Hostelworld.com

El Misti Hostel Copacabana

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5
El Misti Hostel Copacabana Located at Travessa Frederico Pamplona n# 20, , Rio de Janeiro.
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22061-080 Travessa Frederico Pamplona n# 20
71% 300
-22.9723812 -43.1923198
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Well located hostel, good breakfast, clean toilets. Useful tips from the staff. The provided transfer to Ilha Grande which makes everything easier if youre planning on going. Good place to meet travellers. Best hostel so far in Rio de Janeiro. I would come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kingmichelle86
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here. Plenty of nice people to meet, awesome common area where travelers hang out and play music. Well equipped kitchen and they offer nice places to go out during the night. Copacabana's beach is 5 blocks away and Ipanema 10 min walking. I would totally come back to this hostel. I wish i could stay longer. Next time Misti, next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
9.4

I loved El Misti. I've stayed in many hostels but this was by far the best. Sure it's not a 5 star hotel but for what we paid we got so much more because we met many great people there, the staff was super helpful and they even offer awesome tours and day trips straight from the hostel. The location is very near to Copacabana which is awesome and the subway stop ain't to far either. If I go back to rio I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
7.7

The bathrooms, common area and rooms are nice, the only thing I didn't like is that the rooms have no keys and anyone may have access. Small fridge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2016
4.6

It was dirty especially bathroom. old is fine but dirty and very small bathroom each.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2016
4.3

Stayed here during carnival and during 4 and a half months travelling this is by far the worst hostel I stayed in South America, the water was off for 2 days during carnival, Internet most of the time was little to non existent, the night watchman is an utter numpty trying to patrol people like kids because of his past failings he takes it out on everyone else. atmosphere was only made good by us and the others in the hostel, fan didn't work. Day staff were sound, paid a lot for my stay, waste

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Feb 2016
5.4

Wifi was completely useless, sometimes they did not even have water for a shower, their resolution was to walk to another hostel down the road. Most staff were helpful, however considering i was paying a large amount of money to stay and the fact that it was carnival, the staff should been more proactive in organising events or group outings to the blocos, however this was non existent, except for a party organised with the other el misti hostels which is not even a carnival event.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
3.1

Thought this hostel was disgusting - really unclean, stains all over the bed sheets, bad air conditioning and wifi, water shut off for 36 hours during my stay and wasn't offered any refunds. Security was bad and and couldn't even sit up on my bunk bed as it was so small. All I can say that was good was the location - a 5 minute walk from copacabana beach. Would definitely stay somewhere else if I go back to Rio.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2016
8.3

Nice place, but during carnival it's really expensive. The wifi is spotty when everyone is on it and at one point the water didnt work for two days. Still was great place it a fun atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2016
8.3

Stayed for two weeks over the carnival period. Good hostel but a bit quite cramped, often queues for the toilets. Wifi needs improving as it is intermittent at best and often non-functional during peak times, and not available in the dorms. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Really close to metro and the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.