X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti House Reviews

Rua Silva Castro 49, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
645 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The staff is AMAZING! Always helpful with anything that you need. The beds were comfortable and rooms and lounge area clean. The breakfast was good but the same every day. The location is convenient and off a quiet side street- close to subway, buses, and a few blocks from the beach. The only thing we did not like was the bathrooms- always wet floors, always having to wait for them because too many people per bathroom, at times bathrooms were out of order. Overall not cleans bathrooms.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! getting to know about your experience at the hostel is very important for us! We are really happy to know you liked our staff so much, we will let everyone know about this. We are happy our efforts resulted in you having a nice stay :) About the facilities and cleaning of the bathrooms, we can assure you this will no longer be a problem in your next visit. We hope to see you again in sunny Rio!! Best Regards, El Misti House

43%

The worst of the hostels I've stayed in Brazil by a wide margin: not clean, unfriendly and impersonal staff, more expensive, an awful breakfast. Avoid 'El Misti' at all costs.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Andrew, First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to post a review. All of our guests opinions are very important to us. We are sorry we did not reach your expectations. We are truly surprised you found our staff unfriendly and impersonal, this is not our philosophy. We really hope to have a new chance to host you and give you a better impression! Best Regards, El Misti staff

86%

Excellent location, perfect choice! Just dislike the downstairs rooms because don't have enough ventilation, too much humid (because showers) and the windows open to the smoking area...

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Eduardo, Thank you for your comments and observations, our guests opinions are very important to us. You are the ones who always help us improve and provide a better service every day! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. And we want you to know we are currently working on improvements in the rooms. You are invited to stay again and give us your opinion! Kind Regards from El Misti House!

89%

Really nice placed, clean hostel. Stuff was helpful. Perfect breakfasts (fresh mango and pineapple juice included). During my stay in the hostel majority of guests were Spanish speakers so I you speak Spanish you will have fun after days of sightseeing or sunbathing. Last but not least, great and cheap caipirinias every night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tomasz, Thank you for leaving your review. We are happy to read about our guests experiences at the hostel. We are also happy to know you had a good time with us and hope to have a new chance to host you in the future! .. We will be waiting for you with more caipirinhas and great moments to share! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

60%

This hostel has every thing it needs to be excellent - the best breakfast I've ever eaten at a hostel, perfect location, welcome drinks, dinner for guests. Unfortunately the staff were incredibly unfriendly and ignored us most of the time. The chef working in the kitchen was very rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sune, Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad to know you found the hostel so good. And we are really sorry about your experience with the staff. We will speak about this with them. This is not something we are known for, actually, our friendly staff is our strongest characteristic. We would like to invite you to stay with us again in the future and give us another chance to give you the best impression! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

71%

Decent hostel in a good location. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is good. The dorms and the common areas are a bit cramped. They also hike up the prices on the weekends which is a shame, we probably would have stayed longer otherwise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Oonash, We want to thank you for your review. we are very interested in our guests opinions. You all help us provide a better service every day. And that´s our main goal! About the weekend prices we can say that it´s a very common thing in this city. But we are always open for discounts and promotions. We want you to stay with us and live the Misti Experience!! We will always be willing to solve any situations! Hope to see you again in Rio! Kind Regards, El Misti staff

60%

Stayed here for 2 nights on arrival to Rio...it was booked out for the weekend so we had to move hostel for the remainder of our stay which was no bad thing. The kitchen is off limits at certain times of the day when the staff cook communal meals for guests. The alternative kitchen on offer isn't well stocked and had no pots or pans. Our particular room was quite dark with no window - other rooms may be nicer. Location to the beach is good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Suzanne, Thank you for sharing your experience at the hostel with us. We are happy to know you found the location very good. And about the kitchen, we want you to know we are currently stocking it with everything you need :) It´s a brand new area of the House. And our main objective is to offer the best service to our guests always. You are invited to visit us again in the future to check out our improved facilities! It was very nice to meet you! Kind Regards from El Misti staff.

77%

This hostel is located very near from the Copacabana beach, but also has good price. So it is always/almost full. You could stay with some old people or some dudes that sleep all day with the lights off, etc etc. Those were what happened to me during my trip in Rio. But their breakfast is so nice and there is a good living room with good atmosphere that you can have a good conversation. The Argentinean staffs were so so but if you need help they are there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Hyejeong, Thanks for sharing your comment! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, liked the atmosphere and breakfast and found the prices and location good. We always talk about our guests reviews with the staff because it´s our main objective to always improve our service and facilities so we will make sure to share yours with them. It was very nice to meet you! King Regards, El Misti staff.

1 2 Next » last »
(28 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback