X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Elephant Backpacker Sydney Reviews

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

55%

Rating
1261 Total Reviews
  • 54%Value For Money
  • 57%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 54%Staff
  • 49%Atmosphere
  • 45%Cleanliness
  • 48%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Staff were abrupt, rude and unwelcoming. Woke me up at 8am to accuse me of drinking in the rooms, despite only spending a total 3 hours there - all of which were asleep. Beds uncomfy, toilets didn't flush, taps barely worked... Was a bit of a horrible experience throughout..

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

No Wifi in room and wifi was really slow.

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Good position but the room was in a bad status as well the building itself.


43%

It just wasn't clean at all.... Just horrible. Dirty and broken toilets and broken tables in the common area. staff was nice. Sorry but the price of a 8 people dorm didn't seem right.


60%

The room was dirty, the bed light was not working. WiFi in the lobby was really slow.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Stayed here over Christmas and New Year. It's cheap and it does the job, great location close to the CBD, botanical gardens and kings cross. The 'common room'/ kitchen is a bit soulless though


57%

Painfully average. It's cheap for a reason. To be fair we saw no cockroaches the whole stay but on arrival the room was filthy with fag buts and red cups everywhere, But they did clean this by night 2. On Christmas night I stayed with family but left stuff on the bed, upon returning very late the next evening my key didn't work and all my stuff had been taken off my bed and fresh sheets & someone else's stuff was on it! I then had to sleep in a top bunk with no rail and they had no pillows??


34%

The worse, room door did shut properly, everything was falling apart, smelt like something died in the walls, however bathroom/showers clean and the stuff are friendly! I book 9 nights and left after two. This place was so run down its shocking, more so in Sydney!


63%

Overall not bad accommodation. There were clearly issues with the plumbing which meant some showers didn't work properly, sinks leaked and some toilets didn't flush but once these issues are resolved I would see no problems with this hostel.

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The room was super gross, garbage all over the floor, and the beds were in extremely poor condition. Giant cockroaches. The building itself was really run down, and there wasn't really a common area to meet people. Big kitchen though, and the showers were good. Overall I don't recommend it, it was too uncomfortable and gross.


29%

Me and my friend ended up leaving 5 days early, paying dubble for 2 nights because we could just not stand it and we are usually not very picky. Loud, doors wouldn't lock, cockroaches in rooms and kitchen. Wouldn't o back if I got payed.


26%

This is not a hostel.... It's a half way house. No age restrictions so numerous old creepy men living there long term. Dirty and an abundance of cockroaches. I would not recommend this place, even to my worst enemy

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This hostel has really dirty bathrooms and a dirty kitchen. It's annoying to cook, cause you will have to go to the reception for everything. But still, the location is really good, close to st.james station and Hyde park and the atmosphere is not that bad. While I was staying there, they had a ps4 in the tv room. So the stay was generally worth the cheap money, but you have to lower your expectations in cleanliness. .

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Room dirty

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

Worst hostel experience I've ever had. Staff we're rude and unreasonable, the place was a complete mess. The room's smelt disgusting.

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The staff and environment were really surprising... no one was knowledgeable or friendly and the common areas were not somewhere you would want to spend any time!

  • 19th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Luckily i got friendly roomate and they not doing much noisy. Clean room too. Sadly, no wifi. Others, its all good :)


29%

Absolutely shocking!! Complete lack of cleanliness....uninterested staff and not at all helpful. Room very hot and stuffy - no aircon!! Kitchen too small and not enough fridges for number of people staying!! Door to room did locked but not secure as the door came open at the top when pushed.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Really bad. Never ever again.


91%

Had a great stay. Café was awesome, location only few minutes walk to city centre, hostel basic but clean.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback