Hostelworld.com

El Misti Botafogo Hostel e Pousada

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.7
El Misti Botafogo Hostel e Pousada Located at Av. R. Praia de Botafogo 462, Casa 9, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
El Misti Botafogo Hostel e Pousada
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22250-040 Av. R. Praia de Botafogo 462, Casa 9, Botafogo
70% 620
-22.9502923 -43.1822133
El Misti Botafogo Hostel e Pousada
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
4.6

My friend and I checked out of the room at the time we were supposed to. After that, we layed around and chilled in the common areas. Since we already payed when we checked in, we didnt think there would be any problems. Before leaving for our bus, the staff tried to charge us for an extra night because we used the kitchen for our lunch and for not checking out (eventhough we did). they threathened to call the police, which was completely unnecessary. The staff was just rude.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
10.0

Great location with lovely social to meet traveller from different place. it was perfect for visiting the city and specially Sugar Loaf. Staff is always willing to help people out. One tip, ask everyday the staff whats going on in the city, they are full of good tips, like pedra bonita, pedra do sal and places to go in lapa. Breakfast is one of the best things in this hostel, cafe, te, fruits, cereal, bread and more. I didnt have to eat lunch after that, which came in handy for my pocket! ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Good place to meet people, full of backpacker from different parts of the world. There's a good common area where people hang out and play guitar, sing and eat together.. Perfect for traveller who are traveling alone. Nice atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Nice hostel with friendly staff. Good breakfast, clean and tidy rooms, theres a BBQ that you can use which comes in really handing if youre traveling with friends.. Location is good, walking distance to the beach, sugar loaf, supermarket and shopping mall. I'd recommend this place to everyone.. I met really nice people in this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Mar 2016
7.4

Had all in all a good stay at the hostel. Breakfast and free caipi was awesome. It's quite close to one of the tunnels but as well close to beach, bus stations. Bathroom was always a mess, shower didn't work all the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
5.4

Good place, clean beds, good location. But I'm saying dirty because all 3 days no bathrooms had soap, one too small to sit down in, and one sink on my floor was clogged for an entire days with pubes floating around. Shame could be a decent place with soap so people can wash hands after touching their privates or if they felt motivated to check the bathrooms throughout the day when you have 25+ people staying there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2016
4.6

The reviews seen before booking weren't faithful to reality, expected cleaner facilities and a more polite staff, especially the bathrooms they were a disappointment for such a good reviewed hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2016
4.9

After few nights of stay here I was VERY HAPPY TO LEAVE. The music in the common area is very loud and you can barely have a conversation. The dinning area gets wet while raining. The showers are always dirty. The food (even boxes of tea) disappear. And as I talk to the others guests it wasn't only my problem. You got to wear a bracelet so everybody knows you are staying there. Nice people on reception, but not very helpful while problem.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
4.6

The location of the hostel is quite good, prices are really low, but the hostel is just aweful. Part of the staff is nice , though the others are very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Room with 6 beds is horrible! There is no place to leave anything, the people pass trough to go to the other room, floor is so bad the the beds shake as people walk. No place to dry clothes. And the bathrooms are seriously disgusting, they never clean them properly. Would never stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Feb 2016
6.3

Staff is very nice and helpful. Atmosphere is good but the common areas are too small. Crowded rooms with 3 bunk beds on top of each other. Dirty/ smelly bathrooms! The favella tour is a tourist rip-off.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.