X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Botafogo Hostel e Pousada Reviews

Av. R. Praia de Botafogo 462, Casa 9, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
524 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I booked my stay at el misti for more than 4 nights and they picked me up from the airport as advertised. The location is perfect, it is close to a beach, metro, bus lines, restaurants, banks and shopping centers. In addition the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, especially Mariano. I liked how they try to maintain the restrooms clean throughout the entire day. Also, the breakfast and the atmosphere were great!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

49%

Stayed here before and really loved it. Returned to have awful wifi, staff seemed miserable and not helpful. There was no atmosphere apart from people sitting on their laptops doing nothing. The music played in the evenings was slow and boring which didn't help. Had to wait till the evening to get bed sheets. My room was like a prison cell so cramped and attached to another room so you are kept awake all night with people moving about. Shame as it used to be great, fun staff, party atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nikhill Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, Management

66%

The place is small and so it becomes very crowded. There is only one computer! They don't have a storage room that locks up!!! (Strange) The showers are very dirty and there is always at least a 10-15 min wait. The bunk beds are three tiered...first I have seen in 6 months of traveling! I would hate to climb that high or fall from there!!!! They get a bigger than usual commission from excursions they set up; try to set it up outside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Oliver Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, Management

46%

No space at all in this hostel, crammed into the dorms and way too few bathrooms, felt like we were being herded in and out. Only stay here if there is absolutely no other option.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Phil Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, Management

63%

Disappointed. Hostel advertise on it's site that they offer free airport pickup for minimum 4-nights stay. I stayed 5 nights but didn't get the pick up. Emailed about it in morning, no response. In evening called them and they asked to email again and I did, nothing again. Facilities were bad. 5 bathrooms for 100+ bed and something was broken in each one of those. One of those had toilet seat broken. As you enter the main door, it's like whole world is smoking there and it's smells like hell.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

wonderful area botafogo,this hostel was charging extortionate rates for dorm beds and people was packed in like sardines.there was just too many people in the hostel,with the wooden flooring and beds piled 3 high,there was no fire extinguishers so the place would be very dangerous if there was `an incident`.safe area so no problem coming back late(or early)and near to the metro and bus lines.i was very disappointed with the hostel to be honest and wouldn't visit this place again,rip off tbh.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Anthony We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have a lot of fire extinguishers at the first floor and the second floor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

51%

You need about 4 or 5 more toilets! The amount of times we had to wait 30-40 minutes to use a toilet was a joke!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kelli We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

57%

People were sleeping during the checking and it was like they didn't care about us

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Julien We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

74%

The wireless internet here is horrible; even in the lobby where it should work for everyone. For the price they are charging, they should have better functioning service because everyone needs this to book tickets, look at maps, etc.


40%

We booked this hostel on hostelworld and later they emailed us to tell us they were "overbooked" and moved to their terrible hostel in a favela near Leme. We had no choice of a refund. We later learned that this is a common tactic El Misti uses, overbooking their popular, more expensive hostels and then moving you to a worse one at the same price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In this case the review is not for El Misti Botafogo, if you had problems with El Misti Leme.



View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback