Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Viajero - Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,476 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
El Viajero - Hostel & Suites Located at Washington Barbot 164, , Colonia del Sacramento.
El Viajero - Hostel & Suites
Uruguay
Colonia del Sacramento Colonia Colonia Washington Barbot 164
85% 2476
-34.4710957 -57.8483605
El Viajero - Hostel & Suites
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.9

Awesome hostel, couldn't be in a better location. Spacious dorm rooms with ensuite bathrooms, big living room/bar area and an ok breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rafael_maverick
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.7

The staff is the great ever, very polite and helpful. The breakfast is good as Well. Nice atmosphere. I'll definitely recommend as a friend of mine had recommended me to stay there. ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.9

Lovely place in an ideal location close to the old town and walking distance from the ferry terminal. Helpful staff. Small showers with poor pressure but adequate for one or two nights. Chilly in the evenings but the roon warmed up nicely after the staff but the heat pump on. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel...amazing staff! Met a lot of great people even in the slower winter months. Great common area with fire place, TV, and furniture to converse with others. Good wifi. The only things I could say that could be improved are the showers...they didn't drain fast enough and most often the floor was wet, but that's small compared to how good everything else was. Definitely recommend 👍🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kbrowning1192544
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
27th Jun 2016
9.7

Great helpful staff. Comfy beds. Spacious dorms. Great showers!! Clean bathrooms. Good breakfast. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
8.3

Solid place to stay for a night. Every night they have an asado for supper - that makes it easy to meet your fellow travelers. Ok breakfast in the AM - clean bathrooms. Bunk beds don't have ladders, so hopefully if you get the top bunk you're tall!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.3

I only stayed here for one night but I enjoyed it. The hostel was a bit quiet but in be evening they did a BBQ and that was great to meet and chat to everyone. Colonia is a small place so it's hard to have a bad location but it's a 10min walk from the port and only a few blocks from the old town. The staff are friendly, happy to help and speak good English. I would recommend it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.9

Hostel was in a great location and had a charming, rustic interior. Dorms were a little cramped and came with underbed lockers (though the backs were loose so weren't really secure. They lit a fire at night which was great and location was excellent. Main problem was the staff. The 2 that spoke English always looked annoyed if you asked for anything and the hostel "all you can eat asado and wine for $10" was an absolute joke. Hardly anything and everyone was hungry after. Avoid the asado!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
31st May 2016
8.3

This hostel had a very nice common room with a fireplace that made it really cosy. The night we were there they also had an all you can eat bbq and all you can drink. We stayed in a dorm room with a shared bathroom. The bathroom was very small and cramped but the shower was hot. The room itself was quite small but fine for 1 night (and you don't really need more than one night in Colonia).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rachelebrewster
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th May 2016
7.7

Good location, nice log fire to warm the place uP. Clean. Does regular asados buT the night I had one was very late to arrive, 11pm when we were told 9.30pm and was only average the food. Despite s, American lateness. Also one male staff member was quite rude on separate ocassions to several of us when we asked politely when it would be ready. Also staff quite loud in the mornings close to dorm rooms. Good breakfast. Nice communal areas. Easy to walk into town, bar next door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.