Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed the hostel and the couple who own the hostel. They were very helpful and nice. It's a locally owned business and they do their best. Different choices for breakfast was great. The rooms and beds get cleaned every single day which is great and doesn't happen in every hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shiobain1275
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.6

I was on in for one night in the deluxe dorm - not too sure what the difference is with the others, but there were big wire drawers underneath the bunks (just be careful of your head as the lid can fall on top of it) curtains to be pulled (half way). A lovely courtyard with bar for food and drink. Breakfast included. Separate showers and toilets for boys and girls. All in all, liked the general vibe of the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Friendly, very helpful staff. Great breakfast, fabulous place to stay. Clean and quaint. The best shower I've had in a month!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to start a trip with. Good atmosphere and having breakfast included in the morning is really convenient, and the food is good. Setting up tours/shuttles was painless. Not a loud place though there was a fair amount of streetside noise some evenings. All but one of my showers were hot which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

This is a great place to stay, both for relaxing and for connecting with other travellers. the staff is simply the best, super friendly and helpfull and eager to talk about their own country. Beds are good and breakfast awesome Stayed there both at the beginning and end of my trip and i highly recommend it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

My wife & I totally enjoyed our stay at El Hostal. Klaberth & Gabi took very good care of us & made us feel very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Antigua.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Gorgeous hostel, highly recommend. Not for people looking for to party all night long.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Great breakfast included in price, decent location, large lockers under the bunk beds that can fit your whole bag, personal light and outlet at each bed, curtains around the beds, really clean (made the bed daily), nice staff, good showers, and good common area to meet new people. The hostel can also arrange shuttles.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2017
7.7

Fairly good hostel in good location. The breakfast options were pretty good, not as good for me as I'm vegan and I've had belt issues but they were accommodating in allowing me to change the menu to something i could eat. There is just one common area which is decent, except for when the music was awful and there was no place to go to escape it, as it can be heard from all the rooms. The place is really clean, almost to the point of obsession; they make the beds fresh everyday.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome breakfast!! Cozy common area. Nice dorm with curtains, plugs and a lamp for each bed. Hot showers and clean facilities. Would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.