Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 1,305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 1,305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3
Elephant Backpacker Sydney Located at 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney.
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2011 50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo
61% 1305
-33.8715201 151.2166571
Elephant Backpacker Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
4.0

Staff that checked us in was quite rude. Our door did not lock. Had staff just walk into the room to clean. Hostel looked like it was about to fall apart but also had garbage and dust everywhere, bathroom was also quite dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2016
2.6

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff were miserable, facilities were filthy and you have to put down a deposit of $20 to receive a bedsheet and a pillow which is flat as a pancake. How anybody can enjoy their time here is beyond me unless they're too drunk too notice all the blatant faults. They won't be though, as this 'hostel' has a '0 tolerance' policy on alcohol. I was put in with a homeless man and a crackhead by the way, That woman from N. Ireland who works there has to

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.3

Location may not be perfect but at a walkable distance to all attractions. 6 bed dorm given to me was clean and wide enough though it's fully occupied by long term boarders. Toilets are clean and shower rooms are perfect. They should increase the frequency of cleaning toilets as they become dirty very fast and major renovation work with painting is going on. Overall I felt enough value for the money I paid!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.9

Not bad, loved the beds, shower, and toilet. All clean. A little old building but that what makes it unique.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcelomoreiracezar9648
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Jul 2016
2.0

I do not recommend this hostel. The worst staff ever.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
3.4

Basically a crack den. Doors didn't work. Cockroaches in the room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.1

Convenient location, quiet hostel .... no drinking allowed, clean, basic kitchen. Led stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leopet1252546
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Room was really clean, location is perfect, staff was friendly and helpful and cafe area really nice. Free WIFI a +.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.3

This is my second time staying in this hostel. Rooms spacious, location good, its not brand new but Im not expect that for price. Everything u need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
9.1

Very pleasant stay here. The hostel is kept clean and there is a nice communal atmosphere here particularly in cafe. It is well equipped in terms of cooking equipment and fridge space. Roisine, the manager is very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.