Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Tuco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
El Tuco Hostel Located at Av. Grau 835, Santiago, Cusco.
El Tuco Hostel
Peru
Cusco Cusco Av. Grau 835, Santiago
91% 340
-13.5249727 -71.9779372
El Tuco Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mcgoulet6094
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Dec 2016
5.7

I don't get why this hostel has been rated so highly. I've been to equivalent hostels with a rate of 75-80 % recommendation elsewhere. Furniture and sheets are runned out. Cleanliness is Ok, but could be improved. There where hair inside my pillow case. Electricity is weird. Breakfast is a small bread, jam, and instant coffee or tea. We didn't meet Coco! Staff was polite, but not friendly or helpful. Reservation can't be modified once arrived. Even with notice of several days in advance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Dec 2016
6.9

The kitchen is well equiped and clean. The breakfast is okay, you could buy more but I think the price was too high. The staff really wants to fix everything as fast as possible and is nice and friendly. The bed was good. You always have to wait until someones opening the door.The wifi was really slow(should have been fixed now, but we couldn't check).The shower was inconsistent and hard to handle.You don't get towels or soap (pay extra),and for this price you can be closer to centro historico

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing comment, sometimes there are people so nice like you writing many things good like you for the soooo high rate, thak you really.

4th Dec 2016
10.0

I LOVE this place!!! Some of the things i liked the most: 1. Good quality to price ratio. For 16$ a night i felt i basically got a mini aprtment with a lot of privacy 2. The water in the shower was HOT (all the times), which felt vey different from the "warm" water i had in most other places 3. Owners are super nice and helpful 4. I like to cook my own meals to save money and the kitchen was big and great for cooking. 5. It is silent and the athmosphere is super relaxing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
8.9

This place is a great hostel for couples. The rooms are very spacious and it is in a beautiful old building. The key differentiator for this hostel is the owner Coco and his wife. He went out of his way to ensure we had a great time in cusco and on the salkantey trek. Giving us advice on how to avoid altitude sickness etc. It was a really great experience for both of us and I recommend this hostel for anyone who wants a cultural experience in cusco as opposed to the party scene.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Nov 2016
7.7

Clean and comfortable rooms, about a 10 minute walk from the main square but in a safe location. Helpful staff and well prices. Absolutley no atmosphere but good for relaxing and resting before or after Machu Picchu.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
10.0

Had a wonderful experience here! Coco is incredibly accommodating and hospitable. The place is beautiful. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here. When I come back to Cusco, I will surely be staying here. Thank you so much!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Oct 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, very clean, comfortable beds. About a 10 minute walk from the main plaza. You have to be let in and out at all times which is ok as there is always someone around but we did feel bad coming back late in case we woke Cathy up. We recommend this place for a comfortable quiet stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
9.7

If I ever come back to Cusco I would stay at this hostel again. Coco was very knowledgeable and a great host. He would wake up at 3am to let us out for an early morning tour to Rainbow Mountain and also let us leave some of our gear at the hostel while we hiked the Salkantay Trek. The room was very spacious and clean and the water in the shower was hot! Great value for the cost and would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.7

Great stay, secure hostel with good wifi and Coco (the owner) is super friendly and helpful. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
7.1

Location far from center in nondescript area with lots of traffic. Rooms spacious but can get very cold at night, no heating provided. WiFi was broken both days I was there for most of the time. Even after it was "fixed", WiFi was slow and often failed to bring up Web pages. Breakfast was some bland rolls and instant coffee, nothing special. Good hot showers. Manager thought he was doing a favor by allowing check-out a day early even though notified at 1pm on the day prior.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.