Hostelworld.com

El Misti Hostel Rio

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
El Misti Hostel Rio Located at Rua Tonelero 197, , Rio de Janeiro.
El Misti Hostel Rio
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22030-000 Rua Tonelero 197
79% 506
-22.9677892 -43.1870205
El Misti Hostel Rio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
9.7

This place is amazing when it comes to price vs. what you get. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast delicious and the rooms alright. My petty complaint is that there is no soap provided for showering in the room. Well is not a hotel :) Take the favela tour, something that you will never forget! Other than that, thanks for a perfect stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
9.7

El Misti is an easy stay if you want somewhere that's clean, safe, and convenient. It's really everything you can expect from a hotel. The kind of place if you want to party and meet lots of people, although I lucked out and met two weird people in my room of four. :) There is a nice terrace, and the food in their cafe was good. They have a bar from 8 to midnight where the barman is super friendly and makes awesome caiphirinhas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.0

Stayed in El misti for 2 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only the bathrooms were a little dirty although they cleaned regularly. Also the lower beds had very little space so I would definitely go for a bunk bed. The location is really good, 2 min to the subway and next supermarket, 5 min to the Copacabana.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

I went there by myself and I ended up meeting great people there! Great caipirinhas in Paul's bar and good parties! Good location and breakfast. Gracias chicos por todo!! Hasta el ano que viene!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
10.0

El misti Copacabana is the best place to stay in Rio !! everything you re looking for in a hostel is there. the beach is just a couple blocks away and the metro station is across the street which make every deplacement very easy. But the best part of it is the staff ! everyone is very friendly and helpfull ! Paul makes the best caipirinhas of Rio, and there is always someone to go party ! why not ??! special thoughts for Fernando who made us feel like home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Awesome place, great location, good breakfast and friendly staff. We've booked room with 8 people ensuite which was quite big with huge lookers. Theres a nice bar where you we had the best caipirinhas in the whole country... The bar man is super friendly and he will recommend you the best clubs in Rio.... The staff was well informed about the stuff that was going on in the city, they told us to go to Pedra do Sal and the hippie market in Ipanema... and we had a great time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

I went to this hostel by recommendation of a group of traveller that I met in Florianopolis. When I was about to book, I took my time to read the reviews as I always do, the reviews were not that great but I decided to trust the group of guys who told me that it was the place to go. No regrets, I met great people in this place, we ended up making a small family between travellers and the staff of the hostel. We went out together, we ate together and we hung out together.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Brian First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

Pretty good hostel with great location. Metro station, banks, beach, super markets, restaurants and hospital are closed by. Staff with good tips for places to go to eat, and they recommended me Pedra do Sal which is a must for those who love samba.. Good breakfast and they have some good dinners. They also have a bar where I had the best caipirinha so far in Brazil. Great for travellers who want to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dea Dianne First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

First I booked 15 dorm, but they upgraded me for free to a female dorm with toilet inside :). The staff is welcoming and helpful, even the cleaning ladies were so nice, every morning they were singing and smiling during the breakfast. The vibe in this place is just awesome, during the day you feel at home, during the night you feel in a bar full nice people. They offer good parties around Rio, I loved the favela tour and the day trip. They also recommended me good hikes around the city. xxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Marianela Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.  Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

I could stay here for ages... The hostel is close to all the place you need, across the road you have the metro, one block away you can find restaurant, supermarkets, banks, and 4 blocks away the beach. The hostel has common areas which made my life easier, traveling alone sometimes is hard, well is not the case in this hostel because after a few caipis in the bar everyone becomes friends and goes out together. I booked only one night but I ended up staying 6 days... I recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Joao Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.  Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.