Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Tuco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
El Tuco Hostel Located at Av. Grau 835, Santiago, Cusco.
El Tuco Hostel
Peru
Cusco Cusco Av. Grau 835, Santiago
92% 297
-13.5249727 -71.9779372
El Tuco Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Everything was amazing! Coco, the manager, is super helpful and gladly answered our numerous questions. He is also very knowledgable and gave us lots of travel advice. The hostel is a 10-15 walk from the Plaza de Armas and is therefore a lot more quiet than other more centrally located options. Our room had a private bathroom, very clean, with at least 15min of hot water for the shower. The hostel has a locked storage room where we left our luggage when we left for a 4-day trek to machu Picchu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Rooms were clean. Water in the shower was always hot. The hostel is 10 mins walk from the main square. Coco, the owner, was always very helpful, prepared breakfast for us at 6.30 am when we had to leave early. We were travelling back and forth from Cusco to other locations and Coco kindly allowed us to store our suitcases for several days for no charge. Great price for en suite bathroom privates. Wonderful stay! Totally recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2016
9.7

El Tuco is my favorite hostel in Peru after 5 weeks of traveling! Coco and his wife were so welcoming and accommodating, helped us to organize our Salkantay hike last minute. The rooms were so clean, hot water, homey and chill atmosphere. Perfect for us as we were sick of the dorm scene. For anyone saying it's far from downtown its only a ten minute walk, it's so touristy around the main plazas so the location was preferable for us. (Also the best wifi we had in Peru)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
8.9

El Tuco is a great budget spot in Cusco. The rooms are not very luxurious (the beds are a little old), but they are clean. Free breakfast was nice and included tea, coffee, bread with butter and jam. For an extra 12 soles, you can get fresh orange juice and eggs with it. The staff is very nice, and were super helpful for getting around town (pro tip, you can get a bus to a beautiful ruin called Tipon from just outside the hostel for 1.5 soles!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
8.9

Coco and his wife are great! El Tuco was clean, and the two primary staff were very welcoming. Wifi worked well, and everything was well-maintained. Only small issues would be charging per day for towel use and a pretty small breakfast of bread and tea (unless you're willing to pay 12 soles). Other hostels I stayed at either charged a one-time towel fee or provided free towels. And breakfasts were either better at many places or significantly cheaper for eggs. Ten-minute walk to the plaza.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

We stayed in El Tuco for 2 nights before and after the salcantay trek. The owners are great people and help out with everything. After being exhausted after a rough 5 day trek, returning to El tuco felt like returning to a home away from home. I'd definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nataschahamann
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.1

We had a great stay at El Tuco. Great service and very helpfull staff. The rooms were spacious, good beds and very nice atmosphere. The house is old and well-kept. We stayed in a twin room and a double room, both very nice. Bathrooms are nice and clean, showers luke warm in the morning, but hot in the afternoon. Breakfast is simple, bread and jam, but fine kitchen facilities. A bit away from central Cuzco, but highly recommendable!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.4

Excellent place a short walk from central Cusco. The room are clean and warm, and the showers hot. The owner is exceptionally helpful in booking, or organising solo, trips. Good shared kitchen. Not a party place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ricorub5611
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Coco is extremely helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.7

El Tuco is the perfect pre and post Machu Picchu hostel if you want to relax and get a great nights sleep. The rooms are really well maintained and huge, plenty of room for everything. They store your bags while you're away for a few nights for no cost at all. It's not a party hostel, but we still met quite a few people over the free breakfasts and got some great pointers on where to go in Cusco. The owner Coco is great and will go to any lengths to make sure your stay is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.