Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero Cali Hostel & Salsa School

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2017
9.4

Brilliant place! It was pretty central and offered loads of tours which made it really easy to see the city. Pool area was lovely and a lovely atmosphere but still chilled. Would highly recommend! Staff really friendly and good with booking things!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
8.6

Great place to meet tons of people! The pool/bar area is very nice to make friends, and everyone goes out when the bar closes, at 11:30pm. There are free animations every night, and the staff people are super helpful and fun. I'll definitely go back there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks a lot for your review!! we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel, and hope you will be back!!

10th Aug 2017
9.1

Great place to hang out for a bit and learn to salsa! I stayed two extra nights I enjoyed it so much! Pool is nice. Free breakfast is OK (just cornflakes, toast, a little fruit, and coffee). My only complaint is there's no good way to charge your phone. There are 4 outlets in the 8-bed dorms and they're all on one side of the room. And the rooms are never locked so you can't comfortably leave your phone plugged in there during the day if you didn't get an outlet the night before.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel!! Great staff, great Salsa lessons, great location, great atmosphere! A must stay if you're in Cali.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks a lot for your review, we reaaally appreciate that everything was as great as you mention it !!!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.1

Just stayed there for one night. So I can't say that much. But my impression is that's it's kind of a party hostel and you need earplugs for the night. Didn't use the kitchen but the shower was clean. Breakfast was ok, topical white toast with marmalade and coffee But you got plenty. They also offer some activities like salsa lessons.. and nice atmosphere at the pool.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • el-angel19791200
  • Peru, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.7

I was travelling around Colombia for 16 days and this hostel is definitely the best place! Amazing vibes, The swimming pool is a perfect plus cuz CALI can get really hot sometimes and it's a really nice place to hang out and make new friends! Lots of solo travellers and there is free salsa lessons!! So many things to do ....I loved my stay in El Viajero. and Leslie the barmaid is really cool and play good music .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks a lot for your review, we enjoyed your stay too!!!! hope you will be back soon at our hostel!!

31st Jul 2017
9.4

I'm travelling around Colombia for a month and this is definitely the best place I stayed in so far! Amazing vibe, and staff!! The swimming pool is a plus and a must (Cali can get really hot sometimes) and it's a really nice place to hangout and make new friends! Lots of solo travellers and there is free salsa lessons!! So many things to do over there and the hostel organizes lots of stuff to do too! Salsa clubs, party bus, and even a party at a rooftop! I loved my stay in El Viajero.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your comment! We are so glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you son at our Hostels.

  • AnnieRose89
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.6

The main draw is the pool, in a city as hot as Cali, it's really welcome. Security is good, each visitor has their own safe and it's a 24 hour reception. It is however, a bit weird that you have to put the bedding on yourself, especially as check in isn't until 2.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review! We´re glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at our Hostels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jul 2017
7.7

The pool definitely gives this hostel a better atmosphere, The bar needs more tables and the cocktails are pretty average. They have free salsa lessons which is a great way to meet people and the information board for tours is pretty helpful. I think the rooms are ridiculously small and very crowded! The bathroom in out private room had no windows or ventilation which made the room even hotter than it already was. For the price of the room it was very disappointing

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks a lot for your review, glad that you enjoyed salsa classes and i am pretty sure more activities that we offer!!sorry that there is no window in the bathroom due to the big window with a nice view at the pool area. We hope to see you son at our Hostels.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
7.4

It was a nice place but definitely shouldn't have cost as much as it did. The rooms are really small and stuffy. Makes it difficult to sleep at night. Pool is great. Everybody at the hostel is really friendly aND there's generally a food vibe. But for real you're probably better off sleeping on one of the hammocks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our hostels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.