X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Hostel Rio Reviews

Rua Tonelero 197, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
399 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Pros: - Really good location, 2 min. walking from a subway station. - Nice guests from a lot of countries. - Good price + reasonable acomodations. Cons: - I was LOCKED OUT at 4 am. Someone from the staff "forget" it was his turn and I stayed for more than 30 minutes ringing the bell and another 30 calling the hostel. Then a guy finally opened the door for me and he didn´t say "sorry". When I complained about it, he was ironical. - Just one hot shower in my entire floor. - Small rooms.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel got a perfect location, it's close from everything, which is very important! It's a good place to meet a lot of others travelers, the wifi was a lil bit slow but definitely a nice place to stay.


86%

The hostel is minutes from the beach and surrounded by supermarkets and restaurants. The metro is across the street and multiple bus stops around. The wifi is good as are the showers. One thing that makes this hostel is the staff! Paul, the barman makes a mean caparhina and is always up for recruiting for a night out. Steph at reception will go the extra mile and is full of useful advice and tips on how to make the most of your time whilst in rio! Thank you for everything!! Would def. stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Iqra. It´s a pleassure for us to receive your comments, we are glad to know you liked the hostel and had a good time with us. Make sure Paul and Steph will be happy to know the could make your stay better. Hope to see you soon, cheers, Management.

100%

The people are excellent. I will recommend this hostel to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our hostel. We hope to have you again with us soon, Cheers, Management

100%

This hostel has very security with extra lockers (+2R$) and a security guard for the night. Ang good caipirinhas for 6R$ if you take 2.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know we provided you with a relaxing experience.Hope to see you again in Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

80%

Expensive, but every hostel in Rio is expensive. Good hostel, with a lot of young people! Okay breakfast - could be better. I would stay there again! I recommend this one :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti. Kind regards, Management

83%

great staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your comments have been passed to the El Misti team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Management

86%

Very good hostel if you're expecting to meet new people and enjoy some party. However, the shower was cold and the breakfast could be a little better. Wi-fi had many problems, probably because there were too many people trying to connect. For travalers that don't mind some cramped bedrooms for a good price and good vibes, it's a good choice. Staff is fantastic!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, we´ll make sure we passed them to the staff. We hope to see you soon, best regards Management

40%

We arrived here at 2am and were met warmly, considering the time! We stayed in a 16 bed dorm as that was all that was available when we booked- the bunks were 3 high and were very cramped, I was on the top bunk with a pipe over me so not enough room to sit up in bed or manoeuvre much! The room itself was also very cramped! The bathrooms were shared between a lot of people & were not particularly clean. It's a great location though with friendly staff and was pretty cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your detailed review. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. Kind, regards, Management

83%

Very nice place to stand for a couple of days. Its biggest advantage is its convenient location - the hostel is situated just a couple of blocks from Copacabana beach, it takes 10 minutes max to get there. The staff is really friendly and helpful. What is also important, they offer free pick-up service from the airport, but you have to book it in advance. As for the room itself, don't expect too much - it is just ok for the price they charge. Basically, its just a bed and a roof over your head)

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

83%

Nice stay in this hostel with a perfect location, right in front of the metro entrance and just four blocks from Copacabana beach. Rooms are very basic and the temperature in the shower are hard to adjust. Staff was very helpful and nice, they adviced us some good parties and things to do around! Would recommend!

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. All your comments have been passed to the El Misti team. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

83%

Really liked the location and the staff was great!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your comments have been passed to the El Misti team. We hope to see you soon, Regards, Management

66%

Location great, breakfast OK, WIFI terrible

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments. Make sure that on your next visit, wi-fi problems will be already solved. Kind regards Manageme

37%

Not clean, very lousy, badbugs in the bed

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your review. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will work hard to make the right improvements. Best regards, Management

100%

Amazing hostel very close to the beach. Great bar and chill space in the lobby and friendly staff and were very helpful with recommendations and booking tours. Would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

83%

atmosphere and location are the best

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Diego We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.  Kind regards, Management

83%

Nice hostel with a perfect location in Rio. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We only stayed one night, but would still recomrnd it to other people.


94%

Amazing atmosphere - great social area and bar and really friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Catherine 
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.  Kind regards, Management

91%

The hostel is great and the desk staff are excellent. The lady doing breakfast was a bit rude though. She told me at 7:56 that I had to wait til 8:00 to have breakfast even though it was ready and on the counter. At 8:00 on the microwave clock she let me get breakfast. I thought it was very petty. The other staff were lovely though!

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Gillian. Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, we have already talked to the breakfast staff about your comment and it will not happen again there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. 
 Kind regards,

100%

Comfortable rooms all with air con. Awesome staff. Great vibes. Thanks JP

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Luke Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, Management

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(159 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback