Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Elbrus Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
Elbrus Home Located at Thamel, Kathmandu, Kathmandu.
Elbrus Home
Nepal
Kathmandu 21892 Thamel, Kathmandu
91% 1205
27.7184849 85.3120672
Elbrus Home
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
7.7

Nice but basic hostel/budget hotel. The owner are too enthusiastic and friendly. Breakfest is nice and I enjoy the courtyard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.3

Location 5 mins north of thamel but not exactly quiet. Hostel consists of 2 houses, I stayed the economic rooms in the 2nd building just across a side road. Both buildings have good wifi (for nepal standards), nice roof terraces, bath rooms are good and clean (for nepal standard) and there is a lovely little garden. Room was ok, nothing special. Big breakfast (2 eggs any style, coffe/tea, 2 toasts with jam/honey, banana porridge). The staff is rustical but nice and helpful. Not a hurray reviewer

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.4

I can't recommend this hostel highly enough!! My friend and I have been traveling for a while and feel so lucky to have found this fantastic guesthouse in Kathmandu! Khem and his brother went over and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and they are such genuine, helpful and lovely people. We were collected at the airport (which I would highly recommend: fair price and excellent service), and even gave us a private room because they could tell we were tired. We have even booked more nights there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Location is good, a bit further from the madness of Thamel proper. Nice view of Kathmandu on the view deck. The room, bathroom/shower and general areas are clean. Staff is very helpful, particularly Kim (kudos!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay at Elbrus Home. It was perfect to have a private room to catch my breath and take a warm shower after a trek in the mountains. Very friendly and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
9.4

After a bad start (no hot water in my shower when I'd been hiking for 17 days - they fixed the problem) I ended up absolutely loving it here. Comfortable beds, decent wifi, a lovely garden area, nice and social, amazing breakfasts and super helpful staff. I stayed for 3 nights and was planning to come back after Pokhara but changed to something more central instead - the only downside to the place is that the street it's on feels a bit dodgy walking down at night as a solo female.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.1

The staff at Elbrus create an amazing atmosphere which makes it a great place to start and end your day. Basic but nice clean rooms and simple but generous breakfast. Staff are happy to help with anything from hailing a taxi to booking a trek. Would return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
10.0

We had a great time here. Getting a ride to and from the airport was maybe the best $7 we spent the entire trip, as the streets were chaos. The hospitality is unmatched, the breakfast was great, and we had no troubles storing some gear there for the duration of our trek.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.3

Second time we stayed here following our trek in the Annapurnas. Baggage safely retrieved and a good room with hot shower again. Good experience and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
6.0

Had a good first stay there! I came back and was put in another building which was horrendous, I was staying in a staircase shed. Freezing cold. Definitely stay in the main building

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.