X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero Cali Hostel & Salsa School Reviews

Carrera 5 No. 4 - 56, San Antonio, Cali, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
414 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

It's was a good experience.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel - lovely space, easy to meet people, good party atmosphere and great place to stay if you want to dance salsa.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

If you love Salsa and that's your purpose of being in Cali this is a centrally located great place to stay. If not, and you dislike more noise at 3 on a Monday morning than at 9 this probably isn't for you. Staff were helpful and nice and the pool was great though. But dorms were cramped and the area seemed a little dodgy.


97%

Perfect place, great atmosphere.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, Loved the pool, music and vibe. No aircon in the rooms if you are super fussy about sleeping temperature, but I was comfortable.Went on a waterfall trip organized by the hostel. Really great place to chill


97%

The hostel had a great atmosphere and the people are amazing. The staff is phenomenal. Leslie at the bar was one of the best hostel bartenders I've encountered and Ron was geat at organizing activities at night for the gueat.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel.....loved the pool y the salsa lessons. Good wifi.


89%

The hostel was relly good, cant understand why the raise the price at weekends though, im a backpacker, every day is the same for me. Staff is great, i loved roland and the barkeeper leslie was so much fun!

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed our stay and the free salsa classes. Ronald who works there was particularly helpful!

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice rooms, friendly staff, and amazing pool and bar. Highly recommended!

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I think this hostel made Cali amazing for me as I have never encountered such friendly staff befor.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff are not too helpful and are not that friendly. They say at the hostel that if you say anything that isn't working or is broken to let the staff know, but that clearly isn't true as a lot of chairs and tiles, etc are in very bad shape and are not attended to. But if you are looking for a hostel with a fun social and party atmosphere on the weekend, this is probably the best place to be. Backpackers here seem very friendly!


77%

Great Hostel! Loved the pool. And the Sunday BBQ was amazing


57%

This hostel has a nice pool and hammock area to chill out in. But the one thing that was really absolutely horrible was the 8 bed dorm. It was so so hot at night and it felt like there was no oxygen in there. Also there was no space at all and it was super cramped, definitely a space too small to put 8 people. They should change that small room to a 4 person dorm, or at least install air conditioning for the sake of their guests. I've stayed in way better rooms for half the price.


71%

8 room bunk much too crowded for price paid (30.000 per night)


97%

Really really like this hostel. Very clean! Very Nice pool etc. if you're not looking to salsa then beware pretty much everyone else is bad the chat revolves around that - it's amazing how people who have done 1 hour salsa class can talk about it for 2 hours :). Would really recommend the hostel, in an awesome neighbourhood.


83%

The free salsa lessons are a must! This is a great hostel to relax by the pool all day & salsa in the night. I would definitely stay again.


89%

Place is great with really responsive and attentive staff. Really nice chill area with a pool, bar and hangout area where people hangout. I got a private room to get more sleep, and it was great. Each person has their own security box in their room. The bathroom was quite small (2 stalls, 1 sink), and the showers are awkwardly facing the pool area. Salsa classes are easy to sign-up for and there are 2 studio rooms in the hostel.


100%

This is an amazing hostel which has really made my experience in Cali what it has been. The staff is super friendly and make you feel like you're part of the family. As for the salsa school, it's great. My instructor was Victor and he took me from knowing close to nothing to being an advanced level salsa dancer. I'd definitely recommend this hostel to anyone going to Cali.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, great staff and great location. :)

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Cali Hostels

Please give us your feedback