X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites Reviews

Avenida 20 de Julio Nº3A - 122, San Andres Island, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
729 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

A big hostel but well organised with very helpful


100%

very good guide you in all questions you have, thanks to all the staff especially sandra

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

the atmosphere is very nice very clean full breakfast is good and the warmth of the staff is great everything is much more to what is expected from the price ...

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a pretty big hostel. GIven the size, I thought the cleaning staff did a really good job. Yes, the bathrooms were a bit on the dirty side, and the toilets/showers aren't great, but the cleaning staff did everything they could to keep things decent. I thought the staff was quite friendly (even the front desk staff), location was good, security was average at best, and the value was fine.


100%

thank you very much to the staff all very good

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

the staff is very attentive, very clean site only stayed one day but I seemed great

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

A very noisy hostel. The golf cart we rented through the hostel to drive around the island was in terrible condition and didn't go any faster than the pace of a light jog. One of us had to get out of the cart and help push when we went up hills. The staff were somewhat helpful, but recommending guests take a taxi ($18mil pesos to go one kilometer) was terrible advice - the entire way to the airport there were resorts with private security, and it looked completely safe at night.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is perfect for the beach and local hot spots. The staff were not friendly most of the time, didn't explain anything about the island(even though I asked) and had their kids hanging out while they were working. The kitchen lacked a lot of utensils/pots and pans to cook effectively. The common areas were somewhat clean and the wifi spots were hit and miss. The free breakfast included toast, cereal, yogurt and coffee. A good stay if you're on a budget and don't mind the other stuff


60%

We stayed in this hostel one night, and that was more than enough. We had two beds booked in a 8-dorm where one of our beds was placed right under the cold AC. The very same bed had someone else's dirt on it so with my friend we decided to sleep in the same bed away from the AC. The room and bathroom was quite dirty and I wasn't sure I wanted to put down my stuff on the floor or the table. The staff was trying to be over friendly until we wanted to pay by credit card and he got really rude.


100%

best option in san andres. taxi to the airport during the day is 10.000 col pesos, during the night is 18.000.- thanks for everything!


77%

Good location and great to have a hostel on the island


91%

Nice hostel, definitely a good option for San Andres! Everything is a little more expensive than the rest of Colombia but it's incredibly beautiful and well worth the visit


86%

Nice place, good price, 10 minutes to beach, good rooms, excellent staff.


100%

Me lo pase súper bien en el Viajero! The staff are extremely helpful and nice, all areas of the hostel are well decorated and clean. Made countless number of friends and the bar on the top floor was a lot of fun! Best Hostel ever! As a girl travelling alone, I was very happy with the hostel ! Safe, clean and very friendly ! Thank you!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

There should be a limit time for people making noises or turning on lights in the dorms, say 11 pm. every day. Same for disco on top of building, except on weekends. Staff was really nice, except for one black woman with a pony tail, who helps serve breakfast. She was always in a grounchy mood, working as if she hated that job and I NEVER saw her smile. More concern about taking care of our Planet by using lights and water only when necessary. You had all lights ON during sunlight hours.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Just in one word !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FABULOUS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

I stayed there just one night and It was ok. I haven't much to say about that.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nice option delicios breakfast an the staff just amazing

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

My experience was awful, basically because of the other guests who were disrespectful, chatting and being noisy after midnight when sharing a room. My suggestion is that the management make clear that there are areas where people can socialise at any time, but not in the bedrooms where other guests are trying to rest. Also, there were no lockers to keep luggage safe, at least renting them apart.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff - absolutely wonderful people. Only a couple of them made me feel uncomfortable to approach them. Very good breakfast as for a hostel. I just did not appreciate the level of cleanliness in the kitchen area. Tidied but not cleaned thoroughly enough - sticky and not hygienic. Dusgusting drying rack, smelly and well-worn dish sponges, sticky shelves, dirty fridges etc. All they need to get a 100% is investing a little bit more into cleanliness and hygiene, and that’s it :)

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all San Andres Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback