X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti House Reviews

Rua Silva Castro 49, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
597 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Rooms and showers were good. Breakfast was ok but the milk was warm for the cereal and it was too crammed and way too hot. We were also mislead by the Ilha grande day trip which we though would be a small private tour turned out to be a locals boat party which ruined the beauty of the island. There also seemed like there was too many staff hanging around not doing much. It was an ok hostel but not the best.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at the hostel. Your opinions are very important to us! We are happy to know you found the rooms and general facilities good as well as the security. Unfortunately we didn´t reach your expectations with the Ilha Grande tour. We hope to have a new chance to host you and offer you other options more related to your preferences.. Once again, thank you for posting a comment!!! ... El Misti staff.

100%

Very clean and the staff were very helpful. An excellent place to stay. Good value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Robert, Thank you very much for leaving your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future, this is your house in Rio !! Kind Regards, El Misti House staff.

77%

The staff is AMAZING! Always helpful with anything that you need. The beds were comfortable and rooms and lounge area clean. The breakfast was good but the same every day. The location is convenient and off a quiet side street- close to subway, buses, and a few blocks from the beach. The only thing we did not like was the bathrooms- always wet floors, always having to wait for them because too many people per bathroom, at times bathrooms were out of order. Overall not cleans bathrooms.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! getting to know about your experience at the hostel is very important for us! We are really happy to know you liked our staff so much, we will let everyone know about this. We are happy our efforts resulted in you having a nice stay :) About the facilities and cleaning of the bathrooms, we can assure you this will no longer be a problem in your next visit. We hope to see you again in sunny Rio!! Best Regards, El Misti House

43%

The worst of the hostels I've stayed in Brazil by a wide margin: not clean, unfriendly and impersonal staff, more expensive, an awful breakfast. Avoid 'El Misti' at all costs.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Andrew, First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to post a review. All of our guests opinions are very important to us. We are sorry we did not reach your expectations. We are truly surprised you found our staff unfriendly and impersonal, this is not our philosophy. We really hope to have a new chance to host you and give you a better impression! Best Regards, El Misti staff

86%

Excellent location, perfect choice! Just dislike the downstairs rooms because don't have enough ventilation, too much humid (because showers) and the windows open to the smoking area...

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Eduardo, Thank you for your comments and observations, our guests opinions are very important to us. You are the ones who always help us improve and provide a better service every day! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. And we want you to know we are currently working on improvements in the rooms. You are invited to stay again and give us your opinion! Kind Regards from El Misti House!

89%

Really nice placed, clean hostel. Stuff was helpful. Perfect breakfasts (fresh mango and pineapple juice included). During my stay in the hostel majority of guests were Spanish speakers so I you speak Spanish you will have fun after days of sightseeing or sunbathing. Last but not least, great and cheap caipirinias every night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tomasz, Thank you for leaving your review. We are happy to read about our guests experiences at the hostel. We are also happy to know you had a good time with us and hope to have a new chance to host you in the future! .. We will be waiting for you with more caipirinhas and great moments to share! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

60%

This hostel has every thing it needs to be excellent - the best breakfast I've ever eaten at a hostel, perfect location, welcome drinks, dinner for guests. Unfortunately the staff were incredibly unfriendly and ignored us most of the time. The chef working in the kitchen was very rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sune, Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad to know you found the hostel so good. And we are really sorry about your experience with the staff. We will speak about this with them. This is not something we are known for, actually, our friendly staff is our strongest characteristic. We would like to invite you to stay with us again in the future and give us another chance to give you the best impression! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

71%

Decent hostel in a good location. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is good. The dorms and the common areas are a bit cramped. They also hike up the prices on the weekends which is a shame, we probably would have stayed longer otherwise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Oonash, We want to thank you for your review. we are very interested in our guests opinions. You all help us provide a better service every day. And that´s our main goal! About the weekend prices we can say that it´s a very common thing in this city. But we are always open for discounts and promotions. We want you to stay with us and live the Misti Experience!! We will always be willing to solve any situations! Hope to see you again in Rio! Kind Regards, El Misti staff

60%

Stayed here for 2 nights on arrival to Rio...it was booked out for the weekend so we had to move hostel for the remainder of our stay which was no bad thing. The kitchen is off limits at certain times of the day when the staff cook communal meals for guests. The alternative kitchen on offer isn't well stocked and had no pots or pans. Our particular room was quite dark with no window - other rooms may be nicer. Location to the beach is good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Suzanne, Thank you for sharing your experience at the hostel with us. We are happy to know you found the location very good. And about the kitchen, we want you to know we are currently stocking it with everything you need :) It´s a brand new area of the House. And our main objective is to offer the best service to our guests always. You are invited to visit us again in the future to check out our improved facilities! It was very nice to meet you! Kind Regards from El Misti staff.

77%

This hostel is located very near from the Copacabana beach, but also has good price. So it is always/almost full. You could stay with some old people or some dudes that sleep all day with the lights off, etc etc. Those were what happened to me during my trip in Rio. But their breakfast is so nice and there is a good living room with good atmosphere that you can have a good conversation. The Argentinean staffs were so so but if you need help they are there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Hyejeong, Thanks for sharing your comment! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, liked the atmosphere and breakfast and found the prices and location good. We always talk about our guests reviews with the staff because it´s our main objective to always improve our service and facilities so we will make sure to share yours with them. It was very nice to meet you! King Regards, El Misti staff.

77%

The hostel has a great location, right next to the subway and it's very close to the beach. The atmosphere is really cool, they give you a free caipirinha when you check in and every night has caipirinha and beer with a good price. the hostel is great for those who is traveling alone and want to find company. All rooms have air conditioning and breakfast is quite good The hostel is a little bit noisy (even with the silence's warning after 22h)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Leticia, We want to thank you for taking the time to share your comment here. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay at the House, our bar, prices and atmosphere, among other things. About the silence hours, we can assure you it won´t be a problem during your next visit! Thank you for your advice!... We hope to see you again in the future! It was very nice to meet you! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

74%

This is a really social hostel, so if you want to party or you're a single traveller, you'll never end up doing anything alone in this hostel. Staff is mainly spanish speaking and mostly helpful, although not always knowledgeable(for instance, they sent us to Vidigal by bus at 08h, but locals know busses only drive from 10h). Downside is that some rooms(not all) are just way to small and having a good sleep here can be difficult. Credits to staff member Christopher, who entertained our stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Hans, Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are glad to know you got to experience the House´s vibe. We love to make every guest feel at home! We hope next time we can give you more accurate info about the city.Our main objective is to provide the best service we can and we always work to stay informed with the latest tips to help you get to know Rio the best way! We hope to see you again in the future! It was very nice to meet you, Kind Regards from El Misti staff.

89%

El Misti House was in a good location, close to the beach

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kendall, Thank you for taking the time to rate us! It´s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services and facilities very good. We would be very happy to have you here again in the future! It was great to meet you! Best Regards from El Misti House staff.

89%

The staff were so helpful and were so friendly. The location is amazing!!! I highly recommend this hostel.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Greg, Thank you for posting your comment and sharing your experience with us and other travelers! We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!! Our House is your House.. Kind regardss from all the staff!! El Misti.

97%

Had a brilliant week at El Misti House, the staff are all very friendly and give good advise about what to do and where to go both day/night. The hostel food is also very good and a cheap alternative to eating out in the evening, and it's location is fantastic for Copacabana beach and the metro. Met some brilliant people during my week there and would recommend others to stay. Andy, UK

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Andy, Thank You Very Much for your review! It´s a big reward to us when we hear our guests have a great stay at the House! It´s our main goal to make you all feel at home! We loved to have the opportunity to host you Andy, it was a pleasure to meet you and, as we told you, you´re welcome to come back any time!We will be happy to have your visit again! This is your House! Kind Regards from all your friends at El Misti.

66%

Clean, good location, good breakfast but you can find similar hostels much cheaper than this one in southern Rio. The kitchen staff is so rude and they only give you a tiny blanket so be aware during cold season. Overcrowded. Not for real travelers just for holiday-makers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Yaiza, We want to thank you for taking the time to rate our services and for leaving a comment. We are happy to know you found our breakfast good and our hostel well located and clean. On the other hand we want to apologize about the problems you had with the kitchen staff, we´ll make sure your comment is passed to all of them. We hope to have a new opportunity to host you in the future and give you a better experience at our house! Regards,El Misti Staff

86%

Very nice place overall, but it is too small for the amount of people they always have there. Breakfasts are good and simple, very good dinners they offer at a hostel (8.30 pm), everyday something new.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Alexandra, Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay here! We will tell the cook about your comment, he will be happy to know you liked the dinners! It was very nice to meet you. We hope to see you another time in Rio :) Kind Regards from all El Misti staff.

77%

It's walking distance to a metro line and Copacabana beach as well as a super market and food. The staff is friendly and helpful., the internet is fast though only accessible from the main floor. The layout is a bit of a pain since there are like 5 floors and the rooms are small and pretty packed with triple level bunk beds but everyone follows the noise rules and the breakfast is varied and delicious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fabiola,Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment! We are very interested in your opinions and experiences in the house. Your comment will be shared with all the staff members! We put all of our efforts in our daily job and we are very happy to know they resulted in you spending a nice time here. At the moment we are working in the house to give you all a more comfortable experience. Hope to have a new chance to host you and show you this improvements! Kind Regards from El Misti staff

80%

A very good hostel to stay at. Would recommend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mark, We want to thank you for taking the time to post a comment about the hostel. We are glad you had a nice experience here. We put our best effort in our job and we are happy to know that they resulted in you having a great stay! Hope to see you again in Rio de Janeiro, Kind regards, El Misti House staff

57%

The first thing is the cleanliness! Sometimes at the evening no one had signed the "washing list" and it was very dirty, next morning it had all been signed. There was no soap in the nearest toilet for our entire stay! The whole place is really tight, bathrooms are small, common area and "the bar" is small, the bunk beds are so low I hit my knee in the bed over when turning in my sleep (I'm 1.80 m). Atmopshere is good tough and the staff is helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Leif, Thank you for leaving your review. Based on your comments and suggestions we will put our full effort to make improvements in our facilities. Although this time we didn´t reach your expectations we hope to have a new opportunity to host you and give you a great experience at the hostel! It was very nice to meet you! Kind Regards from El Misti House staff.

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback