Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Refugio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
El Refugio Hostel Located at Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima, Ronda.
El Refugio Hostel
Spain
Ronda Malaga 29452 Calle de Cerillo, Cartajima
94% 307
36.6457138 -5.1541113
El Refugio Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great place to stay at! A beautiful old house located in a Spanish countryside, it is as authentic as it can be. Perfect to enyoj some serenity and go for some small hikes. The owner is a great guy, very helpful and very friendly, tries to find common points with everyone. You can talk to him about practically anything. Thanks for everything Boltz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

without knowing it we booked the most beautiful hostel we ever stayed in!! despite it not being in ronda and us being a bit confused it was the best decision ever! the food was freshly cooked and we had the most interesting conversations with the owner! had a wonderful time!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
9.4

I had a great experience staying at El Refugio for two nights. The place is a wonderful 300 year old authentic Andalusian guesthouse. Bolz was a fantastic host. He provided information about interesting sites in the area. He was generous with his time. He was the perfect host. I can definitely recommend El Refugio to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Had a great time here. The place is not what you would expect and you should go there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

Botz is amazing! Couldn't ask for a better host. He made me feel right at home, more like a B&B than a hostel. Eat his food too! Simply an amazing experience. Miss you Botz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
10.0

Was so great at El Refugio! Botz is awesome and so helpful, super kind. He will hook you up with transportation if you need it! I have no complaints. This was a great find and I highly highly recommend it, especially to those who want something a little bit off the beaten path.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
9.7

This place is so unique. We had a car so it wasn't too bad for us to get there at all, but without it, it might be a bit tricky. We only stayed one night, but I wish we had stayed longer. Botz is extremely friendly and accommodating. He's got so many stories about travel and the history of that area. You'll love it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Adorable 300 year old house in a small village (with a pool) in the mountains. The view was worth every penny. Unlike anything you've ever seen. You're completely surrounded with mountains. Has a great rooftop terrace! Botz was a fantastic host who can pick you up which was very convenient. We were even served a fantastic large chili dinner. A great place to make friends and enjoy dinner and a shooting star filled walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

Gentleman Botz hosted us last month. He's a wonderfully interesting, worldly, and intelligent chap who made us feel so welcome even though we were only able to stay a short time. We would highly recommend staying here. The beauty of the mountains, the conversation, the food... All round alternative diamond in the rough of generic and uninteresting hostels. So pleased to have been recommended this place by a friend who also had a fantastic time and we would certainly urge you to visit. Sara & Ben

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.0

We had a lovely stay with Botz, he was very entertaining and we had great conversations with him. Also an amazing cook. We rented a car and drove through the mountainous area/did some hiking. It was nice to stay in a quiet village a bit outside of the hustle and bustle of Ronda. It also didn't feel super touristy in the village- which we really liked! We would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.