Hostelworld.com

Empire Hotel Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Empire Hotel Backpackers Located at 13 Thames Street Oamaru, , Oamaru.
Empire Hotel Backpackers
New Zealand
Oamaru 9400 13 Thames Street Oamaru
86% 148
-45.1011536 170.9697532
Empire Hotel Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

Make sure you check out the basement...!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Amazing location for exploring Oamaru. The girl on reception was really lovely and helpful. The hostel itself was kind of quirky and very clean. Only bad thing was the lack of plug sockets in our room, and there's no music in the common areas, but I got told off by an older lady who I think worked there for playing my iPad in the kitchen! I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
9.4

So far in NZ, this backpacker and Oamaru have been the surprise of my trip. The town has some great architecture and the hostel is brilliant. Facilities clean, old fashioned but in a good way and nice atmosphere. Locations is good as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
2.0

I cannot give the hostel itself a rating as our reservation (which was pre-booked online weeks before our anticipated stay) was MISHANDLED; when we arrived in Oamaru, we found that our 2 rooms for one night was changed by the manager to 1 room for two nights. The remainder of their rooms were occupied, and they were unable to accommodate our family of four. We had to find other accommodations on our own. I would never book with this hostel again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.4

The receptionist was the rudest I've come across in NZ, she also told us that the blue penguins can be seen for free after 9pm at the penguin colony but that's not true. Pretty standard hostel if a bit dated. Plenty of hot water bottles around for when it gets cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Mar 2016
9.7

Great hostel, almost like a home! Located centrally and only a ten minute walk (if that) to the bus stop. Staff really nice and will hold your bags for the day until your bus. The only thing I'd say is they charge extra if you'd like to hang around after checkout on your last day. Most hostels I've come across this hasn't been needed and given how nice and quiet the hostel is it would be nice to hang around a little longer before the bus, especially as the wifi is so good! Staff lovely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2016
9.4

Empire had a good location. The staff were friendly. Good place to stay in Oamaru. I would recommend the put there sign down so you can see in going both ways on the walk. You can't see the sign coming from the bus stop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
7.7

The hostel was alright, pretty clean, comfy bed, nice staff. I stayed for 1 night and I was the only person in my room (no functioning power sockets in it). Two small kitchens, nice lounge area, limited free wireless internet. They could have more toilets, but there were few people, so it wasn't a problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2016
8.0

Mandy and mike are great!!! enough said.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2016
9.1

We were happy the night we spent in Empire Hotel Backerpackers. The host was warm to us and showed the facilities and our room clearly. The only flaw was the blunt knifes in kitchens

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.