Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Refugio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th May 2017
10.0

Awesome little place! Not in Ronda but in a small town nearby. Botz was kind enough to give us a ride to and from town because we didn't have car. The Hostel is in a beautiful little town with a killer view from the roof. Definitely get dinner during your stay, Botz is an incredible chef and an even better host. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

El Refugio is a unique hostel experience, in large part because the owner Botz is an exceptional host, chef, storyteller and adventurer. Botz was incredibly welcoming and went out of his way to bring me into the local life (i.e. the municipal bar!) during my time in Cartajima. He also had a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area. El Refugio is perfect for a peaceful, rustic getaway from city life, and it certainly helps that the beds are supremely comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
6.9

This hostel would is *great* if you're looking for a party atmosphere, but I would not recommend it for people who aren't looking for that kind of an experience. Botz, the owner, is very hospitable (even offered to make us dinner and breakfast) but he got very drunk the night we were there and the music was loud basically all night. Our stay would have been great if we were trying to get sloshed and party, but it wasn't what we were looking for. Would not recommend for a quiet getaway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Didnt stay here but they were flexible with my cancellation which is always nice :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice place in a small village in the mountains, a bit away from Ronda. Perfect place to get away from the hassle/stress and chill for a while! The host is a really nice and interesting person and awesome to talk to, so go there you wont regret it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
10.0

Most cozy and wonderful hostel I have ever been to. The view is priceless from the roof. Our host was quite friendly, and cooked a fantastic breakfast that was quite cheap. The hiking and the local pueblas are amazing to see and experience. I would go back in a heartbeat if we had time! Thanks Botz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

Great spot to hike and relax. Boltz is a great host and serves delicious meals!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Charming old house in a quiet charming little town. Nice roof terrace with a beautiful view. Botz was a good host the short stay I was there, made me a good meal both in the evening and for breakfast, and I enjoyed having a beer with him by the fireplace. He also seemed really service-minded which I appreciated. (As a bonus it's also pretty close to the blue smurf village haha, which I drove through by accident after I left, if you feel like making your day slightly more absurd.)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
10.0

When we booked, we had no idea where we were going but it turned out to be the perfect way to start our week in Spain. The village is tiny, seriously ancient and the actual house feels like it was built hundreds of years ago- all very charming. Botz made us feel very at home, is an excellent cook (and keeps his prices very decent!) And gave us great advice on a local hike/visit in the neighbour town. When compared to staying in Ronda, this place offers much more charm, calm and the "real deal".

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.