Hostelworld.com

Elbrus Home

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1,066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1,066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
Elbrus Home Located at Thamel, Kathmandu, Kathmandu.
Elbrus Home
Nepal
Kathmandu 21892 Thamel, Kathmandu
95% 1066
27.7184849 85.3120672
Elbrus Home
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.4

Elbrus Home is a great place to stay in Kathmandu. It's a little bit outside of Thamel but it's only a few minutes to walk. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. And the included breakfast is wonderful! The wifi and power come in and out but that is to be expected in Nepal. The showers are also nice and hot! But by far the best part about Elbrus Home is the host, Khem. He goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcome and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
8.6

Elbrus Home was very comfortable, welcoming, and peaceful. The owner puts a lot of work into service, which makes the hostel really outshine other accommodations. The breakfast was fantastic! The atmosphere is low-key and it's easy to make conversation with other visitors. I would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurahikawai3158
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay here. Khem is brilliant. He really cares about his guests that stay and try to help them as much as possible. The garden was a great place to relax and the breakfast they offer is great!! its really good value for money and i will def be staying here when i return to Kathmandu!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
9.7

Perhaps the best staff we have met at a hostel, always eager to help and make things easy. I was sick and they made sure I was OK, made me soup for free... Complimentary huge and healthy breakfast along with great facilities and wifi. Happy that hostel is located a bit north of Thamel, away from the craziness. Aside from Thamel, not too much is accessible in walking distance, but it seems like that is inevitable in Kathmandu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tom_temple9129
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Apr 2016
10.0

We stayed at Elbrus on and off during our month in Nepal and it became a home away from home for us! Khem and his staff are the most friendly and welcoming people you could hope for! The rooms themselves are excellent - spotless, comfy beds, working wi-fi and the best hot showers we've seen for ages! It's hard to fault Elbrus at all - the location is excellent and it's fantastic value for money - the breakfast is huge! Thanks for everything guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
5th Apr 2016
10.0

Khem looked after us like family, he helpfully organised our trips and gave us advice. The hostel is wonderful, great location and nice garden and terrace to relax in. The breakfast is delicious. Wifi is good. Basically the best place I stayed at in India and Nepal put together. Thanks Khem... hope to visit again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.6

Great spot just outside Thamel. The owner-manager, Khem, is a really friendly guy and very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

Elbrus home was so great! Khem is a gem and makes everything so wonderful and easy. Breakfast was plentiful and lovely and the rooms/bathrooms were clean and convenient. Thanks so much! I'll be back soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • heathermac
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.3

My first night there, I was put in to a room that wasn't quite what I'd booked - a little nerve wracking as a solo female traveller. I asked if I could be moved to the main house the next night and the owner was so obliging and friendly. The hostel had great facilities in the main house, with a great common room and a really yummy free breakfast (juice, oatmeal, toast, eggs, coffee or tea). Wifi on every floor that was usually great. Location was a bit out of the way, but easy to walk to Thamel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
8.6

Khem is an outgoing and helpful fellow with a great Aussie accent. He and his brother are working quite hard and try to be as accommodating as possible and helpful in making plans. The place is a 10 min walk from the main areas of Thamel but that makes it a little bit quiter. As in many places in the Nepal, the electricity, wifi and hot water are a bit spotty. But with their batter back up and a local SIM card with 3G you can get along pretty well. The breakfasts here are huge and delicious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.