Hostelworld.com

El Refugio Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 285 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.5
El Refugio Hostel Located at Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima, Ronda.
El Refugio Hostel
Spain
Ronda Malaga 29452 Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima
97% 285
36.6457138 -5.1541113
El Refugio Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
10.0

The hostal is in a precious little town close to Ronda, and Botz can pick you up in Ronda. Cartajima is lovely and quiet. The hostal has a terrace for stargazing. The food was amazing - homemade paella for dinner and eggs, bacon, cereal, bread for breakfast. Botz and his girlfriend are excellent hosts. They took us on a fantastic hike up into a cool area for bouldering and the view was really cool. Highly recommend! The hostal was more fun than Ronda! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
10.0

Botz, the host, was amazing, friendly, and very knowledgable about the surrounding area. If you are looking for a small hostel where you are welcomed like an old friend, fed a delicious meal (Botz used to be a chef), and able to meet some very interesting people then El Refugio is for you. It is situated in a beautiful location, perfect for getting away from the craziness of the city. While it is a great location for hiking or rock climbing, it is also near enough to explore Ronda as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
10.0

Our stay was the absolute essence of what hostels are made for! Botz is in every way a perfect host, who not only helped us with all the infos we needed, but also prepared a fabolous dinner (he used to be a chef) and sat with us in the evening to exchange fascinating travel stories over drinks in the cozy lounge room. The hostel itself is right in the middle of a beautiful typical Andalusian village just outside of Roda. The building has a nice rooftop terrace with great views.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
9.4

I wasn't expecting such weirdly amazing hostel in a village like Cartajima. It's super cozy with the best host who is also an incredible chef with the best life stories.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2016
10.0

This is the most authentic hostel ive stayed at. Welcoming, safe, transport to and from Ronda if you dont have a car and it's located in one of the best places in southern Spain for hiking. Botz was a great host and gave me all the information he could about the area. Highly recommended for travelers who want that bit more! Sláinte :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Apr 2016
10.0

By far and away my favourite hostel in Spain! Botz is a seasoned traveller that has many great stories to share over a beer or five. Great walks in the area too, (Botz drew our maps for our walk) the only regret was having to move on after one night. I would definitely base myself in Cartijima and have a day trip to Ronda. This is one of those must stay places if you like great chat (and music was exceptional) Get a pickup though as buses are irregular. Thanks Botz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Beautiful provincial village, stunning views. If you want off the beaten track this is perfect. There isn't much by way of restaurants, bars or cafes in the village, so if you don't take your own food and booze Ian is a trained chef and will happily cook you a delicious meal. Unfortunately, we couldn't hang around for breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2016
10.0

Fantastic hands on hostel owner. Great banter delicious meals. Makes you feel at home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.