X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Hostel Ilha Grande Reviews

Rua Alice Kury da Silva, 8, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
230 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 43%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Bathroom gross, staff not that friendly, good breakfast, terrible directions to find this hostel (different location than on google maps), quite sociable due to bar. Also stayed at other el misti in ilha grande. Bit nicer but still substandard facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Callum, We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review . Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

91%

Familiar atmosphere // reallz nice breakfast with best choco cake we've ever ate // staff, except one, is really nice and help you in every situation for example finding connecions to sao paulo etc....

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Carlotta, Thank you for sharing with us the experience you lived at El Misti and praising our services, there is no higher reward then to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Management

46%

the hostel has the potential to be very good however after 5 months of travel i have never came across such unhelpful and rude staff who really dont want to help. also the fact that they charge more if you book in the hostel makes no sense. i had to book extra nights online cheaper. all the pillows have mould aswel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Paul, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, Management

69%

Has the potential to be a great hostel, if the staff didn't see the guests as burdens.


60%

The wifi never works, my bed wasn't a bed it was built from bricks!

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

We ignored the bad reviews tht we had read as it was one of the cheapest hostels but we wish we had spent a tiny bit more money as the hostel was really dirty with our room smelling of a bad sour smell the whole three days we stayed there. The staff however,we found so unfriendly that we didn't even want to ask for their help with recommendations etc as we felt so unwelcome there. We tried to spend as little time as possible in the hostel in the evenings. Really stay somewhere else!!


37%

This is not the kind of hostel you book because you want to stay there. It's the kind of hostel you book when every other hostel is full and your only other option is sleeping on the streets. No lockers, no internet, dirty, smelly, overcrowded rooms, no power outlets anywhere, etc. But surprisingly their breakfast was really great.


51%

If you want to stay on Ilha Grande for free, you can probably just walk into the el Misti, go into almost any room and take an available bed. It's really easy because there is virtually no security. No locked front door, inattentive staff, many unlocked room doors, no lockers for bags. Also check your pillows for blood, as I had on mine several large spots. Triple bunks designed more for prison than a hostel, dirty bathrooms, broken wifi, and mostly Brazilian guests all here. Have fun.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Daniel, All your comments have been passed to the El Misti team. Make sure that on your next visit, problems as security,beds and staff will be already solved. Kind regards, Management

54%

Rooms have the lowest floor area per person I've ever encountered. The reception staff are utterly incompetent; on arrival, at 4pm, we had to wait an hour to check in, we didn't receive bedsheets till 11.15 pm, someone in our room had their bed stripped of sheets before they left on 2 occasions. Why the hostel doesn't buy a few spare sheets eludes me. Similarly when I asked for toilet paper the receptionist told me she couldn't get to it and I should use a toilet in someone else's room.


37%

i am 193 cm and i was placed on the 3lvl pf the bunk bed.ihave no problem sleeping on this lvl,unless i only have 40cm between the ceeling and the bed.there was black fungus all over the room.the cleaning staff used clorine to clean the room, it smelled like it for a long time.the kitchen is extremely dirty,hotel staf puts breakfast food on the dustbins in front of guests.the stoves are so weak that boiling water is a challenge.3 receptionists but still only one check at once.horrible wifi......


100%

Thanks a lot for your service, I will comming back for sure!!!!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"Dear Ingrid, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, manager Management "

91%

would recommend coming here.


69%

Really good breakfast - cake fruit eggs bread ham cheese tea coffee cereal - the works Power cut one night was fun


69%

Really great hostel in an amazing location. Wifi wasn't working for iPhones which can be pretty annoying! Staff could have been more helpful- especially when internet wasn't workinh so couldn't book onward steps/tours. Need bigger lockers in the rooms. Doesn't quite match up to other El mistis.


71%

On arrival around 4pm they didn't have lockers, bed sheets, wifi, and only one key for the room. Why don't they fix it? Buy some extra lockers, buy more bed sheets, get an extra wifi router, and duplicate the keys for the rooms. Soon enough all of this was fixed, but it was a very bad first impression, we desperately tried to find a different hostel. The atmosphere in the hostel was great though, good place to meet other people.


57%

Horrible service when we checked in - took about 30min - guy behind the desk was too busy doing nothing. Not enough lockers in the rooms for everyone, or space for that matter. Only plus was the hostel kitten.


43%

Waited 2 hours for bed sheets on arrival, the room was unclean, electricity went out, one bathroom was not enough for 9 people squeezed into a room, there was only 6 lockers. My bunk of which there were 3 × 3 high was highly unsafe as the fan was centimetres from my head (health and safety)




View all Ilha Grande Hostels

Please give us your feedback