Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Hostal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Aug 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel - comfortable beds, big lockers under all beds which fit all my stuff in, very clean, showers are excellent. The common area is a very nice place to relax and meet people. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast portions are a little small but not the end of the world. Would definitely stay here again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Antigua without a doubt. Highlight of my stay. Warm showers, friendly staff! the wifi is the best I've ever had!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
10.0

This place is rad. Super helpful staff. You can walk anywhere in Antigua so location isn't really key. There's a bar across the street, go there and drink and make friends. Food there is ok but go to the spot next to the bar across the street or hit up the roof top cafe. Wifi is legit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
8.6

Great place to chill

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.4

A very comfortable place to stay in a great location. A nice bar with decent, well priced food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
9.7

Had a wonderful moment staying in, staff are very welcoming and warming beds are comfy and have plugs and lights.. little curtains to keep u privacy if needed. Happy hours is really appreciated and coffee is well reputated! The oldest hostel in town :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.7

This is a top notch hostel even by the high Guatemalan standards. Comfortable rooms and beds, friendly and helpful staff, yummy breakfast. Only slight inconvenience was the website indicated there was a guest kitchen but this is no longer the case. Not much of an issue because there's delicious cheap options everywhere! Definitely do the Acatenango overnight trip and feast on Ricon Tipico around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.1

I really enjoy staying at El Hostel. The staff is very nice and friendly. We were without water on my second day so it was a little difficult however it was not the fault of the hostel but rather the city. A section of the city of Antigua was without water. I would recommend staying at El Hostel in Antigua.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
7.1

It can get a little loud if going to bed early as there is a live band bar across the street in the street facing dorms, but it's a good atmosphere for socializing. Don't trust them with your laundry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Staff is incredibly kind and helpful, especially the receptionist, Nolwenn. She went out of her way to make us feel at home in Antigua. The dorms were very clean, showers and bathrooms clean (hot water and strong water pressure too). Breakfast is included and delicious - all their food is made from scratch w ingredients from local farmers and it's reasonably priced. Highly recommend this place if you visit antigua

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.