X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Hostel Salvador Reviews

Rua Odilon Santos 158, Salvador, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
57 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Friendly hostel, all the staff was super helpful, Vero and the others staff will be there to help you. The breakfast was good, cleanness was super good and the hostel is close to the main attractions. Thanks a lot and hope to see you guys again Juan and Katlin


100%

Best hostel in Salvador. The staff was really helpful, they help us out with our trip in Brazil and in Salvador. Location is quite good, close to all the main attractions. The hostel is clean. I totally recommend this place. Thanks to all the staff.


54%

Just a basic place to stay in but at least you get the expected value for your money. Good breakfast. can get better with some investment and attention.


57%

I spent a night at El Misti, and found the rooms to be too crowded and lack of space. The two toilets from the upper floor are also very tight and if someone showers, it leaves the whole toilet wet. There was also no hand soap or hand towels in neither bathroom. The staff were very good and always available to help. The breakfast is included and delicious, probably the highest point of the hostel. The location is alright, its located in Rio Vermelho, the new trendy area of Salvador.


63%

Cheap hostel that includes breakfast but not the cleanest place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Hostelworld. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management

80%

Great breakfast, great staff, good location. Only downside was the Wi-Fi, which was intermittent and very frustrating at times, and the shortage of hot showers. More hammocks would have bee delightful as well, but that's pretty much a given regardless of the existing number of hammocks. Decent hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Jonathan We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management

91%

I realy enjoyed the 6 days there, stuff is very very friendly and helpfull! Breakfast was defently one of the best i've ever had in a hostel, also the livingroom was very nice and the other facilities were very clean. The Internet was very poor, disconected each min. so it realy was imposible to check something like flights, mails, etc. But maybe because there were a lot of poeple during the WC. So I defently can recomend it and i also would go back there, cool people and nice Hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Raphael Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Salvador . Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management

86%

Great staff, breakfast and atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tressa First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Really nice hostel located in the quater "Rio Vermelho", famous for its bars (quite safe at night). The breakfast is really rich (fruit,bread,cheese,ham...). The Cleanliness was normal for a hostel, they had a daily cleaner and it was o.k., even though I can imagine that they need to clean more if there are more people reserving a room. The staff was really friendly and helpful. There are lockers, but you need to bring your OWN LOCK. Summary: Good service at an amazing price :)

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Bathrooms are poor - the water was turned off , we had to ask a few times with the result that the water was now running constantly. the dorm of 12 smelled horribly toxic, so we changed for another room where the ac was leaking and weted my backpack and my sleeping bag (they waited again 15 min. to show up). in the end we got a cheaper price beacuse of those problems, which was ok, but than when we asked for a taxi they "sold" us their driver who charged us double of the regular price!


37%

Very friendly staff but extremely poor and dirty facilities and rooms. Not the best location either


29%

It was a real disappointment this hostel! The door was so little that we almost didnt't find the hostel, it was in front of the garbage dropoff in the street. Our room had a hole on the ceiling, it had a bad smell and it was really degraded. We did a reservation for a double room with shared WC and we eneded up on a dorm with four beds, the staff told us that the double room didn't even exist. Terrible!! Don't recommend it for anyone!


74%

The dorm was not exactly very clean , it was a windowless room. The bathrooms were better outside the dorm. It's quite a distance away from pelorinho. Anyways it was a good neighbourhood.


86%

With few exception, the staff is excellent. Majority of them are ready to help and very polite. The location is excellent because is near to bars and restaurants, and about 4min walking to "Buracao beach".

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

very nice hostel, i relay enjoy the time in salvaldor. clean and cheap!


66%

- no locker for lugage

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Tea and coffee making facilities don't exist at all! The kitchen is too small and there are no enough implements to cook...

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It's a nice place and relaxing I thought it was well located but it is! it's in the middle of everywhere halfway to bus stattion airport the center places to go to nice beaches!!! it's really nice!


100%

Time spent at EL MISTI was very nice, the staff makes you feel very much at home, you can use them in case of a problem or ask for help and always with a smile. The sector is very good (Rio Vermelho) is close to places to eat, bars, transport for rodoviaria, pillory, including airport and only 2 blocks from the beach, really convenient for those who travel alone. They also have an amazing breakfast, all this for a very good price, I was very surprised

  • 25th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

It,s a hostel that is starting from level zero. The equipement is not the best, but I'm absolutely sure that the amazona staff will make it up for you!! You will enjoy this place for sure ;)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Salvador Hostels

Please give us your feedback