Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Refugio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • amyhosking5214
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel is so good. We absolutely loved it. It's in the middle of a quiet little Spanish town, off the beaten track but close enough to Ronda, about a 20 minute drive. Botz, the owner, is so much fun as others have said but he's also so hospitable, cooks the most amazing meals and offers the best local knowledge of stuff to do in the area. We could easily have stayed longer in such a beautiful place with all the tips he gave us. Highly, highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • parkie1909
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2017
9.1

The best part of this hostel was Botz, very welcoming and great to share a beer with. Location a touch out of the way but really scenic. Rooms were also great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
10.0

Awesome little place! Not in Ronda but in a small town nearby. Botz was kind enough to give us a ride to and from town because we didn't have car. The Hostel is in a beautiful little town with a killer view from the roof. Definitely get dinner during your stay, Botz is an incredible chef and an even better host. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

El Refugio is a unique hostel experience, in large part because the owner Botz is an exceptional host, chef, storyteller and adventurer. Botz was incredibly welcoming and went out of his way to bring me into the local life (i.e. the municipal bar!) during my time in Cartajima. He also had a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area. El Refugio is perfect for a peaceful, rustic getaway from city life, and it certainly helps that the beds are supremely comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
6.9

This hostel would is *great* if you're looking for a party atmosphere, but I would not recommend it for people who aren't looking for that kind of an experience. Botz, the owner, is very hospitable (even offered to make us dinner and breakfast) but he got very drunk the night we were there and the music was loud basically all night. Our stay would have been great if we were trying to get sloshed and party, but it wasn't what we were looking for. Would not recommend for a quiet getaway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Didnt stay here but they were flexible with my cancellation which is always nice :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice place in a small village in the mountains, a bit away from Ronda. Perfect place to get away from the hassle/stress and chill for a while! The host is a really nice and interesting person and awesome to talk to, so go there you wont regret it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
10.0

Most cozy and wonderful hostel I have ever been to. The view is priceless from the roof. Our host was quite friendly, and cooked a fantastic breakfast that was quite cheap. The hiking and the local pueblas are amazing to see and experience. I would go back in a heartbeat if we had time! Thanks Botz!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.