X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti House Reviews

Rua Silva Castro 49, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
627 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Pretty small hostel for the amount of people. But you meet people this way;) bunkbeds are three beds high in almost every room. But some airco does it good. 3 blocks from the beach. Wifi can be really bad if there are a lot of people


40%

We stayed here during carnaval so as you can imagine it was very expensive. Most of the staff were rude and unhelpful. Even being carnival time we got told to "shhh" after 10pm in the main area! The location is good as it is close to the beach and the metro. We only ate once at the hostel but it was good. I found the cleanliness of this place poor and the air con needs to be on more when it is so hot!


89%

This hostel is really lcated in the heart of Copacabana, really close to the beach and the metro station...Perfect location! the staff is great and welcoming everyone! sk for the barman Christopher, he does make awesome caipirinhas and he can suggest you places you wanna visit in Rio de Janeiro. Awesome people and really good hostel, I definitely recommend it!!!! Giovanni

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have been so happy with my stay at El Misti :) The staff is very friendly and super helpful!! Lets not forget happy hour!! Thank you to Mr barman (Chris) and his special caipirinhas at a great price!! Thank you for an amazing stay El Misti!!

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Enjoyed the stay here. Staff were very helpful. Good facilities and great location.


69%

Pretty cramped place.. Bathrooms are pretty much disgusting, and there are way too few of them compared to how many guests stay here. Rooms are dark and dingy and SO CRAMPED. Eisch. Not great value for money, stay at el misti in Leme instead.


100%

Everything was just perfect! The staff was amazing!


100%

Cool hostel, great staff and very clean! Would stay again for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Benjamin, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review! Your opinions are very important to us! We are glad to know you had a great time here! ... We loved to meet you and hope to have a new chance to host you in the future! Best regards in name of all the Misti staff!

80%

Mind-blowing experience


100%

Great place, good atmosphere!

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Arne, Thank you very much for your review!! It makes us so happy to know our efforts resulted in you having a great stay! We loved to meet you and hope to see you again in Rio in the future!! Best Regards from El Misti Staff!

77%

I stayed here over NYE, ang even thiugh inwas paying extra fir tgd location, i didnt feel like i git amything extra fir it. The staff were mostly all nice and helpful. Thenwalkimg tours that said they were free didnt mentiom you have to pay for things, evsn if they're not goimg to the guide, it would habe been nice to know because I never brought enough money to pay for them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Amelia, Thanks for choosing us to spend the most important night of the year! And about the tours, we are sorry you left with a bad impression. But the tours really ARE free. All that´s requested is an optional tip for the guides as a way to reward and recognize their work. But there´s nothing else you need to pay for. We would like to invite you again to make up for the inconveniences you had this time! We are glad to know you liked our staff! We will let them know about it!

89%

Great location, a couple blocks back from the beach. The tours from here are great and they pick you up from the hostel, having fox sports was also a great bonus. Showers are scattered throughout but we never had an issue finding a free one, and they are always clean


66%

Rooms and showers were good. Breakfast was ok but the milk was warm for the cereal and it was too crammed and way too hot. We were also mislead by the Ilha grande day trip which we though would be a small private tour turned out to be a locals boat party which ruined the beauty of the island. There also seemed like there was too many staff hanging around not doing much. It was an ok hostel but not the best.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at the hostel. Your opinions are very important to us! We are happy to know you found the rooms and general facilities good as well as the security. Unfortunately we didn´t reach your expectations with the Ilha Grande tour. We hope to have a new chance to host you and offer you other options more related to your preferences.. Once again, thank you for posting a comment!!! ... El Misti staff.

71%

1st time I sleep in the basement...! I was lucky though, my room had a window but some don't even have one!! I could not imagine paying to stay in a room without window. The 3rd of the staff is really nice, the rest is not very "open-minded" or just friendly. After a week in the hostel one of the receptionists asked me if I was a guest, doesn't make U feel at home. The place is very clean, good point! and there is a quite room, very helpful if you need to concentrate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Johann, Thank you for your review!Your opinions are very important to us. At the moment we are working on general improvements in the house. But it´s important to mention that though there is one room with no window in the house, all of them have air conditioning. We are sorry you got a bad impression of our staff and hope to make up for it in the future! We hope to see you again! Best regards from El Misti House

100%

Very clean and the staff were very helpful. An excellent place to stay. Good value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Robert, Thank you very much for leaving your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future, this is your house in Rio !! Kind Regards, El Misti House staff.

77%

The staff is AMAZING! Always helpful with anything that you need. The beds were comfortable and rooms and lounge area clean. The breakfast was good but the same every day. The location is convenient and off a quiet side street- close to subway, buses, and a few blocks from the beach. The only thing we did not like was the bathrooms- always wet floors, always having to wait for them because too many people per bathroom, at times bathrooms were out of order. Overall not cleans bathrooms.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! getting to know about your experience at the hostel is very important for us! We are really happy to know you liked our staff so much, we will let everyone know about this. We are happy our efforts resulted in you having a nice stay :) About the facilities and cleaning of the bathrooms, we can assure you this will no longer be a problem in your next visit. We hope to see you again in sunny Rio!! Best Regards, El Misti House

43%

The worst of the hostels I've stayed in Brazil by a wide margin: not clean, unfriendly and impersonal staff, more expensive, an awful breakfast. Avoid 'El Misti' at all costs.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Andrew, First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to post a review. All of our guests opinions are very important to us. We are sorry we did not reach your expectations. We are truly surprised you found our staff unfriendly and impersonal, this is not our philosophy. We really hope to have a new chance to host you and give you a better impression! Best Regards, El Misti staff

86%

Excellent location, perfect choice! Just dislike the downstairs rooms because don't have enough ventilation, too much humid (because showers) and the windows open to the smoking area...

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Eduardo, Thank you for your comments and observations, our guests opinions are very important to us. You are the ones who always help us improve and provide a better service every day! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. And we want you to know we are currently working on improvements in the rooms. You are invited to stay again and give us your opinion! Kind Regards from El Misti House!

89%

Really nice placed, clean hostel. Stuff was helpful. Perfect breakfasts (fresh mango and pineapple juice included). During my stay in the hostel majority of guests were Spanish speakers so I you speak Spanish you will have fun after days of sightseeing or sunbathing. Last but not least, great and cheap caipirinias every night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tomasz, Thank you for leaving your review. We are happy to read about our guests experiences at the hostel. We are also happy to know you had a good time with us and hope to have a new chance to host you in the future! .. We will be waiting for you with more caipirinhas and great moments to share! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

60%

This hostel has every thing it needs to be excellent - the best breakfast I've ever eaten at a hostel, perfect location, welcome drinks, dinner for guests. Unfortunately the staff were incredibly unfriendly and ignored us most of the time. The chef working in the kitchen was very rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sune, Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad to know you found the hostel so good. And we are really sorry about your experience with the staff. We will speak about this with them. This is not something we are known for, actually, our friendly staff is our strongest characteristic. We would like to invite you to stay with us again in the future and give us another chance to give you the best impression! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback