X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Hostel Rio Reviews

Rua Tonelero 197, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
353 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

atmosphere and location are the best


94%

Amazing atmosphere - great social area and bar and really friendly staff


91%

The hostel is great and the desk staff are excellent. The lady doing breakfast was a bit rude though. She told me at 7:56 that I had to wait til 8:00 to have breakfast even though it was ready and on the counter. At 8:00 on the microwave clock she let me get breakfast. I thought it was very petty. The other staff were lovely though!

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Comfortable rooms all with air con. Awesome staff. Great vibes. Thanks JP

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I was expecting a better breakfast but its was alright tough. Clean and good atmosphere. Thanks Juan for helping us planning our trip in south america.


100%

El Misti on Rua Tonelero has a great location with the metro across the street. The atmosphere is very good and the hostel has a nice bar where people get together and talk in the evening. It's well organized and they offer a nice selection of day trips in Rio. Especially the staff is very friendly and helpful. Juan from the reception helped me on matters on how to get around in Rio etc, and also with my trip further.


100%

Generalmente escribo comentarios cuando el hostel es muy malo o muy bueno. Por suerte, este es un hostel muy bueno, ubicado cerca de todo lo interesante, la gente que trabaja siempre contenta y tratando de ayudar, buenas bebidas en el bar, solamente faltaria arreglar las zapatillas de electricidad y el wifi. Recomiendo probar las caipirinhas de Paul y el daytrip por la ciudad. Gracias a todo el staff sobretodo el chino.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Estimado Juan Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de compartir tu experiencia con nosotros. Es un placer el saber que disfrutaste de nuestros servicios e instalaciones. Esperamos tener la oportunidad de recibirte en un futuro próximo! Saludos cordiales Staff El Misti

100%

Home for a month! El Misti was my home for a month and it's definitely because of the best friendly staff and amazing vibe at this place! )) it has everything to enjoy your stay in Rio - great location near the metro and 5min to the beach, spacious reception and kitchen, lockers for your bags and documents, showers which are mostly free despite that the hostel is always full, wi-fi, breakfast, it's clean and safe, and there are many tours organised by staff for any budget. Thanks for everything!

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Eugenia Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

100%

Really nice clean hostel. Perfect location and friendly staff. Obrigado Juan

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Angola
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Federico We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management

100%

Ideal hostel. Good caipirinahs,good music and perfect staff Thanks Juan

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ignacio We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management

100%

Hostel limpio, buen desayuno, el personal que trabaja ahi siempre con buena onda. Volveria de nuevo. Muchas gracias a Juan Pablo por todo y al resto del personal

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Estimado Fernando Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de compartir tu experiencia con nosotros. Es un placer el saber que disfrutaste de nuestros servicios e instalaciones. Esperamos tener la oportunidad de recibirte en un futuro próximo! Saludos cordiales Staff El Misti

100%

I stayed here twice, during the carnaval and after it. Theres a big difference right now, everything looks fixed and clean and i would totally recommend this hostel to anyone. The staff is really helpful and full of life. Well the location is perfect, the hostel is close to all the main attraccions and 4 blocks away from Copacabana Beach, opposite to the hospital and the metro station. Thanks to all the staff, speacially to Juan Pablo

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location and cheap! But I felt really packed in the room as well as in the common areas. Not super clean eitherr.


89%

Good hostel for what it costs. There's a good atmosphere with excellent and really friendly staff who are willing to help with anything. Nice bar downstairs with awesome guy serving drinks. Room was a bit cramped and smelled a bit and beds were not the best. Breakfast and dinner were great. Definitely good overall.


86%

Best stuff in the world, alwayd caring

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel is OK and fairly near of Copacabana beach, but my room was very tight, what became even worse since it seemed that everybody there was moving to the hostel, withe 2 or 3 big bags. It very difficult to sleep also, because there was a lot of mosquitoes. On the the other hand, the staff was friendly and thoughtful, and the atmosphere is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Erick Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kindregards, Management

49%

Rooms are small, lockers as well, bad air all the time and rooms very messy...nobody clean or check them during the day. 2 toilets per floor (app.36 persons) cleand once a day and to small even to put you clothes on. Staff was not really friendly and helpful except bartender and "sub manager". It is just not worthet of that money. Very dirty and crowded. Not enough facilitys for all these people. But location is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Urska Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kindregards, Management

77%

It was amazing stay some days in El Misti rio de janeiro, amazing service and amazing atmosphere, but the best part is that it's very close to the metro station.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tarcio First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

57%

The dorms were way too stuffed-they had just stacked higher bunkbeds in way-too-small rooms so that they could fit more people in. They had lockers for backpacks under the beds, but some were unreachable because of how close the beds were put together. There were only two bathrooms/floor (which had showers in them,too) and because of the amount of people in the hostel there was always a line+at least one of the toilets was clogged. There wasn't enough room/staff for all the breakfast eaters

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Laura,, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, Management

77%

I stayed at El Misti for carnival, so I expected it to be crazy busy & non stop party, which it was. location is fantastic, across from the metro & few blocks from the beach. common area is pretty small, & room with 8 beds was cramped. the breakfast was so so, staff was really nice & helpful, good sized lockers for all of your bags, bathroom really small with limited space- they are cleaned regularly but are still old dirty grungy bathrooms. there are 2 on each floor for about 35 ppl.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elise We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Hostelworld. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kindregards, Management

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback