X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Misti House Reviews

Rua Silva Castro 49, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
552 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Muy buena la limpieza del hostel y los servicios.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Ezequiel, Muchas gracias por dejarnos tu comentario y evaluar nuestro hostel. Para nosotros es muy importante conocer la experiencia de nuestros huéspedes para ofrecer siempre el mejor servicio. Nos alegra saber que quedaste satisfecho con la limpieza y servicios de la casa. Esperamos recibirte de nuevo en el futuro! Gracias por elegirnos! Staff El Misti House.

86%

Staff was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Daniel! Thank you for your comment! We loved to host you at the House! We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you next time you come to Rio. Best Regards from all the staff at El Misti.

57%

Old, damp, dingy, and not really clean. I stayed there for 5 nights and only 2 bathrooms had hand soap in them. They never refilled the dispensers. Old beds, Old linens, etc. The air circulation and quality in my room was terrible. On a positive note, the staff are friendly and helpful and the location is great. The dinners they provide for a fee are very good.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Pirouz, Thank you for your opinion. We would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. We are currently working on improving our facilities and remodeling the rooms. It´s our main objective to give our guests a great experience so we pay a lot of attention to all of your reviews. We´ll make sure to pass this comments to every staff member. It was very nice to meet you and we hope to have another chance to host you! Kind Regards in the name of all Misti House Staff.

100%

A cool hostel with a great friendly atmosphere. Easy to meet people and the staff were very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nicholas, Thank you for leaving your comment and rating our services! We really appreciate your review, it´s our priority to give the best service so we pay a lot of attention to all of your opinions. We are so glad to know you had a nice experience staying with us. It was great to meet you and hope you come back to Rio and spend more days at El Misti. Kind Regards, El Misti House staff.

100%

Excellent place to stay. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room and lots of cool people.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Adam, Hi! Thank you so much for your review, We really appreciate your comments! We are glad to know you had a great experience here, it was great to meet you too. Hope to see you again in Rio!! Kind Regards from all El Misti House staff.

80%

very good location but wifi was bad. many travellers and many new friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jimmie, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Misti with us and to rate our services! Next time you visit us the wi-fi service will be much better. It´s our commitment to give you all the best service. It was very nice to meet you, we hope to see you again! Best Regards, El Misti House staff

31%

I absolutely loathed this hostel. The reception staff wasn't nice at all, barely spoke English and really did not want to help you. The security isn't good as well, as I left my bag behind after checking out. The guy who was working at the time did not even wanna get out of his seat, so he gave me all the keys saying "Just pick the bag you wanna have" ...

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your opinion, we would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. We will pass your comments to all the Misti team. It is our commitment to give a good service. We hope to see you again in the future and have a second chance to give you a great experience at the House. Best Regards, El Misti staff.

100%

Great place to stay, super friendly staff and was an excellent experience.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Brian, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer a great service to each of our guests and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case..Thank you! Hope to see you again in Rio! El Misti House staff.

100%

I stayed at El misti for 2 weeks, just before and during the World Cup and could not fault it. The staff were extremely friendly and always made you feel welcome and had time for me, even though the hostel was pretty much full. Always arranged good nights out or goo nights in. I would happily stay here again.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nick! How are you? Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review! We are glad we had the opportunity to host you, thanks for bringing your wonderful energy to the House! ... Come back next year! It was great to meet you! Kind Regards from all the Misti Staff.

100%

Ótimo hostel, excelente equipe, e excelentes instalações, superlimpo. Todos foram muito simpáticos, ótimo lugar para conhecer pessoas. Agradável e acolhedor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Estimada Nelita, Para nós é sempre muito importante receber sua opinião. Suas observações reforçam nossa filosofia de prestar um bom atendimento! Esperamos que em breve tenhamos o prazer de recebê-la novamente, Atenciosamente, Staff El Misti House.

100%

Me gusto mucho haberme quedado en el Misti House. Esta muy cerca a la playa, restaurantes, tiendas y puntos turisticos. El hostel es bonito, limpio y tiene un aire que invitar a confraternizar con el resto de huespedes. Hice amigos con los que participe de tours, actividades y fiesta (lo cual fue ideal para mi que viajo sola). El desayuno y las cenas nocturnas estuvieron deliciosos. El personal de trabajo es muy amable y te ayuda a sentirte como si fueran tus amigos de toda la vida.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querida Maria, Te enviamos un cálido saludo! Queremos agradecerte el tiempo invertido en compartir tus comentarios acerca de tu estadía en el House. Nos hace muy felices saber que tuviste unas maravillosas vacaciones con nosotros! ... Esperamos verte nuevamente, El Misti Staff.

100%

location is great; just a couple of blocks from the beach and one block from a metro station that will connect you to the whole city. staff is friendly, helpful and able to communicate in several languages. they serve one of the greatest breakfast ive ever had in a hostel (loved the crepes and natural juices!). i stayed in a very comfortable and affordable private room with ac; bathrooms were cleanned every two hours. the atmosphere was friendly, it wasnt a problem to make friends at all!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Renzo, Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti House and to rate our services. There is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having a great stay. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro!! El Misti House staff.

80%

The rooms are very tiny. We got 9 beds room which could have max 12 square meters (if not less), and was a little bit stinky. The whole place is rather small but; The staff and the atmosphere was awesome, especially evening meetings in living room with other guests. They serve dinners, each day with different menu and the cook is brilliant and great (I do not remember when I eat such good pasta - except Italy). The crew members are so nice and so helpful. The staff is the greatest asset of this

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Boguslaw, First of all, thanks for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We want to thank you for your comment, this motivates us to keep putting our best effort in our daily job. Based on your suggestions we will make a great effort to make some improvements. It´s the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We hope to see you again in the future, it was very nice to meet you! Kind Regards from the Misti staff.

100%

Me parecio genial el hostel! Buena ubicación. Buena onda la gente que trabaja en el hostel. Limpio y seguro. Lo recomiendo. Tiene el precio adecuado con todo lo que uno precisa para estar en Rio tranqui!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querido Pablo, Gracias por compartir tu experiencia con nosotros. Nos encanta saber que disfrutaste de nuestros servicios e instalaciones y esperamos tener la oportunidad de recibirte nuevamente en el futuro! Hasta pronto!! Staff el Misti House

83%

The staff was welcoming and helpful. Definitely felt safe and comfortable here. Attracts a fun-loving crowd in general. Come here expecting to HAVE FUN. If looking for peace and quiet, go elsewhere. Definitely had trouble sleeping a lot of nights due to noise levels, but it made up for it by being a fun hostel.


91%

I had a great time during my stay at this hostel. The staff was great. All the Argentinian girls were extremely helpful and friendly. Renzo was the best, extremely helpful and friendly, and very willing to go out of his way to make your experience excellent. My only minor complaint would be that the nighttime security guard over the weekend was asleep every time I came home late at night. Might as well have a scarecrow working security. Overall excellent experience, highly recommended.


49%

Cleanliness: The Hostel was really dirty. I’ve travelled around the world and I’ve never seen such a dirty Hostel. Disgusting! Privacy: A worker entered in our room while we were on a tour and moved all the stuff we had there as well as getting everything dirty with paint. The staff didn’t even care about it.


77%

Bom custo-benefício. Sugeria apenas ampliação da aérea aberta para melhor convívio dos hóspedes e construção de mais banheiros, pois achei não ser suficiente.


83%

A very nice hostel located ca. 10 minutes from the beach in Copacabana and next to the metro station Sigueira Campos. Atmosphere is very friendly, breakfast good, there are also options to order dinner prepared by the hostel's cook in the evening. Not so many bathrooms available, unfortunately. Female room is based in a basement, so there is no day light or option to open a window. In general good value for money.


57%

el personal en la recepcion del hostel esta siempre hablando entre ellos y te sientes como interrumpiendo una conversacion de amigos cada vez que pides algo, las indicaciones cualquier consulta son siempre escasas porque estan en otra conversacion, en la habitacion entraba mucha luz por la noche. Creo que la gente que atiende el hostel es muy maja pero la atención que recibes deberia ser mucho mejor, en un establecimiento de este tipo me espero un trato mucho mas cercano del que me he han dado.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback