X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ella Hostel Barcelona Reviews

Calle Girona 39, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
85 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Amazing staff, lovely atmosphere and cant ask for more when it comes to cleanliness and location. Highly recomended.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a wonderful stay at the hostel and a really nice, clean and comfortable room! The staff was very helpful and friendly and everything we needed was present. Only at night and early morning there was noise (slamming of the heavy door behind our window), but we left the window open so maybe if it's closed it would be better. Definitely recommended!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Violeta Hostel (new name: Ella Hostel) is an extraordinary hostel. The staff if extremely friendly and also chats with you on the big balcony in the mornings while you are having their breakfast, which is included in the price. If you have free time and nothing more to do, you can relax on the balcony. The rooms (incl. bathrooms) are very clean. Next time in Barcelona, we'll book our room there again. That's for sure.


91%

Person was very friendly! Amazing! We spent nice days!

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The place is great! Mariana is amazing! She really made us feel very good there! The hostel is very well located, very safe (there's just a few rooms) and very clean! We enjoyed a lot!


100%

Absolutely loved this hostel by far my favourite I have stayed in. Excellent location, facilities and atmosphere. All staff were super friendly and made us feel very welcome. Special shout out to Paolo one of the friendliest and most helpful hostel staff my friend and I were lucky to meet. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to stay in Barcelona. Simone and Janine

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay and the staff were great. Small but useful breakfast included and tea/coffee available all day for free. Pretty much no noise is tolerated after 10pm and neighbours are very quick to complain.


100%

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, great terrace.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff is wonderful, clean and good place to stay. Be ware that when you are in your room you hear everything ppl walking through say :/ i would not stay there again, but only because of the location.


97%

I very much enjoyed our stay at Violeta Hostel. This was probably the most beautiful hostel i´ve ever been to. everything was super clean and the staff was very friendly!

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

No shower screen in the shower which led to water leakage to the floor.Female staff were extremely helpful--absolute "jewels".

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely and helpful staff, Thanks to Mariana the girl who is in the reception. Nicely designed rooms. toilets and showers are clean. Wi-fi is free. A simple breakfast is included. Great terras. The plaça catalunya is 10 min walk away. We sincerely recommend this hostal.


94%

The hostel was clean, there was a lot of bathrooms, the breakfast was simple but good, the computer with internet was REALLY SLOW. Our room was fantastic. A private terrace, pole to hang our clothing and tablets as well, a little sink in our room. The staff was very useful and nice.


100%

Very good hostel!


97%

Excellent hostel! Everything is beautifully done with love for detail. Staff is superfriendly, speaks good English. Could not recommend it more.


100%

This hostel was everything we could have hoped for and more! We stayed for 6 nights in Barcelona and loved it! Pros: great room with sink, mirror, bookcase and place to hang clothes, with cute window and small balcony. Really cute decor, Great shared space inside and large outside, super friendly staff, PERFECT location to explore everywhere! We definitely recommend this place, the value for money was fantastic and you won't find a cleaner, friendlier, more centrally located place like it!


100%

Lovely hostel, owners were fantastic such a help. Close to everything and very clean. Would recommend it to anyone. Only issue I had was it was a bit noisy but I am a light sleeper my partner wasn't troubled at all.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Barcelona Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback