X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Elephant Backpacker Sydney Reviews

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
1099 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 58%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The girl at the front desk was very helpful (the airport shuttle was late, she called to know what was going on...) thanks!


74%

Really liked the hostel, cheap (payed 45 AUD for 3 nights), great location. Friendly staff. The Cafe was frequently visited and appriciated. =) Good atmosphere at the hostel and a spacious kitchen. Negative, There are some bugs, (mostly in the kitchen) and the toilets get flooded now and then. facilities are old and run down. First nights there was not enough blankets so you were a bit cold and there was trouble with the internet on a couple occassions.


37%

Cockroaches everywhere! Toilettes and showers are not working or dirty! Staff is unorganized. That's to bad because the location next to the botanical garden and a park is nice.


71%

I HAD TO GO DOWN A FLOOR TO HAVE A SHOWER, AND BACK UP A FLOOR TO CLEAN MY TEETH.DRAINS WERE BLOCKED,A TOILET WAS BLOCKED,AND THEY WERE AS CLEAN AS THE ONES IN INDIA.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A really nice hostel, great location, staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and simple, would definitely recommend, especially for traveller, it's a great place to meet other people.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

+ location, can reach everything by foot + Irish girl at front desk very nice - uncomfortable matresses (back and neck hurt!) - cockroaches in kitchen AND rooms - dirty bathrooms - open luggage storage, everybody can go in there - no ladders on bunk beds - rubbish on cupboard - no equpment in kitchen, have to go to reception everytime = annoying - kitchen gets 'cleaned' at 5 p.m. Seriously? - no vaccuming in mixed dorm (for 3 days) but everyday in double room. Again, seriously? Never again.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

ABSOLUTELY GROSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS NEEDS A MAJOR MAKEOVER. IT NEEDS TO BE DEMOLISHED AND RE BUILT THE PLACE IS SO DINGY AND DISGUSTING THE KITCHEN HAD COCKROACHES ALL OVER FLOORS AND WALLS. TOILETS AND SHOWER ROOM SO NASTY LOOKS LIKE YOU COULD CATCH A DISEASE IT'S SO VILE AND UNCLEAN, A TAMPON APPLICATION WAS LEFT ON THE FLOOR FOR 3 DAYS NO ONE REMOVED IT !! THE CARPET IS THICK WITH DIRT THE WHOLE PLACE IS SO UN WELCOMING AND GUEST ARE ALWAYS HANGING OUTSIDE SMOKING AND DRINKING BOMB THIS PLACE !!


86%

They allowed us to use their facility before the checkin time as we landed there before time.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It was all good. I stayed only one night and got charged by the hostel AUD$21 and also by hostel world extra AUD$16 which I don't know what for and how you got my card details ??? I would like my money back please. I already spoke to Roisine at the hostel and she said to talk to you Looking forward for your answer.. Thanks Lorena

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very helpful staff, no wifi in dorms.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It's ok for a short stay. Building is old and generally not very clean.


71%

Stayed for 2 nights and had bed bug bites all over me after the first night's sleep.


91%

the hostel was pleasantly clean and not as noisy as I had read in other reviews. The staff were helpful and I had an enjoyable stay. thank you.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great staff. I got in late and left early the next morning, and the staff had no problem with it.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good location. We stayed in a private room and it was clean and tiddy, It was a bit small, but confortable. Wifi is free only in the reception.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff!! Cafe is awesome!!!

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was overall nice. The internet worked well and the place was clean.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall, the room I stayed was clean, neat and tidy. It was very spacious too. Toilet was also very clean.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Cheap hostel and really good! Room was awesome and showers really clean. You can walk to city and there is a supermarket 5 minutes around corner:)

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location. Pretty good facilities and cleanliness comparing to other Sydney hostels in the same price bracket. In terms of Value for Money, it is Excellent.


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback