Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.4

A great place to stay while in Colonia, the location is good and the staff is very helpful. They organized a bbq while I was there, which was a great way to meet people. (perhaps every night?) Only stayed 1 night due to the size of Colonia, but I really enjoyed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Close to bus and ferry and historic centre, breakfast included and nice. Air con works, best internet I have had in the whole continent ( kid you not, been a struggle to upload photos on google drive but here was super fast). Staff is good, cheap delicious restaurants nearby, also supermarket nearby. Everything you could ask for really!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ThomasMaas89
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
13th Feb 2017
7.4

Nothing special and nothing too bad. Had a cold shower and the toilet wasn't working when I arrived (but got fixed). Luggage room wasn't safe as it was a garage where even the outside wasn't locked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.7

Hostel is fine for a couple of days. A bit expensive compared to similar ones in the area. The rooms are cool, and all the facilities are fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
7.1

An OK hostel, staff were really nice and a good location. Little expensive for a basic hostel and a below average breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Raphael144
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.0

Great location, friendly staff. Some rooms (1 & 5) share one small bathroom that is apparently also used by all the staff, visitors, early arrivals and as overflow by other rooms - so avoid these rooms. Rooms have airconditioning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Nice, clean and friendly. The aircon in the girls dorm worked well. Breakfast good and on a communal table so you can make friends. Girls dorm is by the patio so can be a little noisy if you want an early night but others are having a few beers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.7

Really nice atmosphere and hostel. I read previously a review about a quite poor exchange rate given by hostel, and agree. I have xe.com currency app and worked out it was cheaper to pay in the US dollars stated by the hostel on Hostelworld.com + 5% card fee from hostel + 1.49%currency fee from my UK credit card , than it was to pay in the local currency quoted by the hostel reception when they used their own exchange rate. I validated this by looking at my credit card bill.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.1

Friendly, helpful staff, well organised with lots of facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Our stay in the Hostel was very nice. The Location is close to the center, main bus station and the harbor. The staff was very nice and helpful. We forgot something in the hostel and they send it to us to Montevideo. We really appreciated that! We would definitely recommend to stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.