Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Emile Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2017
6.6

No lockers in the rooms so all of us in our 6 bed room had bags and gear laying on the floor. A toilet clogged and flooded out the bathroom during the middle of the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
2.6

The guys who work here are nice but there is nothing here, no kitchen, one bathroom and one shower, nowhere to keep your bag and no lockers, also looks like there are people living in the hostel full time because there are closets full of clothes and some beds have 5+ pairs of shoes. We hiked to the top of The Rock! Really cool and totally recommend it for the views, we didn't get a chance to see the caves as they close very eary, skip Gibralta and go somewhere else, or stay in la linea and walk

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.1

A fantastic hostel located in the historic medina of Tangier. it is very close to all the main sights and only a short walk from the ferry to Tarifa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
8.6

This hostel is ideally located. 15 mins walk from Gibraltar Airport and 2 mins walk from high street. Although all areas where clean, tidy and the showers where hot once you'd figured out that the taps are backwards the shower heads are very loose and need refastening to the walls .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
4.9

You can't lock your dorm room. There are no locker facilities. I had to wait 10mins for anyone to turn up to reception (there isn't really one) to check me in- turns out they were just sitting in a room. Limited facilities. No advice on the town given. No sheet or pillowcase provided (glad I travel with my own) & when I was checking out the next morning I saw the beds of people that had check out prior to me just being remade, not changed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.4

I would stay there again,shared it with 4 guys they where sound breakfast was good. After all it was just for sleeping

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
6.6

Good location but fairly basic hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
7.4

Like stepping back in time. A hostel you would have expected to stay in during the 50's. All OK but hasn't kept up with the modern world.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
7.7

The Emile Hostel provides basic accommodation in a six or a four bed dorm. No cooking facilities but breakfast can be purchased there. The place is without any thrills but is kept clean, the staff were friendly and its great asset for me was its location, just yards from Casemates Square and the start of Main Street. Shopping complex just opposite with handy supermarket. Cheapest accommodation available in Gibraltar and if you are ok with mixed dorms then it comes well recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
6.9

Honestly you don't have many choices for hostels in Gibraltar. This one is not too terrible, but for its quality it's a little expensive. Staff are willing to help but sometimes a little rude. Rooms have no security at all: no lockers, doors don't lock. Not many things to do in the hostel. Location is good, close to town center and most attractions, and ~20 min walk to the Spanish border.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.