Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Elephant Backpacker Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 1336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 1336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jan 2017
4.0

Not great to be fair the only goood thing about elephant is the price. Nothing to do there, no atmosphere. Key cards for the room is an absolute nightmare. Wouldn't go back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
6.3

Not the cleanest place, lots of long term residents with lots of belongings and food in the rooms. Very old building, some things falling apart.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.0

The hostel is in a decent location, lots of places to eat/buy stuff. The staff are super accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.3

Couldn't have asked for a better location. And very safe and clean . Overall great experience I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.0

I thought this was a great hostel and don't see where the other negative reviews could be justified. Being older and wiser, I know younger people complain about their first world problems, but I didn't see anything and the staff and facilities were great. Hot showers, clean sheets, painted room. The kitchen and common areas were a bit basic but this is reflected in the cheap price. Enjoyed my stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.9

For price and location totally great :) Cleaner than expected!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mrleehe
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
5.7

too many blacks, asians and abbos for my liking.otherwise tickety boo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
5.1

The manager was really unfriendly. I didnt feel comfy there. But the other stuff are okay. Also the rooms and shower are really dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
6.6

Wifi essentially non existent, have to give room key as deposit for any dishes or cutlery to eat

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2016
2.6

Extremely limited wifi (Ground floor only) Living in squalid conditions Constant water problems Extremely unhygienic toilets and showers No air conditioning and a broken fan in the room Rotting windows and mould everywhere Cracks running up the ceilings and walls Uneven floors I could go on and on..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.