Hostelworld.com

Elbrus Home

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1,081 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1,081 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
Elbrus Home Located at Thamel, Kathmandu, Kathmandu.
Elbrus Home
Nepal
Kathmandu 21892 Thamel, Kathmandu
94% 1081
27.7184849 85.3120672
Elbrus Home
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
10.0

Had a great time at the Elbrus Home! We flew into KTM and stayed at another hostel and it took forever to fall asleep because it was hot, buggy, and there were so many noises outside of the place (dogs, horns, people). After spending several days in Pokhara, we arrived back in KTM for 2 days before our flight out. Staff was great, wifi access (which is harder to come by in Nepal than one might think), and rooms were clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
9.7

This is probably the most well-run hostel I've stayed at. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and helped us book multiple outdoor activities as well as several taxis. Free breakfast in the morning is great, and everyone is very nice and helpful. It's a short walk away from the center of thamel, so it's a little quieter than if you were in the thick of everything. Would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Fantastic venue, people & breakfast! Definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • DuneBasher
  • United Arab Emirates, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th May 2016
8.6

I was given a single room even though I had booked a dorm, but that seems to be the norm in Nepal with fewer shared rooms and more private rooms. I was staying at the house next door to the one that has the main reception and common room and areas. But that was not a problem at all. The common areas in the garden were a nice place to meet other travellers. The staff here are very helpful and the guy that runs the place was very kind in checking me earlier than the usual check-in time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.4

Elbrus Home is a great place to stay in Kathmandu. It's a little bit outside of Thamel but it's only a few minutes to walk. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. And the included breakfast is wonderful! The wifi and power come in and out but that is to be expected in Nepal. The showers are also nice and hot! But by far the best part about Elbrus Home is the host, Khem. He goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcome and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
9.1

great location superb breakfast friendly staff wonderful for the money you pay, good internet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
10.0

This is easily the best place to stay in Kathmandu. You can store your bags if you're doing the treks for free. The breakfasts are absolutely legit! Super friendly and helpful! Hot water all the time. A hot shower was a blessing after trekking to EBC and back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
9.7

This is my second stay at Elbrus Home because I was so pleased my first stay. I am even more pleased this time around! The owner graciously upgraded my room from a standard single to a much nicer double without me even asking! The staff is so friendly and always ready to help if needed. They will coordinate taxis and buses from the hostel and even walk you to the bus stop in the morning. Breakfast is good. Hot water and good wifi. Definitely will be returning for a third stay next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
9.7

My friends and I had a fantastic experience at Elbrus Home. We were all exhausted after a long trek, and this place was perfect to rejuvenate ourselves and rest. The staff were amazing, and went out of their way to help us with everything we wanted to do. The place itself was very clean and nice, like a garden of peace and greenery in a city that is less clean and peaceful. Also, it's very close to Thamel (it was a short walk to get everything we needed), but was in a quieter place itself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
8.6

Elbrus Home was very comfortable, welcoming, and peaceful. The owner puts a lot of work into service, which makes the hostel really outshine other accommodations. The breakfast was fantastic! The atmosphere is low-key and it's easy to make conversation with other visitors. I would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.