X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Misti Rooms Reviews

Emilio Berla 41, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
170 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great Hostel :) The staff, the dinner, the breakfast, the reception (Fernando, Federico, Sol and Philipe) the cleaning ladies, the bar woman, everything and everyone made me feel like home. The matress was comfortable, the bathrooms were enough for the people staying at the hostel and quite clean! I´ll definitely be back!!!

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

horrible, terrible place, matresses very dirty, rooms cramped sets of 3 bunk beds in a very small space, bed linnen well used with holes, facilities are old, loud terrible music in the sitting area. i left 30 minutes after checking in, went to another hostel , there are many in a better condition.


74%

Nice place about 4 or 5 blocks from Copacabana Beach. No locks in any of the doors but big lockers to hold backpacks All staff very nice and friendly but one of the guys made quite a few inappropriate remarks about women & gays


77%

nice hostel with amazing staff. good location, nice rooms, although not so clean. the staff will help u with everything and the atmosphere there great.


94%

I stayed in this hostel for over a week to discover beautiful Rio. The staff were very helpfull when it came to booking reasonable priced tours. It s a good place for those who wish to go out and party around the city but also for those who wish to stay in and spend their evening exchanging experiences with fellow backpackers from around the world. I felt safe at all time in the hostel and in the area. The food was good and is the best value for money you ll get in the area . thank you

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sam Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms Staff

37%

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are overcrowded and dirty. Although there are large lockers the rooms as so small it's impossible to get the bags into the lockers. The breakfast was average but there wasn't enough to feed all backpackers. This hostel was so bad I ended up leaving two days earlier than planned.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Natalie We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, El Misti Staff

63%

WIFI needs improvement. If you can only get it at the front desk, then turn down the music so we can talk on Skype without yelling. Thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Joe Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms

71%

Super cramped! But there were huge lockers under the beds big enough for a 75L rucksack and then some. round the corner from metro station and a nice pizza place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jack First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, El Misti Staff

83%

cool hostel, staff are Amazing - so friendly and helpful, made me feel at home from day 1. The actual hostel is fun, clean enough and well located - near metro stop and 5 mins from the beach. Little bit cramped but who cares!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ravi First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms Staff

100%

Great location. Center to copacabana and metro. Not a far walk to Ipanema. Lots of groceries and restaurants around. Great value! Fernando and the staff are excellent!! Very helpful and fun to hang out with! Stayed another week I was having so much fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Danny Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations. Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, El Misti Staff

91%

great location, helpful staff, rooms very small, good breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elitzur First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards El Misti Rooms Staff

69%

Really friendly, helpful and thorough staff, a great breakfast and hostel is kept as clean as it could be. Not much to do in Copacabana itself except go to the beach, I would probably stay closer to Lapa next time. 9 bed room is more spacious then the 6. Also EL MISTI ILHA GRANDE is pretty gross - really old, barely working wifi and for most of my stay there was no running water. would be improved a lot with new mattresses and pillows. excellent breakfast though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for El Misti Ilha Grande ! Kind regards, Staff El Misti Rooms

83%

Super friendly staff , they gave the best "what-to-do-tips", helped with every problem and made us feel at home right away! The free tours with Luis must be awesome - sadly I couldn't go, I'd still recommend it ;)

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. It makes us happy to know we helped to make your staying in Rio a pleasant one!! Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms Staff

80%

Even though tiny rooms, there is a great atmosphere here, with friendly staff and awesome location. Highly recommend the El Misti two brothers mountain climb with Luis!! Best views over rio and a few lovely stops in the favela for acai ice-cream and cold beer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti Rooms and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It makes us, the staff, very happy to know we were able to help you to have a good time in Rio. For us, a guest is not only a guest, but also a good friend! Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro. Kind regards, El Misti Rooms Staff

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
54%

at check in our room room without window. only air condition, , and saw sharing room with 9 beds in a very small room. too crowded., to expensive for the quality of that place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jorge: We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management

77%

A very good budget hostel. Staff are friendly and happy to help and the breakfast is nice also. Only real negative is that the hostel is quite busy for its size, and therefore the bathrooms aren't often very clean, even though there is always someone cleaning. We would stay again though!:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
irst of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a good experience and that you enjoy our breakfast.Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements on the rooms. Best Regards Misti Rooms Staff

20%

By fare the worst place I have ever stayed. Small rooms, loud music on a monday and thursday (played by the staff), lousy breakfast. The bedsheets were thin as paper and very old. It was not clean, you get my drift. Don´t go, I went to another Hostel (The green mango treee) and it is 100 times the value for money.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The most amazing place in Rio! It's the second time I chose to come to this hostel.. You have from everything here. There's a great staff that helps in everything, the place and rooms are always very clean! a great breakfast, great dinner in a good price every night, Active bar with great Capirinhas! you get a "welcome Caipirinha" on your first night and you also get one on your last night. A place with always a great atmosphere! DON'T waist your time in another place.. El Misti Rooms is D BEST!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tal First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Rooms again as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff . We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management

91%

El Misti is a perfect place to stay in Rio, it has a great breakfast and excellent localization.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Many thanks for rating us and for sharing it. Your comment helps us a lot to keep improving our hostel. We hope to see you again and to be part of another great experience in Rio. Best regards. El Misti Rooms staff.

86%

I can really recommand this hostel to everybody. Nice and clean and the staff makes you feel like you are at home. Just 5 minutes walk away from Copacabana and 10 minutes from Ipanema beach the location is perfect. They also offer nice tours, a good breakfast and for less than 20 Reaal a dinner every night. I cannot name anything I didnt like about the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Many thanks for rating us and for sharing it. That helps a lot for our improvement. We are very glad to know that you have had a great time in our hostel. Hope to see you next time to give you a highlight experience. Best Regards. El Misti Rooms staff.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback