X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Elephant Backpacker Sydney Reviews

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
1060 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 57%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 57%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

The staff is not very helpfull, at all. Reception is not open 24/7. The hostel is full of insects and cockroaches!! Specially the kitchen, smell like shet and its never ever clean. The rooms are ok, big, but you may get a room without door. And the toilets are very discusting and dirty and most of the time out of service. So, if you want to experience a real adventure...go to elephant! :)

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Toilets are broke. No light, no locks, metal pointy stuff in my matras.. Need a lighter to put on the stove. Not good at all...

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location and friendly staff but when we entered our room the rubbish from the previous guests was still there and a dirty bed sheet shoved under the bed. Had to use our own pilllows and got absolutely eaten by bed bugs!! Only stayed for one night and wouldnt stay again

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Quite a nice place, the location is good but sometimes the rooms were very dirty and bugs in the kitchen etc. However, this is the fault of the travellers and the staff is working hard to keep the place nice.


83%

They clean more times per day and the room are spacious. Nice place where to stay, awesome position.


49%

A dump. The first two floors had bedbugs. There were never clean towels in the kitchen. Had to wait in line to rent dirty cookware. Sometimes this line to reception was very very long. Staff cared very little for the facilities (I don't blame them). Wifi only worked occassionally, and only in the lobby, where you had to sit on a broken bench. Bathrooms were filthy and did not contain hand soap. Location is excellent, walking distance to downtown, train (take to airport), bars, parks.


46%

First of all: Our roomdoor didn't close and the staff didn't care!! The elevator was broken, so we had to run up the stairs to the third level - everyday, even with luggage. Be fast and aggressive in the kitchen 'cause there are too few pots; two big and two small ones, I reckon? There are many people sitting on the stairs because the Wi-Fi just works in this particular area. However, the signal is very poor. Someone stole our kitchen utensils during cooking, so we didn't got our bond back.


54%

Bathrooms are few in each floor and dirty. The staff is disorganized. I needed a booking from 27/12/2013 to 03/01/14 to spend new year in Sydney and i choose this hostel only because it was the only one free. The worst i never seen ( i visit a lot of Hostel in Usa, Canada, Australia, New Caledonia, New Zeland...). I never seen hostel in Africa, but in Australia is the worst ( I visit Perth,Adelaide, Melbourne, Canberra, Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns, all the cost from Cairns to Alice Springs, Darwin


71%

Water tap in women's bathroom was broken and it didn't seem the hostel was interested in repairing it. Rooms are big and there is enough space for your stuff.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel overall made for a good stay, the people were extremely friendly. There was always people outside on the night socialising. The showers here are very powerful and best ones I've seen in a hostel :)


40%

Very Bad, very Dirty,


40%

Very dirty, very Bad. I would Never stay again there.


29%

employees inappropriate, room and bathrooms not clean, the staff was sleeping in our room and was drunk all the time and we were woke up all night ! the door of the rooms were always let open ! anybody could come into the room !


20%

Dont go to this place!


37%

Horrible Stay


54%

Very bad hostel, its dirty, bad service, and horrible facilities! If youve for 2 extra dollars stay somewhere nice!

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

It's a cheap hostel, which you can see. But it's ok for a few days.


49%

If you can find the extra 4 or 5 dollars to stay somewhere a bit nicer I would recommend you do that. The location is good but the pros stop there. Security is non existant, the door frame to our room was shattered so the door wouldn't lock. Reception handed out cutlery that was dirty and the kitchen lacked the utensils and space to comfortably use it. Generally small details that would have made a difference were ignored and I felt that low standards were engrained into the staff.


29%

dirty, noiy, smelly... hopefully we only hqd one night there !

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback