X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Rooms Reviews

Emilio Berla 41, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
170 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great Hostel :) The staff, the dinner, the breakfast, the reception (Fernando, Federico, Sol and Philipe) the cleaning ladies, the bar woman, everything and everyone made me feel like home. The matress was comfortable, the bathrooms were enough for the people staying at the hostel and quite clean! I´ll definitely be back!!!

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

horrible, terrible place, matresses very dirty, rooms cramped sets of 3 bunk beds in a very small space, bed linnen well used with holes, facilities are old, loud terrible music in the sitting area. i left 30 minutes after checking in, went to another hostel , there are many in a better condition.


74%

Nice place about 4 or 5 blocks from Copacabana Beach. No locks in any of the doors but big lockers to hold backpacks All staff very nice and friendly but one of the guys made quite a few inappropriate remarks about women & gays


77%

nice hostel with amazing staff. good location, nice rooms, although not so clean. the staff will help u with everything and the atmosphere there great.


94%

I stayed in this hostel for over a week to discover beautiful Rio. The staff were very helpfull when it came to booking reasonable priced tours. It s a good place for those who wish to go out and party around the city but also for those who wish to stay in and spend their evening exchanging experiences with fellow backpackers from around the world. I felt safe at all time in the hostel and in the area. The food was good and is the best value for money you ll get in the area . thank you

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sam Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms Staff

37%

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are overcrowded and dirty. Although there are large lockers the rooms as so small it's impossible to get the bags into the lockers. The breakfast was average but there wasn't enough to feed all backpackers. This hostel was so bad I ended up leaving two days earlier than planned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Natalie We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, El Misti Staff

63%

WIFI needs improvement. If you can only get it at the front desk, then turn down the music so we can talk on Skype without yelling. Thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Joe Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms

71%

Super cramped! But there were huge lockers under the beds big enough for a 75L rucksack and then some. round the corner from metro station and a nice pizza place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jack First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, El Misti Staff

83%

cool hostel, staff are Amazing - so friendly and helpful, made me feel at home from day 1. The actual hostel is fun, clean enough and well located - near metro stop and 5 mins from the beach. Little bit cramped but who cares!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ravi First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms Staff

100%

Great location. Center to copacabana and metro. Not a far walk to Ipanema. Lots of groceries and restaurants around. Great value! Fernando and the staff are excellent!! Very helpful and fun to hang out with! Stayed another week I was having so much fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Danny Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, El Misti Staff

91%

great location, helpful staff, rooms very small, good breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elitzur First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards El Misti Rooms Staff

69%

Really friendly, helpful and thorough staff, a great breakfast and hostel is kept as clean as it could be. Not much to do in Copacabana itself except go to the beach, I would probably stay closer to Lapa next time. 9 bed room is more spacious then the 6. Also EL MISTI ILHA GRANDE is pretty gross - really old, barely working wifi and for most of my stay there was no running water. would be improved a lot with new mattresses and pillows. excellent breakfast though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for El Misti Ilha Grande ! Kind regards, Staff El Misti Rooms

83%

Super friendly staff , they gave the best "what-to-do-tips", helped with every problem and made us feel at home right away! The free tours with Luis must be awesome - sadly I couldn't go, I'd still recommend it ;)

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. It makes us happy to know we helped to make your staying in Rio a pleasant one!! Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms Staff



View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback