Hostelworld.com

El Misti Hostel Rio

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
El Misti Hostel Rio Located at Rua Tonelero 197, , Rio de Janeiro.
El Misti Hostel Rio
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22030-000 Rua Tonelero 197
78% 492
-22.9677187 -43.1870412
El Misti Hostel Rio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

I went there by myself and I ended up meeting great people there! Great caipirinhas in Paul's bar and good parties! Good location and breakfast. Gracias chicos por todo!! Hasta el ano que viene!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Awesome place, great location, good breakfast and friendly staff. We've booked room with 8 people ensuite which was quite big with huge lookers. Theres a nice bar where you we had the best caipirinhas in the whole country... The bar man is super friendly and he will recommend you the best clubs in Rio.... The staff was well informed about the stuff that was going on in the city, they told us to go to Pedra do Sal and the hippie market in Ipanema... and we had a great time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

I went to this hostel by recommendation of a group of traveller that I met in Florianopolis. When I was about to book, I took my time to read the reviews as I always do, the reviews were not that great but I decided to trust the group of guys who told me that it was the place to go. No regrets, I met great people in this place, we ended up making a small family between travellers and the staff of the hostel. We went out together, we ate together and we hung out together.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Brian First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Pretty good hostel with great location. Metro station, banks, beach, super markets, restaurants and hospital are closed by. Staff with good tips for places to go to eat, and they recommended me Pedra do Sal which is a must for those who love samba.. Good breakfast and they have some good dinners. They also have a bar where I had the best caipirinha so far in Brazil. Great for travellers who want to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dea Dianne First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

First I booked 15 dorm, but they upgraded me for free to a female dorm with toilet inside :). The staff is welcoming and helpful, even the cleaning ladies were so nice, every morning they were singing and smiling during the breakfast. The vibe in this place is just awesome, during the day you feel at home, during the night you feel in a bar full nice people. They offer good parties around Rio, I loved the favela tour and the day trip. They also recommended me good hikes around the city. xxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Marianela Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.  Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

I could stay here for ages... The hostel is close to all the place you need, across the road you have the metro, one block away you can find restaurant, supermarkets, banks, and 4 blocks away the beach. The hostel has common areas which made my life easier, traveling alone sometimes is hard, well is not the case in this hostel because after a few caipis in the bar everyone becomes friends and goes out together. I booked only one night but I ended up staying 6 days... I recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Joao Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.  Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

2nd Apr 2016
10.0

I Recommend absoltely this hostel, because its friendly, good breakfast, good location, and cheap! thanks to all of you ! JP from Chile

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.7

Love this place! Staff was so cool, they recommended me cool places to visit, and incredible hike and going to Pan Do Azucar for sunset. There´s a bar in the hostel, excelent for meeting people, you can also have dinner most of the night for 18 Reales. Breakfast is very complete, with natural juices and lost of fruits. I stayed in a 12 mixed room, was confortable, clean, and aircondition working ok. Location is good is just in front of the Metro Station and three blocks from beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Rodrigo Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.  Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
9.1

El misti has the best staff from any hostel I've ever stayed at, friendly helpful and make you feel very welcome. Awesome atmosphere and the cleaning and cooking staff are amazing too. Close to the beach and bus and metro stations, thankyou for a making our time in rio so enjoyable. Love Billie and Caito

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Katlin Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.  Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
5.1

I chose to stay in the cheapest room with 15 people , but did not expect it to be 5 bunk beds with 3 people in a very small room ! I slept 50 cm from the ceiling and passing a beam in front of my head limiting the room for about 40 cm ! On my floor I had 4 bedrooms but this type sharing 2 bathrooms only had a toilet and a shower each.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Pedro We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Hostel World. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.