Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Refugio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
El Refugio Hostel Located at Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima, Ronda.
El Refugio Hostel
Spain
Ronda Malaga 29452 Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima
95% 315
36.6457138 -5.1541113
El Refugio Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

All the reviews do total justice to Botz. He's one hell of a host. From truly excellent food, to random talk, to showing us videos his producer girlfriend has made, Botz made our visit memorable. The hostel is located at Cartajima, a 20 minute, beautiful hill drive from Ronda. There are excellent views all around, and this is a great place to stay away from the city. Botz is also up for a hike anytime (provided the weather is nice), so do plan your visit around that if you can!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Oct 2016
9.7

The owner and host Botz is a very cool guy and the hostel is very special and unique. I like the surroundings, breakfast and his music . Also enjoyed our conversation. Thank you Botz! Hope I can come back one day .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2016
9.7

If you're looking for a unique experince Botz's hostel is perfect. We spent the evening sharing beers and stories with him, wish we could have stayed longer. Not for you if you're just coming in for a quick evening as its 20 mins away from Ronda, but great if you want to see more of the local/surrounding area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
10.0

BOTZ is the man. What a wonderful retreat from city life. Everything was perfect. He's a great cook, great conversationalist, and he's got the biggest heart. There were three other people staying here when I was here, and though we were strangers when we met, we became close by the end of our two days together because El Refugio is just a wonderful environment--relaxed, serene, and bumpin' if you want it to be! Love you Botz

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great place to stay at! A beautiful old house located in a Spanish countryside, it is as authentic as it can be. Perfect to enyoj some serenity and go for some small hikes. The owner is a great guy, very helpful and very friendly, tries to find common points with everyone. You can talk to him about practically anything. Thanks for everything Boltz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
9.7

One of the most unique hostels I've ever been to!!! We enjoyed our stay immensely. Big thank you to the owner for accommodating our 1 AM arrival ))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

without knowing it we booked the most beautiful hostel we ever stayed in!! despite it not being in ronda and us being a bit confused it was the best decision ever! the food was freshly cooked and we had the most interesting conversations with the owner! had a wonderful time!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
9.4

I had a great experience staying at El Refugio for two nights. The place is a wonderful 300 year old authentic Andalusian guesthouse. Bolz was a fantastic host. He provided information about interesting sites in the area. He was generous with his time. He was the perfect host. I can definitely recommend El Refugio to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Had a great time here. The place is not what you would expect and you should go there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

Botz is amazing! Couldn't ask for a better host. He made me feel right at home, more like a B&B than a hostel. Eat his food too! Simply an amazing experience. Miss you Botz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.