X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Emerald Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kossuth Lajos utca (street) 13, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
260 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Staff was friendly. She helped me with directions for train back to airport.


94%

i was happy with my stay. excellent location, fair prices, free wifi. all i needed was there

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nothing to complain. Everything was excellent. The room was propably the best I've had for this price range. The hostel picked us up from the airport for a good price and the staff was very friendly.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

This place was a disgusting disaster. We were put in a completely different hostel where the staff didn't have a clue about our reservation and any of the details including price etc. The room was disgusting, uncleaned with unhygienic stains on the bed. We were unable to contact Emerald Hostel when we went to their original hostel they wouldn't answer the door or phone. This happened to another group we met outside Emerald who were trying to contact them. DO NOT EVER BOOK HERE!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
you went somewhere else, you did not stay with us

51%

At the hostel there are no permeable but staff, no reception desk. Upon arrival out room wasn't ready so the woman there asked us to come back later, we did and the room was fine. However it was no 'deluxe' room. There are only 3 rooms in the hostel anyway. There are two bathrooms that only have hot water for part of the morning and a good kitchen. They're clean. We were asked specifically what time we were checking out so someone could come but no one came. We left the keys but missed our train

Owner Comment (Hide)
the room was not ready as you arrived at 10.00 in the morning, and we have check in time after 14.00

86%

The location of the hostel at the main street through old town centre is perfect. Unfortunately we picked this hostel because the hostelworld search function had it listed with parking space. But parking situation was horrible and we wasted a lot of time and money on searching for parking space, parking meters and even a parking ticket.


94%

I'm glad to have been in here. Hostel is perfectly located, close to the center and is in a very silent atmosphere. We had a private double bed, so all those are a quite good necessity. Everything was fine.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback