Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Refugio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

Great spot to hike and relax. Boltz is a great host and serves delicious meals!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Charming old house in a quiet charming little town. Nice roof terrace with a beautiful view. Botz was a good host the short stay I was there, made me a good meal both in the evening and for breakfast, and I enjoyed having a beer with him by the fireplace. He also seemed really service-minded which I appreciated. (As a bonus it's also pretty close to the blue smurf village haha, which I drove through by accident after I left, if you feel like making your day slightly more absurd.)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
10.0

When we booked, we had no idea where we were going but it turned out to be the perfect way to start our week in Spain. The village is tiny, seriously ancient and the actual house feels like it was built hundreds of years ago- all very charming. Botz made us feel very at home, is an excellent cook (and keeps his prices very decent!) And gave us great advice on a local hike/visit in the neighbour town. When compared to staying in Ronda, this place offers much more charm, calm and the "real deal".

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

All the reviews do total justice to Botz. He's one hell of a host. From truly excellent food, to random talk, to showing us videos his producer girlfriend has made, Botz made our visit memorable. The hostel is located at Cartajima, a 20 minute, beautiful hill drive from Ronda. There are excellent views all around, and this is a great place to stay away from the city. Botz is also up for a hike anytime (provided the weather is nice), so do plan your visit around that if you can!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Oct 2016
9.7

The owner and host Botz is a very cool guy and the hostel is very special and unique. I like the surroundings, breakfast and his music . Also enjoyed our conversation. Thank you Botz! Hope I can come back one day .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Oct 2016
9.7

If you're looking for a unique experince Botz's hostel is perfect. We spent the evening sharing beers and stories with him, wish we could have stayed longer. Not for you if you're just coming in for a quick evening as its 20 mins away from Ronda, but great if you want to see more of the local/surrounding area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
10.0

BOTZ is the man. What a wonderful retreat from city life. Everything was perfect. He's a great cook, great conversationalist, and he's got the biggest heart. There were three other people staying here when I was here, and though we were strangers when we met, we became close by the end of our two days together because El Refugio is just a wonderful environment--relaxed, serene, and bumpin' if you want it to be! Love you Botz

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great place to stay at! A beautiful old house located in a Spanish countryside, it is as authentic as it can be. Perfect to enyoj some serenity and go for some small hikes. The owner is a great guy, very helpful and very friendly, tries to find common points with everyone. You can talk to him about practically anything. Thanks for everything Boltz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
9.7

One of the most unique hostels I've ever been to!!! We enjoyed our stay immensely. Big thank you to the owner for accommodating our 1 AM arrival ))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.0

THIS HOSTEL IS NOT ACTUALLY IN RONDA. But rather a 20 min car ride away (no buses make this trip). Actually in beautiful santorini-esque small town. That being said. It's a gem, the owner cooks you incredible food and is the most interesting hippy. The hostel has sweet vibes, it's small so it's heaps social and the rooftop is perfect for falling asleep underneath the stars sipping on cheapo beers. Facilities are heaps basic, but that didn't bother me at all, it's all clean enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.