X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Elephant Backpacker Sydney Reviews

50 Sir John Young Crescent, Woolloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1213 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I was expecting a bit more as the reviews for the hostel were quite good. The toilwt facilities were very dissapointing, ie. not very clean. Showers were good. It also smelled a bit... But overall it was a good experience, although we spent our days away from the hostel and only came back at nigjt to sleep. It's good value for money and in a good location.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

the WORST place we've ever stayed at! +the whole place was DIRTY (walls, floors, toilets, food shelves..) +our cool bag was moved and we had things STOLEN from our bag +blinds are BROKEN (and DIRTY/covered in DUST) so all the street light comes in +the cutlery sets we were given were DUSTY&DIRTY +pots/pans/kitchen knives etc. in AWFUL CONDITION. also the people at this place were very unsociable & disrespectful, being unnecessarily loud during the night/early morning & turning lights on at 6am


74%

Wifi is terrible, it was the biggest issue.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

You get what you pay for so I was satisfied, old building and not the cleanest but nice big kitchen, lockers (need your own lock), friendly, helpful staff, decent beds. If you have bad luck to get a room with people staying long term it's a bit annoying since they have their stuff everywhere but that's any hostel, really. The bar seems cool though I didn't try it out.


63%

This hostel is nothing special, but a good deal for the cheap rates. Since it's so big, they have lots of rules, but nothing too burdensome. The kitchen "closes" at 10 but no one actually locks it up until much later. When we got there, we did have an issue that the front desk gave us a key card but our door had a chunk of wood where the card reader would be. It took a bit to convey this issue to the guy at the front desk because he was not great at English, but eventually we got a real key.


34%

Horrific hostel. You should be either drunk or under drugs to have fun there...


89%

Nice hostel, great value, I enjoyed my stay :)


80%

Nice hostel, we had a 4 bed dorm which was spacious and bed was comfortable, the shower and toilets were clean but the wifi wasn't that good on the 2nd floor.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This place is not luxurious, but it is cheap and fairly clean and conveniently located. The staff are also pleasant and helpful. Cafe is good alternative to cooking. Sydney is very expensive, so for AUD18 a night, I was very satisfied.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The Hostel isn't in the central but it's super close especially with the expresway which you can access through the Carpark on the opposite of the hostel. Some showers were out of order so that was pretty annoying. Also they were no ovens. But the price is pretty much unbeatable.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Right on the corner of a main road. Easy to find. Our bedding was dirty, stained with blood or something and that completely put me off, also the bedding provided in the room was covered in long black hairs! you can hear everything which is going on in the hallways. We often got woken up too doors opening and closing. Other than that we had a heater in the room! Bed was comfortable. The bathrooms are clean. Also there were baths! Which is always a treat!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Dirty. Walls - are not even cracking - they are breaking. Insects.


83%

Good hostel clean and good people.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

everyone's pretty nice. Thanks for the stay!


89%

Definitely value for money. Dead cheap and great location! The place is clean, if there were any issues, we mentioned to the front desk and the staff took care of any issues within 15 minutes.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

there were cockroaches crawling around the kitchen! there was no lock on our door the fridges dont really keep your food fresh and they smell like really off milk. there was not enough space to keep you food

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

good time here


80%

Really good hostel, rooms were clean and tidy. Good showers and good location with very good priced cafe. The lady who works there is very helpful and genuine. Good experience and would stay again!

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely staff. Very clean, convenient location. Would recommend.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This is by far the worst place I've ever stayed. The cleanliness is so horrifichorrific.. Something's can't be helped. The cockroaches everywhere. Over all cutlery and kitchen appliances, in your bed while you sleeping. But some things you can help. Pissed stained floor in the rooms. Smashed window's. Body oder so bad with nowhere for it to go. Fair enough it's cheap but so is living on the street. We stayed there 3 days and the shower/ toilet room hadn't been clean once. Staff rude. Never again

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback