Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Tuco Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
El Tuco Hostel Located at Av. Grau 835, Santiago, Cusco.
El Tuco Hostel
Peru
Cusco Cusco Av. Grau 835, Santiago
93% 282
-13.5249727 -71.9779372
El Tuco Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ricorub5611
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Coco is extremely helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.7

El Tuco is the perfect pre and post Machu Picchu hostel if you want to relax and get a great nights sleep. The rooms are really well maintained and huge, plenty of room for everything. They store your bags while you're away for a few nights for no cost at all. It's not a party hostel, but we still met quite a few people over the free breakfasts and got some great pointers on where to go in Cusco. The owner Coco is great and will go to any lengths to make sure your stay is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
8.9

Worth staying at if only to meet the legendary Coco, in recent years a strong contender for the Hardest Working Man in Hospitality. Like some other hostels that eschew key deposits for entrance/exit by request, El Tuco takes its security seriously. It's only real downside is its location, which may deter short term tourists. However, with arguably the best showers in Peru, heartwarming service and real value for money, this is a hostel that will make you believe in the mercy of the world again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
10.0

I highly recommend this place if you're looking for a place to stay in cusco. This place is about 10-15 mins walking. It's in a very safe area. If you're looking for a party hostel this isn't the place for you. Breakfast is included with your stay. I stayed a couple nights due to early arrival from puno. i wish I could have stayed longer but I had booked an air bnb months before my arrival that was 30 mins away compared to the walking distance I had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.6

Coco is great, good location and very reasonably priced. First night we had a loud room at the front of the hotel but Coco kindly moved us to a different room at the back for the second night, which was much quieter. Nice simple breakfast. Bit of a shame about the towel not being included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
10.0

We stayed 3 nights at El Tuco and it was absolutely perfect. Coco and his family were great hosts, the rooms were clean, beds comfy, and showers had great pressure and got very hot (this can be hard to find in other hostels we had stayed in). Kitchen is open for use at all times and coco gave us plenty of good advice for touring around the city. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.9

There aren't many options in Cusco for well-priced private rooms but this is definitely one! I really enjoyed staying here. It lacks any real vibe but it's quiet, the rooms are spacious and bright, the showers are scorching and the owner, Coco, is so friendly and treats you like one of the family. It's a little far from the plaza but not if you enjoy walking and really is only 10 minutes walk. sure you have to pay extra for towels but we travel with our own so not a problem for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
9.4

Even though the hostel was located right outside the historical center, there was no problem getting around the city from there. The staff was also extremely helpful. They even provided extra bedding for our room. Was able to meet some cool travelers during breakfast time. Overall, the room was big and comfy and provided a much nicer experience in Cusco the second time around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
10.0

Super, super helpful friendly and informative owner and staff in a lovely, large colonial building with en suite privates for remarkably competitive rates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
5.7

The system to get in and out of the hostel is very flawed (you need to wake the owner up to leave or enter and cannot do so without his assistance). He isn't reliable though. I got locked out for several hours in the middle of the night one night when the hostel lost power. The owner is also somewhat rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.