X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Empire Hostel Reviews

41 Opal Crescent Level 2 Unit, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
708 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

It was nice to stay there. we will come back if we go to Singapore again.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

My review on atmosphere, I flaged "poor" just because I believe it's a little poor of color, or some drowing, music...a little bit of life...and wormth.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

They charged double the price, which was listed online, because I only stayed one night. This too much money for such a hostel. It is very simple, clean, but impersonal.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Good value for money, basic dorm room with good wifi and plug socket. Location is a bit out but you can catch the underground from the station which is 10 minutes walk straight down the main road. Nothing fancy about it, you get a good dorm for the amount you pay.


91%

Very nice dorm with Air con and really good Wi-Fi. Bit of a pain trying to find a member if staff on several occasions.


71%

It was a very average hostel, good but nothing special about it.


77%

Beware that need to be charged for extra $3 if you book single night!


69%

I hope your staff who address themselves as a manager, should be holding a name card for identification purpose and should customer complain like the aircon is not cold as its a 8 bedded dorm, instead of rectifying the feedback, straight away answering customer nobody complaint except for yourself, and threaten customer if u dont leave i will call the police. This type of attitute should be disciplined as we customers are not illegal immigrant and we abide the law n order of the country.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place with great tenants. Everything is clean, dorm beds with inividual lockers, plugpoints and reading lamp!. No bed bugs

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

It take round 15 mins to get the nearest MRT - Potong Pasir and very hard to find food around only one Indian restaurant and small mart. I have to press the door bell many times and wait up to 10 mins to have a black guy help me enter. No breakfast included.


83%

Really good stay. Best beds i had the lastt 3 month!!! And by the way i arrivied from australia :D go their the Station is close and Tickets are really cheap . Thanks

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

cheap, but no good


66%

Its cheap, Overall its still good

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Just about 5-7 minutes walk to the next MRT station and it was nice that the kitchen had a toaster, fridge and hot water!


69%

Hostel close to MRT stations, hawker center and buses. Many of the guests are staying while working/looking for work/ searching for permanent accommodation in Singapore. Some of the people I met had stayed at the hostel on-off for over three months. Rooms and beds are generally clean, but common areas and kitchen are in dire need of a good cleaning. In general, the hostel should close for a week and spend the time scrubbing the entire place from floor to ceiling.


54%

It was ok for the prices in singapore but i t s more s dorm and not an hostel!!the bathroom doesn t exist, i t s all together with the toilette and always wet because has joined the shower!!

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

the location is good because you can find cheap food at boon keng station on your way from or to the hostel. very friendly staff, everything clean, fast free wifi. the only contra: bath/outside and kitchen area should get tidied.


60%

OK hostel very little atmosphere and not walking distance from anything but reasonably clean and very fast internet


69%

not as what is seen in the picture. the staff is nice. she always clean the area but the room is hot.maybe the ac is always in low settings..and there is something that bites in the bed..i dont know what it is but it bothers me alot...

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

communal space sparse - no real lounge space to hang out, only plastic chairs to sit on, 1 table, not much atmosphere, but free DVDs to watch was a bonus! the hostel in general was pretty clean but my bed sheet had some dubious stains! location is close to an MRT but not as close to Little India as stated - it's a bout a 40min walk. that said, good value for money though - with good free wifi, free massage chair!, solid bunks, air con in rooms, cheapest bed for the night we found.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback