicación ni se diga. Súper recomendado!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
8.0

Good enough hostel, decent beds, lockers and showers, free towels, good wifi. The breakfast is far too small (a couple of tiny pieces of bread and some fruit) and the common area is small as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2017
9.7

Lovely hostel, close to the centre, great atmosphere - easy to meet people but small enough that it wasn't daunting as a female traveller! Friendly and informative staff - easy to book tours and transport through them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ncfcyeti7492
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

An excellent hostel. Great free breakfast, chilled seating area, good wifi and nice ambience. Friendly and professional staff who were happy to help and good tours arranged. Bed set up is also good, comfortable with good lockers, power points and curtains.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd May 2017
8.6

Nice hostel & cool staff - mattresses are partly really saggy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HashtagKai
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.1

One of the best hostels I've been to. Great bathrooms, great bed set up (light and power outlet), great breakfast. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.