Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero - Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.1

Very good place. Clean, specially the kitchen was impressively clean for a hostel. Breakfast could be a little better. Staff was friendly. Very close to bus and ferry station, even when walking with big backpacks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
8.6

Nothing missing in this hostel: cozy common areas, good location, friendly staff, ok breakfast, asado dinners at a reasonable price, 2 computers you can use if needed. The only downside is that it can get a bit noisy at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
9.4

The hostel is very good located next to the Main Street and the beautiful historic part of the city. The port is a ten-minutes-walk away. The sleeping-rooms are simple, the beds are cozy (4-bed-Dorm was a little bit loud during the night because of the people and dogs on the street; the double-room was quiet!). The common area has a nice interior. It's very clean everywhere. The wifi is very good working. The staff was really very friendly and helpful, we felt very welcomed. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

As Colonia is very small the hostel is located very central. It has a nice atmosphere and friendly staff. The biggest problem was that every room has its own bathroom which was occupied especially in the morning all the time so that it was hard to even brush your teeth. Also outside the bathroom there were no public toilets in the whole hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Great staff, incredible internet speed, close to everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
9.7

Nice place! Staff were friendly, and the asado dinner they offered was fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
10.0

The staff was amazing! Atmosphere was very warm and welcoming! I highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.1

Loved this hostel. While expensive, not much more than other places in the area. Staff was very nice and helpful and knew the area well. For the price the location was good. AC in the rooms was a life saver!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Feb 2017
6.3

At first I didn't feel the staff were very approachable, I felt awkward asking them anything. There was loud music going on until 2am, I asked reception what time it was likely to stop, and I hadn't realised it was a guest in the hostel who was playing it. After about 10 minutes the member of staff asked them to turn it off, which was helpful. Nice touch that you get a free welcome drink.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.4

A great place to stay while in Colonia, the location is good and the staff is very helpful. They organized a bbq while I was there, which was a great way to meet people. (perhaps every night?) Only stayed 1 night due to the size of Colonia, but I really enjoyed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.