Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Refugio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
El Refugio Hostel Located at Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima, Ronda.
El Refugio Hostel
Spain
Ronda Malaga 29452 Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima
94% 298
36.6457138 -5.1541113
El Refugio Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Aug 2016
9.7

This place is so unique. We had a car so it wasn't too bad for us to get there at all, but without it, it might be a bit tricky. We only stayed one night, but I wish we had stayed longer. Botz is extremely friendly and accommodating. He's got so many stories about travel and the history of that area. You'll love it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Adorable 300 year old house in a small village (with a pool) in the mountains. The view was worth every penny. Unlike anything you've ever seen. You're completely surrounded with mountains. Has a great rooftop terrace! Botz was a fantastic host who can pick you up which was very convenient. We were even served a fantastic large chili dinner. A great place to make friends and enjoy dinner and a shooting star filled walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

Gentleman Botz hosted us last month. He's a wonderfully interesting, worldly, and intelligent chap who made us feel so welcome even though we were only able to stay a short time. We would highly recommend staying here. The beauty of the mountains, the conversation, the food... All round alternative diamond in the rough of generic and uninteresting hostels. So pleased to have been recommended this place by a friend who also had a fantastic time and we would certainly urge you to visit. Sara & Ben

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.0

We had a lovely stay with Botz, he was very entertaining and we had great conversations with him. Also an amazing cook. We rented a car and drove through the mountainous area/did some hiking. It was nice to stay in a quiet village a bit outside of the hustle and bustle of Ronda. It also didn't feel super touristy in the village- which we really liked! We would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Jul 2016
10.0

El Refugio is unlike any hostel I've ever stayed at. The hostel is not in Ronda, but that's for the best! You can easily do day trips into Ronda, and staying in Cartajima gives you a more authentic experience of Spanish life than the tourist trap of Ronda. But it's the owner, Botz, that makes this place amazing. His hospitality made us feel as though we were visiting an old friend, and his great stories, food, and passion for music made the stay unforgettable. Thank you Botz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed for just the one night but had a fantastic time, went hiking all afternoon and enjoyed a great home cooked meal from Botz at the hostel. Botz made the stay very enjoyable with his stories and advice for travelling, definitely worthwhile stopping in for a few nights if you're visiting the Ronda area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.1

I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone. It is worth the effort to get out to. The town is an authentic rolling white hillside village, there is amazing hiking around the area, and the view from the rooftop Terrace is lovely. However, the best part of the hostel is truly the hippie who runs it. He is a kick ass chef, and has enough stories to right a novel. If you like travel... Stay at this hostel. Oh, and WiFi is great too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2016
9.4

Botz (the owner) is very professional and friendly, he gives a very personalized service. An ex chef, he made us some great meals. His chilli is to die for. He is passionate about music and could keep you entertained for hours. If you like hiking and boldering he will even be your guide as Los Riscos is only a few minutes away and a great place to practice the sport. Overall we had a great time. 15 km from Ronda but Botz can usually pick you up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th May 2016
9.1

You must stay at this hostel. Set in a 300 year old house in a small village, close to Ronda, high up in the mountains. Botz (the owner) has dedicated the last decade to creating a home away from home for travellers. From the incredible food to the amazing guided walks and rock climbing, every part of our stay was fantastic. Botz, himself, is the real highlight of the hostel. He is an interesting and energetic guy who does his best to improve your stay. You won't regret staying here. Ill be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
10.0

The owner is an awesome dude. Very homey hostel and really unique off the beaten path experience. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.