Hostelworld.com

Emile Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
3.7

One of the worst hostels I have ever been !

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
5.7

Easily the most unpleasant hostel I have stayed in. The location couldn't possibly be better; however, that doesn't give a free pass to the old mattresses or the dirty sheets and linens provided. The WiFi was good but there was no kitchen that could be used, and the two showers seemed ancient and dirty. I would definitely not stay here again - I strongly suggest staying in La Linea in a BnB and walking across the border.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.9

A very nice clean place with friendly staff. The home cooked food was tasty and reasonably priced. Well situated just 2 mins walk from the Main St and 10-15mins to the border and airport. There was a taxi rank, supermarket and shopping centre right across the road. And most bus stops for around Gibraltar were within 5mins walk...I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
4.0

This "hostel" is far below the standard of hostels in other European countries. The facilities are very poor, for example no common kitchen or microwave oven, hot water supply in shower may stop, 6 people in a room share only two sockets, the rubbish bin in the room are not clear for several days, there still dirt on the pillow case etc. It is only better than sleeping on the Winston Churchill Avenue. I would recommend you to stay in La Linea or book a hotel in Gibraltar instead.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
6.3

Minimal but just adequate facilities in the only hostel in Gibraltar. The only basins are in the 2 WCs, and only have cold water. 2 showers good but hot water can run out. No cooking / kitchen / food storage. Common area cold, only one comfy chair, not welcoming. Bed/bedding ancient but comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. If you want to see Gibraltar this is the cheapest place to stay, and you are right on the spot - but across the border (30 mins walk) the hostels are half the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
10.0

My name is Mark Cambridge I'm writing this review on behalf of my friend David Crees. David does not have access to a Computer, so he is unable to write this review. I've spoken to David about this holiday to Gibralter in November 2016. David has told me it was a wonderful holiday, which he really enjoyed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
7.1

It does what it needs to do but expensive for what your getting. Cheaper to stay in a B&B in La linea.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bennydscott4856
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
7.7

Beds were probably comfortable when my grandfather stayed here! No facilities to cook and cafe's and restaurants are expensive in the area. Staff were pleasant enough and kindly loaned me a towel for free. Best hostel in gibralter certificate in the hall made me laugh. It's the only one! Couldn't be more central and a short walk from the airport. Climbing the rock nearly killed me but it's a must do. There's a cable car if you don't fancy the walk. I would stay again if I came back to Gibraltar.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
7.1

Not much by the way of guest facilities, but apart from this everything is well up to par! Location amazing!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
4.9

There's no public kitchen, the staff is not friendly. A fellow traveller asked to get some water from the (private) kitchen and wasn't allowed to get it. The owner does not allow to eat or drink your own food on the property. Instead there's an expensive café. The matresses are old and very soft. If you pay in Euro they will charge an additional fee. As far as I know the only hoStel in Gibraltar. Biggest irony: In the hallway there hangs a poster "Best Hostel in Gibraltar"

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.