X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Elephant Backpacker Sydney Reviews

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1191 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good hostel clean and good people.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

everyone's pretty nice. Thanks for the stay!


89%

Definitely value for money. Dead cheap and great location! The place is clean, if there were any issues, we mentioned to the front desk and the staff took care of any issues within 15 minutes.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

there were cockroaches crawling around the kitchen! there was no lock on our door the fridges dont really keep your food fresh and they smell like really off milk. there was not enough space to keep you food

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

good time here


80%

Really good hostel, rooms were clean and tidy. Good showers and good location with very good priced cafe. The lady who works there is very helpful and genuine. Good experience and would stay again!

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely staff. Very clean, convenient location. Would recommend.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This is by far the worst place I've ever stayed. The cleanliness is so horrifichorrific.. Something's can't be helped. The cockroaches everywhere. Over all cutlery and kitchen appliances, in your bed while you sleeping. But some things you can help. Pissed stained floor in the rooms. Smashed window's. Body oder so bad with nowhere for it to go. Fair enough it's cheap but so is living on the street. We stayed there 3 days and the shower/ toilet room hadn't been clean once. Staff rude. Never again

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was fine, wifi only in reception area a bit annoying but everything else no problem

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

It's disgusting. Ok we don't pay so much per night but it's not a reason to do not clean this hostel. In particular toilets and showers. It's not acceptable


83%

Great hostel. thicker blankets needed though

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was in a great location- close to thecity and train although I was dropped by shuttle bus, grocery store close by and a variety of restaurants. It was very clean. Cafe was good.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It was affordable price, I didn't expect so much. However It was so good :) I highly recommend this hostel. If you want to expect to be relax and friendly, Book now :)

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good low-budget. Good bed, shared bathroom and kitchen (fridge and micro-wave). Very close to supermarket and city. Nice staff.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

good place to stay and will be back


80%

Loved my stay here. Friendly staff, handy location only 5 mintues to city thru park across street, cafe has very good meal deals and nice place to chill. Room and bathrooms cleaner than some reviews indicate. Good value - recommend.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had AMAZING stay! Great location and room/facilities clean and friendly. Eat at there cafe - cheap food with good vibe.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

When I arrived in Sydney airport, I told the customs officer where I was staying (elephant backpackers) and he asked me if I was allergic to rats. Although I didn't actually see any rats, it is clear that the reputation of this hostel precedes itself. By far, this was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. It was filthy, very insecure, staff were rude and unhelpful and the other "guests/tenants" did everything they could to ensure that the disgusting state of the hostel thrived.


83%

Only stayed for one night but really neat staff, very welcoming and thoughtful. Comfortable bed and room and good shower in clean bathroom. Near to the centre but in relatively quiet part of town. Definitely recommend this backpackers.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

This hostel is cheap for a reason. The dorm was an okay size. During my stay they showers on the first floor were out of order leaving only 6 showers available for the whole building! Across the road from the hostel every evening the food tuck for the homeless turned up, seeing that many homeless people when you were not aware of it what was going on felt a wee bit intimidating. But guy at reception was ace. But I suppose if you are going to book a cheap bed you can't expect the world


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback