X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero Cali Hostel & Salsa School Reviews

Carrera 5 No. 4 - 56, San Antonio, Cali, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
275 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

i really feel at home at el viagero. i travel all over colombia and we had the best time in el viagero in cali. stayed here for 14 days fantastic! learned salsa excelent teachers and great staff help you with everthing. if you wat a fantastic time in cali...stay here!!!!!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A great hostel! Great people, great dance instructors, relax by the pool and nap in the hammocks. Really enjoyed my time there (went for 3 nights and stayed for 6).


100%

I stayed at El Viajero for 5 days, but spent many more nights visiting with friends during happy hour. The atmosphere is convivial, the wonderful staff clearly enjoy their work and do their best to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay, and the swimming pool is a welcome respite from Cali's hot, hot days. The hostel is well-located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in Cali (San Antonio), near salsa clubs/going out areas, and very near one of the main transportation arteries.


100%

Great Hostel, free salsa lessons was a highlight. Really well organised but still easy going vibes!!!


100%

We were staying two nights, but we had such a good time that we ended up staying t seven nights!! The hostel offered free salsa clases every afternoon which was great. The atmosphere at the hostel is really good and The Staff is really helpful and very very nice. Since Cali is the captial of salsa the hostel organized salsa nights every night so the guests could go out together! I strongly recommend El Viajero if you're staying in Cali! Simply 100% excellent!

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Only stayed one night to break up the journey from Salento to Quito. Staff recommended we take the night bus from Cali to Ipiales which is still being reported as being an unsafe journey at night which was a bit off putting. There is lots of places around to eat and eat cheaply as well. The in house salsa school seems to be very popular but we weren't able to use it but a lot of people in our dorm were.


94%

Great place -- fantastic people -- at times difficult to get good sleep because of the size of the rooms and the fact that there's near constant music playing at all daylight hours, but overall very cool place.


83%

I had a great time here. The place was clean. I enjoyed the pool, it definitely helped beat the Cali heat.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good hostel. clean, good showers, decent breakfast. Very social place


89%

Lovely pool, breakfast and general design of the hostel. I stayed in a private room that was very nice too.


100%

The best hostel ever!! i had a great time at El Viajero Cali, the people that work there are really nice and helpful, the salsa lessons are really good and fun you can not miss it. they have a really good area that you can meet people and chill out and the bar and swimming pool make it perfect because Cali is hot.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place ever, good atmosphere, the salsa lessons are great, the staff is really helpful. highly recommend if you go to Cali stay at El Viajero Hostel.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time. The staff is really friendly, they always help you to find interesting places to visit. The hostel is always clean and the spaces are all beautiful. The neighborhood is safe, beautiful and a good place to walk. If I go back Cali, I will go again to El Viajero hostel.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really liked the hostel. It was in a safe neighborhood, had access to amazing amenities, and had really friendly people. It is really easy to interact with people because most of the activities are centered around the pool and bar. Additionally, they have a free salsa class Monday through Saturday. Finally, there is a recommendation for a salsa club every day!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had an absolutely fantastic time. As soon as I arrived I joined a salsa class which I enjoyed thoroughly. To be able to jump into a pool afterwards was pure luxury. I spent a great three days there and would happily return for longer.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Cheers from all the staff! I hope soon again !! :)

83%

Great value for money and located in a convenient, safe location. Not as much of a party hostel as some of the other reviews imply, bar closes at 10.30 weekdays and 11.30 weekend. But the atmosphere is chilled out and it isn't too noisy at night because of this. Free salsa class was really great and the staff recommended some really good salsa bars nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Cheers from all the staff! I hope soon again !! :)

83%

El Viajero is great if you are looking for people to party/go out with. The hostel hosts Yoga Classes and Salsa Classes for free and recommends clubs at night. Don't stay in this hostel if you can't sleep without noise. The dorms are all right by the courtyard with semi/open windows and you can hear people talking and music, all times of the day and night. For security, the hostel has you wear a wristband to let you in the door. However, it didn't seem like they checked very closely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Greetings from the staff of El Viajero!

83%

Nice but if your room is in the patio you will be disturb by clubbing music of the bar from 10 am to 11pm


86%

It's a shame as this potentially a great hostel in a great location. Building and layout is really good with a swimming pool, bar and chill area. I'm not one for negative comments but I have to say the staff on reception were terrible! I'd walk in and smile or say "Hola", and they'd just stare back with a blank face. Not welcoming or at all! Also, I'm all for music in a bar in the evening before going out etc. But Avicii at 11am louder than you'd like in a club while you're relaxing by the pool?


100%

Nice Place. People from all over the world. The staff was exceptional. Leslie,Nataly,Margarita,Jerrson and Ronald great people awesome staff. They have the answer. Had an awesome time. Good atmosphere. Well run place. If your in Cali you have to check them out.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Cali Hostels

Please give us your feedback