Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero Cali Hostel & Salsa School

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
10.0

Great enviornment, easy to meet people and great staff. Only booked 1 night at a time but ended up staying 4 nights and they gave me the emergency bed when the hostel was all full.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.7

Really freindly staff and free salsa and yoga classes!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nnatee
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Abselutely amazing hostel. Planned to stay in cali for only two days but fell in love with the city and the hostel and extended it for a week. Great communal space, generous and helpful that really improved the stay, and awesome atmosphere. The spanish, yoga and especially salsa classes were all fun and high quality. The hostel feels very safe and is located right next to good resturants and club. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review! We're sure you are leaving Cali with many salsa moves and lots of stories to tell ;) Hope to have you back in our hostels!

  • piousbox7028
  • Russia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Jun 2017
10.0

I usually don't leave reviews, but this hostel is exceptional and definitely warrant a comment. Great atmosphere, great location, great salsa! Many, many people extend their stay here. I extended mine. Be sure to take private salsa instruction, it's very helpful. The instructors are great, and the city is alive with Salsa. Great vibe all around, book a longer trip (or extend) and you'll be sure to love this place, as have I ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
5.4

No lockers, too dirty rooms, too much dust, 4 bathrooms ( 2 male,2 female) for 87 people, too bad and almost never working wifi, cant take with alcohool from outside ( just buy from their bar), no lights after 12 am the staff is great but they are too professional no personal contact or interaction, seems mostly like a hostel managed like a hotel ( just without the facilities of a hotel ofc)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Daniel, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at El Viajero. Just for the record, we do have lockers for every bed, and a safe box (also for every bed) for the important stuff. There are 2 male and 2 female bathrooms in the hostel, plus 2 unisex located next to the pool. Also we have some rooms with private bathroom. Alcohol from the street is not allowed since we have a bar where we try to maintain low prices and give our guests good cheap options like a daily happy hour. And last, we respect our neighbors and the guests that want to rest after midnight. At the hostel we have time for pool games, dancing, partying, and also sleeping... we think it's fair enough. We hope to finde you in a better mood for your next visit to El Viajero, we'll be willing to make a better experience for you.

2nd Jun 2017
8.0

Had a good time at El Viajero. Camillo, one of the staff members, was taking care of us really well and was always helpful and willing to give information, tipps and directions. When off work, he would join us in the night to hang out or show us around San Antonio. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review Christian! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time at our hostel, and we're sure Camilo did his best to make your experience in Cali great! We hope to have you back at our hostels in Colombia and Uruguay.

31st May 2017
8.6

Great location, decent breakfast (bread, cereal, fruit, jam, coffee), pool and sweet chillout spots, cheap booze, nice vibe at night, free salsa and yoga classes, which are great! As in most of El Viajero hostels staff is kind of useless and you have to put the sheets on your bed, not a fan of that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your comment! We are so glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you son at our Hostels.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
7.1

I booked a ensuite double bedroom which was nice and clean. However, it was very hot. The main inconvenient was that we couldn't keep the fan on. If we turn the light off, the fan goes off simultaneously.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review! Of course you can leave the fan on with the light off, just pulling the small chain of the ceiling fan. We hope to have you again at our Hostels.

  • andreaiseppi2311
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
26th May 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel. Booked 2 nights ended up staying for 9. Lots of people complain that Cali hasn't got anything to offer but I love this city! With this hostel it's impossible to be bored: salsa, yoga, Spanish classes, daily tours and the pool/bar area is so relaxing. Mix of party/chill vibe. Good hot showers and decent wifi. Loved my private salsa classes. My only suggestion is the kitchen needs better equipment and if the bar sold food would be ideal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. Thanks for the advice, we gonna get more equipment for the kitchen then.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th May 2017
7.7

Nice place, decent staff. Party hostel with a good pool and great bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our hostels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.