X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Hostel Rio Reviews

Rua Tonelero 197, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
374 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Really liked the location and the staff was great!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Location great, breakfast OK, WIFI terrible


37%

Not clean, very lousy, badbugs in the bed

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel very close to the beach. Great bar and chill space in the lobby and friendly staff and were very helpful with recommendations and booking tours. Would definitely stay here again!


83%

atmosphere and location are the best

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Diego We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.  Kind regards, Management

83%

Nice hostel with a perfect location in Rio. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We only stayed one night, but would still recomrnd it to other people.


94%

Amazing atmosphere - great social area and bar and really friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Catherine 
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.  Kind regards, Management

91%

The hostel is great and the desk staff are excellent. The lady doing breakfast was a bit rude though. She told me at 7:56 that I had to wait til 8:00 to have breakfast even though it was ready and on the counter. At 8:00 on the microwave clock she let me get breakfast. I thought it was very petty. The other staff were lovely though!

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Gillian. Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, we have already talked to the breakfast staff about your comment and it will not happen again there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. 
 Kind regards,

100%

Comfortable rooms all with air con. Awesome staff. Great vibes. Thanks JP

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Luke Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

100%

I was expecting a better breakfast but its was alright tough. Clean and good atmosphere. Thanks Juan for helping us planning our trip in south america.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Robbie Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

100%

El Misti on Rua Tonelero has a great location with the metro across the street. The atmosphere is very good and the hostel has a nice bar where people get together and talk in the evening. It's well organized and they offer a nice selection of day trips in Rio. Especially the staff is very friendly and helpful. Juan from the reception helped me on matters on how to get around in Rio etc, and also with my trip further.


100%

Generalmente escribo comentarios cuando el hostel es muy malo o muy bueno. Por suerte, este es un hostel muy bueno, ubicado cerca de todo lo interesante, la gente que trabaja siempre contenta y tratando de ayudar, buenas bebidas en el bar, solamente faltaria arreglar las zapatillas de electricidad y el wifi. Recomiendo probar las caipirinhas de Paul y el daytrip por la ciudad. Gracias a todo el staff sobretodo el chino.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Estimado Juan Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de compartir tu experiencia con nosotros. Es un placer el saber que disfrutaste de nuestros servicios e instalaciones. Esperamos tener la oportunidad de recibirte en un futuro próximo! Saludos cordiales Staff El Misti

100%

Home for a month! El Misti was my home for a month and it's definitely because of the best friendly staff and amazing vibe at this place! )) it has everything to enjoy your stay in Rio - great location near the metro and 5min to the beach, spacious reception and kitchen, lockers for your bags and documents, showers which are mostly free despite that the hostel is always full, wi-fi, breakfast, it's clean and safe, and there are many tours organised by staff for any budget. Thanks for everything!

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Eugenia Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

100%

Really nice clean hostel. Perfect location and friendly staff. Obrigado Juan

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Angola
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Federico We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management

100%

Ideal hostel. Good caipirinahs,good music and perfect staff Thanks Juan

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ignacio We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management

100%

Hostel limpio, buen desayuno, el personal que trabaja ahi siempre con buena onda. Volveria de nuevo. Muchas gracias a Juan Pablo por todo y al resto del personal

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Estimado Fernando Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de compartir tu experiencia con nosotros. Es un placer el saber que disfrutaste de nuestros servicios e instalaciones. Esperamos tener la oportunidad de recibirte en un futuro próximo! Saludos cordiales Staff El Misti

100%

I stayed here twice, during the carnaval and after it. Theres a big difference right now, everything looks fixed and clean and i would totally recommend this hostel to anyone. The staff is really helpful and full of life. Well the location is perfect, the hostel is close to all the main attraccions and 4 blocks away from Copacabana Beach, opposite to the hospital and the metro station. Thanks to all the staff, speacially to Juan Pablo

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Julian Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

63%

Great location and cheap! But I felt really packed in the room as well as in the common areas. Not super clean eitherr.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Charçptte Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, Management

89%

Good hostel for what it costs. There's a good atmosphere with excellent and really friendly staff who are willing to help with anything. Nice bar downstairs with awesome guy serving drinks. Room was a bit cramped and smelled a bit and beds were not the best. Breakfast and dinner were great. Definitely good overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Arash Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

86%

Best stuff in the world, alwayd caring

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(148 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback