Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1786 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1786 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jun 2017
7.4

Didn't expect much from this place after reading previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. Not the best, but for the solo traveller it's a nice enough "cheap option compared to elsewhere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jun 2017
6.0

Staff are extremely rude and often ignore you. At check in the woman was talking on the phone the whole time, didn't give me any information about the hostel, breakfast, or the area, And then got a cleaner to show me to my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.1

Not sure what all the bad reviews were for. Just book and try it out for yourself. The hostel is fine best located hostel on the island close to everything you need walkable to the airport beach and centre of town. Big hostel with lots of social areas easy to meet people, a bar and a decent buffet breakfast. Basic for the price but it is an island things are a little more expensive and living is more basic. Staff were friendly and very helpful hostel is clean. Would 100% recommend a stay here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jun 2017
6.6

I paid 50,000COP which is quite a lot considering the condition of this hostel. On top of this both the light bulbs in my dorm were broken... so what did I really pay for? Staff are also very unhelpful. You can stand at reception for minutes whilst they talk amongst themselves before they even acknowledge you.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
7.1

Terrible value for money compared to the mainland. The lack of competition for cheap hostels is evident. Wi-Fi was decent for San Andres with rooms and common areas kept clean. If you are travelling in a group of two or more consider a cheap hotel for far better value for money

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dzuercher0211
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2017
8.6

The hostel is nice, the beds are probably the most uncomfortable things I've ever slept on though. AC was great, and there's a girl that helps you with tours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th May 2017
4.9

The staff are rude and arrogant. They look so unhappy all the time. The host itself was nice except for the kitchen, it.was dirty all the time and had nearly nothing to cook with. You got along way to go viajero..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th May 2017
6.3

It's a pretty typical island hostel. We were unlucky enough to have a drunk guy throw up all over our room at 2am. The staff relocated all of us immediately and we opted then to pay more to stay in the private room from then on. Before the drunk guy my biggest complaint was the one bathroom for eight people in one room. The wifi is not good there or really anywhere on the island. The AC is also not very strong.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments Anna. We are sorry for the drunk guy incident, and happy to have make it up for you. We hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and to have you back at any of our hostels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
4.9

Overpriced, wifi very hit and miss, staff ignore you, didnt seem like they want to know. Poorly organised. Not a bad location but from what I heard there are better hostels elsewhere for less money

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
4.9

Staff were completely useless.. while walking around the hostel they would smile and act happy but as soon as you wanted anything it was awful service. At reception there would be three of them sitting chatting amongst themselves while I stood there waiting for their help and they wouldn't acknowledge you until they had finished their own little chats. The lay out of the hostel didn't make it very good for socialising either and overall very overpriced for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.