X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti House Reviews

Rua Silva Castro 49, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
611 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

O café da manhã não estava bom, o quarto estava empoeirado e o vaso e o chuveiro estavam entupidos. Caiu bastante!!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Prezada Thais, Obrigado por ter compartilhado sua experiência conosco. A opinião de todos os hóspedes é muito importante nós. Infelizmente não atingimos suas expectativas mas convidamos você a voltar mais uma vez para não só atingir mas também superar essas expectativas. É uma pena que tenha levado essa impressão do hostel já que dia após dia trabalhamos para oferecer a todos vocês o melhor serviço. Esperamos revê-la em breve! Atenciosamente, El Misti Staff

100%

Excelente hostel...de lo mejor de mi viaje por Brazil... 1000 recomendado.. Staff muy simpático y siempre a disposicion..cenas y desayunos variados y muy Buenos

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querido Chris, Gracias por dejar tu comentario! Nos encanto conocerte y tener la oportunidad de hospedarte en el House. Es una gran alegría para nosotros saber que nuestros esfuerzos resultaron en una experiencia inolvidable! Esperamos tenerte en casa de nuevo en el futuro! Hasta pronto!! Staff El Misti House

100%

Cool hostel, great staff and very clean! Would stay again for sure!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Benjamin, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review! Your opinions are very important to us! We are glad to know you had a great time here! ... We loved to meet you and hope to have a new chance to host you in the future! Best regards in name of all the Misti staff!

89%

Lo mejor del hostel es la atención del personal y el clima que hay en el hostel. Lo único malo es que no hay aire acondicionado en los espacios comunes. Volvería al Misti, sobre todo por la atención del personal, siempre responden todo y tienen muy buena onda, muy simpáticos y trabajan muy muy bien. El desayuno y la comida (a la noche está la posibilidad de comprar comida buena y barata) son muy buenos, e incluso la cocinera es muy simpática!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querida Victoria, Muchas gracias por tomarte el tiempo para compartir tu experiencia con nosotros! Nos hace felizes saber que disfrutaste de tu estadia en el House. Gracias por elegirnos! También te agradecemos el reconocimiento al staff, vamos a pasar tu comentario para todos ellos! Esperamos recibir tu visita nuevamente en el futuro! En nombre de todo El Misti House, un cálido abrazo!!

100%

Hostel Legal. Ele oferece muitas atividades. E fica pertinho da praia e do metro. Otimo para as pessoas quem querem visitar o Rio

Owner Comment (Hide)
Olá Nicolas, Muito obrigado pela sua avaliação! Ficamos super felizes em saber que você passou ótimas férias no House! Oferecer o melhor serviço é sempre o nosso principal objetivo! Fica o convite para uma nova visita no futuro! Foi um prazer lhe conhecer! Até a próxima! Staff El Misti House.

100%

Great place, good atmosphere!

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Arne, Thank you very much for your review!! It makes us so happy to know our efforts resulted in you having a great stay! We loved to meet you and hope to see you again in Rio in the future!! Best Regards from El Misti Staff!

100%

De lo mejor! Muy buena gente buena predisposición! Muy amables! La cocinera, Luis y todos allí! Buena localización , tiene súper cerca todo cerca, muy cómodo. El desayuno bien la limpieza increíble siempre en condiciones todo! Hagan la excursión dos hermanos no se van a arrepentir!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querida Yamile, Comentários como el tuyo renuevan nuestras ganas de dar lo mejor en nuestro trabajo diario. GRACIAS! En nombre de todo el staff de El Misti! Nos alegra mucho saber que disfrutaste tu estadia con nosotros. Te esperamos de vuelta en el House! Un cálido saludo, El Misti

77%

I stayed here over NYE, ang even thiugh inwas paying extra fir tgd location, i didnt feel like i git amything extra fir it. The staff were mostly all nice and helpful. Thenwalkimg tours that said they were free didnt mentiom you have to pay for things, evsn if they're not goimg to the guide, it would habe been nice to know because I never brought enough money to pay for them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Amelia, Thanks for choosing us to spend the most important night of the year! And about the tours, we are sorry you left with a bad impression. But the tours really ARE free. All that´s requested is an optional tip for the guides as a way to reward and recognize their work. But there´s nothing else you need to pay for. We would like to invite you again to make up for the inconveniences you had this time! We are glad to know you liked our staff! We will let them know about it!

100%

Cerca de la playa, cerca del metro. Tenia como 3 mercados a una cuadra a la redonda. Osea, la ubicación excelente! La atención buena y el precio el más barato que encontre en copa

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querida Emilse! Gracias por tu comentario! Es muy gratificante para nosotros saber que nuestros esfuerzos se ven reflejados en una excelente estadía! Nos alegra saber que disfrutaste tus dias en El House. Esperamos volver a verte en el futuro! Queda la invitación para una próxima visita! Hasta pronto, El Misti staff.

60%

반지하 지하에 방이 많음 그래서 창문 없는 방도 있고 습하고 어두움. 방 크기에 비해 침대가 많은듯 함. 아침도 그저그렇고 위치 빼고는 비추.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dera Sunyoung, Thank you for taking the time to rate our services. Unfortunately this time we did not reach your expectations but you can be sure that we are working constantly to improve and give you all the best service! We hope to have a new chance to host you in the future and change the impression you took this time. Best Regards from El Misti House staff.

66%

Rooms and showers were good. Breakfast was ok but the milk was warm for the cereal and it was too crammed and way too hot. We were also mislead by the Ilha grande day trip which we though would be a small private tour turned out to be a locals boat party which ruined the beauty of the island. There also seemed like there was too many staff hanging around not doing much. It was an ok hostel but not the best.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at the hostel. Your opinions are very important to us! We are happy to know you found the rooms and general facilities good as well as the security. Unfortunately we didn´t reach your expectations with the Ilha Grande tour. We hope to have a new chance to host you and offer you other options more related to your preferences.. Once again, thank you for posting a comment!!! ... El Misti staff.

71%

1st time I sleep in the basement...! I was lucky though, my room had a window but some don't even have one!! I could not imagine paying to stay in a room without window. The 3rd of the staff is really nice, the rest is not very "open-minded" or just friendly. After a week in the hostel one of the receptionists asked me if I was a guest, doesn't make U feel at home. The place is very clean, good point! and there is a quite room, very helpful if you need to concentrate.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Johann, Thank you for your review!Your opinions are very important to us. At the moment we are working on general improvements in the house. But it´s important to mention that though there is one room with no window in the house, all of them have air conditioning. We are sorry you got a bad impression of our staff and hope to make up for it in the future! We hope to see you again! Best regards from El Misti House

100%

Very clean and the staff were very helpful. An excellent place to stay. Good value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Robert, Thank you very much for leaving your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future, this is your house in Rio !! Kind Regards, El Misti House staff.

77%

The staff is AMAZING! Always helpful with anything that you need. The beds were comfortable and rooms and lounge area clean. The breakfast was good but the same every day. The location is convenient and off a quiet side street- close to subway, buses, and a few blocks from the beach. The only thing we did not like was the bathrooms- always wet floors, always having to wait for them because too many people per bathroom, at times bathrooms were out of order. Overall not cleans bathrooms.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! getting to know about your experience at the hostel is very important for us! We are really happy to know you liked our staff so much, we will let everyone know about this. We are happy our efforts resulted in you having a nice stay :) About the facilities and cleaning of the bathrooms, we can assure you this will no longer be a problem in your next visit. We hope to see you again in sunny Rio!! Best Regards, El Misti House

89%

Muito bom!!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Prezada Aurea, Muito obrigado por ter avaliado nossas instalações e serviços! Ficamos felizes em saber que você gostou do El Misti e convidamos você a nos visitar novamente no futuro! Um abraço desde El Misti House!

43%

The worst of the hostels I've stayed in Brazil by a wide margin: not clean, unfriendly and impersonal staff, more expensive, an awful breakfast. Avoid 'El Misti' at all costs.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Andrew, First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to post a review. All of our guests opinions are very important to us. We are sorry we did not reach your expectations. We are truly surprised you found our staff unfriendly and impersonal, this is not our philosophy. We really hope to have a new chance to host you and give you a better impression! Best Regards, El Misti staff

100%

Uno de los mejores hostels donde estuve hospedado..buena localización,atmósfera genial,buena atención de los funcionarios siempre atentos y dispuestos a ayuda, increíbles caipirinhas y un buen desayuno. Sin duda volveré cuando vuela a Rio

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querido Christopher, Gracias por tu comentario. Es una gran alegría para nosotros saber que disfrutaste tanto de la estadía con nosotros. Del staff, desayuno, caipirinhas! Nos encanto conocerte y esperamos tener el agrado de recibirte de nuevo en casa! En nombre del staff del Misti House, Hasta Pronto!

86%

Excellent location, perfect choice! Just dislike the downstairs rooms because don't have enough ventilation, too much humid (because showers) and the windows open to the smoking area...

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Eduardo, Thank you for your comments and observations, our guests opinions are very important to us. You are the ones who always help us improve and provide a better service every day! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. And we want you to know we are currently working on improvements in the rooms. You are invited to stay again and give us your opinion! Kind Regards from El Misti House!

100%

el hostel esta muy bien ubicado.. y el personal que trabaja ahi es muy buena onda, te ayudan en todo lo que necesites..

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Querido Gonzalo, Que alegría para nosotros saber que te gusto pasar tus vacaciones en el House. Nuestro staff siempre estará dispuesto a ayudarte en todo y orientarte para que tus días en la ciudad sean LOS MEJORES! Te esperamos de vuelta en Rio en el futuro! Hasta pronto!! Staff El Misti House

89%

Really nice placed, clean hostel. Stuff was helpful. Perfect breakfasts (fresh mango and pineapple juice included). During my stay in the hostel majority of guests were Spanish speakers so I you speak Spanish you will have fun after days of sightseeing or sunbathing. Last but not least, great and cheap caipirinias every night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tomasz, Thank you for leaving your review. We are happy to read about our guests experiences at the hostel. We are also happy to know you had a good time with us and hope to have a new chance to host you in the future! .. We will be waiting for you with more caipirinhas and great moments to share! Kind Regards, El Misti staff.

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback