Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 1,329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 1,329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.2
Elephant Backpacker Sydney Located at 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney.
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo
61% 1329
-33.8715201 151.2166571
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.0

The hostel is in a decent location, lots of places to eat/buy stuff. The staff are super accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.3

Couldn't have asked for a better location. And very safe and clean . Overall great experience I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.0

I thought this was a great hostel and don't see where the other negative reviews could be justified. Being older and wiser, I know younger people complain about their first world problems, but I didn't see anything and the staff and facilities were great. Hot showers, clean sheets, painted room. The kitchen and common areas were a bit basic but this is reflected in the cheap price. Enjoyed my stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.9

For price and location totally great :) Cleaner than expected!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
5.1

The manager was really unfriendly. I didnt feel comfy there. But the other stuff are okay. Also the rooms and shower are really dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
6.6

Wifi essentially non existent, have to give room key as deposit for any dishes or cutlery to eat

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2016
2.6

Extremely limited wifi (Ground floor only) Living in squalid conditions Constant water problems Extremely unhygienic toilets and showers No air conditioning and a broken fan in the room Rotting windows and mould everywhere Cracks running up the ceilings and walls Uneven floors I could go on and on..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
4.0

It was very obvious for me and the 3 friends I stayed over at this hostel that the management doesn't really care about giving the best possible experience. There's a parade of drunken, disorderly, teenagers just looking for the cheapest place to crash and there's no control over how tidy the rooms are or if silence is being kept to a minimum after reasonable hours. The rooms were a complete mess, people were talking until quite late, half of the lockers were broken... Worst hostel ever for us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
4.0

Staff that checked us in was quite rude. Our door did not lock. Had staff just walk into the room to clean. Hostel looked like it was about to fall apart but also had garbage and dust everywhere, bathroom was also quite dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2016
2.6

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff were miserable, facilities were filthy and you have to put down a deposit of $20 to receive a bedsheet and a pillow which is flat as a pancake. How anybody can enjoy their time here is beyond me unless they're too drunk too notice all the blatant faults. They won't be though, as this 'hostel' has a '0 tolerance' policy on alcohol. I was put in with a homeless man and a crackhead by the way, That woman from N. Ireland who works there has to

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.