Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 1373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.6
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 1373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
2.9

Staff not friendly and/or helpful. The kitchen was dirty and smelt, there were roaches on the floor. The bathrooms were dirty, the showers leaked so there was water all over the floor, I almost slipped over. My room door didn't close properly, not great when you are a female staying by yourself. Generally really dirty and not well maintained. Location not great, have stayed at much nicer backpackers that were better value for money. Would not stay here again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
4.3

Honestly, was a big disaster, with 2 of my friends we had to stay 2 hours at the reception (who was just so angry at the end to us just saying us to let go !!!) because he wanted to put us in a different room even the fact we had booked 3 beds in the same room !!!! a scary place with no many young people... really dont go there !!!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
2.0

This hostel is one of the worst that I've ever been. Dirtiest, staff looked so exhausted and property looks ruins. Absolutely no atmosphere. The booking system was messy, so I couldn't get my bed for the first. Even some other girls were kicked out cause of booking error or something. I want to recommend as a cheap cost hostel but cannot say this is worth to pay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2017
2.0

DO NOT STAY HERE. This "hostel" needs to be investigated by Hostel World. It is not a Hostel - We saw two of the residents begging at the local train station during the evening! Every person in the "hostel" appears to be homeless. The building was freezing, the bathrooms looked like they had never been cleaned, the sanitary bin in the female toilets was over flowing onto the floor, the Reception staff were rude: I could go on.... The best part of our stay was Checking Out!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jolofsson8222
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
4.9

The Elephant Backpack was very underwhelming at best. The rooms were dirty and smelly and the rest of the facilities reflected that as well. The staff was not very helpful or engaging and could be rude at times. This place seems to get by on it's location, which is quite good, but service and facilities could be a lot better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
3.4

They didn't have a all female room even though that is what I booked. Was placed in an all male room. Very unflienly staff. No room to socialize. Would not reccomed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
7.7

The overall hostel is pleasant enough, seems to have good facilities. The bathrooms were dated and small, but nothing too bad. The staff were very pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
7.4

It was a pleasant enough stay. The location was good, the staff were nice. The showers and kitchen are ok - basic and nothing special. But for price I'd stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.3

Clean & quiet budget hostel! Loved the rules about drinking and noise - meant we cld sleep!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
8.0

The location is very convenient. There was a mix of people, singles, young groups, families... The rooms were clean and spacious (I stayed in a 4 person) Included a free breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.