X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Jardin de Frida Reviews

Av Tulum entre calle Kukulkan y Chemuyil, Frente al Camello JR, Tulum, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
211 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

different kind of hostel with huge garden. includes welcome shot and dorms are spacious. Location is the biggest downside to the hostel, though still okay. staff is helpful and friendly.


100%

Loved it! Great hostel and great vibe! And the staff was very helpful.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Somehow far from town (10 minutes walk), this hostel makes up for it by sporting a nice garden with hammocks, a bar and being close to a restaurant, convenience store and fruit/veggie shop. The breakfast can seem small (1 or 2 toasts and fruit salad) but you can ask for refills. Overall more pricey than similar hostels in the Yucatan peninsula but still a great place. The front rooms are noisy because of the highway rumble, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comments and thank you very much for choosing us as your hostel in Tulum. We hope to see you again!

60%

Our room and towels smelled of mold. Told the staff but they just denied it and Said it was because of the rain and moist. It was not. It stank.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you did not enjoy the night you stayed at our place. However, there was no mold in the room or the towels. It was very humid that night since it was raining all day. No one else in the room complained and we asked and checked everything. We're also sorry you canceled your following reservation since you could've really appreciated the place the way most people do. We hope you reconsider in the future, we'd be glad to have you here again!

97%

This is a great place with a nice garden and an amazing atmosphere. It is at the end of the town, there are shops and restaurants around, the staff was friendly and nice, and the rooms are beautiful! Great value, too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi guys! We're glad you enjoyed our place! Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again!

46%

It was the worse hostel in my whole trip! They have such a bad service. The place is beautiful and well decorated but that is all. The staff is so rude and don't care about your stay at all. I had to sleep on the couch on the first night, and had to stop working on my laptop cuz they were closing the reception with the outlets. The outlets doesn't work in the open area, and they are so picky about everything. If you want a laid-back enviroment to just chill, run away from this place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
To be clear: You spent the night on a couch not because we didn’t have a bed for you, but because you broke into our reception after arriving late. However, we were really nice to you about it. Also, you are not supposed to stay in the reception after closing time. Outlets in the common areas work. You didn’t want to leave and were very rude to staff when asked to. Regardless, we thank you for visiting us. We do care about our guests, but you have to respect basic rules too.

100%

We couldn't have asked for anything more. Was a lovely stay and enjoyed the artistry, beautiful gardens!

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comments, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future! Maybe next time you can stay longer! Thanks for visiting us! We were happy to have you here guys!

91%

This is a wonderful place. I would stay again. Private rooms were a bit out of our price range but dorms were affordable clean and comfortable. The property is beautiful and relaxing with local art and decorations everywhere amongst the foliage.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come visit us again soon! Thanks for choosing us as your place to stay in Tulum!

77%

I expected a safety deposit box but didn't find it in the room.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This place was great, the courtyard was like a cute little jungle. Being at the end of town it was a little walk to get places, however it was quiet and really chilled which was nice. The staff went out of their way to inform us about the area and what to do in Tulum.. Legends!!


89%

Beautiful hostel, lush gardens and great bar with local cocktails. Staff extremely helpful organizing diving and recommending dinners. On the edge of town but not a dangerous walk, lots of people had bikes but we didn't mind the walk. Wanted to stay longer but they were too popular.


71%

Slightly away from the center so not a bad location if you want some quiet. The dorm was ok, but drainage system in the bathroom pretty bad. Have had better hostel experiences, this was ok.


97%

Amazing! Beatiful and cozy place. Great and unique atmosphere


83%

All in all it was a 100% stay. I enjoyed a lot. Nice staff and amazing environment.


77%

Good hostel. We stayed in a private room. The garden is beautiful and they have a great dog and cat. Its a quiet hostel. Nice people at the reception. Bar: Good cocktails Breakfast: its okay but not much.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Beautifull hostel with a magnificent garden and great rooms. Located a bit out of the centre, but everything is with in walking distance.


89%

externtly friendly and helpful staff that create an amazing athmosphere. location not great but fine with a rental bike and loads of food/bars closse by


94%

The staff is very helpful and welcoming! The breakfast is a life saver when you need a bit of energy in the morning, and the beds are comfortably. El jardin de Frida is a really cool hostel to wander around because the art and decorations are incredible - almost every surface has some sort of hand painted mural, and the inside spaces are wonderfully inviting. All in all, great experience!




View all Tulum Hostels

Please give us your feedback