X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites Reviews

Avenida 20 de Julio Nº3A - 122, San Andres Island, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
765 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good location and great to have a hostel on the island


91%

Nice hostel, definitely a good option for San Andres! Everything is a little more expensive than the rest of Colombia but it's incredibly beautiful and well worth the visit


86%

Nice place, good price, 10 minutes to beach, good rooms, excellent staff.


100%

Me lo pase súper bien en el Viajero! The staff are extremely helpful and nice, all areas of the hostel are well decorated and clean. Made countless number of friends and the bar on the top floor was a lot of fun! Best Hostel ever! As a girl travelling alone, I was very happy with the hostel ! Safe, clean and very friendly ! Thank you!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

There should be a limit time for people making noises or turning on lights in the dorms, say 11 pm. every day. Same for disco on top of building, except on weekends. Staff was really nice, except for one black woman with a pony tail, who helps serve breakfast. She was always in a grounchy mood, working as if she hated that job and I NEVER saw her smile. More concern about taking care of our Planet by using lights and water only when necessary. You had all lights ON during sunlight hours.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Just in one word !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FABULOUS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

I stayed there just one night and It was ok. I haven't much to say about that.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nice option delicios breakfast an the staff just amazing

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

My experience was awful, basically because of the other guests who were disrespectful, chatting and being noisy after midnight when sharing a room. My suggestion is that the management make clear that there are areas where people can socialise at any time, but not in the bedrooms where other guests are trying to rest. Also, there were no lockers to keep luggage safe, at least renting them apart.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff - absolutely wonderful people. Only a couple of them made me feel uncomfortable to approach them. Very good breakfast as for a hostel. I just did not appreciate the level of cleanliness in the kitchen area. Tidied but not cleaned thoroughly enough - sticky and not hygienic. Dusgusting drying rack, smelly and well-worn dish sponges, sticky shelves, dirty fridges etc. All they need to get a 100% is investing a little bit more into cleanliness and hygiene, and that’s it :)

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

great hostel with very nice staff, clean rooms and a very good breakfast with seaview :) cool bar on the top floor to meet other travellers and learn some salsa in the evening, however quiet in the rooms if you prefer to sleep early!! I enjoed the stay a lot and would always come back to el viajero

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

My only annoying was from no really chill ereas. Couple of hanging hamoks would be great. Great view from the top bar but again no comfort to chill there....

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel, good staff, good location, I didn't think the atmosphere was the most lively but I was not there to meet other people so was really just in and out. I will go back if I return to San Andres. :)

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

No hot water but it is a decent spot in downton


74%

Was expecting a real hole based on reviews. But after the 10min walk from the airport, we were greeted with big smiles (and also when I returned just to leave my bag here for a few hours). Not the smartest rooms but perfectly fine (though at 40,000 it's expensive for what you get). Good continental range at breakfast. Fine all rounder for the 2 nights I stayed (ideally would have been 1 before going on to providencia...hostel can book boat tickets for you)


1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all San Andres Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback