Hostelworld.com

El Jardin de Frida

  • Av Tulum entre calle Kukulkan y Chemuyil, Frente al Camello JR, Tulum, Mexico
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
El Jardin de Frida Located at Av Tulum entre calle Kukulkan y Chemuyil, Frente al Camello JR, Tulum.
El Jardin de Frida
Mexico
Tulum Quintana Roo 77780 Av Tulum entre calle Kukulkan y Chemuyil, Frente al Camello JR
89% 311
20.2083756 -87.4718409
El Jardin de Frida
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.0

Make sure you have bug spray! Lots of mosquitos. There was air condition in the rooms but we were told it didn't work. Hostel is a little bit out of town but an easy walk in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and sorry for the confusion. The air conditioning in that dorm was just being installed, that’s why our option for dorm with air conditioning is just available since May. Thank you for coming and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Apr 2016
7.7

Pros: clean, spacious dorms with 2 bathrooms; good breakfast; beautiful garden // Cons: location (next to a busy street, half an hour bicycle ride to the ruins), atmosphere wasn't the best

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.6

Staff very helpful. Breakfast good. Have to walk a little farther than many hostels to the hubbub but not too bad. Fairly tranquil space. Supposedly refillable (free) water cooler was not however refilled for a couple of days. Overall good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
8.3

Pros: Clean; garden-like central area with hammocks; helpful staff, nice attached bar with outdoor seating; hot showers always available, decent WiFi and paperback books for use. Cons: South end of town so a longer walk or bike ride to busier area of town and the beaches; breakfast always same - either white toast with scrambled egg, tomato & onion or white toast, cereal and banana - got old after a few days; barking dogs at night can be bothersome; bring mosquito repellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2016
9.7

This was a lovely peaceful hostel but also has a lot of common areas to meet other travelers. The huge kitchen was awesome for cooking family style dinners for the hostel. Would definitely stay here again as the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Btw the breakfast served here is so delicious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
9.1

I loved el Jardin de Frida! Single beds in the dorms, blankets, good breakfast, lots of spaces for lounging, decent kitchen. It's not perfect (garden can have lots of mosquitoes, the hostel cats always sneak into the rooms and sleep on the beds, it's on the far edge of town), but it is one of my favorite hostels because of the sociability. Communal tables at hostels are genius. It's small enough that you can get to know almost everybody. Not for partiers but perfect for meeting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2016
9.1

Loved the atmosphere of the place and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There also was access to a kitchen so cooking here wasn't a problem. It's walking distance to downtown but you will need to rent a bike to get to the ruins and the beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
9.4

This was a wonderful hostel with a good, down to earth but hip vibe. Beautiful garden, good clean facilities, nice and helpful staff. It is a little far to the south of town, but I liked this as it meant it was a bit quieter. One thing to know is that if you are allergic to cats there is a hostel cat that seems to sleep in the dormitory room! She (or he?) is very sweet and didn't bother me even though I am slightly allergic, but thought I would mention that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • clmntlfbvr1453
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 54 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
10.0

Again a place that doesn't fit the online rating system. The awesomeness of the place doesn't come from the cleanliness (decent), location (decent) but from the gorgeous garden (reading in the hammock), the chilled and friendly staff, the calm,... If you need a peaceful place, this is it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
9.7

This hostel was fantastic! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The common areas had a good vibe and the bar was great. We had a private double room and it was more like a little apartment with a balcony and kitchen. I am planning to stay there again when I return to Tulum. Regarding the location, it's a really quick walk to the center of town. We were two women and felt completely safe walking back to the hostel late at night. And the beach is easily accessible with a bike.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.