X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Elephant Backpackers Reviews

250 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
43 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Rooms are good and clean. Bathrooms are average. There is a problem with the card sensor in the lift. There was a little problem with the hot water, probably because there were renovating when I was there. Hopely the problem will resolve once the renovation is finished. Overall, it's a good place to stay and is a strategic place in the CBD.


57%

Not great although. Understand the whole building is going to revamped in the not to distant future! It needs it.

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

even though 19 dollars a night is very cheap, I think that a lack of ceiling should constitute a cheaper price, like 10 bucks

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, the matress was really comfy, no sore back next day :-). There are two problems: no plugs inside the room so u need to charge your stuff in the toillet or in the hall, second, the walls dont reach the roof, that means u hear all the people sleeping next to u, including snoring. Security good, clean place including bathrooms and dorms.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

stayed here for a few nights over a weekend and cant really fault it !! Location was excellent right opposite flinders st station so was close to all major attractions ! I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which was cleaned regually as were the bathroom facilities. Only used the kitchen once but that seemed pretty clean too !! Overall a good value, safe hostel in central Melbourne would definitely stay again


60%

The location is good as it is closed to all of the trams and trains in the CBD. Building was under renovation so maybe it will be better next time. The price was fair for what you got.


43%

Had a really bad time staying in this hostel due to the overall atmosphere and cleanliness of the place. I stayed for 2 1/2 weeks and the bed sheets werent changed once, the cleaners didnt even touch the room which was a massive problem because I was sharing with some very unhygienic people. One of the people in the room even had a tv and PS3 set up which he would play sometimes till 6am, which was a nightmare as i was working, i complained to him and reception but nothing was done!

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Not a bad place for the location. The price is right. But it's a lively hostel. Not for the quiet folks, could be cleaner but not that bad.


80%

Since the place has recently been taken over it would be unfair to make negative judgements. They are starting renovation work which is great to see because the place needs it. The 4 bed dorms with the partition walls are fun because you can hear everyone on the same floor as you. I didn't get much sleep over the two nights I was there but if I'd had earplugs I'd have been ok! Kitchen facilities are basic but adequate. The staff were brilliantly helpful and friendly. Overall great for the price!


71%

Two things are very important to me: good mattress and a good shower...and both was good at the elephant, clean bathroom, comfortable mattress.only bad thing.walls are not reaching the roof, so it is very loud and everybody can hear u and u hear everything, they are saying. doesn't bother me much, but was in the 2 floor, apparently the 3th is brandnew and better though. So if u want enjoy the beautiful city, this is a good spot, close to the fed and good Price/performance.


86%

Elephant Backpackers is a great value for money! It is right in the city center of Melbourne. For people arriving from the main train station, you can go on foot to the hostel, just ask at the information point inside the station. A Cole market is also next to the hostel to get food at a correct price. Sometines internet didn't work but there are a lot of free wifi access around.


51%

There is no power point and wifi in room. Water for shower is always cold. And the kitchen is very small.


66%

No sockets in the rooms was awful. Partitioned walls with no ceilings made for cold nights. Kitchen was useless and showers were cold if used in the evening. Think they're doing the place up though. Location couldn't be better and it was cheap.


60%

Brilliantly located. The facilities and general quality of the rooms was terrible though. No power sockets in the rooms.

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

No hot water at all over the whole week I stayed there, that's an absolutely no go. It's winter time and 10 degrees below out at night so it was freaking cold in the rooms aswell. Get some power plugs!!! Wifi doesn't work on ipads. One of the worst hostels ever!

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

If you're looking for an inexpensive hostel to have a hot shower and get a good night's sleep then DO NO COME TO THIS ONE! The showers run cold water 90% of the time. The walls of the rooms don't touch the ceilings so you can hear the person breathing 3 rooms over - if it were only breathing though, the place is filled with drunk 20 year olds screaming through the corridors every night until 3 or 4am, so sleep will only take those overcome with exhaustion.


66%

very bad snell inside the room and alot of nois all nigth.

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Good location, average staff and facility. The only problem is the noise at night. The rooms are just walls that share the same ceiling so whatever happens next door, even little whisper, you can hear. So bring ear muff like we did and it would be fine. Otherwise, the disco downstairs, the 4am chat between drunk lads and the self-indulge music people play next room would all make your sleep experience a night in hell.


91%

Very nice hostel, also if they are doing some works so sometimes there are noises. The security is very very good and the location is perfect.


91%

Can see lots of changes For the money it cant be beat

  • 30th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback