Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Empire Hotel Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Empire Hotel Backpackers Located at 13 Thames Street Oamaru, , Oamaru.
Empire Hotel Backpackers
New Zealand
Oamaru 9400 13 Thames Street Oamaru
83% 165
-45.1011536 170.9697532
Empire Hotel Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel. Cosy and central hangout area, large kitchen, comfortable beds, and helpful manager.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
9.1

Great location and great staff - very helpful. They have a basement music room n game room. (though bit creepy for faint hearted. It had the rustic look - must experience it). Would defi stay again if visiting the beautiful town ever again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
7.1

Decent place to stay in Oamaru, the lady who manages the place is really nice and friendly. Bit of an older facility and you can see it in the way things are, older building sorts of things. But nice place to stay. Dorm rooms a bit small and cramped, but I would still recommend Empire for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

The linen on the beds was great. Overall excellent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
6.0

I had to pay to stay at the hostel after check out. It was raining outside and cold and there's not a lot of thing to do in Oamaru. My bus was at 4.30. This is the first time I'd heard that from an hostel. Very disappointed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.9

Really nice little hostel, quiet but has a good atmosphere. Will stay again if passing through the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

Make sure you check out the basement...!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Amazing location for exploring Oamaru. The girl on reception was really lovely and helpful. The hostel itself was kind of quirky and very clean. Only bad thing was the lack of plug sockets in our room, and there's no music in the common areas, but I got told off by an older lady who I think worked there for playing my iPad in the kitchen! I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
9.4

So far in NZ, this backpacker and Oamaru have been the surprise of my trip. The town has some great architecture and the hostel is brilliant. Facilities clean, old fashioned but in a good way and nice atmosphere. Locations is good as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
10.0

A quaint and cozy hostel that still felt clean. Just what we were looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.