Hostelworld.com

El Tuco Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.5
El Tuco Hostel Located at Av. Grau 835, Santiago, Cusco.
El Tuco Hostel
Peru
Cusco Cusco Av. Grau 835, Santiago
92% 264
-13.5249727 -71.9779372
El Tuco Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jun 2016
10.0

What a great place to stay while in Cusco. The showers really were some of the hottest and best we've had on our trip through Peru. Coco is really friendly and helpful with plenty of advice for things to do and how to travel to the outlying towns in the sacred valley. We also were able to leave our excess luggage at el tuco during our inka trail trek which was extremely helpful. The hostel is a really short walk to the plaza de armas as well (7minutes). We would highly recommend el tuco!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th May 2016
7.1

Pros: Cheap hostel, comfortable bed, hot shower. Cons: breakfast is poor. Bread and coffee or tea. That's it. You can purchase a small salty pancake made on site for 10 soles! Ripoff! Don't do it. Also you are charged 5 per day for a towel which again is greedy by hostel. And also charged for a small bar of soap 1.50. Internet is terrible. The inconvenience of coming and going to the hostel. You must wait for the owner to let you in and out and often they are not around. Feels like a prison

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2016
9.1

Firstly, Coco (the hostel owner) is a fantastic guy, up at any hour to help you out. We arrived in the early hours and came back from a trek in the late hours and he was always available. Our room was a good size and had an ensuite bathroom with a brilliant shower and hot water! For breakfast, there is the option to have eggs and pancakes as well as the often needed Coca tea! Best of all, Coco is happy to keep your luggage safe during the Machu Picchu trek. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

El Tuco completely deserves every good review it has on here. Coco was so accommodating and kind when we were having various issues. He really made us feel at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rafaelmaun4874
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th May 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels that I've already stayed. I got a private room, it's clean, with good bed and hot shower. It's a small hostel, everyone is really helpful, specially Jorge (Coco). I would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
8.6

Nice place, slightly away from the main square but good wifi and hot showers. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

Such a nice hostel! The room is spacious, everything looks nice and clean and Coco is a great host. He works so hard!! Price/quality ratio are really good, although the extra services like renting towels are maybe a bit expensive, perhaps charge per towel in stead of per day? Thank you so much!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
10.0

Great staff, excellent English and very helpful with information about what to see and do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Cooper069
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
9.7

What can I say? A wonderful place to stay on my first ever solo travelling expedition. I had no Spanish yet Coco and his staff bent over backwards to not only make me feel welcome but give advice, tour information, arrange a social meeting with other guests when I felt a bit low, and ride to the rescue when a week long excursion almost didn't take place due to an oversight by the tour company. Coco is an absolute hero and it's a pleasure to have stayed in his establishment. Thanks Coco....!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
9.7

Great! So happy with this place, especially considering the money. More opaque blinds on the private rooms would have been appreciated, but that did not impact much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.