X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Elephant Backpacker Sydney Reviews

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1112 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

For only 19$ a night you can't beat it. Great location, amazing food and deals in the elephant cafe, and fun atmosphere. We would stay here again for sure. The building is a bit old and needs a little work, and the internet isn't the best, but again you are only paying 19 a night which is awesome.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great, friendly staff and cute old building.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very friendly staff and clean accommodation in an excellent location close to city center. But the internet connection didn't work so well, sometimes not at all. It could be excellent - if fixed.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel. Good bathrooms, lots of showers. Close to supermarket and city. Perfect for 1-2 days.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

My stay was AWESOME - Would stay here again!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff are fantastic. it's 24 hour reception, room gets cleaned & rubbish removed nearly everyday. Dinning room, kitchen, toilet is cleaned by backpackers & it's pretty good. I stayed in worse place and much dearer. Elephant hostel is spacious, cheap, close to amenities and I was happy to stay there for 2 weeks. There are some cockroaches crawling in the kitchen due to dirty, messy people, not because hostel is dirty.


57%

The man on the desk when we signed in was less then knowledgable on his job. We weren't given a blanket until we had to go back and ask, as well as the plates and cutlery (which everyone is given in a bag on arrival). The toilets and showers were usually filthy. There was band-aids left on a shower floor for 3 days and the toilets were often dirty and rarely washed. When they were washed, the floors were mopped and left wet without any sign to warn you so. There was a lot of permanent residents.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good value for money, will definitely stay again.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I would definitely recommend this hostel to friends! It's in a great location to access town and it's got a great atmosphere. Made some good friends in the two nights I stayed at Elephant. Wasn't a fan of the kitchen closing at 10pm, but other than that I had a great experience.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfectly fine if you're happy with basic and affordable accommodation with shared bathrooms. The entire hostel was clean and reception staff were delightful.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I enjoyed my stay although I didn't like not having kitchen utensils at hand. All kitchen utensils are kept at reception and I was walking to an from reception constantly during cooking to ask for other equipment.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good location. clean. fanctional

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The girl at the front desk was very helpful (the airport shuttle was late, she called to know what was going on...) thanks!


74%

Really liked the hostel, cheap (payed 45 AUD for 3 nights), great location. Friendly staff. The Cafe was frequently visited and appriciated. =) Good atmosphere at the hostel and a spacious kitchen. Negative, There are some bugs, (mostly in the kitchen) and the toilets get flooded now and then. facilities are old and run down. First nights there was not enough blankets so you were a bit cold and there was trouble with the internet on a couple occassions.


37%

Cockroaches everywhere! Toilettes and showers are not working or dirty! Staff is unorganized. That's to bad because the location next to the botanical garden and a park is nice.


71%

I HAD TO GO DOWN A FLOOR TO HAVE A SHOWER, AND BACK UP A FLOOR TO CLEAN MY TEETH.DRAINS WERE BLOCKED,A TOILET WAS BLOCKED,AND THEY WERE AS CLEAN AS THE ONES IN INDIA.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A really nice hostel, great location, staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and simple, would definitely recommend, especially for traveller, it's a great place to meet other people.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

+ location, can reach everything by foot + Irish girl at front desk very nice - uncomfortable matresses (back and neck hurt!) - cockroaches in kitchen AND rooms - dirty bathrooms - open luggage storage, everybody can go in there - no ladders on bunk beds - rubbish on cupboard - no equpment in kitchen, have to go to reception everytime = annoying - kitchen gets 'cleaned' at 5 p.m. Seriously? - no vaccuming in mixed dorm (for 3 days) but everyday in double room. Again, seriously? Never again.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

ABSOLUTELY GROSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS NEEDS A MAJOR MAKEOVER. IT NEEDS TO BE DEMOLISHED AND RE BUILT THE PLACE IS SO DINGY AND DISGUSTING THE KITCHEN HAD COCKROACHES ALL OVER FLOORS AND WALLS. TOILETS AND SHOWER ROOM SO NASTY LOOKS LIKE YOU COULD CATCH A DISEASE IT'S SO VILE AND UNCLEAN, A TAMPON APPLICATION WAS LEFT ON THE FLOOR FOR 3 DAYS NO ONE REMOVED IT !! THE CARPET IS THICK WITH DIRT THE WHOLE PLACE IS SO UN WELCOMING AND GUEST ARE ALWAYS HANGING OUTSIDE SMOKING AND DRINKING BOMB THIS PLACE !!


86%

They allowed us to use their facility before the checkin time as we landed there before time.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback