Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2842 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2842 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel.. comfy beds, friendly staff, big log fire (it was winter when I went but the dorms had AC for summer too), kitchen, perfect location close to supermarkets, bars, restaurants.. good breakfast included. Definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
9.1

Well located, super nice staff, cool atmosphere, good breakfast. Some lockers are in bad conditions and aren't safe at all. We loved chatting with other guests by the fireplace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KarlTravel2016
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
19th Jul 2017
4.9

Staff, facilities etc were good but IF YOU GET PUT IN ROOM NUMBER 1 (4 MAN) ASK TO BE MOVED. The floor boards are so weak that your bed violently shakes when someone walks in. The bunkbeds are so wobbly that a change in a persons heart rate can be felt. The walls have no soundproofing so can hear EVERYTHING from downstairs and the bar next door and the bottle bins are below you so you'll be woken up every morning. Worst room I've stayed in so far.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.9

Only spent one night in one of the dorms -- the room was a little tight for six people but the hostel did exactly what we needed for a one night stay. Visiting in the middle of winter, the fireplace in the common room was also much appreciated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jul 2017
8.3

The hostel was nice, staff were great and they were really hepful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
9.4

This hostel is cool and has lots of potential. Only problem were the bathrooms were tiny and everything gets wet when someone showers. The living room/dining area is nice to meet people and socialize. Location was close to the port or bus terminals and everything else. The roof leaks everywhere when it rains. It can be a bit loud so sleeping could be a challenge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
7.4

No locks on any of the doors which is unusual, but there are lockers under the beds. My room was damp and had a leak from the ceiling which dripped in a bucket all night. Staff were okay, not as friendly as other hostels, but helpful. Really nice collection of people staying there! You can tell it's a chain hostel - it doesn't have the same feel as a homely hostel, it's that little bit more corporate

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.6

Nice hostel! Generally clean and not too crowded. Social if you want, but not overwhelmingly so. The kitchen is small, so cooking at the same time as other people could be tough. Also the common spaces can get cold in the winter. But in a great location close to the bus station and points of interest. Really friendly staff and a basic but good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
9.7

It was a great week end in Colonia, the staff was very nice ! I recommend this hostel !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your comment!!! We are so glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at our Hostels.

29th Jun 2017
8.9

Staff was very nice and helpful. Could store luggage before/after check out. Very close to historic district, museums, and restaurants as well as the port and bus terminal. Breakfast was basic but good and the other hostel goers were respectful and friendly. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your comment!!! We are so glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at our Hostels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.