X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti House Reviews

Rua Silva Castro 49, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
562 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The staff were so helpful and were so friendly. The location is amazing!!! I highly recommend this hostel.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a brilliant week at El Misti House, the staff are all very friendly and give good advise about what to do and where to go both day/night. The hostel food is also very good and a cheap alternative to eating out in the evening, and it's location is fantastic for Copacabana beach and the metro. Met some brilliant people during my week there and would recommend others to stay. Andy, UK

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Clean, good location, good breakfast but you can find similar hostels much cheaper than this one in southern Rio. The kitchen staff is so rude and they only give you a tiny blanket so be aware during cold season. Overcrowded. Not for real travelers just for holiday-makers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Yaiza, We want to thank you for taking the time to rate our services and for leaving a comment. We are happy to know you found our breakfast good and our hostel well located and clean. On the other hand we want to apologize about the problems you had with the kitchen staff, we´ll make sure your comment is passed to all of them. We hope to have a new opportunity to host you in the future and give you a better experience at our house! Regards,El Misti Staff

86%

Very nice place overall, but it is too small for the amount of people they always have there. Breakfasts are good and simple, very good dinners they offer at a hostel (8.30 pm), everyday something new.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alexandra, Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay here! We will tell the cook about your comment, he will be happy to know you liked the dinners! It was very nice to meet you. We hope to see you another time in Rio :) Kind Regards from all El Misti staff.

77%

It's walking distance to a metro line and Copacabana beach as well as a super market and food. The staff is friendly and helpful., the internet is fast though only accessible from the main floor. The layout is a bit of a pain since there are like 5 floors and the rooms are small and pretty packed with triple level bunk beds but everyone follows the noise rules and the breakfast is varied and delicious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fabiola,Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment! We are very interested in your opinions and experiences in the house. Your comment will be shared with all the staff members! We put all of our efforts in our daily job and we are very happy to know they resulted in you spending a nice time here. At the moment we are working in the house to give you all a more comfortable experience. Hope to have a new chance to host you and show you this improvements! Kind Regards from El Misti staff

80%

A very good hostel to stay at. Would recommend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mark, We want to thank you for taking the time to post a comment about the hostel. We are glad you had a nice experience here. We put our best effort in our job and we are happy to know that they resulted in you having a great stay! Hope to see you again in Rio de Janeiro, Kind regards, El Misti House staff

57%

The first thing is the cleanliness! Sometimes at the evening no one had signed the "washing list" and it was very dirty, next morning it had all been signed. There was no soap in the nearest toilet for our entire stay! The whole place is really tight, bathrooms are small, common area and "the bar" is small, the bunk beds are so low I hit my knee in the bed over when turning in my sleep (I'm 1.80 m). Atmopshere is good tough and the staff is helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Leif, Thank you for leaving your review. Based on your comments and suggestions we will put our full effort to make improvements in our facilities. Although this time we didn´t reach your expectations we hope to have a new opportunity to host you and give you a great experience at the hostel! It was very nice to meet you! Kind Regards from El Misti House staff.

86%

Staff was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Daniel! Thank you for your comment! We loved to host you at the House! We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you next time you come to Rio. Best Regards from all the staff at El Misti.

57%

Old, damp, dingy, and not really clean. I stayed there for 5 nights and only 2 bathrooms had hand soap in them. They never refilled the dispensers. Old beds, Old linens, etc. The air circulation and quality in my room was terrible. On a positive note, the staff are friendly and helpful and the location is great. The dinners they provide for a fee are very good.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Pirouz, Thank you for your opinion. We would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. We are currently working on improving our facilities and remodeling the rooms. It´s our main objective to give our guests a great experience so we pay a lot of attention to all of your reviews. We´ll make sure to pass this comments to every staff member. It was very nice to meet you and we hope to have another chance to host you! Kind Regards in the name of all Misti House Staff.

100%

A cool hostel with a great friendly atmosphere. Easy to meet people and the staff were very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nicholas, Thank you for leaving your comment and rating our services! We really appreciate your review, it´s our priority to give the best service so we pay a lot of attention to all of your opinions. We are so glad to know you had a nice experience staying with us. It was great to meet you and hope you come back to Rio and spend more days at El Misti. Kind Regards, El Misti House staff.

100%

Excellent place to stay. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room and lots of cool people.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Adam, Hi! Thank you so much for your review, We really appreciate your comments! We are glad to know you had a great experience here, it was great to meet you too. Hope to see you again in Rio!! Kind Regards from all El Misti House staff.

80%

very good location but wifi was bad. many travellers and many new friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jimmie, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Misti with us and to rate our services! Next time you visit us the wi-fi service will be much better. It´s our commitment to give you all the best service. It was very nice to meet you, we hope to see you again! Best Regards, El Misti House staff

31%

I absolutely loathed this hostel. The reception staff wasn't nice at all, barely spoke English and really did not want to help you. The security isn't good as well, as I left my bag behind after checking out. The guy who was working at the time did not even wanna get out of his seat, so he gave me all the keys saying "Just pick the bag you wanna have" ...

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your opinion, we would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. We will pass your comments to all the Misti team. It is our commitment to give a good service. We hope to see you again in the future and have a second chance to give you a great experience at the House. Best Regards, El Misti staff.

100%

Great place to stay, super friendly staff and was an excellent experience.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Brian, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer a great service to each of our guests and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case..Thank you! Hope to see you again in Rio! El Misti House staff.

100%

I stayed at El misti for 2 weeks, just before and during the World Cup and could not fault it. The staff were extremely friendly and always made you feel welcome and had time for me, even though the hostel was pretty much full. Always arranged good nights out or goo nights in. I would happily stay here again.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nick! How are you? Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review! We are glad we had the opportunity to host you, thanks for bringing your wonderful energy to the House! ... Come back next year! It was great to meet you! Kind Regards from all the Misti Staff.

100%

location is great; just a couple of blocks from the beach and one block from a metro station that will connect you to the whole city. staff is friendly, helpful and able to communicate in several languages. they serve one of the greatest breakfast ive ever had in a hostel (loved the crepes and natural juices!). i stayed in a very comfortable and affordable private room with ac; bathrooms were cleanned every two hours. the atmosphere was friendly, it wasnt a problem to make friends at all!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Renzo, Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti House and to rate our services. There is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having a great stay. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro!! El Misti House staff.

80%

The rooms are very tiny. We got 9 beds room which could have max 12 square meters (if not less), and was a little bit stinky. The whole place is rather small but; The staff and the atmosphere was awesome, especially evening meetings in living room with other guests. They serve dinners, each day with different menu and the cook is brilliant and great (I do not remember when I eat such good pasta - except Italy). The crew members are so nice and so helpful. The staff is the greatest asset of this

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Boguslaw, First of all, thanks for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We want to thank you for your comment, this motivates us to keep putting our best effort in our daily job. Based on your suggestions we will make a great effort to make some improvements. It´s the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We hope to see you again in the future, it was very nice to meet you! Kind Regards from the Misti staff.

71%

The hostel was ok in most aspects. Whether we were just unlucky or not, the main negative was that we were in a 4 bed dorm in the basement, can't remember the number but this basically meant no windows to outside world! A little hot and stuffy down there but AC helped when asking staff to turn it on. The rest of the hostel was fine; good breakfast was a plus, communal area was small but great for meeting people, but some showers were a bit hit or miss being either cramped or with cold water.


83%

The staff was welcoming and helpful. Definitely felt safe and comfortable here. Attracts a fun-loving crowd in general. Come here expecting to HAVE FUN. If looking for peace and quiet, go elsewhere. Definitely had trouble sleeping a lot of nights due to noise levels, but it made up for it by being a fun hostel.


91%

I had a great time during my stay at this hostel. The staff was great. All the Argentinian girls were extremely helpful and friendly. Renzo was the best, extremely helpful and friendly, and very willing to go out of his way to make your experience excellent. My only minor complaint would be that the nighttime security guard over the weekend was asleep every time I came home late at night. Might as well have a scarecrow working security. Overall excellent experience, highly recommended.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback