X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero Cali Hostel & Salsa School Reviews

Carrera 5 No. 4 - 56, San Antonio, Cali, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
253 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best hostel ever!! i had a great time at El Viajero Cali, the people that work there are really nice and helpful, the salsa lessons are really good and fun you can not miss it. they have a really good area that you can meet people and chill out and the bar and swimming pool make it perfect because Cali is hot.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place ever, good atmosphere, the salsa lessons are great, the staff is really helpful. highly recommend if you go to Cali stay at El Viajero Hostel.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time. The staff is really friendly, they always help you to find interesting places to visit. The hostel is always clean and the spaces are all beautiful. The neighborhood is safe, beautiful and a good place to walk. If I go back Cali, I will go again to El Viajero hostel.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really liked the hostel. It was in a safe neighborhood, had access to amazing amenities, and had really friendly people. It is really easy to interact with people because most of the activities are centered around the pool and bar. Additionally, they have a free salsa class Monday through Saturday. Finally, there is a recommendation for a salsa club every day!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had an absolutely fantastic time. As soon as I arrived I joined a salsa class which I enjoyed thoroughly. To be able to jump into a pool afterwards was pure luxury. I spent a great three days there and would happily return for longer.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Cheers from all the staff! I hope soon again !! :)

83%

Great value for money and located in a convenient, safe location. Not as much of a party hostel as some of the other reviews imply, bar closes at 10.30 weekdays and 11.30 weekend. But the atmosphere is chilled out and it isn't too noisy at night because of this. Free salsa class was really great and the staff recommended some really good salsa bars nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Cheers from all the staff! I hope soon again !! :)

83%

El Viajero is great if you are looking for people to party/go out with. The hostel hosts Yoga Classes and Salsa Classes for free and recommends clubs at night. Don't stay in this hostel if you can't sleep without noise. The dorms are all right by the courtyard with semi/open windows and you can hear people talking and music, all times of the day and night. For security, the hostel has you wear a wristband to let you in the door. However, it didn't seem like they checked very closely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Greetings from the staff of El Viajero!

83%

Nice but if your room is in the patio you will be disturb by clubbing music of the bar from 10 am to 11pm


100%

Nice Place. People from all over the world. The staff was exceptional. Leslie,Nataly,Margarita,Jerrson and Ronald great people awesome staff. They have the answer. Had an awesome time. Good atmosphere. Well run place. If your in Cali you have to check them out.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Free daily salsa lessons! Great break fast, pool and cool atmosphere!


40%

terrible staff who seemed to really not care and tried charging me for a private salsa class despite not having one. Also there are NOT free group salsa classes everyday, they are not on the weekend only during the week... the weekend price is so overpriced i will never consider staying at an el viajero hostel again.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed here for multiple nights with my girlfriend during the festival Petrionio in august. Privates are small, really hot and over priced. The activities the hostel offers (free salsa lessons, free yoga) makes it worth a stay but you'd be better off in a dorm (better value for money). Pool is nice and cool and a good place to hangout during the hot day (after a night of salsa). Most of the staff don't speak a word english which sometimes makes it difficult to communicate.


94%

El viajero is a great hostel.One of the best I have stayed in !!! You have everything you need a kitchen,a pool ,bar with great cocktail offers ,nice dormitories with comfortable beds .and there is free salsa clases every day ;) I loved my time there I have stayed a few weeks and I could have stayed longer !!! I will defenetly get back there ;) The area is very cute there are many restarants and coffee shops ,san antonio also seems to me as a safe area!! The staff is very nice too!!Enjoy ur stay


100%

Super hostel. Free dance salsa classes, swimming pool, and the cleanest hostel I've been in. Great bar (Leslie is awesome) and great staff (cheers Ronald). Would definitely recommend!


100%

El Viajero is in a perfect location, in a safe neighbourhood with tons of great restaurants and places to walk to. It also has free salsa and yoga classes, great private salsa lessons and really helpful staff. It has an awesome atmosphere and everyone is really social, so it's a great place to stay if you want to meet some new friends.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really enjoyed the free yoga and salsa lessons. The mixed dorm was a bit stinky so opted for a female dorm which was excellent . Decent breakfast and yummy cocktails at the bar.


100%

Ideally located in the beautiful barrio San Atonio, close to many salsa bars and restaurants. VERY friendly staff, always smiling and happy to help. Clean dorms, human dimensions, quiet at nights (not a party hostal), great pool to tan, chill out and socialize close to the bar while listening a cool play list, tasty cocktails, happy hour every day, salsa lessons with the best professional teachers in town with whom you can book private courses (free classes every day from Mo to Sat). Worth it!

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel, good facilities. Free salsa classes are a big pro!


86%

Great location.


91%

Really cool hostel, nice atmosphere


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Cali Hostels

Please give us your feedback