Hostelworld.com

El Hostal

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
El Hostal Located at 1ra. Avenida Sur No. 8, , Antigua.
El Hostal
Guatemala
Antigua Sacatepequez 03001 1ra. Avenida Sur No. 8
93% 821
14.5556622 -90.7298266
El Hostal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2016
8.0

The place has a cool vibe but the room was very warm and had little air flow- given all the tossing and turning going on, I don't think many people got a good night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel, staff are really friendly and helpful, nice friendly atmosphere in the hostel, the free breakfast is delicious and they also offer dinner. The hostel is really clean, clean bathrooms and hot powerful showers. One of the best hostels I stayed at in South or Central America, definitely recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
9.1

Really nice hostel, small but cute, very good location close to the main square, very good breakfast included. Restaurants and bars close by. Rooms face the courtyard so can be a bit noisy but it wasn't a party hostel. Although people were friendly! And the staff were excellent. 3 showers and toilets for girls, I never had to queue and there were hot water showers. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the nice review, we will definitely look forward to see you!!!

9th May 2016
9.4

Good atmosphere. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Clean. Liked curtains all around beds in my dormitory. Three showers and toilets for each male and female guests and three basins for all. A bit short? But I didn't have to queue. Enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all the information that can help us to provide a better service.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th May 2016
8.9

Breakfast makes it worth it. Definitely not a party hostel... Don't plan to meet people here, but at the same time the atmosphere is nice. Good music that isn't too loud with a nice chill bar. Very clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
10.0

I always enjoy staying in El Hostal. I have been here several times and will happily return again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2016
10.0

Great place! It's a higher quality hostel with a phenomenal breakfast. Can't go wrong with this place. If you visit Antigua, make sure to check out Valhalla Macadamia Farm!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad that you enjoy your stay!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
8.6

Stayed two nights, dorm room 6. Common area is great, a courtyard with little tables, a hammock, and a big sofa. Staff, especially Mario, were very helpful in calling around for you and booking stuff. Breakfast was delicious. For me the one main hiccup was the bunk beds-- a rather insubstantial foam mattress.on an upper bunk that shook whenever the lower bunk occupant moved. And second, the atmosphere was rather lacking and not particularly friendly, but this may be just bad luck and bad timing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we will take actions to solve the problem pointed out here. We are sorry for that.

28th Apr 2016
8.9

I REALLY enjoyed my stay here! Thank you to Mario and the rest of the staff (specifically the women) that were so kind and willing to help. The only downside is that the dinner at night really isn't good. Try adding authentic Guatemalan food. Overall I enjoyed my stay here, if I ever return this is the only place I will stay at in Antigua!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review, we change the dinner menu all the time and will take your advice. We are sorry that the dinner wasn't good. We'll try to work on that to improve it.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.6

Great hostel, nice and chilled, breakfast was really nice. Only thing that was strange was that if you stay in a dorm you have to pay to use the lockers, this should be included in the price as the dorms are not on the cheap side anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are sorry for the misunderstanding for the locker's use, all the lockers in your room are free, Only if you use a second locker outside your room, you need to pay extra.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.