Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Emeralds Place

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.1
Emeralds Place Located at Cannaregio 5590/A, , Venice.
Emeralds Place
Italy
Venice veneto 30121 Cannaregio 5590/A
71% 222
45.4399292 12.3368820
Emeralds Place
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Oct 2016
4.0

The staff here were barely ever there so I heard some stories where people couldn't even check in because they weren't there. They also have no computer system so store all information they have on anyone staying there on a piece of paper in a locked cupboard which I didn't like. The not being able to pay by card is also a pain. They have a washing machine but charge you 5euros to use it but then there's no where to dry your clothes, they had a printer but it didn't work.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear guest the staff of emeralds place, sent by email to all guests of the information for check-in, and how to get to our hotel, as well we wrote we are not a hotel with reception always open, but if you let us know your time of arrival you will always find a person ready for your check-in. and I am sorry that is not appreciated by you because the place is very clean in the heart of Venice for us cleanliness is the most important thing in the holiday greetings

10th Oct 2016
7.1

Venice is expensive, but this place provides a good value so you can have a home base while you explore the city. It's a little tricky to find at first, but I think everything is tricky to find in Venice. I used the Rialto as my guide--as long as I could find it, I knew I could make it back to my room. The facilities themselves were okay. Comfy bed, nice shower--you don't need much more. Breakfast would have been a nice addition, but there's a supermarket not far from the hostel. No kitchen :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Oct 2016
4.3

This hostel was fairly dreary. The only time reception was around was to check people in - and you needed to respond to an email to ensure someone will be there at the right time else you will be stuck outside. The staff were alright, but a little condescending. The place was also quite small, with a tiny common area you wouldn't meet people here and the facilities were quite lacking, especially for the cost of the place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear guest the staff of emeralds place, sent by email to all guests of the information for check-in, and how to get to our hotel, as well we wrote we are not a hotel with reception always open, but if you let us know your time of arrival you will always find a person ready for your check-in. and I am sorry that is not appreciated by you because the place is very clean in the heart of Venice for us cleanliness is the most important thing in the holiday greetings

  • cherylmcmurray7629
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
9.7

A little hard to find. On getting off atv boat at Ca' D'Ora turn right towards Rialto bridge. At first bridge by gondalos follow path (along canal) to left past restaurant. Its the last house facing you. state credit cards accepted as all hostels Ive stayed there - only take cash. Wonderful owner and cant fault the place other than not having a kitchen/crockery to make food as Venice very expensive and though local to coop couldnt use much! Has microwave and fridge though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
6.9

There was no air conditioner. The room was really warm and no lock for the room. Lockers were available though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
3.7

The security was bad-On the inside it is a dark and kind of scary looking walkway that leads to multiple different homes/businesses including this hostel. You had to trust your other hostel travelers to lock the door after they came in. (Never happened). You could hear any movement or sound anyone made at all hours of the night. There was no real staff- if you had questions or wanted advice about city-nope. The wifi did not work! The hostel was very poorly maintained but the bathrooms were nice.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

DEAR GUEST ROOMS ARE AND SHARED is NORMAL THAT THERE ARE OTHER GUESTS, THE WI FII WORKS WELL AND ALSO WE ARE NOT A HOTEL WITH A RECEPTION ALWAYS OPEN IF YOU HAD THE NEEDS OF INFORMATIONS you COULD ASK THE CHECK-IN TO THE STAFF OR THE MORNING

1st Sep 2016
2.0

After taking a closer look at all of the negative reviews for this establishment and Emilio's unprofessional responses to them, I decided to cancel my reservation and book somewhere else. I sent an email and left two voice messages 72 hours in advance, but never heard a response. Emilio charged me for all three days, and forged my signature on an invoice when I filed a claim with my Credit Card Company. He forged my signature. Still want to stay here?

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
5.4

The location is okay, everything is within walking distance but so is everything else in Venice. It was incredibly hard to find, there wasn't even a sign on the building. You have to walk past all the restaurants to get to the entrance, and if you're checking in late then you have to walk through a spooky corridor to find the door. No one is ever in reception unless someone is checking in. There wasn't much of an atmosphere. It's a place with a bed for the night, don't expect anything mo

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
6.0

Make sure to check your email after booking your accommodation. They send a follow up asking when you will be arriving and if you don't respond, you'll end up sitting outside a creepy alley way for who knows how long since they aren't always there. Otherwise the all girls room was nice. Came with large locked wardrobes. Only two bathrooms... So that kinda sucked sometimes. But they're nice bathrooms. Also, no designated common room to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
7.4

The location of Emerald's Place is great depending on what you want from your stay in Venice. It is easily accessible from the water bus, and only 25min walk from Piazzale Roma. It is away from the tourist hot spots which was perfect for us. The price was very reasonable for a last minute stay in Venice. Emilio was a kind host also. The place does not have a typical hostel feel - no communial space etc. But if you want a basic bed for the night in an interesting building, this is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.