Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero Cali Hostel & Salsa School

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th May 2017
2.0

Bar closes at 22:30 and nobody is allowed in the communal areas after this time. Free salsa class was too full, not enough space to move. Surrounding area was unsafe. Dorm rooms were too small for the number of people and sockets all located near the door away from most beds.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your review,and really sorry for your experience, that s a fact the bar close early during the week at 22:30 as we mention it on our pages!! salsa lessons are FREE thats the reason sometimes the room is full. We have 8 dorms and 8 private rooms to choose for your best confort!

  • seyi01
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th May 2017
6.3

Good overall experience which was was ruined by a member of staff telling us we couldn't extend our stay as they were fully booked although on hostel world there were plenty of beds and in the hostel we could see there was plenty of available beds also

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks guys for your stayin but we are really sorry there are some behaviors that we don t accept at all, it is about respect most of all to others travelers, we have told you twice that ILLEGAL sustancies are not allowed but you didnt pay atention to our staff trying to do the best to keep good atmosphere inside our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2017
8.0

The best thing about this hostel is the location and how safe it is! Loved the pool and free salsa lessons! Bit of a weird vibe and our dorm was used as a communal area which was a bit annoying and one of the beds is really strangely placed basically in front of the door!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.3

I liked staying here. At the time the place was very busy which I think it's always the case. The place is very light. Everything except rooms is outside but about 2/3 under roof which is good for shade and when it rains. There is a nice pool with deck chairs and a bar. What I did not like was the bar ( no happy hour, etc.). Also, the 10p dorm was cramped and noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
9.1

Really good place to chill for a day or two en route north from Ecuador. Free salsa class was great. Breakfast has decent options - bread, toaster, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice. Probably one of the best wifi's we've had in South America. Lockers large enough for backpack. Pool and bar area well designed to create sociable atmosphere - not a party hostel but easy to meet other travellers etc. Close to all main sites (not many in Cali) and local food places (OW pizza was great). Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your comment! We are so glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you son at our Hostels.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location with restaurants and bars within walking distance. Really good free salsa lessons and staff are really helpful with suggestions and organising tours. Great, friendly atmosphere - would stay again when next in Cali!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Diane! Thanks a lot for your review! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at El Viajero and we hope to have you back at any of our hostels in Colombia and Uruguay!!

26th Apr 2017
9.1

Almost a party hostel until 10:30pm... but then promptly turns into a retirement village. Apart from all the rules, it is a great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review! We´re glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at our Hostels.

24th Apr 2017
9.7

Possibly the best value for money hostel I've stayed at... the salsa instructors are passionate and engaging, and lounging by the pool is just the ideal place to be when the sun's out and the bar's full of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

¡Muchas gracias por tu comentario! Nos alegra mucho saber que tu experiencia en El Viajero fue satisfactoria. Esperamos verte muy pronto en nuestros Hostels.

20th Apr 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel, free salsa lessons are good to check if you want to progress or not. I took 5 lessons after it. Every night a group goes out to dance salsa. The pool is cool, but I wished the bar stocked some more drinks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The Staff was incredibly nice and always took care of us. I'll definitely be coming back here! Each member of the staff was so caring and helpful, that truly made the difference for me. I'm not one to normally leave reviews, but the staff was incredible! I wanted to let others know of their great service, as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review! We´re glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at our Hostels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.