X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Misti Botafogo Hostel e Pousada Reviews

Av. R. Praia de Botafogo 462, Casa 9, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
491 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Argentinian staff, some of them with por portuguese. Sometimes the staff werent too happy to give some informations. No maps, no change

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.


77%

Everything was fine. Staff were really good, and the food is great. Internet is quite slow and sporadic, and sadly, there isn't enough showers and toilets when the place is full, and there are regular queues.


77%

Staff were great, and the location and everything else is fine. The hostel breakfast is among the best I had in a few hostels in Rio, and the evening food is great! Sadly the only real downside to this place is the dorms are a little cramped, and the internet isn't so great, but hey, you're in Rio! Get out and about instead of sitting on the internet all day.


94%

Awesome place with staff that were gems. Great help with local info and organising different activities. Will definitely return. They helped me survive Carnaval 2014!

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Basically all the staff was very arrogant, except for the nice guy with white/blond hair. I don't know what goes on with El Misti hostels staff, they act so cold! Unfortunately, their behaviour strongly reminds us of the stereotypes about Buenos Aires's people's behaviour. I went downstairs 7 times during 30 minutes, trying to get the air conditioner to work. Every time I came down the front desk girl acted like she was seeing me for the first time! Great breakfast. Few bathrooms.


83%

El Misti in Botafogo is very nice! It has a vary good location: on the one side the Pão de Açúcar on the other the Corcovado. The central city in the north and Copacabana in the south. It is central to all the places worth the visit. The stuff is really nice and helpful and the athmosfere in the common room is really great. It's a cheap hostel so if you expect a 5star hotel you are wrong. But the rooms and the toilets are good enough to have a good sleep and a shower.


63%

Very few bathrooms comparing to the number of guests that the hostel receives.


89%

Very nice hostel! I will definetely recomend to stay here!


74%

Far too small, no space at all in the rooms!! Appart from this everything is fine :)


43%

This hostel was terrible. Firstly, it is in the ass end of nowhere. The new young boy on reception was lovely, and accommodating as were the cleaners. However, The male receptionist with a mohawk and nail polish was rude and inconsiderate and answers "impossible" to any question no matter how small. He was so unhelpful that eventually we left mid way though our stay. Not to mention the showers r on a timer. Do not stay here unless u want terrible service, and 3 minute cold showers. Obrigato

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The location is in Botafogo, next to Copacabana, in the south area of the city,next to the metro station, not in the middle of nowhere. You left the hostel in the middle of the stay because your friend was sick, and the recepcionist offered you to call a doctor, of course was not for free.

74%

Staff, location and atmosphere were the highlights of the hostel. Fun and helpful, the staff helped make Rio very enjoyable. The location in Botafogo was great, near a mall and public transport to most of Rio's top sites. The type of guest (mostly young travelers from around the world) added to the lively atmosphere, as did the food, drinks and music on offer. Downside are the low beds (can't sit up on them), lack of other furniture (desks, chairs) in the rooms, and shoddy internet connection.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Convenient location. The breakfast was great; fruit, cake, cereal, toastie making items, and plenty of this all. The WiFi was a bit slow and sketchy during busy periods. The staff were quite friendly, although I think the hostel would feel a lot more welcoming/homely to travellers who speak Portuguese/Spanish.


94%

Charming place in an excellent, non-obvious location. Argentinian people in the staff are friendly and great at problem-solving. Don't forget to ask for a room with air-conditioning, Rio can be awfully hot sometimes, even for Brazilians. Only downside in my opinion were the shower faucets, which are the kind that you have to keep pushing for the water to come out - very annoying thing to do five or six times during an average shower. Otherwise, perfect!




View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback