X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

El Viajero San Andres Hostel & Suites Reviews

Avenida 20 de Julio Nº3A - 122, San Andres Island, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1016 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

My friend forgot her speakers at the bar and 20 minutes later came back and couldn't find it. We asked the staff and they couldn't care less. They refused To show her the security camera images.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

In general hostel was ok to good, but one thing that I missed is that my locker was damaged and I had to use someone's locker. The Breakfast was pretty good! Located right behind of the main and the most expensive hotel of the island. More information email me: hbmoyamoto@gmail.com


83%

Just go, you will have an awesome time.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location. Clean. The private room was big and comfortable, albeit expensive for a hostel room. A security box is in the room which was a good size for valuables, and there is AC and a TV. Also stayed in a dorm. Lockable cupboards under bed for rucksacks and small box on the wall for each guest (there were no batteries in many of the security boxes but reception will give you a key). Breakfast was good - cereal, juice, coffee, toast. List of activities in the wall to help you plan your trip


77%

For me, the atmosphere was lacking, but that was simply because this is definitely a party-focused hostel. For a Colombian hostel, it was expensive, but this may have to do with the fact that everything on the island is overpriced.


63%

there were a few things that really where so bad about this hostel.. the first is the internet, the internet is so bad in the hostel and i think this is something really important even if there are people that have to work, they can't because there is no decent internet! the second thing is the kitchen, there is only one kitchen for 50 people and it's just impossible and annoying. also there was nothing present in the kitchen, only one knife for 50 people, come on? so not fully equipped!

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Please improve the wifi network, it's really unstable, in the lobby and inside the rooms.


63%

5-10 minute walk to the beach. Some of the staff like Clarissa were helpful, others not so. Activities recommended by the hostel not worth doing, you can just do it yourself. Bar closed one day as staff member was not coming in and on the other days he seemed annoyed when you asked for a drink. Not a great hostel but limited options in San Andres.


71%

This hostel has surprisingly high reviews. Really the only good thing is cost and the there's a bar with a tv. Staff are cool The negatives outweigh in many areas: Poor wifi, no real common space (it's tucked away on the lowest floor with no tv), bartender never looks or seems happy / willing, Cold showers, 15 min walk from the action, entrance is usually open, room doors unlocked, computers are decade old, a hotel as a family hangout spot. It has good intentions but has ways to go


80%

Nice hostel, big one, many people, and there is a bar where there is something going on everynight. Good to meet people, i recommend it.


97%

The Hostel stay was perfect. I recommend the El Viajero.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice staff!

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Big, party hostel. Positive people around. Probably one of the best options on the island. Great breakfast on the top floor. Too slow internet but it's the problem on the whole island.


100%

good staff nice location

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

excelentttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Alright hostel to stay at a couple of days. Mostly backpackers and nice atmosphere, staff was very helpful. However we found the accommodation was beneath average standards, but all the other accommodations in San Andres are too (or you have to be willing to pay for a very expensive hotel) so for the money this is one of the best options in town.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The music at night in the bar was too higt.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was really nice experience, Sandra is a nice, smart recepcionist and all the staff is very kind.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Not many options on San Andreas so we were happy that it was a good place to stay.


100%

amazing!!


(45 results)


View all San Andres Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback