X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Hostel Rio Reviews

Rua Tonelero 197, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
289 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Very disappointed with this hostel. Staff were ok, not the most helpful at times but the cleanliness and general atmosphere were both very poor. The 8 bed dorm we were in should have been a 4 bed at the very most. Not even enough room for 8 people to stand in the room, nevermind have their rucksacks there. The room and bathrooms were in serious need of a clean. The sheets were badly stained and very old. It wasn't particularly welcoming and there wasn't much atmosphere for parties at night.


100%

Great place to live. Nice and friendly staff with all the amenities.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nitish, We truly appreciate your review! Hope to see yu again soon!

83%

This would be a great hostel if it wasn't so cramped. Misti have cramped the rooms with far too many beds just to make a fast buck. The location of this hostel is fantastic, and it is good value. It's close to the beach and metro. But for a hostel next to the beach there is no outdoor space to hang wet clothes, resulting in people hanging their wet clothes in the already stuffy rooms. Misti needs an open outdoor court yard. There is one upstairs, I'm not sure why they keep it locked to guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ashley We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post it. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

86%

Crowded hostel with little social area and sometimes weird mixture of people, rooms are tiny. But still, staff and people I met made a good time in rio at the hostel..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Anett,, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future. kind regards Management

43%

incredibly small rooms and bathrooms, no space for backpacks, poor breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Vanessa We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post it. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

40%

This is the worst hostel I have stayed at in my 3 months of travelling around South America. It has too many people for the tiny space that it occupies. Not enough bathrooms, only one plug socket was working in our dorm, lockers are small, the luggage storage is in the ground floor toilet & the linen was dirty. It's just an all round DUMP of a place to stay. Juan, one of the staff at reception, was kind and accommodating but I can only describe the manager with words that are not fit to publish.


77%

Breakfast hours were late if you wanted to leave early, and there weren't many options. Good location. Not a crazy party hostel, but definitely not a quiet hostel either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Zachary We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on HostelWorld. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

100%

Good hostel, clean, good location, good breakfast and great staff.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Emanuel, Thank you very much for your comment, was a pleasure to have you as a guest so many days, hope you have a safe trip back home! Kind regards, Management and staff

100%

Staff are friendly, welcoming and v helpful. V relaxed atmosphere. Good breakfast - including fruit and fresh juice!.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kathleen, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, see you in a next trip! Kind regards, Management

100%

Really good hostel with good location and great staff

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly place! I was meant to travel around brazil but spent more than two weeks here! The staff are all very welcoming and helpful, they even go on nights out with you! Plenty of activities on offer so if you haven´t made any plans they can help you out. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is good. Dinner is great value for money!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi James, was really nice to have you and Olivia as our guests, we all hope you come back soon! Management and staff

100%

Excellent hostel, with incredible staff. A great location, I would thoroughly recommend staying here

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice breakfast, hot showers, close to the beach and a metro just across the road. Staff very friendly and helpfully with any querries.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sean First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

100%

One of the best hostels I´ve ever stayed. The location is great, everything is kept clean, rooms are big and they have good loockers,breakfast is awesome and they have the best staff working in the hostel, Juan, Mile, Semanj and Paul were legend helping me out with everything. I went there for only two night and i ended up staying 9 nights!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Katlin First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

100%

Sin duda uno de los mejores hostels en Brasil. Esta ubicado cerca de todas las atracciones, muy cerca de las playas, cerca del supermercado y en frente del metro. El staff esta muy bien informado sobre todas las actividades, me ayudaron mucho con mi viaje en brazil. El desayuno tiene de todo, los cuartos son amplios y limpios. Recomiendo totalmente este hostel y voy a volver en cualquier momento. Saludos a Juan, Mile, Semaj y Paul.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Estimado Juan En primer lugar muchas gracias por tomarte el tiempo para compartir con nosotros tu opinión positiva sobre El Misti!. Nos hace muy feliz saber que has tenido unas maravillosas vacaciones con nosotros. Esperamos verte en breve! Staff El Misti.

89%

Such a nice hostel, staff were friendly and helpful, people from all over the world and everyone is very friendly. Lockers in the room are big and secure. 5 mins from copacobana beach. Couldn't recommend this place enough

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Charlie, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management

100%

Super great hostel, amazing staff and great vibes. Perfect location, had a great stay.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Merlin Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

100%

Great hostel with a great staff and atmosphere. Great location right next to Copacabana Beach and Ipanema Beach. 24 hour security and service oriented staff. Clean rooms and great kitchen with possibility to cook your own food. Amazing breakfast and cheap dinner option every night. Overall, a great hostel experience!

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ida, We truly appreciate your review! It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management

100%

The location is great, its close to all the main attractions, opposite the metro station, 4 blocks away from Copacabana Beach, theres a super market just around the corner. The staff is always willing to help you out with all your questions, they also help you out with your trip around Brazil and South America. Breakfast is good, the toilets are kept clean, rooms are spacious, and there are lockers where you can save your things. I would totally recomend this hostel.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Costa First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

83%

Too many people with not enough common space. Kitchen staff are rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Clodagh Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, Management

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback